Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikawa et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2009/0104515).
With respect to claim 1, Fujikawa, et al. teach a lithium secondary battery wherein the electrode has a sheet shape with a first main surface and a second main surface (see figure1; examiner notes that layered assembly anticipates the sheet shape as claimed and the electrode has surfaces which can be considered first and second main surfaces, respectively). In addition, the thickness of the electrode (paragraph 0055) may be between 3-100 um. While Fujikawa, et al. do not specifically teach the average thickness in the expression as recited; however, Fujikawa, et al. teach that the electrode thickness may vary from 3 – 100 micron (paragraph 0055). Based on this range and the fact that the reference teaches that the thickness may be determined at any 2 – 10 locations by taking thicknesses in a longitudinal cross-section and averaging it, examiner contends that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the expression in claim 1 to be satisfied. For example, if the average thickness is 50 micron and the thickness at any given point is 50 microns, expression 1 = 0 ≤ 0.1 (50).
With respect to claim 2, Fujikawa, et al. teach that the electrode comprises a flat part (item 31 – figure 3); and a plurality of pattern parts protruding with a predetermined width in a width direction of the electrode (figure 3), wherein the plurality of pattern parts is spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance in a longitudinal direction of the electrode (figure 3).
With respect to claim 3, while Fujikawa, et al. do not specifically teach the expression as recited, Fujikawa et al. teach that the distance between pattern parts is approximately 2 – 100 microns (center to center distance, see paragraph 0090). The number and interval between protrusion is not limited and thus, if the shortest distance is 2 microns, and the center to center distance between any two pattern parts is 50 microns, expression 2 is satisfied.
With respect to claim 4, while Fujikawa, et al. do not specifically teach the expression as recited, if the D is 2 microns and the longest distance, E is 50 microns, expression 3 is satisfied.
With respect to claim 5, the distance between pattern parts is between 2 – 100 microns, which renders obvious the range as claimed. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
With respect to claim 7, Fujikawa et al. teach a pouch type lithium secondary battery, comprising: an electrode assembly (figure 1) and a case configured to store the electrode assembly (item 14 – figure 1) wherein the electrode assembly comprises the assembly of claim 1.
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikawa et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2009/0104515) in view of Ugaji et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2010/0151330).
With respect to claim 6, Fujikawa discloses a range for the size of the protrusions while Ugaji et al. discloses the advantages of having concave and convex portions in which lithium ions can reversibly be inserted and be extracted with ease (paragraph 0014). Having this configuration improves high-rate discharging accompanied by low temperature and discharging with long life span (paragraph 0015). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to optimize the area of the flat part and the area of a pattern part to satisfy Expression 4.
Conclusion
/C.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1788
08/04/2026
/MARIA V EWALD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783