DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant previously elected without traverse Species A (Figures 6-9) in the reply filed on 2/25/2026.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 5/28/2026 are as follows:
Claims 3 and 4 are cancelled by the applicant;
Claims 1, 2, and 5-20 are pending;
Claims 1, 2, and 5-20 are being examined.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/28/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The amended title of the invention was received on 5/28/2026 and is accepted.
The amended specification was received on 5/28/2026 and is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (US2019/0069429A1, as previously cited).
Re Claim 9. Lu teaches an information handling system comprising: a printed circuit board (20) including a plurality of connectors (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Paragraphs 12 and 32 teach removing components from the circuit board 20, thus the circuit board forms connections between the circuit board and removable components. Thus, Lu teaches the circuit board includes a plurality of connectors); and
a heatsink (10) (Figures 1-3; The assembly is thermally conductive and thus is considered a heatsink) in physical communication with the printed circuit board, the heatsink including (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30);
an arm portion (101) in physical communication with a main body (102) and with a hinge (1032, 1014 combine to form the hinge) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30),
the arm portion including a movable portion (the arm is moveable) configured to transition between a closed position and an open position (Figures 1-3, wherein Figure 1 illustrates a closed position in which the end 1011 of the arm is connected to the hinge and the other end 1012 is contacting the main body. Figure 2 illustrates the arm in the open position; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30)
wherein the movable portion includes a thermal conductor material on a lower surface of the movable portion (the bottom surface is made of a thermal conductor material. It is noted that the applicant has not set forth a specific material or material property, and thus any material can be interpreted as a thermal conductor material. Therefore, the bottom surface of the moveable portion is considered a thermal conductor material), wherein the connectors are not visible when the movable portion is in the closed position and the connectors are visible when the movable portion is in the open position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30); and
a latch (104) in physical communication with the movable portion of the arm portion, the latch to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, wherein the latch to securely hold the movable portion in the closed position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claims 10. Lu teaches a static upper portion (top surface of 102) in physical communication with in the main body and with the hinge, wherein the static upper portion is coupled to the movable portion via the hinge (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claim 14. Lu teaches the movable portion is not in physical communication with the static lower portion when the movable portion is in the open position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claims 15. Lu teaches the movable portion transitions from the closed position to the open position when the latch is in the unlocked position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Re Claims 16. Lu teaches in response to a force being exerted on the movable portion, the movable portion rotates around the hinge (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US2019/0069429A1, as previously cited).
Re Claim 17. Lu teaches an information handling system comprising:
a printed circuit board (20) including a plurality of connectors (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Paragraphs 12 and 32 teach removing components from the circuit board 20, thus the circuit board forms connections between the circuit board and removable components. Thus, Lu teaches the circuit board includes a plurality of connectors); and
a heatsink (10) (Figures 1-3; The assembly is thermally conductive and thus is considered a heatsink) in physical communication with the printed circuit board, the heatsink including (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30);
a main body (102) in physical communication with the processor; an arm portion (101) in physical communication with the main body and with a hinge (1032, 1014 combine to form the hinge) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30),
the arm portion including a movable portion (the arm is moveable) configured to transition between a closed position and an open position (Figures 1-3, wherein Figure 1 illustrates a closed position in which the end 1011 of the arm is connected to the hinge and the other end 1012 is contacting the main body. Figure 2 illustrates the arm in the open position; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30),
wherein the movable portion includes a thermal conductor material on a lower surface of the movable portion (the bottom surface is made of a thermal conductor material. It is noted that the applicant has not set forth a specific material or material property, and thus any material can be interpreted as a thermal conductor material. Therefore, the bottom surface of the moveable portion is considered a thermal conductor material), wherein the connectors are not visible when the movable portion is in the closed position and the connectors are visible when the movable portion is in the open position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30); and
a latch (104) in physical communication with the movable portion of the arm portion, the latch to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, wherein the latch to securely hold the movable portion in the closed position (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Lu teaches a circuit board (20) but fails to specifically recite a processor. The examiner takes Official Notice of the well-known and ubiquitous use of processors on circuit boards. The use of processors on circuit boards is well-known and understood by those of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to include a processor on the circuit board of Lu as this is a well-known and understood design. The examiner’s assertion of Official Notice of common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art because the applicant has failed to traverse the examiner’s previous assertion of official notice (See MPEP 2144.03(c)).
Re Claim 18. Lu teaches a static upper portion (top surface of 102) in physical communication with in the main body and with the hinge, wherein the static upper portion is coupled to the movable portion via the hinge (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30).
Claims 11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US2019/0069429A1, as previously cited) in view of Wallner (US2022/0295674A1, as previously cited).
Re Claims 11 & 19. Lu teaches a static lower portion in physical communication with in the main body but fails to specifically teach the static lower portion includes a plurality of heat pipes.
However, Wallner teaches a heatsink (1) comprising a static lower portion (7) includes a plurality of heat pipes (generally denoted by 11, 12 in Figures 1-3) (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 59, 83-86).
Therefore, in view of Wallner's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add heat pipes to the static lower portion of Lu in order to better dissipate heat from the assembly, as is well-understood in the art.
Re Claims 13. Lu as modified by Wallner teach the heat pipes are located within both the main body and the static lower portion (Lu Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 12-18, 28-30; Wallner Figures 1-3, Paragraphs 59, 83-86).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, and 5-8 are allowed.
Claims 12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1 recites “A heatsink comprising: a main body; a hinge; an arm portion in physical communication with the main body and with the hinge, the arm portion including a movable portion configured to transition between a closed position and an open position, wherein the movable portion includes a thermal conductor material on a lower surface of the movable portion; a latch in physical communication with the movable portion of the arm portion, the latch to transition between a locked position and an unlocked position, wherein the latch to securely hold the movable portion in the closed position; and a static lower portion in physical communication with in the main body, wherein the static lower portion includes a plurality of heat pipes, wherein the heat transfer material is in physical communication with the heat pipes when the movable portion is in the closed position and the heat transfer material is not in physical communication with the heat pipes when the movable portion is in the closed position”. The closest prior art of record Lu (US2019/0069429A1, as previously cited) teaches a heatsink comprising a main body, a hinge, an arm with a moveable portion comprising a thermal conductor material, a latch and a static lower portion. Lu fails to specifically teach the static lower portion includes a plurality of heat pipes, wherein the heat transfer material is in physical communication with the heat pipes when the movable portion is in the closed position and the heat transfer material is not in physical communication with the heat pipes when the movable portion is in the closed position. There would be no motivation to further modify the prior art without utilizing impermissible hindsight reasoning or without changing the principle of operation of the prior art. Therefore, the invention is novel and non-obvious in view of the prior art. Claims 12 and 20 recite similar limitations and thus are allowable for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the reply that claims 9 and 17 are allowable since they “recite features similar to claim 1”. However, claims 9 and 17 are not of the same scope as claim 1. Specifically, claims 9 and 17 fails to recite the plurality of heat pipes in a static lower portion that are in contact with the heat transfer material (as recited in claims 12 and 20). Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763