DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 10/11/2025. Claims 1, 2, 5, and 11 - 20 were amended. Claim 21 was newly added. Claims 1 - 21 remains pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argument
Applicant argues – “Particularly, in Zhou, it only discloses that the base station controls its energy saving by setting the DTX duration as Y=XxK, where K is the SSB periodicity and X is an integer multiplier. If X > 1, the base station skips multiple SSB transmissions and stays in a cell-off state longer, waking less frequently to monitor the C-WUS, thereby reducing power consumption. However, this mechanism is not directly applied to the UE, let alone enabling the UE to align its DRX with the DTX”.
Examiner response
The applicant amendment has rendered Zhou’s teaching on DTX not fully relevant to the application. Examiner is now using new references in conjunction with Zhou’s and other existing references to teach the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0051589), Nam hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1 and 11: Nam teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of a User Equipment (UE), a configuration of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) from a network node with a cell DTX functionality, wherein the configuration comprises information regarding at least one of a periodicity, a start slot or a start offset and an on duration; (fig. 4 discloses a UE with a processor, and fig. 12 and paragraph 0037 and 0086 - … Alternatively, the default wake-up configuration may cause the UE to actively perform PDCCH monitoring during the on-duration associated with the WUS occasion. The default wake-up configuration can be dynamically and/or semi-statically configured to select whether the UE should skip or actively perform PDCCH monitoring during the on-duration associated with the WUS occasion. ... [0086] FIG. 7B illustrates a scheduling/transmission configuration 790 of a wireless communication method according to some aspects of the present disclosure. FIG. 7B illustrates a scheduling/transmission configuration 790 similar to those of FIGS. 2, 6, and 7A ... (e.g., as part of a DTX operation). ... The UE can be in sleep state 786 based on a default wake-up configuration received from the BS (e.g., via RRC signaling, PDCCH signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, or other signaling).)
and skipping, by the processor, a monitoring activity during one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node (paragraph 0093 … 'In some instances, the UE also skips PDCCH monitoring based on the default wake-up configuration 810 received from the BS. … ).
Regarding Claim 2 and 12: Nam teaches claims 1 and 11.
Nam further teaches wherein the monitoring activity comprises a monitoring activity to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE (paragraph 0061 and 0062 discloses monitoring on PDCCH and C-RNTI scrambling. - [0061] … In some instances, the wake-up DCI is sent with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by an identifier associated with the UE (e.g., C-RNTI) … [0062] … The wake-up field information 312, 322, 332 can indicate to the associated UE or group of UEs details as to how the UE should perform the PDCCH monitoring during the associated on-duration(s) if the UE is to enter an active state (e.g., when the wake-up indicator is a 1). ...)
Regarding Claim 3 and 13: Nam teaches claims 1 and 11.
Nam further teaches 3. (Original) The method of Claim 1, wherein the monitoring activity comprises a monitoring activity to monitor a Type3-PDCCH common search space (CSS) (paragraph 0055 … The BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with various different CORSETs and/or search spaces for different types of PDCCH monitoring (e.g., DL/UL schedules and/or wake-up information). In an example, the BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with the BWPs, the CORESETS, and/or the PDCCH search spaces via RRC configurations )
Regarding Claim 4 and 14: Nam teaches claims 1 and 11.
Nam further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a cell DTX activation or deactivation indication from the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a PDCCH-based signaling (paragraph 0082 - … The UE can receive the default wake-up configuration from the BS (e.g., via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, PDCCH signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, L1/L2 signaling, or other signaling … ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0061589), Nam hereinafter, in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0237133), Jeon hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5 and 15: Nam teaches claims 4 and 14.
Yet, Nam does not expressly teach wherein the PDCCH-based signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) format for cell DTX activation or deactivation.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses wherein the PDCCH-based signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) format for cell DTX activation or deactivation (paragraph 0186 - The UE then receives an indication on activation or deactivation of the cell DTX or the cell DRX (1620). For example, in 1620, the indication is in DCI. In various embodiments, the UE may receive information related to a search space set to PDCCHs, where a PDCCH from the PDCCHs provides a DCI format, the DCI format provides the indication on activation or deactivation of the cell DTX or the cell DRX, and indications on activation or deactivation of the cell DTX and activation or deactivation of the cell DRX are separate indications.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nam’s Wake-up behavior indication for power saving to include Jeon's multiple DCI formats to achieve optimum resource allocation.
Claims 6, 7, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0061589), Nam hereinafter, in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0081103), Zhou hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16: Nam teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Nam does not expressly teach wherein the receiving of the configuration of the cell DTX comprises: receiving, by the processor, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to configure one or more cell DTX parameters, wherein the one or more cell DTX parameters comprise at least one of the periodicity, the start slot or the start offset and the on duration.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein the receiving of the configuration of the cell DTX comprises: receiving, by the processor, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to configure one or more cell DTX parameters, (paragraph 0356 - One of example embodiments may comprise a base station transmitting, and/or a wireless device receiving, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters indicating a time duration for an energy saving (ES) state (sleep mode, OFF mode, DTX state, etc.) of a cell. ).
wherein the one or more cell DTX parameters comprise at least one of the periodicity, the start slot or the start offset and the on duration (paragraph 0368 - In an example, the configuration parameters of the DTX of the base station may comprise a length of the DTX duration, wherein the length is equal to a multiple (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, etc.) of a periodicity (e.g., 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 160 ms, etc.) of the SSBs. The configuration parameters of the DTX of the base station may indicate that the DTX duration starts at a slot, of a plurality of slots, comprising the starting SSB of a plurality of SSBs in a SS burst. Taking FIG. 35 as an example, the starting SSB of the plurality of SSBs is SSB #1, which is located in slot #0. The DTX duration may start from slot #0.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nam’s Wake-up behavior indication for power saving to include Zhou's DTX parameters to better conserve mobile battery power.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17: Nam in view of Zhou teaches claims 6 and 16.
Nam further teaches 7. (Original) The method of Claim 6, wherein the on duration is indicated by a cell DTX on duration timer (paragraph 0109 discloses on duration timer - … The BS may provide an indication to the UE as to which of the wake-up configuration(s) to implement, including for how long (e.g., based on a timer and/or condition) …).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0061589), Nam hereinafter, in view of Zhou and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0237135), Wu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8 and 18: Nam in view of Zhou teaches claims 6 and 16.
Yet, Nam in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein the periodicity comprises at least one of a cell DTX long cycle and a cell DTX short cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Wu explicitly discloses wherein the periodicity comprises at least one of a cell DTX long cycle and a cell DTX short cycle (paragraph 0345 - In one example, the cell DTX/DRX may be configured with two cycles, referred to as short and long cycles, and the cell DTX/DRX may switch between the short and long cycles, wherein the size of the long cycle is an integer multiple of the size of the short cycle, the long cycle DTX/DRX and the short cycle DTX/DRX use the same parameter to determine the starting position of the cycle and use the same parameter to determine the duration of the active time in the cycle, i.e., only the cycle size is different. The cell DTX/DRX can be flexibly switched between the long and short cycles to maximize the power savings.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nam’s Wake-up behavior indication for power saving to include WU's long cycle and short cycle DTX to flexibly switched between the long and short cycles to maximize power savings
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0061589), Nam hereinafter, in view of Rune et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20150223228), Rune hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 9 and 19: Nam teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Nam does not expressly teach further comprising: performing, by the processor, a transmission activity to send a scheduling request (SR) in an active period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) and an active period of the cell DTX of the network node; or skipping, by the processor, a transmission of the SR during one or more non-active periods of the DRX or the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node.
However, in the analogous art, Rune explicitly discloses further comprising: performing, by the processor, a transmission activity to send a scheduling request (SR) in an active period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) and an active period of the cell DTX of the network node; (paragraph 0063 - With message 507, the further terminal device 210 may then send a further scheduling request to the network node 100/300. This is accomplished on the resource allocated at step 501 and during the active time of the DTX/DRX cycle configured for the further terminal device 210. The scheduling request of message 507 is received by the network node 100/300. If the message 507 is transmitted in a non-overlapping part of the active periods of the respective DTX/DRX cycles of the terminal devices 200, 210, the network node 100/300 can utilize the timing of the message 507 to identify the terminal device 210 as source of the message 507.)
or skipping, by the processor, a transmission of the SR during one or more non-active periods of the DRX or the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node (Alternative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nam’s Wake-up behavior indication for power saving to include Rune's sending of scheduling request to obtain resources for uplink transmission (paragraph 0006 Rune).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0061589), Nam hereinafter, in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0237133), Jeon hereinafter and further in view of Ly et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0020254), Ly hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10 and 20: Nam teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Nam does not expressly teach further comprising receiving, by the processor, an indication of a new transmission from the network node; and
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses further comprising receiving, by the processor, an indication of a new transmission from the network node; and (paragraph 0105 - Cell DTX can be configured via Cell DTX cycle/offset, Cell DTX On duration. A UE (e.g., UE 116) is not expected to receive DL common signals/channels (SSB/SI/cell common PDCCH) as well as some UE specific signals/channels during cell DTX (e.g., time duration outside the Cell DTX On duration). For legacy UE or UE in IDLE/INACTIVE state, a broadcast signal, e.g., MIB (or SIB), may indicate that whether SI/paging is transmitted in a certain Cell DTX/DRX occasion.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nam’s Wake-up behavior indication for power saving to include Jeon's multiple DCI formats to achieve optimum resource allocation.
Yet, Nam in view of Jeon does not expressly teach skipping, by the processor, a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX.
However, in the analogous art, Ly explicitly discloses skipping, by the processor, a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX (paragraph 0098 - … The DTX configuration may include active durations in which the base station 105-a may be configured to wake up from a sleep mode to transmit messages (e.g., physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions) to the UE 115-a. ... the UE 115-a may monitor for control signaling (e.g., PDCCH) during periods where the UE 115-a and the base station 105-a may be concurrently active. As such, the base station 105-a may experience improved power savings if active durations of the UE 115-a and the active durations of the base station 105-a overlap in the time domain.). Monitoring during overlapping active period by both base station and UE will mean skipping or omiting monitoring by the UE when its non-active period overlaps with the bases station PDCCH transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nam’s Wake-up behavior indication for power saving to include Ly's monitoring of control signal to better conserve energy use.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0061589), Nam hereinafter, in view of He et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0219557), He hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 21: Nam teaches claim 1.
Yet, Nam does not expressly teach further comprising: receiving, by the processor, two cell DTX groups with separate cell DTX parameters, wherein when the two cell DTX groups are configured, each serving cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two cell DTX groups.
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving, by the processor, two cell DTX groups with separate cell DTX parameters, wherein when the two cell DTX groups are configured, each serving cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two cell DTX groups (paragraph 0055 - The DTX DCI format information may contain data for each serving cell. This data may be used by the UE at operation 706 to determine the DTX state of each of the serving cells. The serving cells may be in the DTX state or in a non-DTX state. In some embodiments, a single EPDCCH may be able to schedule multiple PDSCHs for different serving cells in a cell group associated with the EPDCCH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Nam’s Wake-up behavior indication for power saving to include He's DTX configuration information for each serving cell to better conserve equipment power.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472