DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant Office Action is in response to communication filed on 6/15/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1, 13, 20 and 24 are the base independent claims. Claims 13-23 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, Applicant files the Remark: see page 11.
Applicant explains the claim construction based on the cited references that were mapped to the claim limitations under the Rejection. Such that, the claim requires a relation between a selection PUCCH resource for CSI transmission and a payload size for UCI. Applicant further explains that BAE is silent regarding selection of PUCCH resources for CSI based on UCI payload size because BAE only states to determine a PUCCH resource set corresponding to a payload size of the MUX UCI and for a UE to transmit the CSI on a PUCCH resource configured in a slot, but BAE does not disclose any relation of the two as established in the claim limitation.
--In response, the arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully clarifies that Applicant’s claim interpretation is narrow. Yet, Applicant fails to explain how the selection based on a UCI payload size is for a CSI. Under BRI, the claimed feature appears to be a two-step process: “select a PUCCH resource in a slot” then “transmit a first CSI via the slot using the PUCCH resource.” Examiner explains that BAE in paragraph [0222] discloses: “To transmit UCI, the UE may determine PUCCH resources…the UE determines a PUCCH resource set corresponding to a payload size of the MUX UCI.” It is understood in a field of a 3GPP-based system, CSI is a core component nested inside of UCI and the transmission of CSI requires PUCCH resource. Further, BAE in paragraph [0242] discloses that a configuration for the CSI reporting using a PUCCH and a DCI. Therefore a close relation among UCI (i.e. counter part of DCI, also see par 151), CSI and PUCCH is well-known in the art. Thus, BAE obviously discloses the two-step process of the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over BAE et al (US 2023/0396298) in view of Khan Beigi et al (US 2024/0107525).
Regarding claim 1, BAE discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (par 378; memory and processor) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
select a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource in a full duplex (FD) slot (fig. 10, fig. 11 & par 144; e.g. the UE may select a specific PUCCH resource set according to the range of the UCI (payload) size), based on a payload size for uplink control information (UCI) (par 222-223; e.g. the UE may determine one of the PUCCH resources…that indicates the same slot for PUCCH transmission), for transmission of at least first channel state information (CSI) via the FD slot (par 277; the UE may transmit the CSI on a PUCCH resource configured in a slot; also see par 242, par 151); and
transmit the UCI in the PUCCH resource in the FD slot (par 222, par 225, to transmit UCI, the UE may determine a PUCCH resource; also par 111).
The reference does not explicitly disclose a full duplex slot (emphasis added,) however it is obvious in view of Beigi. Beigi discloses:
In par 113 or par 117; e.g. the WTRU may receive an indication of the time resources for which the SBFD is applicable for a serving cell. Also par 145, The WTRU may transmit the periodic CSI report, SR and/or HARQ-ACK 510 in first (or second) configured PUCCH resource of first (or second) PUCCH configuration if it determines that PUCCH is to be transmitted from first (second) PUCCH configuration…while a subset of RBs in a BWP may be used for uplink in a SBFD slot and/or symbol. Thus, the slot can be a sub band full duplex slot.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of Beigi with the electronic system of BAE. One is motivated as such to increase capacity (Beigi, par 72).
Regarding claim 2, BAE discloses:
receiving a configuration for a set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources, wherein the UCI includes multiplexed CSI reports, and the PUCCH resource is selected from the set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources (par 313-314; e.g. BS may provide to the UE higher layer parameters required for A-CSI transmission and trigger A-CSI transmission on a PUCCH resource… The BS may transmit one or more RRC configurations for the A-CSI transmission to the UE. The RRC configurations may be transmitted for each A-CSI configuration; also see par 326 or par 222).
Regarding claim 3, Beigi discloses:
wherein the configuration is comprised in a PUCCH configuration for sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) communication (par 83; e.g. The WTRU may receive PUCCH configuration information. The WTRU may receive subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information).
Regarding claim 6, Beigi discloses:
wherein selecting the PUCCH resource includes selecting the PUCCH resource from the set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources after removal of frequency resources from a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) that overlap with downlink resources or guard band frequency resources in the FD slot (par 201; e.g. WTRU may be configured for alternative FDRA. The WTRU may (be configured to) use a different frequency-domain-resource-allocation to transmit one or more TX occasion(s) (of the PUCCH repetition), if such overlap to DL is detected, identified, and/or determined at the WTRU, instead of dropping the transmission).
Regarding claim 7, Beigi discloses:
wherein selecting the PUCCH resource includes selecting the PUCCH resource from the set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources that are non-overlapping with the downlink resources or the guard band frequency resources in the FD slot (par 189; e.g. the WTRU may transmit one or more not-overlapped TX occasion(s) (of the PUCCH repetition), e.g., if no overlaps at all are found/determined in the time domain; also see par 200).
Regarding claim 8, BAE discloses:
wherein the UCI further includes at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) (HARQ-ACK) information for a dynamic physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a semi-persistent (SPS) PDSCH, or a scheduling request (SR) (par 111; e.g. UCI types transmitted on the PUCCH may include hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information, a scheduling request (SR), and channel state information (CSI)).
Regarding claim 9, Beigi discloses:
identifying an overlap in time between the first CSI and second CSI, wherein the second CSI overlaps with at least one of a downlink or a guard band frequency resources of the FD slot; and dropping transmission of the second CSI based on not having a configuration for multiple CSI PUCCH resources and transmitting the first CSI in the PUCCH resource (par 189; e.g. the WTRU may drop transmitting other Tx occasion(s) of the PUCCH repetition being overlapped, and the WTRU may, instead, receive the DL signal (or channel) on the overlapped symbol(s)).
Regarding claim 24, BAE discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource in a full duplex (FD) slot (fig. 10, fig. 11 & par 144; e.g. the UE may select a specific PUCCH resource set according to the range of the UCI (payload) size), based on a payload size for uplink control information (UCI) (par 222-223; e.g. the UE may determine one of the PUCCH resources…that indicates the same slot for PUCCH transmission), for transmission of at least first channel state information (CSI) via the FD slot (par 277; the UE may transmit the CSI on a PUCCH resource configured in a slot; also see par 242, par 151); and
transmitting the UCI in the PUCCH resource in the FD slot (par 222, par 225, to transmit UCI, the UE may determine a PUCCH resource; also par 111).
The reference does not explicitly disclose a full duplex slot (emphasis added,) however it is obvious in view of Beigi. Beigi discloses:
In par 113 or par 117; e.g. the WTRU may receive an indication of the time resources for which the SBFD is applicable for a serving cell. Also par 145, The WTRU may transmit the periodic CSI report, SR and/or HARQ-ACK 510 in first (or second) configured PUCCH resource of first (or second) PUCCH configuration if it determines that PUCCH is to be transmitted from first (second) PUCCH configuration…while a subset of RBs in a BWP may be used for uplink in a SBFD slot and/or symbol. Thus, the slot can be a sub band full duplex slot.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of Beigi with the electronic system of BAE. One is motivated as such to increase capacity (Beigi, par 72).
Regarding claim 25, BAE discloses:
receiving a configuration for a set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources, wherein the UCI includes multiplexed CSI reports, and the PUCCH resource is selected from the set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources (par 313-314; e.g. BS may provide to the UE higher layer parameters required for A-CSI transmission and trigger A-CSI transmission on a PUCCH resource… The BS may transmit one or more RRC configurations for the A-CSI transmission to the UE. The RRC configurations may be transmitted for each A-CSI configuration; also see par 326 or par 222).
Regarding claim 26, Beigi discloses:
wherein the configuration is comprised in a PUCCH configuration for sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) communication (par 83; e.g. The WTRU may receive PUCCH configuration information. The WTRU may receive subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) configuration information).
Regarding claim 27, Beigi discloses:
wherein the configuration is comprised in a PUCCH configuration for full-duplex and half-duplex communication, the configuration including a first configuration of resources associated with half duplex (HD) operation and a second configuration of resources associated with FD operation, wherein selecting the PUCCH resource includes selecting a set of PUCCH resources based on the FD slot having a FD slot type associated with the FD operation;
wherein the configuration includes a first subset of resources associated with the FD operation and a second subset of resources associated with HD operation, where the PUCCH resource is selected from the first subset of resources associated with the FD operation;
wherein selecting the PUCCH resource includes selecting the PUCCH resource from the set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources after removal of frequency resources from a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) that overlap with downlink resources or guard band frequency resources in the FD slot (par 201; e.g. WTRU may be configured for alternative FDRA. The WTRU may (be configured to) use a different frequency-domain-resource-allocation to transmit one or more TX occasion(s) (of the PUCCH repetition), if such overlap to DL is detected, identified, and/or determined at the WTRU, instead of dropping the transmission);
wherein selecting the PUCCH resource includes selecting the PUCCH resource from the set of multiple CSI PUCCH resources that are non-overlapping with the downlink resources or the guard band frequency resources in the FD slot (par 189; e.g. the WTRU may transmit one or more not-overlapped TX occasion(s) (of the PUCCH repetition), e.g., if no overlaps at all are found/determined in the time domain; also see par 200); or (examining note: since the claim shows a limitation in an alternative form, the prior art may teach either or both limitations, and this notice applies to subsequent occurrences of claim limitations that are in the alternative form)
wherein the UCI further includes at least one of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) (HARQ-ACK) information for a dynamic physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a semi-persistent (SPS) PDSCH, or a scheduling request (SR) (par 180; e.g. the first PRI is for HARQ-ACK transmission).
Regarding claim 28, Beigi discloses:
identifying an overlap in time between the first CSI and second CSI, wherein the second CSI overlaps with at least one of a downlink or a guard band frequency resources of the FD slot; and dropping transmission of the second CSI based on not having a configuration for multiple CSI PUCCH resources and transmitting the first CSI in the PUCCH resource (par 189; e.g. the WTRU may drop transmitting other Tx occasion(s) of the PUCCH repetition being overlapped, and the WTRU may, instead, receive the DL signal (or channel) on the overlapped symbol(s)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10-12, 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YAOTANG WANG/SCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409