DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 04/02/2026. Claims 1 and 11 were amended. Claims 1 - 21 remains pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
A new reference is used to teach the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1: Hong teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of User Equipment (UE), a configuration of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) from a network node with a cell DTX functionality, wherein the configuration comprises information regarding at least one of a periodicity, a start slot or a start offset and an on duration, wherein the cell DTX includes one or more active periods and one or more non-active periods; and (paragraph [0108] The cell DTX/DRX configuration may be configured/instructed as being divided into a cell DTX mode and a cell DRX mode. For example, the cell DTX configuration for the downlink (DL) transmission/reception of the base station/UE and the cell DRX configuration for controlling the uplink (UL) transmission of the UE may be configured independently. The cell DTX configuration may include at least one parameter among DTX cycle/period, DTX start offset, DTX slot offset, DTX On Duration/Active Time, DTX On Duration/Active Time timer, DTX Off Duration/non-Active Time, and DTX non-active/Off Duration timer. The cell DRX configuration may include at least one parameter among DRX cycle/period, DRX start offset, DRX slot offset, DRX On Duration/Active Time, DRX On Duration/Active Time timer, DRX Off Duration/non-Active Time, DRX non-active/Off Duration timer. ... [0233] Referring to FIG. 9, the base station transmits cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and the cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information to the UE. The UE receives the cell DTX and DRX configuration information (S901). Based on the cell DTX and DRX configuration information, the base station and the UE perform a cell DTX and/or cell DRX activation operation (S902). )
skipping, by the processor, a monitoring activity during one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node. ([0122] The UE may operate by distinguishing/considering/interpreting the corresponding DTX/DRX mode based on the instructed/received information. For example, when the cell DTX/DRX is configured (e.g., when the cell DTX/DRX mode 1 is configured), the UE may stop/skip/not perform at least one of the operations, such as PDCCH monitoring, CSI measurement, beam management, and radio resource management (RRM) measurement in the corresponding cell during the corresponding Cell DTX/DRX Off Duration/non-Active Time. ... )
Regarding Claim 11: Hong teaches a User Equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one network node; and ([0233] Referring to FIG. 9, the base station transmits cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and the cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information to the UE. The UE receives the cell DTX and DRX configuration information (S901). …)
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising: ([0252] The transceiver 1031 is connected to the processor 1020 in a way to operate and transmits and/or receives a radio signal. The transceiver 1031 includes a transmitter and a receiver. The transceiver 1031 may include a baseband circuit to process a radio frequency signal. ... )
receiving, via the transceiver, a configuration of a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) from the network node with a cell DTX functionality, wherein the configuration comprises information regarding at least one of a periodicity, a start slot or a start offset and an on duration wherein the cell DTX includes one or more active periods and one or more non-active periods; and ([0108] The cell DTX/DRX configuration may be configured/instructed as being divided into a cell DTX mode and a cell DRX mode. For example, the cell DTX configuration for the downlink (DL) transmission/reception of the base station/UE and the cell DRX configuration for controlling the uplink (UL) transmission of the UE may be configured independently. The cell DTX configuration may include at least one parameter among DTX cycle/period, DTX start offset, DTX slot offset, DTX On Duration/Active Time, DTX On Duration/Active Time timer, DTX Off Duration/non-Active Time, and DTX non-active/Off Duration timer. The cell DRX configuration may include at least one parameter among DRX cycle/period, DRX start offset, DRX slot offset, DRX On Duration/Active Time, DRX On Duration/Active Time timer, DRX Off Duration/non-Active Time, DRX non-active/Off Duration timer. ... [0233] Referring to FIG. 9, the base station transmits cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and the cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information to the UE. The UE receives the cell DTX and DRX configuration information (S901). Based on the cell DTX and DRX configuration information, the base station and the UE perform a cell DTX and/or cell DRX activation operation (S902). )
skipping a monitoring activity during one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node. ([0122] The UE may operate by distinguishing/considering/interpreting the corresponding DTX/DRX mode based on the instructed/received information. For example, when the cell DTX/DRX is configured (e.g., when the cell DTX/DRX mode 1 is configured), the UE may stop/skip/not perform at least one of the operations, such as PDCCH monitoring, CSI measurement, beam management, and radio resource management (RRM) measurement in the corresponding cell during the corresponding Cell DTX/DRX Off Duration/non-Active Time. ... ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 2, 6, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0081103), Zhou hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12: Hong teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach wherein the monitoring activity comprises a monitoring activity to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein the monitoring activity comprises a monitoring activity to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE. (paragraph 0213 - ... A search space set may comprise a set of PDCCH candidates formed by CCEs at a given aggregation level. The configuration parameters may indicate: a number of PDCCH candidates to be monitored per aggregation level; a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and a PDCCH monitoring pattern; one or more DCI formats to be monitored by the UE; and/or whether a search space set is a common search space set or a UE-specific search space set. A set of CCEs in the common search space set may be predefined and known to the UE. A set of CCEs in the UE-specific search space set may be configured based on the UE's identity (e.g., C-RNTI).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Zhou 's DTX parameters to better conserve mobile battery power.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16: Hong teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach wherein the receiving of the configuration of the cell DTX comprises: receiving, by the processor, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to configure one or more cell DTX parameters, wherein the one or more cell DTX parameters comprise at least one of the periodicity, the start slot or the start offset and the on duration.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein the receiving of the configuration of the cell DTX comprises: receiving, by the processor, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to configure one or more cell DTX parameters, wherein the one or more cell DTX parameters comprise at least one of the periodicity, the start slot or the start offset and the on duration. (paragraph 0356 - One of example embodiments may comprise a base station transmitting, and/or a wireless device receiving, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters indicating a time duration for an energy saving (ES) state (sleep mode, OFF mode, DTX state, etc.) of a cell. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Zhou 's DTX parameters to better conserve mobile battery power.
Claims 3, 4, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Nam et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0051589), Nam hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13: Hong teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach wherein the monitoring activity comprises a monitoring activity to monitor a Type3-PDCCH common search space (CSS).
However, in the analogous art, Nam explicitly discloses Nam 3. (Original) The method of Claim 1, wherein the monitoring activity comprises a monitoring activity to monitor a Type3-PDCCH common search space (CSS). (paragraph 0055 … The BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with various different CORSETs and/or search spaces for different types of PDCCH monitoring (e.g., DL/UL schedules and/or wake-up information). In an example, the BS 105 may configure the UE 115 with the BWPs, the CORESETS, and/or the PDCCH search spaces via RRC configurations )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Nam's PDCCH monitoring, configuration using RRC and on duration timer to get the DTX configuration to UE and monitor PDCCH.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14: Hong teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a cell DTX activation or deactivation indication from the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a PDCCH-based signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Nam explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a cell DTX activation or deactivation indication from the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a PDCCH-based signaling. (paragraph 0082 - … The UE can receive the default wake-up configuration from the BS (e.g., via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, PDCCH signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, L1/L2 signaling, or other signaling … ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Nam's PDCCH monitoring, configuration using RRC and on duration timer to get the DTX configuration to UE and monitor PDCCH.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0237133), Jeon hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15: Hong teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach wherein the PDCCH-based signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) format for cell DTX activation or deactivation.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses wherein the PDCCH-based signaling comprises at least one of a downlink control information (DCI) format for cell DTX activation or deactivation. (paragraph 0186 - The UE then receives an indication on activation or deactivation of the cell DTX or the cell DRX (1620). For example, in 1620, the indication is in DCI. In various embodiments, the UE may receive information related to a search space set to PDCCHs, where a PDCCH from the PDCCHs provides a DCI format, the DCI format provides the indication on activation or deactivation of the cell DTX or the cell DRX, and indications on activation or deactivation of the cell DTX and activation or deactivation of the cell DRX are separate indications.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Jeon's multiple DCI formats to achieve optimum resource allocation.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Zhou and further in view of Nam.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17: Hong in view of Zhou teaches claims 6 and 16.
Yet, Hong in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein the on duration is indicated by a cell DTX on duration timer.
However, in the analogous art, Nam explicitly discloses wherein the on duration is indicated by a cell DTX on duration timer. (paragraph 0109 discloses on duration timer - … The BS may provide an indication to the UE as to which of the wake-up configuration(s) to implement, including for how long (e.g., based on a timer and/or condition) …)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Nam's PDCCH monitoring, configuration using RRC and on duration timer to get the DTX configuration to UE and monitor PDCCH.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Zhou and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0237135), Wu hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18: Hong in view of Zhou teaches claims 6 and 16.
Yet, Hong in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein the periodicity comprises at least one of a cell DTX long cycle and a cell DTX short cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Wu explicitly discloses wherein the periodicity comprises at least one of a cell DTX long cycle and a cell DTX short cycle. (paragraph 0345 - In one example, the cell DTX/DRX may be configured with two cycles, referred to as short and long cycles, and the cell DTX/DRX may switch between the short and long cycles, wherein the size of the long cycle is an integer multiple of the size of the short cycle, the long cycle DTX/DRX and the short cycle DTX/DRX use the same parameter to determine the starting position of the cycle and use the same parameter to determine the duration of the active time in the cycle, i.e., only the cycle size is different. The cell DTX/DRX can be flexibly switched between the long and short cycles to maximize the power savings.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include WU's long cycle and short cycle DTX to flexibly switched between the long and short cycles to maximize power savings.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Rune et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20150223228), Rune hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 9 and 19: Hong teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach further comprising: performing, by the processor, a transmission activity to send a scheduling request (SR) in an active period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) and an active period of the cell DTX of the network node; or skipping, by the processor, a transmission of the SR during one or more non-active periods of the DRX or the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node.
However, in the analogous art, Rune explicitly discloses further comprising: performing, by the processor, a transmission activity to send a scheduling request (SR) in an active period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) and an active period of the cell DTX of the network node; or skipping, by the processor, a transmission of the SR during one or more non-active periods of the DRX or the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node (paragraph 0063 - With message 507, the further terminal device 210 may then send a further scheduling request to the network node 100/300. This is accomplished on the resource allocated at step 501 and during the active time of the DTX/DRX cycle configured for the further terminal device 210. The scheduling request of message 507 is received by the network node 100/300. If the message 507 is transmitted in a non-overlapping part of the active periods of the respective DTX/DRX cycles of the terminal devices 200, 210, the network node 100/300 can utilize the timing of the message 507 to identify the terminal device 210 as source of the message 507.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Rune's sending of scheduling request to obtain resources for uplink transmission.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0237133), Jeon hereinafter and further in view of Ly et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0020254), Ly hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 10 and 20: Hong teaches claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach further comprising receiving, by the processor, an indication of a new transmission from the network node; and
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses further comprising receiving, by the processor, an indication of a new transmission from the network node; and (paragraph 0105 - Cell DTX can be configured via Cell DTX cycle/offset, Cell DTX On duration. A UE (e.g., UE 116) is not expected to receive DL common signals/channels (SSB/SI/cell common PDCCH) as well as some UE specific signals/channels during cell DTX (e.g., time duration outside the Cell DTX On duration). For legacy UE or UE in IDLE/INACTIVE state, a broadcast signal, e.g., MIB (or SIB), may indicate that whether SI/paging is transmitted in a certain Cell DTX/DRX occasion.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Jeon's multiple DCI formats to achieve optimum resource allocation.
Yet, Hong in view of Jeon does not expressly teach skipping, by the processor, a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX.
However, in the analogous art, Ly explicitly discloses skipping, by the processor, a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX (paragraph 0098 - … The DTX configuration may include active durations in which the base station 105-a may be configured to wake up from a sleep mode to transmit messages (e.g., physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions) to the UE 115-a. ... the UE 115-a may monitor for control signaling (e.g., PDCCH) during periods where the UE 115-a and the base station 105-a may be concurrently active. As such, the base station 105-a may experience improved power savings if active durations of the UE 115-a and the active durations of the base station 105-a overlap in the time domain.). Monitoring during overlapping active period by both base station and UE will mean skipping or omitting monitoring by the UE when its non-active period overlaps with the bases station PDCCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Ly's monitoring of control signal to better conserve energy use.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (U.S. PGPUB 2025/0351224), Hong hereinafter, in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2024/0276371), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 21: Hong teaches claim 1.
Yet, Hong does not expressly teach further comprising: receiving, by the processor, two cell DTX groups with separate cell DTX parameters, wherein when the two cell DTX groups are configured, each serving cell is uniquely assigned to either of the two cell DTX groups.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly discloses ([0055] DRX1 and DTX1 are defined per UE and applied to all active serving cells of the UE. GNB transmits and receives downlink common signals and uplink common signals normally during DRX_period_2 and DTX_period_2 respectively when DRX1 and DTX1 are applied. DRX1 and DTX1 are also called C-DRX (Connected DRX). Active serving cells include PCell and activated SCells. [0056] DRX2 and DTX2 are defined per cell and applied to a specific serving cell of a UE. GNB stops transmission and reception during DRX_period_4 and DTX_period_4 respectively if DRX2 and DTX2 are applied (activated). In GNB perspective, GNB stops transmission in DRX2 operation and stops reception in DTX2 operation. Hence DRX2 and DTX2 are also called group DTX and group DRX.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Hong’s method and apparatus for performing cell DTX and/or cell DRX in wireless communication system to include Kim's DTX group use to better conserve equipment power.
Conclusion
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472