DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023, 04/21/2025, and 06/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 21-26, 28, and 31-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (WO 2019/173975 A1; “Jiang”).
Regarding claim 19, Jiang teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a signaling, the signaling indicating a first codebook that is generated using a second codebook [Jiang p. 25, para. 6: receiving, at a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a first message from a wireless communication node which includes a wideband information indicating one or more port sets for a transmission to be performed from the mobile device to the wireless communication node, wherein individual port set includes one of: (a) two antenna ports, or (b) four antenna ports; p. 13, para. 1: UE decides codebook based on DCI message, e.g., wideband information],
wherein the first codebook is for 8 antenna ports, and the second codebook comprises at least one of: a codebook for 2 antenna ports, or a codebook for 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 26, para. 2: the eight antenna ports are indicated by values {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} , and the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 4} , {1, 5} , {2, 6} , or {3, 7} (i.e. 2 port codebooks), or the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 1, 4, 5} , or {2, 3, 6, 7} (i.e. 4 port codebook)],
wherein the first codebook comprises a partially coherent codebook generated using the second codebook comprising a fully coherent codebook, wherein the partially coherent codebook is associated with a first subset of antenna ports belonging to a first coherent port group, and a second subset of antenna ports belonging to a second coherent port group [Jiang p. 4, para. 4-p. 5, para. 2: there are two categories of partial coherent transmissions for a UE that supports transmissions using up to eight antenna ports (here, the 8 antenna codebook, analogous to the first codebook, is for partially coherent transmissions): (1) Category 1: two-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into four coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), wherein the cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 4 two-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); or (2) Category 2: four-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into two coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), and the two pairs of cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 2 four-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks)]; and
performing, by the wireless communication device, an uplink transmission according to the first codebook [Jiang p. 26, para. 1, Fig. 3B: at 354, performing, by the mobile device, the transmission to the wireless communication node using antenna ports/precoder corresponding to the one or more port sets indicated by the first message].
Regarding claim 21, Jiang teaches the method of claim 19, wherein none of elements of the second codebook is '0' [Jiang p. 13, table 4 shows a rank-1 codebook for eight port partially coherent transmission, wherein the codebook may include no “0” elements].
Regarding claim 22, Jiang teaches the method of claim 19, wherein at least one of: the partially coherent codebook is combined from codebooks associated with 4 or 2 antenna ports; or the first subset of antenna ports is used for the uplink transmission while the second subset is not used [Jiang p. 4, para. 4-p. 5, para. 2: there are two categories of partial coherent transmissions for a UE that supports transmissions using up to eight antenna ports (here, the 8 antenna codebook, analogous to the first codebook, is for partially coherent transmissions): (1) Category 1: two-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into four coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), wherein the cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 4 two-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); or (2) Category 2: four-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into two coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), and the two pairs of cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 2 four-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 23, Jiang teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the first codebook is associated with 4 groups of coherent antenna ports [Jiang p. 26, para. 2: the eight antenna ports are indicated by values {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} , and the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 4} , {1, 5} , {2, 6} , or {3, 7} (i.e. four groups of 2 port codebooks)].
Regarding claim 24, Jiang teaches the method of claim 19, comprising: sending, by the wireless communication device to the wireless communication node, a capability of the wireless communication device, wherein the capability includes an indication of at least one of: whether the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 2 antenna ports; or whether the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 11, para. 5: at 202, transmitting, from a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a message to a wireless communication node indicating a first capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using two antenna ports corresponding to a first port set selected from two or more port sets, and a second field indicating a second capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using four antenna ports corresponding to a second port set selected from the two or more port sets; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 25, Jiang teaches the method of claim 24, wherein at least one of: when the capability includes an indication that the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 2 antenna ports, the wireless communication device supports combining four second codebooks of 2 antenna ports; when the capability includes an indication that the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 4 antenna ports, the wireless communication device supports combining two second codebooks of 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 11, para. 5: at 202, transmitting, from a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a message to a wireless communication node indicating a first capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using two antenna ports corresponding to a first port set selected from two or more port sets, and a second field indicating a second capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using four antenna ports corresponding to a second port set selected from the two or more port sets]; or
the first codebook, to be generated by combining four second codebooks of 2 antenna ports, or two second codebooks of 4 antenna ports, is configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling [Jiang p. 5, para. 3-4: bitmap indicating port sets to be used for rank-R transmission can be signaled to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as Radio Resource Control (RRC), wherein each bit corresponding to a port set; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 26, Jiang teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the second codebook to generate the first codebook, is determined according to a predefined configuration or a higher layer signaling [Jiang p. 5, para. 3-4: bitmap indicating port sets to be used for rank-R transmission can be signaled to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as Radio Resource Control (RRC), wherein each bit corresponding to a port set].
Regarding claim 28, Jiang teaches a method comprising:
sending, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a signaling, the signaling indicating a first codebook that is generated using a second codebook [Jiang p. 25, para. 6: receiving, at a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a first message from a wireless communication node which includes a wideband information indicating one or more port sets for a transmission to be performed from the mobile device to the wireless communication node, wherein individual port set includes one of: (a) two antenna ports, or (b) four antenna ports; p. 13, para. 1: UE decides codebook based on DCI message, e.g., wideband information],
wherein the first codebook is for 8 antenna ports, and the second codebook comprises at least one of: a codebook for 2 antenna ports, or a codebook for 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 26, para. 2: the eight antenna ports are indicated by values {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} , and the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 4} , {1, 5} , {2, 6} , or {3, 7} (i.e. 2 port codebooks), or the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 1, 4, 5} , or {2, 3, 6, 7} (i.e. 4 port codebook)],
wherein the first codebook comprises a partially coherent codebook generated using the second codebook comprising a fully coherent codebook, wherein the partially coherent codebook is associated with a first subset of antenna ports belonging to a first coherent port group, and a second subset of antenna ports belonging to a second coherent port group [Jiang p. 4, para. 4-p. 5, para. 2: there are two categories of partial coherent transmissions for a UE that supports transmissions using up to eight antenna ports (here, the 8 antenna codebook, analogous to the first codebook, is for partially coherent transmissions): (1) Category 1: two-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into four coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), wherein the cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 4 two-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); or (2) Category 2: four-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into two coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), and the two pairs of cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 2 four-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks)]; and
receiving, by the wireless communication node from the wireless communication device, an uplink transmission according to the first codebook [Jiang p. 26, para. 1, Fig. 3B: at 354, performing, by the mobile device, the transmission to the wireless communication node using antenna ports/precoder corresponding to the one or more port sets indicated by the first message].
Regarding claim 31, Jiang teaches the method of claim 28, wherein none of elements of the second codebook is '0' [Jiang p. 13, table 4 shows a rank-1 codebook for eight port partially coherent transmission, wherein the codebook may include no “0” elements].
Regarding claim 32, Jiang teaches the method of claim 28, wherein at least one of: the partially coherent codebook is combined from codebooks associated with 4 or 2 antenna ports; or the first subset of antenna ports is used for the uplink transmission while the second subset is not used [Jiang p. 4, para. 4-p. 5, para. 2: there are two categories of partial coherent transmissions for a UE that supports transmissions using up to eight antenna ports (here, the 8 antenna codebook, analogous to the first codebook, is for partially coherent transmissions): (1) Category 1: two-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into four coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), wherein the cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 4 two-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); or (2) Category 2: four-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into two coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), and the two pairs of cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 2 four-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 33, Jiang teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the first codebook is associated with 4 groups of coherent antenna ports [Jiang p. 26, para. 2: the eight antenna ports are indicated by values {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} , and the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 4} , {1, 5} , {2, 6} , or {3, 7} (i.e. four groups of 2 port codebooks)].
Regarding claim 34, Jiang teaches the method of claim 28, further comprising receiving, by the wireless communication node from the wireless communication device, a capability of the wireless communication device, wherein the capability includes an indication of at least one of: whether the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 2 antenna ports; or whether the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 11, para. 5: at 202, transmitting, from a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a message to a wireless communication node indicating a first capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using two antenna ports corresponding to a first port set selected from two or more port sets, and a second field indicating a second capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using four antenna ports corresponding to a second port set selected from the two or more port sets; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 35, Jiang teaches the method of claim 34, wherein at least one of:when the capability includes an indication that the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 2 antenna ports, the wireless communication device supports combining four second codebooks of 2 antenna ports; when the capability includes an indication that the wireless communication device supports the second codebook of 4 antenna ports, the wireless communication device supports combining two second codebooks of 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 11, para. 5: at 202, transmitting, from a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a message to a wireless communication node indicating a first capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using two antenna ports corresponding to a first port set selected from two or more port sets, and a second field indicating a second capability of the mobile device for performing a one-layer transmission using four antenna ports corresponding to a second port set selected from the two or more port sets]; or
the first codebook, to be generated by combining four second codebooks of 2 antenna ports, or two second codebooks of 4 antenna ports, is configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling [Jiang p. 5, para. 3-4: bitmap indicating port sets to be used for rank-R transmission can be signaled to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as Radio Resource Control (RRC), wherein each bit corresponding to a port set; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 36, Jiang teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the second codebook to generate the first codebook, is determined according to a predefined configuration or a higher layer signaling [Jiang p. 5, para. 3-4: bitmap indicating port sets to be used for rank-R transmission can be signaled to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as Radio Resource Control (RRC), wherein each bit corresponding to a port set].
Regarding claim 37, Jiang teaches a wireless communication device, comprising:
at least one processor [Jiang p. 27, para. 6, Fig. 5: processor 510] configured to:
receive, via a receiver [Jiang p. 28, para. 1: transceiver 515] from a wireless communication node, a signaling, the signaling indicating a first codebook that is generated using a second codebook [Jiang p. 25, para. 6: receiving, at a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a first message from a wireless communication node which includes a wideband information indicating one or more port sets for a transmission to be performed from the mobile device to the wireless communication node, wherein individual port set includes one of: (a) two antenna ports, or (b) four antenna ports; p. 13, para. 1: UE decides codebook based on DCI message, e.g., wideband information],
wherein the first codebook is for 8 antenna ports, and the second codebook comprises at least one of: a codebook for 2 antenna ports, or a codebook for 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 26, para. 2: the eight antenna ports are indicated by values {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} , and the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 4} , {1, 5} , {2, 6} , or {3, 7} (i.e. 2 port codebooks), or the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 1, 4, 5} , or {2, 3, 6, 7} (i.e. 4 port codebook)],
wherein the first codebook comprises a partially coherent codebook generated using the second codebook comprising a fully coherent codebook, wherein the partially coherent codebook is associated with a first subset of antenna ports belonging to a first coherent port group, and a second subset of antenna ports belonging to a second coherent port group [Jiang p. 4, para. 4-p. 5, para. 2: there are two categories of partial coherent transmissions for a UE that supports transmissions using up to eight antenna ports (here, the 8 antenna codebook, analogous to the first codebook, is for partially coherent transmissions): (1) Category 1: two-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into four coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), wherein the cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 4 two-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); or (2) Category 2: four-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into two coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), and the two pairs of cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 2 four-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks)]; and
perform an uplink transmission according to the first codebook [Jiang p. 26, para. 1, Fig. 3B: at 354, performing, by the mobile device, the transmission to the wireless communication node using antenna ports/precoder corresponding to the one or more port sets indicated by the first message].
Regarding claim 38, Jiang teaches a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor [Jiang p. 27, para. 6, Fig. 5: processor 510] configured to:
send, via a transmitter [Jiang p. 28, para. 1: transceiver 515] to a wireless communication device, a signaling, the signaling indicating a first codebook that is generated using a second codebook [Jiang p. 25, para. 6: receiving, at a mobile device that comprises eight antenna ports, a first message from a wireless communication node which includes a wideband information indicating one or more port sets for a transmission to be performed from the mobile device to the wireless communication node, wherein individual port set includes one of: (a) two antenna ports, or (b) four antenna ports; p. 13, para. 1: UE decides codebook based on DCI message, e.g., wideband information],
wherein the first codebook is for 8 antenna ports, and the second codebook comprises at least one of: a codebook for 2 antenna ports, or a codebook for 4 antenna ports [Jiang p. 26, para. 2: the eight antenna ports are indicated by values {0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7} , and the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 4} , {1, 5} , {2, 6} , or {3, 7} (i.e. 2 port codebooks), or the one or more port sets include at least one of the following {0, 1, 4, 5} , or {2, 3, 6, 7} (i.e. 4 port codebook)],
wherein the first codebook comprises a partially coherent codebook generated using the second codebook comprising a fully coherent codebook, wherein the partially coherent codebook is associated with a first subset of antenna ports belonging to a first coherent port group, and a second subset of antenna ports belonging to a second coherent port group [Jiang p. 4, para. 4-p. 5, para. 2: there are two categories of partial coherent transmissions for a UE that supports transmissions using up to eight antenna ports (here, the 8 antenna codebook, analogous to the first codebook, is for partially coherent transmissions): (1) Category 1: two-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into four coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), wherein the cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 4 two-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks); or (2) Category 2: four-antenna partial coherent transmissions, wherein the eight antenna ports are grouped into two coherent port sets (i.e. subsets of antenna ports belonging to coherent groups), and the two pairs of cross-polarization antenna ports in each set allow coherent transmissions by the UE (here, the 8 antenna port codebook is formed from 2 four-port coherent codebooks analogous to second fully coherent codebooks)]; and
receive, via a receiver from the wireless communication device, an uplink transmission according to the first codebook [Jiang p. 26, para. 1, Fig. 3B: at 354, performing, by the mobile device, the transmission to the wireless communication node using antenna ports/precoder corresponding to the one or more port sets indicated by the first message].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20, 27, and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474