DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to the application filed on 04/24/2026. Claims 11-15 and 26-30 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-10, 16-25, and 31-40 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 16-18, 20-21, 23-24, 31-33, and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by AWONIYI-OTERI et al. (US 2021/0298065).
As of claims 1 and 31, AWONIYI discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (para [0056] [0246] [FIG.2] shows and disclose an apparatus 200 comprise at least one processor 210, a memory 220, and a transceiver 230 connected to the network for performing communications) to cause the UE to:
receive configuration information for a cell discontinuous reception configuration that indicates one or more cell non-active periods during which a serving cell does not monitor for communications from the UE (para [0089] [FIG.3] discloses the terminal receive the DRX configuration information from the base station. The terminal configures a DRX cycle based on the DRX configuration information and perform a PDCCH monitoring operation in an on-duration or active time configured at a starting part of each DRX cycle, and skip the PDCCH monitoring operation in the remaining time period (=non-active periods), para [0192] discloses the terminal skips the transmission operation of the specific uplink signal(s) in terminal-specific DRX inactive times (e.g., periods outside the active times);
receive an activation message that activates the cell discontinuous reception configuration (para [0163] discloses the terminal activates in the cell DTX/DRX active or inactive time be configured to the terminal by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE) which corresponds to UE receives an activation message for cell discontinuous reception configuration); and
transmit a first uplink transmission in accordance with a configured grant resource allocation, the first uplink transmission including a skipping indication that the UE will skip one or more uplink transmissions for one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with at least a first cell non-active period (para [0192] discloses the terminal perform a transmission operation of specific uplink signals, and skip the transmission operation of the specific uplink signals in terminal-specific DRX inactive times (e.g., periods outside the active times)),
wherein the skipping indication provides a confirmation that the activation message was successfully received at the UE (para [0090] disclose the DRX inactivity timer be started or reset at a time (e.g., slot, subframe, symbol) when the terminal successfully receives the PDCCH (=confirmation of activation message is successfully received).
As of claims 16 and 37, AWONIYI discloses a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to ([0056] [FIG. 2]) cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a cell discontinuous reception configuration that indicates one or more cell non-active periods during which a serving cell associated with the network entity does not monitor for communications from the UE (para [0089] [FIG.3] discloses a base station transmit DRX configuration information to a terminal. The terminal configures a DRX cycle based on the DRX configuration information and perform a PDCCH monitoring operation in an on-duration or active time configured at a starting part of each DRX cycle, and skip the PDCCH monitoring operation in the remaining time period (=non-active periods), para [0192] discloses the terminal skips the transmission operation of the specific uplink signal(s) in terminal-specific DRX inactive times (e.g., periods outside the active times and [0095] the base station (=network entity) do not perform a signal transmission operation in a DTX inactive time);
transmit, to the UE, an activation message that activates the cell discontinuous reception configuration (para [0163] discloses the terminal activates in the cell DTX/DRX active or inactive time be configured to the terminal by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC message, MAC CE) which corresponds to UE receives an activation message for cell discontinuous reception configuration); and
receive, from the UE, a first uplink transmission in accordance with a configured grant resource allocation, the first uplink transmission including a skipping indication that the UE will skip one or more uplink transmissions for one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with at least a first cell non-active period (para [0192] discloses the terminal perform a transmission operation of specific uplink signals, and skip the transmission operation of the specific uplink signals in terminal-specific DRX inactive times (e.g., periods outside the active times)),
wherein the skipping indication provides a confirmation that the activation message was successfully received at the UE (para [0090] disclose the DRX inactivity timer be started or reset at a time (e.g., slot, subframe, symbol) when the terminal successfully receives the PDCCH (=confirmation of activation message is successfully received).
As of claims 2, 17, 32 and 38, rejection of claims 1, 16, 31, and 37 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI discloses the first uplink transmission is transmitted in a last configured grant resource allocation within a cell active period prior to the first cell non-active period (para [0115] discloses the terminal perform the same uplink transmission operation in the period as in the cell DRX active time).
As of claim 3, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine the one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with the first cell non-active period, and wherein the skipping indication identifies each of the one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with the first cell non-active period (para [0196] [0199] [0216] discloses a cell DTX inactive time (or cell DRX inactive time) and a terminal-specific DRX inactive time overlap, when the overlapping part is considered as the inactive time from the terminal-specific DRX operation perspective, the terminal skip PDCCH monitoring in the overlapping part).
As of claims 5, 20, and 35, rejection of claims 1, 16, and 31 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI discloses the skipping indication is provided in uplink control information (UCI) included with the first uplink transmission (para [0126] discloses the terminal receive configuration information of a resource of a PUCCH including UCI in the period, the UCI be transmitted to the base station along with the PUSCH in the slot).
As of claims 6, 21, and 36, rejection of claims 5, 20 and 35 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI discloses the skipping indication includes a bitmap of the one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with the first cell non-active period (para [0173] discloses each bit string be configured as 1 bit or 2 bits when a cell DTX or cell DRX activation and/or inactivation operation is configured in a certain serving cell, a bit string corresponding to the cell DTX or cell DRX activation/inactivation indication be 1 bit, and when an activation and/or inactivation operation for both cell DTX and cell DRX is configured in a certain serving cell, a bit string corresponding to the activation/inactivation indication for cell DTX and cell DRX be 2 bits wherein para [0196] discloses a cell DTX inactive time (or cell DRX inactive time) and a terminal-specific DRX inactive time overlap).
As of claims 8 and 23, AWONIYI discloses rejection of claims 1 and 16 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI discloses the skipping indication provides both the confirmation that the activation message was successfully received at the UE (para [0090] disclose the DRX inactivity timer be started or reset at a time (e.g., slot, subframe, symbol) when the terminal successfully receives the PDCCH (=confirmation of activation message is successfully received), and an indication that one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with a cell active period are to be skipped (para [0195] [0197] disclose a cell DTX active time (or cell DRX active time) and a terminal-specific DRX active time overlap, skip a transmission operation of a CG PUSCH).
As of claims 9 and 24, AWONIYI discloses rejection of claims 8 and 23 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI teaches the skipping indication includes a bitmap of the one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with the first cell non-active period and the cell active period (para [0173] discloses each bit string be configured as 1 bit or 2 bits when a cell DTX or cell DRX activation and/or inactivation operation is configured in a certain serving cell, a bit string corresponding to the cell DTX or cell DRX activation/inactivation indication be 1 bit, and when an activation and/or inactivation operation for both cell DTX and cell DRX is configured in a certain serving cell, a bit string corresponding to the activation/inactivation indication for cell DTX and cell DRX be 2 bits wherein para [0195] [0196] discloses in a certain time period, a cell DTX active time (or cell DRX active time) and a terminal-specific DRX active time overlap and a cell DTX inactive time (or cell DRX inactive time) and a terminal-specific DRX inactive time overlap).
As of claims 18 and 33, AWONIYI discloses rejection of claims 16 and 31 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI teaches the skipping indication identifies each of the one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with the first cell non- active period (para [0199] [0204] discloses a cell DTX active time (or cell DRX active time) and a terminal-specific DRX inactive time overlap and skip a transmission operation of a CG PUSCH).
As of claim 39, AWONIYI discloses rejection of claim 37 cited above incorporated herein, in addition AWONIYI teaches the skipping indication identifies each of the one or more configured grant occasions that overlap with the first cell non-active period (para [0196] [0199] [0216] discloses a cell DTX inactive time (or cell DRX inactive time) and a terminal-specific DRX inactive time overlap, when the overlapping part is considered as the inactive time from the terminal-specific DRX operation perspective, the terminal skip PDCCH monitoring in the overlapping part).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 10, 19, 22, 25, 34 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the combined teachings of the prior art references do not teach or reasonably suggest the claimed invention as a whole.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471