DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENTS
Status of Application/Amendments/claims
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 were previously cancelled, claims 24, 31 and 38 are cancelled, Claims 21, 23, 28, 30, 35 and 37 are amended.
Claims 21-23, 25-30, 32-37, 39-40 have been examined, of which claims 21, 28 and 35 are independent.
Claim Rejections/Objections Withdrawn
In view of the amendment filed, the following rejections/objections are withdrawn.
Claim rejection under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn for claims 23, 30 and 37.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment
In view of the amendment filed, the following are new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25-30, 32-37, 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (US 20210250130) in view of Larsson et al. (US 20140293884) in further view of Papasakellariou et al. (US 20140328260)
Regarding claim 21, Lei teaches an apparatus to be used in a user equipment (UE) (remote unit, UE 101, fig 1, 4 and method implemented by remote unit in fig 2), wherein the apparatus (remote unit, UE 101, fig 1, 4) comprises:
a generated first hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) sub-codebook related to one or more downlink physical channel transmissions (para 48: in step 202, a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for the at least one downlink transmission can be generated, each bit in the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook corresponds to one TB of the at least one downlink transmission) that are transport block (TB)-based PDSCH transmissions scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) (para 47: in FIG. 2, in step 200, at least one downlink transmission is received, which can be transmitted from a base unit and received in a remote unit, a part of the downlink transmission can be transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0); and
a generated second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook that is related to a plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions (Para 48: in step 204, determination on whether to generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook can be made, each bit in the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook corresponds to one CBG of one TB of the at least one downlink transmission) that are scheduled by the DCI (Para 47: more downlink transmissions in a carrier group received by a remote unit, while the other part of the downlink transmission can be transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1; para 14: in the case there are more than one downlink transmission, partly transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0, and partly transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook); and
one or more processors (processor 404, fig 4) configured to generate, based on concatenation of the first sub-codebook and the second sub-codebook, a HARQ-ACK codebook (para 51: in step 206, the generated HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted, for example, from a remote unit to a base unit, the HARQ-ACK codebook can include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, the HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted by appending the CBG-based HARQ-ACK sub-codebook to the TB-based HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; para 48: the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook is a sub-codebook including HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCHs with CBG-based retransmission, while the second HARQ-ACK codebook is a sub-codebook including HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCHs with TB-based retransmission; here, for generating a combined codebook from two, the concatenating two codebooks is considered same as appending first codebook to second codebook).
Lei teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook determination including first and second sub-codebook based on TB-based HARQ retransmissions scheduled by first DCI format and CBG (group or plurality) based HARQ retransmissions scheduled by second DCI format. Lei teaches devices UE and base station to perform the functions, but does not explicitly teach memory to store codebook. Larsson is directed to HARQ-ACK codebooks for multi-flow communications.
Larsson further teaches memory to store generated HARQ-ACK codebook (para 73: an example of a HARQ-ACK codebook according to some embodiments of inventive concepts is given in the table of FIGS. 6A and 6B, and the codebook of FIGS. 6A and 6B can be saved in memory 218 of each wireless terminal 200 and in memory 118 of each base station 100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HARQ-ACK codebook generation and transmission as taught by Lei with storing the codebooks and program in memory as taught by Larsson for the benefit of improving performance in a wireless communication system as taught by Larsson in para 8.
Lei in view of Larsson fails to teach that different DCI or format are for scheduling single TTI and multi-TTI. Papasakellariou is directed to scheduling PDSCHs by DCI format transmitted in TTI, enabling multi-TTI scheduling (abstract).
Papasakellariou further teaches transport block (TB)-based PDSCH transmissions scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a single transmission time interval (TTI) (para 7: transmitting the one or more PDSCHS includes transmitting a data transport block using an asynchronous hybrid automatic repeat request process when the DCI format can schedule only one PDSCH transmission to the UE in one TTI); and a plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions that are scheduled by the DCI scheduling multiple TTIs (para 7: transmitting a data transport block using a synchronous hybrid automatic repeat request process when the DCI format can schedule multiple PDSCH transmissions to the UE in respective multiple TTIs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HARQ-ACK codebook generation, transmission and storing as taught by Lei in view of Larsson with different DCI for scheduling single-TTI and multi-TTI as taught by Papasakellariou for the benefit of increasing spectral efficiency as taught by Papasakellariou in para 162.
Regarding claim 28, Lei teaches one or more processors (processor, fig 5) of a next generation NodeB (gNB) (base unit, gNB 102, fig 1, 5 and method implemented by base unit in fig 3), are to cause the gNB ((base unit, gNB 102, fig 1, 5) to:
identify a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook received from a user equipment (UE) (para 75-76: in step 304, the HARQ-ACK codebook is received from the remote unit, the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook), wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is based on concatenation of a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (para 51: in step 206, the generated HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted, for example, from a remote unit to a base unit, the HARQ-ACK codebook can include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, the HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted by appending the CBG-based HARQ-ACK sub-codebook to the TB-based HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; para 48: the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook is a sub-codebook including HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCHs with CBG-based retransmission, while the second HARQ-ACK codebook is a sub-codebook including HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCHs with TB-based retransmission; here, for generating a combined codebook from two, the concatenating two codebooks is considered same as appending first codebook to second codebook);
identify, based on the HARQ-ACK codebook, the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook that is related to one or more transport block (TB)-based PDSCH transmissions scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) (para 75: In the case that there are more than one downlink transmission, partly transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0, and partly transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; para 47: in FIG. 2, in step 200, at least one downlink transmission is received, which can be transmitted from a base unit and received in a remote unit, a part of the downlink transmission can be transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0); and
identify the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook that is related to a plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions scheduled by a DCI (para 75: In the case that there are more than one downlink transmission, partly transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0, and partly transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; Para 47: more downlink transmissions in a carrier group received by a remote unit, while the other part of the downlink transmission can be transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1; para 14: in the case there are more than one downlink transmission, partly transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0, and partly transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook).
Lei teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook determination including first and second sub-codebook based on TB-based HARQ retransmissions scheduled by first DCI format and CBG (group or plurality) based HARQ retransmissions scheduled by second DCI format. Lei teaches devices UE and base station to perform the functions, but does not explicitly teach memory to store codebook. Larsson is directed to HARQ-ACK codebooks for multi-flow communications.
Larsson further teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) (memory 118, fig 2a) comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors (base station controller/processor 101, fig 2a; para 42) of a next generation NodeB (gNB) (para 210-214). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HARQ-ACK codebook generation and transmission as taught by Lei with storing the codebooks and program in memory as taught by Larsson for the benefit of improving performance in a wireless communication system as taught by Larsson in para 8.
Lei in view of Larsson fails to teach that different DCI or format are for scheduling single TTI and multi-TTI. Papasakellariou is directed to scheduling PDSCHs by DCI format transmitted in TTI, enabling multi-TTI scheduling (abstract).
Papasakellariou further teaches transport block (TB)-based PDSCH transmissions scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a single transmission time interval (TTI) (para 7: transmitting the one or more PDSCHS includes transmitting a data transport block using an asynchronous hybrid automatic repeat request process when the DCI format can schedule only one PDSCH transmission to the UE in one TTI); and a plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions that are scheduled by a DCI scheduling multiple TTIs (para 7: transmitting a data transport block using a synchronous hybrid automatic repeat request process when the DCI format can schedule multiple PDSCH transmissions to the UE in respective multiple TTIs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HARQ-ACK codebook generation, transmission and storing as taught by Lei in view of Larsson with different DCI for scheduling single-TTI and multi-TTI as taught by Papasakellariou for the benefit of increasing spectral efficiency as taught by Papasakellariou in para 162.
Regarding claim 35, Lei teaches one or more processors (processor, fig 4), are to cause a user equipment (UE) (remote unit, UE 101, fig 1, 4) to:
identify a generated first hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) sub-codebook related to one or more downlink physical channel transmissions (para 48: in step 202, a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for the at least one downlink transmission can be generated, each bit in the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook corresponds to one TB of the at least one downlink transmission) that are transport block (TB)-based PDSCH transmissions scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) (para 47: in FIG. 2, in step 200, at least one downlink transmission is received, which can be transmitted from a base unit and received in a remote unit, a part of the downlink transmission can be transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0);
identify a generated second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook that is related to a plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions (Para 48: in step 204, determination on whether to generate a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook can be made, each bit in the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook corresponds to one CBG of one TB of the at least one downlink transmission) scheduled by the DCI (Para 47: more downlink transmissions in a carrier group received by a remote unit, while the other part of the downlink transmission can be transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1; para 14: in the case there are more than one downlink transmission, partly transmitted on a carrier configured with TB-based retransmission or on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_0, and partly transmitted on a carrier configured with CBG-based retransmission and scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the HARQ-ACK codebook is determined to include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook); and
generate, based on concatenation of the first sub-codebook and the second sub-codebook, a HARQ-ACK codebook (para 51: in step 206, the generated HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted, for example, from a remote unit to a base unit, the HARQ-ACK codebook can include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, the HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted by appending the CBG-based HARQ-ACK sub-codebook to the TB-based HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; para 48: the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook is a sub-codebook including HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCHs with CBG-based retransmission, while the second HARQ-ACK codebook is a sub-codebook including HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCHs with TB-based retransmission; here, for generating a combined codebook from two, the concatenating two codebooks is considered same as appending first codebook to second codebook).
Lei teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook determination including first and second sub-codebook based on TB-based HARQ retransmissions scheduled by first DCI format and CBG (group or plurality) based HARQ retransmissions scheduled by second DCI format. Lei teaches devices UE and base station to perform the functions, but does not explicitly teach memory to store codebook. Larsson is directed to HARQ-ACK codebooks for multi-flow communications.
Larsson further teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (memory 218, fig 2d) comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors (processor 201, fig 2d; para 46) are to cause a user equipment (UE) (para 210-214). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HARQ-ACK codebook generation and transmission as taught by Lei with storing the codebooks and program in memory as taught by Larsson for the benefit of improving performance in a wireless communication system as taught by Larsson in para 8.
Lei in view of Larsson fails to teach that different DCI or format are for scheduling single TTI and multi-TTI. Papasakellariou is directed to scheduling PDSCHs by DCI format transmitted in TTI, enabling multi-TTI scheduling (abstract).
Papasakellariou further teaches transport block (TB)-based PDSCH transmissions scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a single transmission time interval (TTI) (para 7: transmitting the one or more PDSCHS includes transmitting a data transport block using an asynchronous hybrid automatic repeat request process when the DCI format can schedule only one PDSCH transmission to the UE in one TTI); and a plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions that are scheduled by the DCI scheduling multiple TTIs (para 7: transmitting a data transport block using a synchronous hybrid automatic repeat request process when the DCI format can schedule multiple PDSCH transmissions to the UE in respective multiple TTIs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HARQ-ACK codebook generation, transmission and storing as taught by Lei in view of Larsson with different DCI for scheduling single-TTI and multi-TTI as taught by Papasakellariou for the benefit of increasing spectral efficiency as taught by Papasakellariou in para 162.
Regarding claim 22, 36, Lei further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to facilitate transmission of the HARQ-ACK codebook in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission (para 51: in step 206, the generated HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted, for example, from a remote unit to a base unit, the HARQ-ACK codebook can include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; para 35: the HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to the PDSCH are transmitted on the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)).
Regarding claim 23, 30, 37, Lei further teaches wherein the plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions are downlink physical shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions (para 47: in FIG. 2, in step 200, at least one downlink transmission is received; para 48: the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook is a sub-codebook including HARQ-ACK bits for PDSCHs with TB-based retransmission; and para 35: DL transport blocks (TBs) are carried on the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 25, 32, 39, Lei further teaches wherein respective ones of the plurality of downlink channel transmissions are to be (or were) received by the UE in respective ones of a plurality of slots (Para 55, 62: for downlink transmissions on a plurality of carriers and/or slots with corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback in the same HARQ-ACK codebook, the number of HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks is identical; para 47: more downlink transmissions in a carrier group received by a remote unit).
Regarding claim 26, 33, 40, Lei further teaches wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is a dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook (para 44: the HARQ-ACK codebook generated according to embodiments of the present application may be fully dynamic with specified CBG-level HARQ-ACK for each TB).
Regarding claim 27, 34, Lei further teaches wherein the plurality of downlink physical channel transmissions are related to a downlink physical channel transmission with a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) (para 35: DL transport blocks (TBs) are carried on the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)).
Regarding claim 29, Lei further teaches wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook is received in a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission (para 51: in step 206, the generated HARQ-ACK codebook can be transmitted, for example, from a remote unit to a base unit, the HARQ-ACK codebook can include the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; para 35: the HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to the PDSCH are transmitted on the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Papasakellariou reference not teaching amended limitation of claim(s) 21 (page 7-8) have been considered. It is noted that the amended limitation of claim 21 is substantially similar to limitation of now cancelled claim 24, which was rejected in view of Lei reference. Lei reference clearly teaches in para 48 and 51 to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook that includes first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook and second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, and appending the sub-codebooks, one being CBG-based and other being TB-based. The term concatenating is combining two codebook, which is considered for appending one sub-codebook to the second sub-codebook. Lei does not teach the memory to store the codebook and scheduling transmission on single or multiple TTI. Larsson is directed to HARQ-ACK codebooks for multi-flow communications, and teaches the store codebook (para 73). Papasakellariou is directed to scheduling PDSCHs by DCI format transmitted in TTI, enabling multi-TTI scheduling (abstract) and teaches transmission of PDSCH over single or multiple TTI (para 7). Thus, the combination of references Lei, Larsson and Papasakellariou appear to teach the argued limitation of claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 4/7/2026