DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dean (US 2022/0136702), which shows all of the claimed limitations. Dean shows:
1. A manifold for a grill comprising: a base 142 defining an interior passageway 104, the base comprising a first open end 148, a second open end 150, and a third open end 138, each of which are in communication with the interior passageway of the base (fig. 3,4); a first arm 144 defining an interior passageway and a plurality of apertures 152 on a side of the first arm that are in communication with the interior passageway of the first arm, wherein the first arm is connected to the first open end 148 of the base such that the interior passageway of the first arm is in communication with the interior passageway of the base (fig. 3,4); and a second arm 146 defining an interior passageway and defining a plurality of apertures 152 on a side of the second arm that are in communication with the interior passageway of the second arm, wherein the second arm is connected to the second open end 150 of the base such that the interior passageway of the second arm is in communication with the interior passageway of the base (fig. 3,4).
2. The manifold of claim 1, wherein the manifold is Y-shaped (fig. 2 – arms 144 and 146 show slanted surfaces making a Y-shape).
3. The manifold of claim 1, wherein the manifold is U-shaped (fig. 2 – space 104 providing a U-shape).
4. The manifold of claim 1, wherein a top side of the first arm comprises at least one slanted surface (fig. 1-4).
6. The manifold of claim 1, wherein the plurality of apertures of the first arm face the plurality of apertures of the second arm (fig. 3,4).
8. The manifold of claim 1, wherein the third open end 138 of the base is configured to couple with a heat source 104,126 of a grill (para. 0020,0025).
10. The manifold of claim 1, wherein the manifold is configured such that when positioned in the grill, the first arm and the second arm are positioned on opposite side of a grilling area of the grill 200 (fig. 5).
11. A manifold for a grill comprising: a first arm 144 configured to be positioned on a first side of a grilling area of the grill, the first arm defining an interior passageway and a plurality of apertures 152 on at least a side of the first arm that are in communication with the interior passageway of the first arm (fig. 3-5); and a second arm 146 configured to be positioned on a second side of the grilling area of the grill that is opposite to the first side of the grilling area, the second arm defining an interior passageway and a plurality of apertures 152 on at least a side of the second arm that are in communication with the interior passageway of the second arm (fig. 3-5); wherein the plurality of apertures on the side of the first arm face the plurality of apertures on the side of the second arm (fig. 3,4); wherein the first arm is configured to receive heat originating from a heat source 104,126 of the grill and provide an air flow for the heat through the interior passageway of the first arm and out of the plurality of apertures of the first arm (fig. 2, para. 0020,0025); and wherein the second arm is configured to receive heat originating from the heat source of the grill and provide an air flow for the heat through the interior passageway of the second arm and out of the plurality of apertures of the second arm (fig. 2, para. 0020,0025).
12. The manifold of claim 11, wherein the manifold is Y-shaped (fig. 2 – arms 144 and 146 show slanted surfaces making a Y-shape).
13. The manifold of claim 11, wherein the manifold is U-shaped (fig. 2 – space 104 providing a U-shape).
14. The manifold of claim 11, wherein a top side of the first arm comprises at least one slanted surface (fig. 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dean (US 2022/0136702), which discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations.
Dean teaches the invention as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the top side of the first arm comprises two slanted surfaces.
The claimed shape/orientation is an obvious modification based on design choice, and depends on spatial considerations such as availability of space and arrangement of other components.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two slanted into the invention disclosed by Dean, so as to provide for spatial considerations.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dean (US 2022/0136702), which discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations.
Dean teaches the invention as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the aperture of the plurality of apertures of the first arm is rectangular.
The claimed shape of an aperture is an obvious modification based on design choice, and depends on manufacturing considerations such as ease of manufacture and cost (i.e., availability of tools for stamping or drilling apertures).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the claimed shape into the invention disclosed by Dean, so as to provide for manufacturing considerations.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dean (US 2022/0136702) in view of Terrell (US 2022/0087475), which discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations.
Dean teaches the invention as described above including a fuel hopper (para. 0019), but fails to explicitly teach the use of charcoal as a fuel.
Terrell, in the same or related field of endeavor (i.e., grills/smokers), teaches that it is known in the art that a fuel hopper may use charcoal along with or instead of wood (para. 0010,0045).
Terrell teaches that such an arrangement provides for convenient and efficient cooking and temperature control (para. 0002).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the use of charcoal as a fuel as taught by Terrell into the invention disclosed by Dean, so as to provide for convenient and efficient cooking and temperature control.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references disclose devices with many of the claimed components. Nevertheless, in order to avoid overburdening the applicant with redundant rejections, these references were not applied.
Conclusion
To contact the examiner’s supervisor please call MICHAEL HOANG whose telephone number is 571 272 6460.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Tech Center telephone number is 571 272 3700.
February 3, 2026
/ALFRED BASICHAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762