DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloodworth (US Patent No. 6,986,238) in view of Womack (US Patent No. 11,565,749).
In reference to claim 1, Bloodworth discloses an attachment assembly 10 for attaching a tool 12 to a mower 14 comprising:
a plate 34 fixed to the tool 12, the plate 34 has a plate pin 32 attached to the plate 34 and extending from the plate 34 (Fig. 2); and
a bracket 30 having a bracket body 44 attached to a frame of the mower 14, the plate pin 32 is releasably connected (Fig. 3, via pins 49) to the bracket body 44 in an open attached position (Fig. 3), the plate 34 is pivotable with respect to the bracket 30 about a vertical axis 70 (Fig. 3) and about a horizontal axis 74 (Fig. 3) extending perpendicular to the vertical axis 70 in the open attached position.
Bloodworth discloses that the tool is a trimmer rather than a blower.
Womack discloses that a tool attachable to a mower can be interchangeably a trimmer or blower (col. 3, lines 53-55). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to attach a blower to a mower with a reasonable expectation of success so that blowing capability can be provided.
In reference to claim 2, Bloodworth discloses that the bracket 30 has a plate securing device 42 and a plate pin passageway (Fig. 3, the space between plates 44 occupied by pin 32).
In reference to claim 3, Bloodworth discloses that the plate pin 32 is releasably connected to the bracket body 44 by the plate pin passageway (Fig. 3).
In reference to claim 7, Bloodworth discloses that the bracket body 44 is L shaped (Fig. 3, multiple L shapes are visible).
In reference to claim 8, Bloodworth discloses that the plate pin 32 has a pivot assembly 60 (Fig. 3) having a pivot assembly passageway and a pivot assembly pin (Fig. 3, pivot assembly 60 includes an upper portion constituting a pin that extends into a passageway).
In reference to claim 9, Bloodworth discloses that the plate pin 32 is attached to the plate 34 by the pivot assembly pin 60 (Fig. 3).
In reference to claim 20, Bloodworth discloses a mower 14 comprising,
a frame (Fig. 1); and
an attachment assembly 10 for attaching a tool 12 to the mower 14 comprising:
a plate 34 fixed to the tool 12, the plate 34 has a plate pin 32 attached to the plate 34 and extending from the plate 34 (Fig. 3); and
a bracket 30 having a bracket body 44 attached to the frame of the mower 14 (Fig. 3), the plate pin 32 is releasably connected to the bracket body 44 in an open attached position (Fig. 3), the plate 34 is pivotable with respect to the bracket 30 about a vertical axis 70 and about a horizontal axis 74 extending perpendicular to the vertical axis 70 in the open attached position (Fig. 3).
Bloodworth discloses that the tool is a trimmer rather than a blower.
Womack discloses that a tool attachable to a mower can be interchangeably a trimmer or blower (col. 3, lines 53-55). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to attach a blower to a mower with a reasonable expectation of success so that blowing capability can be provided.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 10-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-19 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Guarniere (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0007579) discloses a mower mounted attachment means (Fig. 3); and Bischof (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0046916) discloses a tool attached to a mower by a bracket 111 and post 112 (Fig. 2).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
1/16/26