DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seth et al.(US Publication 2005/0196590) in view of Hoerner et al.(US Patent 4,824,506) and Muller et al.(EP 2027988A1)
Regarding claims 1, 2, 9, 16, and 17, Seth et al. discloses a method of making a moisture barrier comprising thermoforming a thermoplastic sheet to a given shape, coating it with an adhesive, and applying a liner to the adhesive.([0024]-[0025];[0043]) The reference does not disclose the specifics of the thermoforming, though it is clear that that different size structures are intended to be covered by the shaped barrier.([0006]-[0007]) Hoerner et al. discloses that in thermoforming, the sheet is shaped by inserting a die into a heated sheet so it forms to the die shape.(Figure 3A-3C) Hoerner et al. does not disclose how the die is formed. Muller et al. discloses it is known to custom make articles by obtaining three-dimensional data based on a desired structure, converting it into coordinate data, and creating a thermoforming die based on the three-dimensional data.([0051]-[0056]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to make a shaped moisture barrier by inserting a die into a sheet and shaping it to the die since this is a well-known and conventional method of thermoforming as taught by Hoerner et al.(Figure 3A-3C) and to make the die for the thermoforming by determining a three-dimensional shape to cover the area desired to be protected and making a thermoforming die to that shape since Muller et al. teaches making a custom thermoforming die based on obtaining data for a three-dimensional structure and forming a thermoforming die allows formation of custom elements.(Abstract)
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 18, Hoerner et al. discloses it is known in general in thermoforming to use vacuum to pull the sheet onto the die and it would have been obvious for this reason.(Col. 1, ll. 60-64)
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 19, Hoerner et al. discloses it is known in general in thermoforming to cool the sheet after thermoforming and it would have been obvious for this reason.(Claim 1) While it does not explicitly state the cooling is to below the temperature at which the material is thermoformable, the purpose of cooling the sheet is to remove it from the die without it losing its shape, i.e. after it is below thermoforming temperature.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 20, Seth et al. disclose applying the adhesive and liner before thermoforming.[0030]
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Seth et al. discloses the adhesive can be a hot melt.[0034]
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the references do not disclose the specific thicknesses of the layers. However a determination of the thicknesses of the layers is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine absent unexpected results.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seth et al., Hoerner et al., and Muller et al. as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Muta et al.(US Publication 2013/0052461).
The references cited above do not disclose the adhesive containing a flame retardant. Muta et al. discloses a moisture barrier for similar applications as Seth et al., i.e. to protect elements on the floor of a building from material applied on top of them which contains a flame retardant in the adhesive.[0007] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include a flame retardant in the adhesive of Seth et al., Hoerner et al., and Muller et al. since Muta et al. is directed to a similar structure and indicates the adhesive includes a flame retardant[0007] and since building materials are often required to include flame retardants.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746