DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues “…Instead, Hsu describes releasing uplink resources and
downlink resources separately such that any indication of deactivation of uplink resources would not indicate that the WTRU will not use an uplink for a predetermined number of transmission opportunities.” See page 2 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Hsu teaches the SPS resource release command is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling sent from the eNB to inform SPS resource release, including UL and DL SPS resource release. According to the process 30, when receiving an SPS resource release PDCCH signaling, the UE deactivates allocated SPS resources and transmits a MAC control element (CE) including an SPS resource release confirmation, called SPS resource release MAC CE hereinafter, as a reply to the SPS resource release PDCCH signaling to the eNB (in other words, Hsu teaches transmitting, using one of the configured uplink resources of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration, a message to a base station as required in the claims), for confirming SPS resource deactivation (therefore, indicating that the WTRU/UE will not use the uplink resource/UL SPS resource). Note that, the SPS resource release MAC CE is used for UL SPS resource release (therefore, indicating that the WTRU/UE will not use the uplink resource/UL SPS resource). See paragraph [0027].
Hsu teaches a dynamic scheduling function is used in MAC for utilizing shared channel (SCH) resources. When sharing resources between UEs, MAC in eNB dynamically allocates physical layer resources for the downlink (DL)-SCH and uplink (UL)-SCH depends on the traffic volume, the Quality of Service (QoS) requirements of each UE, and associated radio bearers…The eNB activates SPS resource by sending a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling. See paragraph [0006]. The uplink resources associated with SPS resources are activated/deactivated by PDCCH signaling sent from the eNB to inform SPS resource release and confirmed by the UE transmitting a MAC control element (CE) including an SPS resource release confirmation to the eNB. Therefore, the SPS resource release and SPS resource release confirmation are both indications sent to indicate that the uplink SPS resources will not be used (for example, deactivated) for a predetermined number of transmission opportunities (in other words, based on the dynamic scheduling where the resources are dynamically allocated depending on the traffic volume, the Quality of Service (QoS) requirements of each UE, etc.). According to Hsu, the uplink SPS resources are constantly changing and/or continuously evolving.
As such, Hsu describes releasing uplink resources/downlink resources such that an indication of deactivation of uplink resources would indicate that the WTRU will not use an uplink for a predetermined number of transmission opportunities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, 9, 12-14, 16 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (Luo), U.S. Publication No. 2018/0160418 in view of Hsu, U.S. Publication No. 2010/0111026.
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16, Luo discloses a method performed by a wireless
transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information (i.e., a base station or an RSU transmits resource allocation information for transmitting specific service data to a UE… the resource allocation information includes at least one of the following: SPS resource information; see paragraphs [0173]-[0175]), wherein the SPS configuration information indicates:
a first identifier of a first SPS configuration in a list of a plurality of SPS configurations, and a first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration (i.e., the SPS resource information and the preconfigured resource information may be information of a resource pool or information of a specified resource… SPS configuration information usually includes:… SPS identification information. Therefore, considered as “first” identifier with a “first” SPS and a “first” plurality of resources; see paragraphs [0190] and [0191])., and
a second identifier of a second SPS configuration in the list of the plurality of SPS configurations, and a second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration (i.e., the SPS resource information and the preconfigured resource information may be information of a resource pool or information of a specified resource… SPS configuration information usually includes:… SPS identification information. Therefore, considered as “second” identifier with a “second” SPS and a “second” plurality of resources; see paragraphs [0190] and [0191]).
Luo fails to disclose determining not to use at least one configured uplink resource of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration; and transmitting, using one of the configured uplink resources of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration, a message to a base station, wherein the message comprises an indication that the WTRU will not use the at least one configured uplink resource of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration for a predetermined number of transmission opportunities or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration for the predetermined number of transmission opportunities.
Hsu discloses determining not to use at least one configured uplink resource of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration (in other words, the SPS resource release command is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling sent from the eNB to inform SPS resource release, including UL and DL SPS resource release. According to the process 30, when receiving an SPS resource release PDCCH signaling, the UE deactivates allocated SPS resources therefore, determining not to use at least one configured resource; see paragraph [0027]); and transmitting, using one of the configured uplink resources of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration, a message to a base station (i.e., the UE… transmits a MAC control element (CE) including an SPS resource release confirmation, called SPS resource release MAC CE hereinafter, as a reply to the SPS resource release PDCCH signaling to the eNB, for confirming SPS resource deactivation; see paragraph [0027]), wherein the message comprises an indication that the WTRU will not use the at least one configured uplink resource of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration for a predetermined number of transmission opportunities or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration for the predetermined number of transmission opportunities (i.e., the SPS resource release MAC CE is used for UL SPS resource release and DL SPS resource release by different formats and contents; see paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Hsu’s invention with Luo’s invention for improving delay and the reliability issue (see paragraph [0028] of Hsu).
Regarding Claims 5 and 12, Luo and Hsu disclose the method and WTRU as
described above. Luo further discloses wherein one of the first SPS configuration or the second SPS configuration is active at a given time (see paragraphs [0176] and [0177]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Luo and Hsu disclose the method and WTRU as
described above. Luo further discloses wherein the SPS configuration information is received in a radio resource control (RRC) connection message from the base station (see paragraph [0019]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Luo and Hsu disclose the method and WTRU as
described above. Luo further discloses determining not to use multiple configured uplink resources of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration, wherein the message comprises an indication that the WTRU has determined not to use the multiple configured uplink resources of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration (see paragraphs [0284]-[0287]).
Regarding Claims 21 and 23, Luo and Hsu disclose the method and WTRU as
described above. Luo fails to disclose wherein the at least one configured uplink resource of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration is not released. Hsu further discloses wherein the at least one configured uplink resource of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration is not released (see paragraph [0034]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Hsu’s invention with Luo’s invention for improving delay and the reliability issue (see paragraph [0028] of Hsu).
Regarding Claims 22, 24 and 25, Luo and Hsu disclose the method, WTRU and
base station as described above. Luo fails to disclose wherein the at least one configured uplink resource of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration remains a configured uplink resource after the message is transmitted to the base station. Hsu discloses wherein the at least one configured resource of the first plurality of configured resources associated with the first SPS configuration or of the second plurality of configured resources associated with the second SPS configuration remains a configured resource after the message is transmitted to the base station (see paragraph [0034]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Hsu’s invention with Luo’s invention for improving delay and the reliability issue (see paragraph [0028] of Hsu).
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo and Hsu in view of LE, U.S. Publication No. 2015/0282148.
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17, Luo and Hsu disclose the method, WTRU and
base station as described above. Luo and Hsu further disclose wherein transmitting the message to the base station comprises transmitting utilizing the one or more of the first plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the first SPS configuration or one or more of the second plurality of configured uplink resources associated with the second SPS configuration (see paragraph [0030] of Hsu). Luo fails to disclose medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). LE discloses medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (see paragraph [0152]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider LE’s invention with Luo’s and Hsu’s invention for reducing signaling overhead as described in paragraph [0049] of LE.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
July 20, 2026