DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figures 6-9) in the reply filed on 2/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 2/25/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Claims 1-20 are being examined.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 6 and 14 recite “phsycial communciation”, which appears to be a typo for “physical communication”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Paragraph 18 recites “processor 330 of FIGs. 3 and 4”, however no “330” is labeled in Figures 3 or 4.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “122” has been used to designate both “extension section” and “fins” (see paragraphs 17-18). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Hinged Heatsink with Latch”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-10, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (US2019/0069429A1).
Re Claim 1. Lu teaches a heatsink (10) (Figures 1-3; The assembly is thermally conductive and thus is considered a heatsink) comprising:
a main body (102) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18);
a hinge (1032, 1014 combine to form the hinge) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30);
an arm portion (101) in physical communication with the main body and with the hinge, the arm portion including a movable portion (the arm is moveable) configured to transition between a closed position and an open position (Figures 1-3, wherein Figure 1 illustrates a closed position in which the end 1011 of the arm is connected to the hinge and the other end 1012 is contacting the main body. Figure 2 illustrates the arm in the open position; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30); and
a latch (104) in physical communication with the movable portion of the arm portion, the latch to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, wherein the latch to securely hold the movable portion in the closed position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claim 9. Lu teaches an information handling system comprising: a printed circuit board (20) including a plurality of connectors (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Paragraphs 12 and 32 teach removing components from the circuit board 20, thus the circuit board forms connections between the circuit board and removable components. Thus, Lu teaches the circuit board includes a plurality of connectors); and
a heatsink (10) (Figures 1-3; The assembly is thermally conductive and thus is considered a heatsink) in physical communication with the printed circuit board, the heatsink including (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30);
an arm portion (101) in physical communication with a main body (102) and with a hinge (1032, 1014 combine to form the hinge) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30),
the arm portion including a movable portion (the arm is moveable) configured to transition between a closed position and an open position (Figures 1-3, wherein Figure 1 illustrates a closed position in which the end 1011 of the arm is connected to the hinge and the other end 1012 is contacting the main body. Figure 2 illustrates the arm in the open position; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30); and
a latch (104) in physical communication with the movable portion of the arm portion, the latch to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, wherein the latch to securely hold the movable portion in the closed position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claims 2 & 10. Lu teaches a static upper portion (top surface of 102) in physical communication with in the main body and with the hinge, wherein the static upper portion is coupled to the movable portion via the hinge (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claims 7 & 15. Lu teaches the movable portion transitions from the closed position to the open position when the latch is in the unlocked position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claims 8 & 16. Lu teaches in response to a force being exerted on the movable portion, the movable portion rotates around the hinge (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claim 14. Lu teaches the movable portion is not in physical communication with the static lower portion when the movable portion is in the open position, and the connectors are visible when the movable portion is in the open position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US2019/0069429A1).
Re Claim 17. Lu teaches an information handling system comprising:
a printed circuit board (20) including a plurality of connectors (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Paragraphs 12 and 32 teach removing components from the circuit board 20, thus the circuit board forms connections between the circuit board and removable components. Thus, Lu teaches the circuit board includes a plurality of connectors); and
a heatsink (10) (Figures 1-3; The assembly is thermally conductive and thus is considered a heatsink) in physical communication with the printed circuit board, the heatsink including (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30);
a main body (102) in physical communication with the processor; an arm portion (101) in physical communication with the main body and with a hinge (1032, 1014 combine to form the hinge) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30),
the arm portion including a movable portion (the arm is moveable) configured to transition between a closed position and an open position (Figures 1-3, wherein Figure 1 illustrates a closed position in which the end 1011 of the arm is connected to the hinge and the other end 1012 is contacting the main body. Figure 2 illustrates the arm in the open position; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30); and
a latch (104) in physical communication with the movable portion of the arm portion, the latch to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, wherein the latch to securely hold the movable portion in the closed position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Lu teaches a circuit board (20) but fails to specifically recite a processor. The examiner takes Official Notice of the well-known and ubiquitous use of processors on circuit boards. The use of processors on circuit boards is well-known and understood by those of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to include a processor on the circuit board of Lu as this is a well-known and understood design.
Re Claim 18. Lu teaches a static upper portion (top surface of 102) in physical communication with in the main body and with the hinge, wherein the static upper portion is coupled to the movable portion via the hinge (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Claims 3-6, 11-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US2019/0069429A1) in view of Wallner (US2022/0295674A1).
Re Claims 3, 11, & 19. Lu teaches a static lower portion in physical communication with in the main body () but fails to specifically teach the static lower portion includes a plurality of heat pipes.
However, Wallner teaches a heatsink (1) comprising a static lower portion (7) includes a plurality of heat pipes (generally denoted by 11, 12 in Figures 1-3) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 59, 83-86).
Therefore, in view of Wallner's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add heat pipes to the static lower portion of Lu in order to better dissipate heat from the assembly, as is well-understood in the art.
Re Claims 4, 12, & 20. Lu as modified by Wallner teach the movable portion includes a heat transfer material, wherein the heat transfer material is in physical communication with the heat pipes when the movable portion is in the closed position (Lu Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Wallner Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 59, 83-86).
Re Claims 5 & 13. Lu as modified by Wallner teach the heat pipes are located within both the main body and the static lower portion (Lu Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Wallner Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 59, 83-86).
Re Claim 6. Lu as modified by Wallner teach the movable portion is not in physical communication with the static lower portion when the movable portion is in the open position (Lu Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Wallner Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 59, 83-86).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763