DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to filing on 11/28/2023.
Claims 1-24 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-24 are currently rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2025, 01/30/2025, and 11/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, 16-19, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (Pub. No.: US 2023/0224127 A1) in view of Zewail (Pub. No.: US 2021/0320772 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches
A method of wireless communication (Xie [0004] and [0161]: method for wireless communication), comprising:
receiving, by a first terminal device, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling message from a base station scheduling a first transmission from the base station to the first terminal device (Xie fig. 7: receiving by a terminal device DCI from a network device (base station), scheduling a first transmission (S203)), wherein the DCI signaling message indicates information of a plurality of antenna ports associated with a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (Xie fig. 2, fig. 6, [0024], and [0168]: quantity (plurality of) antennas, DMRS corresponding to different antenna ports) and a number of Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) groups without data indicated for the first transmission (Xie [0021]: “a quantity of CDM groups that do not carry data”);
determining, by the first terminal device based on the DCI signaling message (Xie fig. 7 S2-5: determination by first terminal device), that at least one of the plurality of antenna ports is associated with a second transmission to at least a second terminal device is co-scheduled by the base station (Xie fig. 3a and [0173]: co-scheduling is shown by the figure and the time-frequency resource assignment, Signal B being a ‘second transmission to at least a second terminal device’), wherein the DCI signaling message…; and
demodulating, by the first terminal device, the DMRS based on the signaling message and the determining (Xie [0009], [0011], and [0022-0023]: demodulating by the terminal device the signal).
While Xie does disclose DMRS port groupings, Xie does not disclose explicitly ‘types’ of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
…Indicates whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports (Zewail [0097]: “As shown in Fig. 9, in some aspects, a single value in DCI (shown as “Value”) indicates a number of DMRS CDM groups without data and the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120. As shown by reference number 905, in some aspects, the single value may indicate a number of DMRS CDM groups without data, the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the one or more other DMRS ports (included in the same CDM group as the assigned DMRS port(s)) is present or absent for another UE 120”; [0093]: “then the base station 110 may transmit a first set of DMRS transmissions to the UE 120 on DMRS port 0, and may transmit a second set of DMRS transmissions to another UE 120 on DMRS port 1”)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and indicate whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Regarding claim 4, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Xie further teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates a total number of DMRS ports configured for the second terminal device in each CDM group or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device, or, wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates a total number of DMRS ports in each CDM group (Xie [0168] and fig. 2: total number of DMRS ports indicated in each CDM group) or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device.
Regarding claim 5, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Upon initial examination Xie does not appear to teach wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports ([0069], [0072], [0078], [0086-0087] and [0089]: UE receiving DMRS transmission info for first type and a UE receiving DMRS transmission for the second type (shows which type the UE is associated with), DMRS configuration different for first and second UE (terminal device)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for determination of whether the set of DMRS transmissions for another UE are present (Zewail [0086]).
Regarding claim 6, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Xie appears to be silent regarding at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by the number of CDM groups without data.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by the number of CDM groups without data (Zewail [0086] and [0097]: value in the DCI indicates a number of CDM groups without data, the antenna port assigned to the UE, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the other antenna port is present or absent for another UE).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by the number of CDM groups without data. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Regarding claim 7, Xie teaches
A method for wireless communication (Xie [0004] and [0161]: method for wireless communication), comprising:
transmitting, by a base station, a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling message to a first terminal device scheduling a first transmission from the base station to the first terminal device (Xie fig. 7: transmitting by a network device (base station (BS)) a DCI to a first terminal device scheduling a first transmission from the BS to the first terminal device) and a second terminal device scheduling a second transmission from the base station to the second terminal device (Xie fig. 3a and [0173]: second transmission (signal B) from the base station to the second terminal device),
wherein the DCI signaling message indicates information of a plurality of antenna ports associated with a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (Xie fig. 2, fig. 6, [0024], and [0168]: quantity (plurality of) antennas, DMRS corresponding to different antenna ports) and a number of Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) groups without data (Xie [0021]: “a quantity of CDM groups that do not carry data”) to enable the first terminal device and the second terminal device to demodulate, based on the signaling message and a determination that the first terminal device and the second terminal device are co-scheduled, the DMRS (Xie [0009], [0011], and [0022-0023]: demodulating by the terminal device the signal; Xie fig. 3a: co-scheduling is shown by the figure and the time-frequency resource assignment, Signal B being a ‘second transmission to at least a second terminal device’),…
While Xie does disclose DMRS port groupings, Xie does not disclose explicitly ‘types’ of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the DCI signaling message indicates whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports (Zewail [0097]: “As shown in Fig. 9, in some aspects, a single value in DCI (shown as “Value”) indicates a number of DMRS CDM groups without data and the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120. As shown by reference number 905, in some aspects, the single value may indicate a number of DMRS CDM groups without data, the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the one or more other DMRS ports (included in the same CDM group as the assigned DMRS port(s)) is present or absent for another UE 120”; [0093]: “then the base station 110 may transmit a first set of DMRS transmissions to the UE 120 on DMRS port 0, and may transmit a second set of DMRS transmissions to another UE 120 on DMRS port 1”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and indicate whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Regarding claim 10, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 6 (the limitations of parent claim 6 as indicated above),
Xie further teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates a total number of DMRS ports configured for the second terminal device in each CDM group or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device, or, wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates a total number of DMRS ports in each CDM group or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Xie [0168] and fig. 2: total number of DMRS ports indicated in each CDM group).
Regarding claim 11, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above),
Upon initial examination Xie does not appear to teach wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports ([0069], [0072], [0078], [0086-0087] and [0089]: UE receiving DMRS transmission info for first type and a UE receiving DMRS transmission for the second type (shows which type the UE is associated with), DMRS configuration different for first and second UE (terminal device)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for determination of whether the set of DMRS transmissions for another UE are present (Zewail [0086]).
Regarding claim 12, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above),
Xie appears silent regarding wherein at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by a number of CDM groups without data.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by a number of CDM groups without data (Zewail [0086] and [0097]: value in the DCI indicates a number of CDM groups without data, the antenna port assigned to the UE, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the other antenna port is present or absent for another UE).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by the number of CDM groups without data. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Regarding claim 13, Xie teaches
A communication apparatus implemented as a first terminal device (Xie [0042]: communication apparatus implementing the functions of the terminal device), comprising at least one processor (Xie [0043]: communication apparatus including a processing unit) configured to:
receive a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling message from a base station scheduling a first transmission from the base station to the first terminal device (Xie fig. 7: receiving by a terminal device DCI from a network device (base station), scheduling a first transmission (S203)), wherein the DCI signaling message indicates information of a plurality of antenna ports associated with Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (Xie fig. 2, fig. 6, [0024], and [0168]: quantity (plurality of) antennas, DMRS corresponding to different antenna ports) and a number of Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) groups without data indicated for the first transmission (Xie [0021]: “a quantity of CDM groups that do not carry data”);
determine, based on the DCI signaling message (Xie fig. 7 S2-5: determination by first terminal device), that one of the plurality of antenna ports is associated with a second transmission to at least a second terminal device is co-scheduled by the base station (Xie fig. 3a: co-scheduling is shown by the figure and the time-frequency resource assignment, Signal B being a ‘second transmission to at least a second terminal device’), wherein the DCI signaling message…; and
demodulate, by the first terminal device, the DMRS based on the signaling message and the determining (Xie [0009], [0011], and [0022-0023]: demodulating by the terminal device the signal).
While Xie does disclose DMRS port groupings, Xie does not disclose explicitly ‘types’ of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
… indicates whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports (Zewail [0097]: “As shown in Fig. 9, in some aspects, a single value in DCI (shown as “Value”) indicates a number of DMRS CDM groups without data and the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120. As shown by reference number 905, in some aspects, the single value may indicate a number of DMRS CDM groups without data, the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the one or more other DMRS ports (included in the same CDM group as the assigned DMRS port(s)) is present or absent for another UE 120”; [0093]: “then the base station 110 may transmit a first set of DMRS transmissions to the UE 120 on DMRS port 0, and may transmit a second set of DMRS transmissions to another UE 120 on DMRS port 1”)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and indicate whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Regarding claim 22, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 19 (the limitations of parent claim 19 as indicated above),
Xie further teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates a total number of DMRS ports configured for the second terminal device in each CDM group or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device, or the information of the plurality of antenna ports further indicates a total number of DMRS ports in each CDM group or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device (Xie [0168] and fig. 2: total number of DMRS ports indicated in each CDM group).
Regarding claim 23, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 19 (the limitations of parent claim 19 as indicated above),
Xie does not appear to teach wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports ([0069], [0072], [0078], [0086-0087] and [0089]: UE receiving DMRS transmission info for first type and a UE receiving DMRS transmission for the second type (shows which type the UE is associated with), DMRS configuration different for first and second UE (terminal device)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for determination of whether the set of DMRS transmissions for another UE are present (Zewail [0086]).
Regarding claim 24, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 19 (the limitations of parent claim 19 as indicated above),
Xie appears to be silent regarding wherein at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by a number of CDM groups without data.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by a number of CDM groups without data (Zewail [0086] and [0097]: value in the DCI indicates a number of CDM groups without data, the antenna port assigned to the UE, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the other antenna port is present or absent for another UE).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by the number of CDM groups without data. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Regarding claim 16, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Xie further teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates a total number of DMRS ports configured for the second terminal device in each CDM group or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device, or wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports further indicates a total number of DMRS ports in each CDM group (Xie [0168] and fig. 2: total number of DMRS ports indicated in each CDM group) or for all scheduled CDM groups for the first terminal device and the second terminal device.
Regarding claim 17, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Upon initial examination Xie does not appear to teach wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports ([0069], [0072], [0078], [0086-0087] and [0089]: UE receiving DMRS transmission info for first type and a UE receiving DMRS transmission for the second type (shows which type the UE is associated with), DMRS configuration different for first and second UE (terminal device)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have a field in the DCI signaling that is different from an antenna port field indicates whether the second terminal device is associated with the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for determination of whether the set of DMRS transmissions for another UE are present (Zewail [0086]).
Regarding claim 18, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Xie appears to be silent regarding wherein at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by a number of CDM groups without data.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by a number of CDM groups without data (Zewail [0086] and [0097]: value in the DCI indicates a number of CDM groups without data, the antenna port assigned to the UE, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the other antenna port is present or absent for another UE).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and have at least one of the plurality of antenna ports associated with the second transmission to the second terminal device is associated with a CDM group indicated by the number of CDM groups without data. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Regarding claim 19, Xie teaches
A communication apparatus implemented as a base station (Xie [0249]: “communication apparatus (for example, a base station)”), comprising at least one processor (Xie [0249]: “the communication apparatus includes one or more processors”) configured to:
transmit a Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling message to a first terminal device scheduling a first transmission from the base station to the first terminal device (Xie fig. 7: transmitting by a network device (base station (BS)) a DCI to a first terminal device scheduling a first transmission from the BS to the first terminal device) and a second terminal device scheduling a second transmission from the base station to the second terminal device (Xie fig. 3a and [0173]: second transmission (signal B) from the base station to the second terminal device),
wherein the DCI signaling message indicates information of a plurality of antenna ports associated with a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) (Xie fig. 2, fig. 6, [0024], and [0168]: quantity (plurality of) antennas, DMRS corresponding to different antenna ports) and a number of Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) groups without data (Xie [0021]: “a quantity of CDM groups that do not carry data”) to enable the first terminal device and the second terminal device to demodulate, based on the signaling message and a determination that the first terminal device and the second terminal device are co-scheduled, the DMRS (Xie [0009], [0011], and [0022-0023]: demodulating by the terminal device the signal; Xie fig. 3a: co-scheduling is shown by the figure and the time-frequency resource assignment, Signal B being a ‘second transmission to at least a second terminal device’),…
While Xie does disclose DMRS port groupings, Xie does not disclose explicitly ‘types’ of DMRS ports.
However, Zewail, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the DCI signaling message indicates whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports (Zewail [0097]: “As shown in Fig. 9, in some aspects, a single value in DCI (shown as “Value”) indicates a number of DMRS CDM groups without data and the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120. As shown by reference number 905, in some aspects, the single value may indicate a number of DMRS CDM groups without data, the one or more DMRS ports assigned to the UE 120, and whether the second set of DMRS transmissions for the one or more other DMRS ports (included in the same CDM group as the assigned DMRS port(s)) is present or absent for another UE 120”; [0093]: “then the base station 110 may transmit a first set of DMRS transmissions to the UE 120 on DMRS port 0, and may transmit a second set of DMRS transmissions to another UE 120 on DMRS port 1”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xie to incorporate the teachings of Zewail and indicate whether the second terminal device co-scheduled by the base station is associated with a first type of DMRS ports or a second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for signaling overhead to be conserved (Zewail [0097]).
Claims 2-3, 8-9, 14-15, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (Pub. No.: US 2023/0224127 A1) in view of Zewail (Pub. No.: US 2021/0320772 A1), further in view of Shin (EP 3639462 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for the first type of DMRS ports, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0038]: mapped to the ports of type1 or type2), wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable (Shin table 2-2: OCC = 2; [0040]: 2-FD-OCC), or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable (Shin [0083]: “it may be possible to assign 4 orthogonal DMRS
ports using codepoints 0 and 1 for 2 codewords (CWs) in Table 2-2. Since 4 orthogonal DMRS ports can be distinguished by the CDM codes with the OCC length of 4”; table 2-2 OCC = 4), (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for the first type of DMRS ports, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for the first type of DMRS ports, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable. Doing so would allow for distinguishing mapping of DMRS ports and port type (Shin [0098]).
Regarding claim 3, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is the first type or the second type of DMRS ports.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap (Shin [0098] and [0038]: bits of the bitmap mapped to the ports), and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device (Shin [0120-0123]: “the signaled DMRS port locations are transmitted through one CDM group, the UE assumes that the RS for another UE is transmitted in the other CDM group… For the DMRS Type2, a 2-bit indicator is necessary to indicate the number of CDM groups scheduled by the gNB and the information on the CDM groups for data reception”; Shin [0098]: port information including type1 and type 2 in the form of bitmaps), and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is the first type or the second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0109]: DMRS port grouping for type 1 or type 2 in the form of bitmaps).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is the first type or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for the bitmaps to be used for PTRS and indication of port type (Shin [0098]).
Regarding claim 8, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for type 1 DMRS, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0038]: mapped to the ports of type1 or type2), wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable (Shin table 2-2: OCC = 2; [0040]: 2-FD-OCC), or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable (Shin [0083]: “it may be possible to assign 4 orthogonal DMRS
ports using codepoints 0 and 1 for 2 codewords (CWs) in Table 2-2. Since 4 orthogonal DMRS ports can be distinguished by the CDM codes with the OCC length of 4”; table 2-2 OCC = 4), (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for type 1 DMRS, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for the first type of DMRS ports, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable. Doing so would allow for distinguishing mapping of DMRS ports and port type (Shin [0098]).
Regarding claim 9, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The method of claim 7 (the limitations of parent claim 7 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is a first type or a second type of DMRS ports.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap (Shin [0098] and [0038]: bits of the bitmap mapped to the ports), and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device (Shin [0120-0123]: “the signaled DMRS port locations are transmitted through one CDM group, the UE assumes that the RS for another UE is transmitted in the other CDM group… For the DMRS Type2, a 2-bit indicator is necessary to indicate the number of CDM groups scheduled by the gNB and the information on the CDM groups for data reception”; Shin [0098]: port information including type1 and type 2 in the form of bitmaps), and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is a first type or a second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0109]: DMRS port grouping for type 1 or type 2 in the form of bitmaps).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is the first type or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for the bitmaps to be used for PTRS and indication of port type (Shin [0098]).
Regarding claim 14, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for type 1 DMRS, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0038]: mapped to the ports of type1 or type2), wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable (Shin table 2-2: OCC = 2; [0040]: 2-FD-OCC), or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable (Shin [0083]: “it may be possible to assign 4 orthogonal DMRS
ports using codepoints 0 and 1 for 2 codewords (CWs) in Table 2-2. Since 4 orthogonal DMRS ports can be distinguished by the CDM codes with the OCC length of 4”; table 2-2 OCC = 4), (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for type 1 DMRS, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for the first type of DMRS ports, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable. Doing so would allow for distinguishing mapping of DMRS ports and port type (Shin [0098]).
Regarding claim 15, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 13 (the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is a first type or a second type of DMRS ports.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap (Shin [0098] and [0038]: bits of the bitmap mapped to the ports), and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device (Shin [0120-0123]: “the signaled DMRS port locations are transmitted through one CDM group, the UE assumes that the RS for another UE is transmitted in the other CDM group… For the DMRS Type2, a 2-bit indicator is necessary to indicate the number of CDM groups scheduled by the gNB and the information on the CDM groups for data reception”; Shin [0098]: port information including type1 and type 2 in the form of bitmaps), and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is a first type or a second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0109]: DMRS port grouping for type 1 or type 2 in the form of bitmaps).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is the first type or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for the bitmaps to be used for PTRS and indication of port type (Shin [0098]).
Regarding claim 20, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 19 (the limitations of parent claim 19 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for type 1 DMRS, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0038]: mapped to the ports of type1 or type2), wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable (Shin table 2-2: OCC = 2; [0040]: 2-FD-OCC), or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable (Shin [0083]: “it may be possible to assign 4 orthogonal DMRS
ports using codepoints 0 and 1 for 2 codewords (CWs) in Table 2-2. Since 4 orthogonal DMRS ports can be distinguished by the CDM codes with the OCC length of 4”; table 2-2 OCC = 4), (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for type 1 DMRS, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports indicates whether the DMRS is mapped to the first type of DMRS ports or the second type of DMRS ports, wherein the first type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain Orthogonal Cover Coding (OCC) having a length of two is applicable, or (2) one or more consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC having a length of two is applicable, and wherein the second type of DMRS ports comprises ports corresponding to (1) resources to which frequency-domain OCC having a length greater than two is applicable, (2) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than three CDM groups for type 2 DMRS, or (3) resources in a Physical Resource Block associated with more than two CDM groups for the first type of DMRS ports, or (4) one or more non-consecutive symbols to which time-domain OCC is applicable. Doing so would allow for distinguishing mapping of DMRS ports and port type (Shin [0098]).
Regarding claim 21, Xie modified by Zewail teaches
The communication apparatus of claim 19 (the limitations of parent claim 19 as indicated above),
Xie modified by Zewail appears to be silent regarding wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is a first type or a second type of DMRS ports.
However, Shin, in the analogous art of CDM groups and DMRS transmissions, teaches
wherein the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap (Shin [0098] and [0038]: bits of the bitmap mapped to the ports), and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device (Shin [0120-0123]: “the signaled DMRS port locations are transmitted through one CDM group, the UE assumes that the RS for another UE is transmitted in the other CDM group… For the DMRS Type2, a 2-bit indicator is necessary to indicate the number of CDM groups scheduled by the gNB and the information on the CDM groups for data reception”; Shin [0098]: port information including type1 and type 2 in the form of bitmaps), and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is a first type or a second type of DMRS ports (Shin [0098] and [0109]: DMRS port grouping for type 1 or type 2 in the form of bitmaps).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Xie and Zewail to incorporate the teachings of Shin and have the information of the plurality of antenna ports comprises a bitmap, and wherein each bit of the bitmap is associated with a CDM group or a DMRS port configured or indicated for the second terminal device, and wherein each bit indicates whether the DMRS port configured for the second terminal device or a DMRS port in the CDM group is the first type or the second type of DMRS ports. Doing so would allow for the bitmaps to be used for PTRS and indication of port type (Shin [0098]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0296876 A1) discloses DCI scheduling, DMRS port groups, and CDM groups.
/R.E.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412