DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species II, claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, and 15-17, in the reply filed on 3/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schofield (US 20230404062) in view of Simone (US 20070175702).
Regarding claim 1, Schofield teaches of (fig. 6) a hang on portable tree stand (fig. 1, abstract, portable tree stand is mounted to a tree trunk 21), comprising:
a first upright post (post 228) extending from a top end to a bottom end (seen in fig. 6),
each of the first upright post (228) having a plurality of openings extending through a thickness of each of the first post (geometric openings in first upright post 228);
a base platform (platform 224) pivotally engaged with the first upright post (figs. 6 and 8, platform 224 pivots to fold against the first upright post 228), the base platform (224) having a plurality of irregularly shaped openings extending through a thickness of the base platform (seen in fig. 4, especially the ends have irregularly shaped openings);
one or more supports (strut cables 230) extending from the base platform (224) to the first upright post (228), the one or more supports (230) being configured to allow the base platform to pivot toward the first upright post (¶0039, one or more supports 230 allow the platform 224 to pivot and adjust the angle);
one or more braces (claw structure 246 and claw portion 302) extending from the first post (seen in fig. 6); and a strap receiver (cleats 314) extending from at least one of the first upright post (228) (seen in fig. 6);
wherein the base platform (224) and the one or more braces (246, 302) are configured to engage with a support structure (fig. 1, ¶0037, engages with trunk 21) when the hang on portable tree stand is installed on the support structure (21) (seen in fig. 1); and wherein the strap receiver (314) is configured to receive a strap (¶0038, cleats 314 are configured to secure a strap or cord, such as cord 48 (shown in FIG. 1)), the strap (¶0038, cord 48 can be a strap) being configured to secure around the support structure and hold the hang on portable tree stand in place once installed (seen in fig.1).
Schofield does not appear to teach of a first upright post and a second upright post each extending from a top end to a bottom end.
Simone teaches of (fig. 2A) a first upright post and a second upright post each extending from a top end to a bottom end (¶0023, frame 32 has two frame members each extending from a top end to a bottom end. The frame members are identical to each other);
each of the first and second upright posts having a plurality of openings extending through a thickness of each of the first and second upright posts (openings for the screws and tie bolts 42);
base platform (fig. 1, platform 16) pivotally engaged with the first and second upright posts (¶0030-0031, platform 16 can be pivotally connected to frame 32);
one or more supports (flexible cords 90) extending from the base platform (16) to the first and second upright posts (seen in fig. 1), the one or more supports (90) being configured to allow the base platform (16) to pivot toward the first and second upright posts (¶0030-0031, platform 16 can be pivotally connected to the frame 32 and the supports 90 can allow the base platform 16 to pivot to the frame 32);
one or more braces (fig. 1, stabilizer arms 92) extending from the first and second upright posts (seen in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to incorporate the teachings of Simone of a first upright post and a second upright post each extending from a top end to a bottom end, such that the first and second upright posts are identical to one another and the other components are attached similarly to the first and second upright posts as to a single upright post in Schofield, in order to distribute the force and load of the system to multiple upright posts.
Regarding claim 2, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 4) wherein the base platform (224) further comprises a plurality of teeth (angled toothed edges 308) extending from a back end of the base platform (224) (seen in fig. 4), the plurality of teeth configured to engage with the support structure (21) (¶0035, angled toothed edges 308 that form an opening therebetween for receiving portions of a tree), the plurality of teeth pivot with the base platform (the plurality of teeth pivots along with the base platform 224).
Regarding claim 3, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 4) wherein the base platform (224) is pivotally engaged with the first and second upright posts (as modified by Simone) via a pin (fastener 310) extending through a transverse bore (¶0036, fastener 310 is a pin that extends through a bore in post 228), the transverse bore extending through the first and second upright posts (seen in fig. 6) and one or more bars (mounting ears 304) as part of the base platform (seen in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 4) further comprising:
a seat (seat 232) engaged with the first and second upright posts (as modified by Simone) (seen in fig. 4); and
a shelf (lower axial end 348) extending from at least one of the first and second upright posts at a position below the seat (seen in fig. 6), the shelf (348) supports the seat in a substantially horizontal configuration (seen in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 4, and (fig. 6) further comprising an adjustable button (seat leveling shelf lock 244) attached to and extending from a bottom surface of the seat (seen in fig. 6), the adjustable button (244) is configured to extend and contract such that an angle of the seat is adjustable relative to the first and second upright posts (¶0044, Lock 244 may be moved relative to seat 232 to adjust the length of lock 244 extending between leveling tab 236 and seat 232 to affect the angular positioning of seat 232 and to retain seat 232 in a selected angular position (about axis 52)), the adjustable button (244) configured to rest on the shelf to support the seat in the substantially horizontal configuration (seen in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 6) further comprising:
a plurality of grooves (strut securement slots 316, vertical channel 317) extending through each of the first and second upright posts (as modified by Simone to have the single post 228 into identical first and second upright posts, aligning the openings and the posts), the plurality of grooves being vertically aligned (as modified by Simone, the first and second upright posts are vertically aligned); and
a bar (bar of fastener 332) attached to the one or more supports (230) such that the bar couples the one or more supports to the first and second upright posts (seen in fig. 4);
wherein the bar is adjustable in a vertical position by being selectively positioned in one of the plurality of grooves (317) (¶0039, Each of slots 316 is configured to receive the cylindrical portion of a fastener 332 which is secured to one or more supports 230).
Regarding claim 8, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 6) wherein the strap receiver (314) comprises a knob extending forward from the at least one of the first and second upright posts (seen in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (figs. 4 and 8) wherein the base platform (224) further comprises one or more hooks (protrusion on the side edges of platform 224 in which the strut cables 230 hooks onto) integral with and extending outwardly from a side edge of the base platform (seen in figs. 4 and 8, the protrusion is integral with and extends outwardly from side edges of the base platform 224).
Regarding claim 10, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (figs. 4 and 8) wherein the base platform (224) further comprises one or more hooks (protrusion on the side edges of platform 224 in which the strut cables 230 hooks onto) integral with and extending from a side edge of the base platform (seen in figs. 4 and 8, the protrusion is integral with and extends from side edges of the base platform 224).
Regarding claim 16, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 4) wherein the one or more braces (246, 302) each further comprises a first jaw and a second jaw (left jaw and right jaw), the first jaw and the second jaw connected at an intermediate connecting portion (middle part between the first and second jaws) such that the first jaw and the second jaw extend extending outward therefrom and create a concave opening for receiving the support structure therein (seen in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and wherein at least one of the one or more braces (246, 302) further comprises a plurality of teeth extending therefrom (figs. 4-5, toothed edges 308 and toothed face 320).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schofield, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tschida (US 7377361).
Regarding claim 12, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of wherein the hang on portable tree stand has a weight of approximately 6.25 pounds.
Tschida teaches of wherein the hang on portable tree stand has a weight of approximately 6.25 pounds (col. 1 lines 55-60, Depending upon the materials, the weight of the stand assembly can correspondingly vary from 5 to 55 pounds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to incorporate the teachings of Tschida of wherein the hang on portable tree stand has a weight of approximately 6.25 pounds in order to have a lightweight device that can be easily carried around.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schofield, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pringnitz (US 20060054397).
Regarding claim 15, Schofield as modified teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 4) wherein the base platform (224) further comprises:
a front section defined by:
a front end edge (seen in fig. 4);
a first side edge having a first section, a second section, and a third section (left side edge of base platform 224 can be divided into first, second, and third sections), the third section (side edge in which it is an angled tapering section towards the rear) connected to the second section (straight side edge with the hook holding strut cable 230) at an angle greater than 90 degrees (seen in fig. 4), wherein the second section is perpendicular to the front end edge (seen in fig. 4); and
a second side edge connected to and extending from the front end edge, the second side edge being a mirror configuration of the first side edge (right side edge of base platform 224);
a back section (rear section with mounting ears 304 and claw portion 302) integral with the front section (seen in fig. 4), the back defined by a back end forming a lower brace of the one or more braces (308) (seen in fig. 4), a first back section side edge integral with and extending from the lower brace to the first side edge (seen in fig. 4), and a second back section side edge integral with and extending from the lower brace to the second side edge (seen in fig. 4).
Schofield does not appear to teach of the first section connected to the front end edge at an angle greater than 90 degrees, the second section connected to the first section at an angle greater than 90 degrees;
wherein the first back section side edge and the second back section side edge extend parallel to one another.
Pringnitz teaches of (fig. 1) wherein the base platform further comprises:
a front section defined by:
a front end edge (seen in fig. 1);
a first side edge (left side edge) having a first section (corner), a second section (straight middle portion), and a third section (tapering angled edge towards the frame 21), the first section connected to the front end edge at an angle greater than 90 degrees (front edge angle to the corner is greater than 90 degrees), the second section (straight middle section) connected to the first section at an angle greater than 90 degrees (angle between the corner and the straight middle portion is greater than 90 degrees), the third section connected to the second section at an angle greater than 90 degrees (angle from the middle portion to the sloped tapering side edge is greater than 90 degrees), wherein the second section is perpendicular to the front end edge (seen in fig. 1); and
a second side edge connected to and extending from the front end edge, the second side edge being a mirror configuration of the first side edge (right side edge is a mirror configuration of the left side edge);
a back section (section with rearward edge of platform 28 and protrusions 35) integral with the front section (seen in fig. 1), the back defined by a back end forming a lower brace of the one or more braces (protrusion 35) (seen in fig. 1), a first back section side edge integral with and extending from the lower brace to the first side edge (seen in fig. 1), and a second back section side edge integral with and extending from the lower brace to the second side edge (seen in fig. 1);
wherein the first back section side edge and the second back section side edge extend parallel to one another (straight side edges of the back section are parallel to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schofield to incorporate the teachings of Pringitz of the base platform shape as described above in order to expand the shape outwards to have more surface area for the user to be on while having high stability and load distribution.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least claim 1.
/ZOE TAM TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3647