DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/521,677 filed 11/28/2023, which claims priority from Foreign Application No. CN202211517356.3 filed 11/29/2022. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 2/23/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 8, 14, 18, and 19 is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-4 and 6-19 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
The amendment(s) to the independent claims necessitated a new consideration and search resulting in the prior art cited below. Svendsen (US 2010/0094833 A1) was withdrawn in the previous office action, however, the recent amendment added features that Svendsen suggests; see the rejection below.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Lieb are unpersuasive pertaining to the claimed “identifier”. Specifically, Applicant contends that Lieb “fails to disclose or suggest generating an identifier for identifying the shared album based on the shared album and sending the generated identifier to recipients to share the album.” It appears from the associated discussion and the amendment to the independent claims, that Applicant is arguing that the identifier functions differently than a “link” as in Lieb.
However, the Examiner submits that the broadest reasonable interpretation of identifier is construable as a “link” as in Lieb, especially because, according to the claim, it is used by a device that does not have the software for viewing the shared multimedia list installed. The specification describes this situation at least at [0170] which is summarized as follows: When a target sharing user’s terminal device, which does not have the target software installed, receives and triggers a target identification identifier, a corresponding display interface may be opened directly based on the current application software which displays at least a multimedia list cover (graphical content), title information, and user identifier information of the shared multimedia list, and also includes controls for “jumping” to a login “page”. This “current application software” appears equivalent to a browser capable of retrieving graphical content over a network based on the identifier (functioning like a link). At a minimum, the identifier is used to present multimedia list cover (graphical content), title information, and user identifier information of the shared multimedia list. A device without the sharing software would not know this information; therefore, the identifier functions as a link for retrieving this information over a network. Further, QR codes are typically translated into a link by a device and accessed by a web browser anyway. Therefore, Lieb is maintained for suggesting “sending, in response to determining that the target sharing user is not a user of the target client software, an identifier for identifying the multimedia list to be shared which is generated based on the multimedia list to be shared, to the target sharing user using a software different from the target client software” as cited below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7-10, and 12-19, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shortt (US 2021/0234909 A1), and further in view of Lieb et al. (US 2017/0093780 A1, hereinafter “Lieb”), and further in view of Svendsen (US 2010/0094833 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shortt teaches a multimedia object sharing method, comprising:
displaying a multimedia list creation page, in response to an operation to trigger multimedia list creation, to edit associated content corresponding to a multimedia list to be shared in the multimedia list creation page; More specifically, user input displays at least Figure 14 is a media list creation page (Shortt, Figure 14, [0080]-[0082]).
displaying, after the editing of the associated content corresponding to the multimedia list to be shared, an information editing page to determine a target sharing user and a target shared object in the multimedia list to be shared based on an operation on the information editing page, wherein the information editing page includes at least one of an add shared object control, an add sharing user control, or at least one object to be shared; and More specifically, at least Figure 14 is an information editing page where users are selected for inclusion into the sharing group and shows the object(s) to-be-shared (Shortt, Figure 15, [0083]-[0084]).
sharing the multimedia list to be shared to the target sharing user. More specifically, a user can select the sharing control to initiate sharing (Shortt, Figure 15, button 9316C, [0085])
However, Shortt may not explicitly teach every aspect of
wherein the sharing the multimedia list to be shared to the target sharing user comprises:
determining whether the target sharing user is a user of a target client software;
sharing, in response to determining that the target sharing user is a user of the target client software, the multimedia list to be shared to the target sharing user via a session established with the target sharing user using the target client software; and
sending, in response to determining that the target sharing user is not a user of the target client software, an identifier for identifying the multimedia list to be shared which is generated based on the multimedia list to be shared, to the target sharing user using a software different from the target client software.
Lieb discloses sharing images and image albums over a communication network (Lieb, abstract). Step 210 is the selection of an (album) list of images, Step 212 is the selection of a list of users to share the list of images, and steps 214-2016 are the sharing of the selected list of images (Lieb, Figure 2 and associated description). Figure 6 further details the selecting of recipients to receive the shared list of images. Step 604 checks if the recipient is using the appropriate application and if so 606 creates a message usable by the installed application, if not, Step 608 checks if a recipient at least has an account (session) with the sharing service, if so, step 610 creates a message to the account with a link, if not (the user is not affiliated with the sharing service), steps 612, 614, 616, and 618, creates a message to the recipients email or SMS contact info with a link (identifier) such as a web browser link to view to view the shared list of images (Lieb, Figure 6, [0127]-[0154]). At least Figures 18 and 19 depict the sharing session via the installed client on a recipient device when they join the shared list of images (Lieb, [0204]-[0208]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Shortt and Lieb that a method for sharing multimedia lists would include sharing via a session and client software when the user is using said session and client software, and sharing via a sharing link/identifier usable with different software when the user is not using the client software. With Shortt and Lieb disclosing sharing multimedia lists, and with Lieb additionally disclosing being able to share with recipients that do and do not have an account/software via various methods, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for sharing multimedia lists would include sharing via a session and client software when the user is using said session and client software, and sharing via a sharing link/identifier usable with different software when the user is not using the client software in order to have the capability to share the multimedia list with as many users as one can from their contact lists. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for sharing multimedia lists.
However, Shortt and Lieb may not explicitly teach every aspect of
wherein the method further comprises:
determining, for the target shared object in the multimedia list to be shared, a similarity between a creating user who creates the multimedia list to be shared and the target sharing user; and
displaying the determined similarity in association with user identifier information of the target sharing user.
Svendsen discloses a method for caching and/or synching shared media items in a media sharing system. Figure 10 depicts a user’s display of media items shared by another user. A matching score is displayed on the display of shared media items that depicts a similarity between the sharing user and the viewing user based on genre preference profiles (Svendsen, [0065], [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen that a method for sharing multimedia lists would include determining a similarity between a sharing user and a target user. With Shortt, Lieb, and Svendsen disclosing sharing multimedia lists, and with Svendsen additionally disclosing displaying a matching score with the shared content describing the similarity of the sharing user with the target user, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for sharing multimedia lists would include determining a similarity between a sharing user and a target user in order to allow a target user to determine whether the sharing user might have more content of interest to the target user. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for sharing multimedia lists.
Regarding claim 3, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the operation on the information editing page comprises at least one of: adding a selected multimedia object to be shared to the multimedia list to be shared; and displaying a multimedia object presentation interface based on an operation on the add shared object control, to display the multimedia object to be shared that is selected in the multimedia object presentation interface, in the multimedia list to be shared. More specifically, video player 9304 will play a multimedia object when it is selected from the playlist (Shortt, [0077]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 3, further comprising: after the multimedia object to be shared is selected, displaying at least one multimedia object to be shared which is associated with the multimedia object to be shared. More specifically, after content is selected to be played, the interface can include a “related” section with content associated with the selection (Shortt, Figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: configuring a user permission for a target sharing user; and processing the multimedia list to be shared based on the user permission. More specifically, adding a user as a friend in the platform gives permission to the added user to receive the shared content (Shortt, [0006], [0013], [0037], [0041], [0049])
Regarding claim 8, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: when the target sharing user or the creating user who creates the multimedia list to be shared enters a sharing interface after the multimedia list to be shared has been created, presenting associated information corresponding to the multimedia list to be shared in the sharing interface, wherein the associated information includes at least one user identifier information, and at least one target shared object which is shared by the creating user and the target sharing user respectively, the at least one user identifier information including user identifier information of the creating user and user identifier information of the target sharing user. More specifically, an interface can include a multimedia list 9312, users that have been designated as sharing targets 9316B, and users that are available for selection to be sharing targets 9136A (Shortt, Figure 15, [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 9, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 8, further comprising: the at least one user identifier information being displayed on the sharing interface according to a preset arrangement method. More specifically, the users are arranged where the selected users as sharing targets 9316B are arranged above users that have not yet been selected 9316A (Shortt, Figure 15, [0083]-[0084])
Regarding claim 10, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 8, further comprising: the target shared object being presented on the sharing interface according to a determined presentation order. More specifically, the playlist feed 9312 is an ordered list of content to be presented (Shortt, [0030], [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 8, further comprising: the at least one user identifier information being linked to the presentation order of the target shared object. More specifically, an interface can include a multimedia list 9312, users that have been designated as sharing targets 9316B, and users that are available for selection to be sharing targets 9136A (Shortt, Figure 15, [0083]-[0084]). The playlist feed 9312 is an ordered list of content to be presented (Shortt, [0030], [0070]).
Regarding claim 13, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 8, further comprising: if a single target shared object is shared by at least one target sharing user, displaying the target shared object in the sharing interface; and displaying user identifier information of the at least one target sharing user at a position associated with the target shared object. More specifically, video player 9304 will play a multimedia object when it is selected from the playlist (Shortt, [0077]-[0082]). The interface can include a multimedia list 9312, users that have been designated as sharing targets 9316B, and users that are available for selection to be sharing targets 9136A (Shortt, Figure 15, [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 14, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 8, further comprising: if a single target sharing user successively shares at least two target shared objects, displaying user identifier information of the target sharing user at a position associated with a first target shared object of the at least two target shared objects. More specifically, the sharing user is identified at a position associated with shared content (Shortt, Figures 3 and 26, [0043]).
Regarding claim 15, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the sharing interface further includes a control for editing a target shared object, to perform an operation processing on the target shared object based on an operation on the control for editing the target shared object and a user permission of the target sharing user. More specifically, controls are presented for working with content items and controlling sharing permissions (Shortt, [0077]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 16, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 15, further comprising: if the operation processing is to switch the shared multimedia list type to another multimedia list type, the at least one target sharing user being not displayed, and the multimedia list to be shared being invisible to the at least one target sharing user. More specifically, controls 9310A and 9310B are for designating two different types of sharing; sharing the playlist, and real time share the playlist (Shortt, [0082], it makes sense that a target does not see the list until it is shared with them).
Regarding claim 17, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 8, further comprising: displaying a user list including at least one target sharing user based on a trigger operation on the sharing interface. More specifically, Figure 15 depicts an interface after button invocation that depicts sharing users and contents of a playlist (Shortt, Figure 15, [0083]-[0085]).
displaying the number of shared objects at a position corresponding to the target sharing user. More specifically, Lieb suggests displaying the number a of objects shared by a separate user (Lieb, Figure 23, near item 2304, “Carol added 10 photos”)
Regarding claim 18, this claim recites an electronic device that performs the steps of the method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 19, this claim recites a non-transitory storage medium containing computer-executable instructions for performing the steps of the method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim(s) 2 and 11, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen, and further in view of Bachman et al. (US 2014/0075314 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the multimedia list creation page includes … a to-be-shared multimedia list type editing control, to … select a multimedia list type in the to-be-shared multimedia list type editing control, wherein the multimedia list type includes at least a shared multimedia list type. More specifically, controls 9310A and 9310B are for designating two different types of sharing; sharing the playlist, and real time share the playlist (Shortt, [0082]).
However, Shortt, Lieb, and Svendsen may not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the multimedia list creation page includes] a title editing control …to edit title information of the multimedia list to be shared in the title editing control.
Bachman discloses techniques for enabling easy generation, editing, and access to digital content compilations, such as playlists, etc. (Bachman, abstract). The share option 206 may enable the playlist to be shared with others (e.g., via social networking sites, email, etc.). An edit option 208 may enable the content associated with the playlist to be altered. For example, new content may be added, existing content may be removed, and/or the order of the content may be modified. A rename option 210 may enable the playlist name to be changed. For example, the default name "Untitled 1" may not be a desired name for the playlist, so the user may modify the name using the rename option 210 (Bachman, [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Shortt, Lieb, and Svendsen with Bachman that a method for sharing multimedia lists would include options to rename the list titles. With Shortt and Bachman disclosing sharing multimedia playlists, and with Bachman additionally disclosing having the option to edit the name of the playlists, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for sharing multimedia lists would include options to rename the list titles in order to be sure the title of the multimedia list accurately reflects the contents of the list if the content changes over time. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for sharing multimedia lists.
Regarding claim 11, Shortt and Lieb with Svendsen teach the method according to claim 10, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the presentation order includes at least one of the following: the target shared object which is shared by the creating user being at the first presentation position in the presentation order; determining the presentation order in accordance with likeability corresponding to each target shared object; determining a target arrangement condition based on an operation on a sorting control, to determine the presentation order of the target shared object based on the target arrangement condition.
Bachman discloses techniques for enabling easy generation, editing, and access to digital content compilations, such as playlists, etc. (Bachman, abstract). The share option 206 may enable the playlist to be shared with others (e.g., via social networking sites, email, etc.). An edit option 208 may enable the content associated with the playlist to be altered. For example, new content may be added, existing content may be removed, and/or the order of the content may be modified. A rename option 210 may enable the playlist name to be changed. For example, the default name "Untitled 1" may not be a desired name for the playlist, so the user may modify the name using the rename option 210 (Bachman, [0047]). If the user decides to change the order of content in a playlist, a sorting menu may be provided, that includes by likeability/rating 436 (Bachman, [0062], FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Shortt, Lieb, and Svendsen with Bachman that a method for sharing multimedia lists would include options to sort the playlists by likeability. With Shortt and Bachman disclosing sharing multimedia playlists, and with Bachman additionally disclosing having the option to sort the playlists based on likeability, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for sharing multimedia lists would include options to sort the playlists by likeability in order to allow the user to explore music first that is more liked by the public. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for sharing multimedia lists.
Claim(s) 6, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shortt, Lieb, and Svendsen, and further in view of Devine et al. (US 2019/0339822 A1, hereinafter “Devine”).
Regarding claim 6, Shortt, Lieb, and Svendsen teach the method according to claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of further comprising: configuring a sharing period for the multimedia list to be shared, so that individual target sharing users share the multimedia list to be shared within the sharing period.
Devine discloses managing and sharing contextually-relevant media content (Devine, abstract). The content can be music related (Devine, [0227]-[0228]). At least Figures 6AL to 6AQ depict user interfaces for browsing and selecting a collection of multimedia for sharing, and then at least Figures 6AR to 6AW depict the user interfaces for specifying users to share the selected collection with. Several Figures depict that the shared collection is configured with an expiration when sharing is ended (Devine, [0262]-[0263], at least Figures 6D-6L, 6T, 6U, 6AI-6AK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Shortt, Lieb, and Svendsen with Devine that a method for sharing multimedia lists would include configuring a time period for when the sharing is enabled. With Shortt and Devine disclosing sharing multimedia collections, and with Devine additionally disclosing configuring a time period for when the sharing is enabled, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for sharing multimedia lists would include configuring a time period for when the sharing is enabled in order to protect the resources of the server hosting the shared content. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for sharing multimedia lists.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Scapa (US 2018/0196806 A1) – shared playlists.
Huang (US 2024/0214338 A1) – shared playlists.
Behzadi (US 2025/0224852 A1) – shared playlists.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171