DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/521,717 filed on November 28, 2023 is presented for examination by the examiner. The amended claims submitted February 4, 2026 in response to the office action mailed November 10, 2025 are under consideration. Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are pending and amended at least by the amendments to claim 1.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The claim objections of the previous office action have been overcome by the amendments to the claims.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 8 “configured to receiver a light” should have been “configured to receive a light”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The double patenting rejections of the previous office action have been overcome by the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 USC §112 rejection of the previous office action has been overcome by the amendments to the claims.
However, the following new 35 USC §112(b) rejection is raised by the amendments to the claims.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a second module" in line 2. However, “a second module” was already introduced in claim 1. Thus, it is unclear whether or not the second module of claim 14 is the same structure as the second module of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuda US 2015/0160438 A1 (hereafter Okuda).
Regarding claim 1, Okuda teaches “An optical system (imaging unit 10), comprising:
a first module (the following portions of the first lens-group 12), configured to hold a first optical member (paragraph [0041]: “the first lens-group unit 12 is provided with a first lens frame (movable frame) 30 which holds the first lens element L1”), comprising:
a first movable portion (movable frame 30), configured to connect the first optical member (paragraph [0041]: “the first lens-group unit 12 is provided with a first lens frame (movable frame) 30 which holds the first lens element L1”);
a first fixed portion (cover member 32 and base member 31), wherein the first movable portion is movable relative to the first fixed portion (30 moves relative to 32 and 31); and
a first driving assembly (The first driving assembly includes at least the three projections 52 each of which slidably support guide shafts 41A, 41B and 41C, see paragraph [0050] and the two permanent magnets 60 and 61 and the two coils 62 and 63 which constitute an electromagnetic actuator), configured to drive the first movable portion to move relative to the first fixed portion (e.g. paragraph [0050]: “each projection 52 slides on the associated guide shaft 41A, 41B or 41C.” and [0057]: “The first lens frame 30 is driven by an electromagnetic actuator. This electromagnetic actuator includes two voice coil motors (VCMs) provided with two permanent magnets 60 and 61 and two coils 62 and 63, respectively.”), and
a second module (at least first prism L11), configured to receiver a light leaving the first module (see e.g. Fig. 3 light leaving 12 is received by prism L11) and comprises a second optical member (first prism L11), wherein the second optical member is configured to adjust a moving direction of the light from an incident direction (into the camera along O1) to a first direction (O2),
wherein as viewed along the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member (see dashed line in the examiner’s markup of a portion of Fig. 3 below where the projection 52 that holds 41C overlaps with L11 when viewed along the O2 direction), wherein as viewed along a second direction that is perpendicular to the incident direction and the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member (see dashed line in examiner’s markup of Fig. 8 below where the projections 52 that hold 41A and 41B overlaps with L11 when viewed along the up-down direction that is perpendicular to both O1 and O2).”
Regarding claim 2, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first fixed portion comprises:
a case (cover member 32), having a first opening (aperture 58), wherein the first opening corresponds to a light (e.g. paragraph [0056]: “The front wall 56 is provided with a photographic aperture 58, through which the first lens element L1 is exposed forward (toward the object side).”); and
a base (base member 31), having a second opening (opening of prism mounting recess 38), wherein the second opening corresponds to the light (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 4).”
Regarding claim 3, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the base has a C-shaped structure (C-shape formed by prism mounting recess 38 into which prism L11 is held), and a receiving portion (prism mounting recess 38) configured to receive at least a portion of the second module (e.g. paragraph [0043]: “The first prism L11 is positioned in the prism mounting recess 38”) is formed at a notch of the C-shaped structure (see how the top of the inclined surface that holds the inclined surface of prism L11 is the back-wall/notch of the C-shaped structure).”
Regarding claim 4, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the receiving portion is configured to receive at least a portion of the second optical member (e.g. paragraph [0043]: “The first prism L11 is positioned in the prism mounting recess 38”).”
Regarding claim 5, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 4, wherein as viewed along the first direction, at least a portion of the base overlaps the second optical member (see Figs. 3 and 4 the base 31 holds the prism L11 and overlaps it in the O2 direction.).”
Regarding claim 6, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the first movable portion is movably connected to the base via at least one supporting member (guide support portions 40A, 40B and 40C which allow 30 to slidably move along guide shafts 41A, 41B and 41C), and as viewed along the second direction at least a portion of the supporting member overlaps the second optical member (guide supports 40 are not shown in the cross-sectional views, however they extend above and below the guide shafts 41, and thus the portion of 40 that is below 41 in the front-rear direction of Fig. 8 will overlap with L11 in the up-down second direction of claim 1).”
Regarding claim 9, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 4, wherein as viewed along the incident direction, the first optical member and the second optical member overlap (L1 and L11 overlap when viewed along the optical axis O1 direction which is the incident direction of the light, see e.g. Fig. 3).”
Regarding claim 10, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 3, wherein as viewed along the incident direction, the first module comprises a polygonal structure (see e.g. the polygonal structure of cover 32, with a rectangular first side to the right in Fig. 4 and a three-sided second side to the left in Fig. 4), and the polygonal structure has a first side (the right side in Fig. 4) and a second side opposite each other (the left side in Fig. 4), wherein the receiving portion is situated at the first side (the receiving portion that receives prism L11 is proximate to the right side and opening 58), and the receiving portion communicates with the second opening (the receiving portion communicates with the opening 58 in which it resides).”
Regarding claim 11, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the optical system further comprises an image sensor (image sensor IS, see Fig. 3) configured to receive the light leaving the second module (see light along optical axes O1, O2 and O3 in Fig. 3 and description in paragraph [0037]), and a distance between the first side and the image sensor is less than a distance between the second side and the image sensor (see Fig. 3 the distance between the right side of 32 and image sensor IS is less than the distance between the left side of 32 and image sensor IS).”
Regarding claim 12, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the second module has an outer surface (the outer surface of 13 on the left side in Fig. 3 which abuts 36) and a protruding portion (paragraph [0041]: “set screws” which protrude to the left from the outer surface of 13 see paragraph [0041]: “The first lens-group unit 12 is fixed to the body module 11 by screwing set screws which are inserted into holes 36a (see FIGS. 1, 2 and 4) formed through the rear flange 36 of the base member 31, into screw holes formed in the housing 13”), the outer surface is adjacent to the second side (the left-side outer surface of 13 is adjacent to the left, second, side of 32), and the protruding portion protrudes from the outer surface (the set screws protrude to the left from the outer surface of 13 and into holes 36a), wherein the base is in contact with a top surface of the protruding portion (see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0041] “The first lens-group unit 12 is fixed to the body module 11 by screwing set screws which are inserted into holes 36a (see FIGS. 1, 2 and 4) formed through the rear flange 36 of the base member 31, into screw holes formed in the housing 13.” thus the interior of the holes 36a of the rear flange 36 of base 31 are in contact with the top surfaces of the set screws).”
Regarding claim 20, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the optical system further comprises an image sensor (image sensor IS) configured to receive the light leaving the second module (IS receives light that has traveled along O2 and O3 from prism L11, see e.g. Fig. 3), wherein as viewed along an incident direction of the light, the first optical member is separate from the image sensor (L1 is separate from IS when viewed along O1, see e.g. Fig. 3).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda US 2015/0160438 A1 (hereafter Okuda) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nomura et al. US 2014/0086568 A1 (hereafter Nomura 2014).
Regarding claim 14, Okuda teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the optical system further comprises a second module (body module 11), and the second module comprises:
a second fixed portion (housing 13), fixedly connected to the base (e.g. paragraph [0041]: “The first lens-group unit 12 is fixed to the body module 11 by screwing set screws which are inserted into holes 36a (see FIGS. 1, 2 and 4) formed through the rear flange 36 of the base member 31, into screw holes formed in the housing 13.” thus 13 is fixedly connected to base member 31); and
… a first circuit assembly (at least circuit board 59) of the first module (e.g. paragraph [0058]: “the coils 62 and 63 that constitute elements of the electromagnetic actuator are fixed to the rear side of the front wall 56 and are electrically connected to the circuit board 59.”).”
However, Okuda fails to teach: “a second circuit assembly, configured to electrically connect an external circuit, wherein the second circuit assembly is electrically connected to a first circuit assembly of the first module.”
Nomura 2014 teaches a camera module having a similar basic structure to Okuda.
Nomura 2014 teaches “wherein the optical system further comprises a second module (body module 11), and the second module comprises:
a second fixed portion (housing 16), fixedly connected to the base (e.g. paragraph [0069]: “the set screws 54 are tightened until the heads of the two set screws 54 come into contact with the two screw seats 48, respectively. This secures the base frame 41 to the housing 16.”); and
a second circuit assembly (flexible wiring board FL), configured to electrically connect an external circuit (FL extends outside of the camera module onto a pad and thus is configured to electrically connect an external circuit because of its position and flexibility.), wherein the second circuit assembly is electrically connected to (see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0078] FL is connected to 73) a first circuit assembly of the first module (circuit board 73 is a first circuit assembly of the first module because coils 74 and 75 are supported thereon see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0077]).”
Nomura further teaches paragraph [0078]: “A printed circuit is formed on the rear surface of the planar portion 79 of the circuit board 73 and is connected to a flexible wiring board FL which extends rightward from the circuit board 73. The image sensor IS is fixed to the rear of the planar portion 79 at a position near the right end thereof, and a plurality of terminals (not shown) provided on the image sensor IS are fixedly connected to the aforementioned printed circuit by soldering.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the circuit board of Okuda to a portion that provides terminals for the image sensor and a flexible wiring board that allows external connections as taught by Nomura 2014 in the camera module of Okuda because Okuda does not specify the circuit board configuration for the image sensor or the external connections and Nomura 2014 teaches that in a similar device the same circuit board that was used for the coils can also provide a platform and terminals for the image sensor and be connected to a circuit element that provides external connections (see paragraph [0078] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, the Okuda – Nomura 2014 combination teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 14,” however Okuda fails to teach “wherein the second fixed portion comprises a first docking portion, and the first docking portion has a depression structure, wherein an access line of the second circuit assembly is disposed in the first docking portion.”
Nomura 2014 teaches “wherein the second fixed portion comprises a first docking portion (packing 23 which is a docking portion in that the periphery of the imaging surface of the image sensor IS is sealed up by the packing 23, see paragraph [0081] and Figs. 2 and 6), and the first docking portion has a depression structure (see how 23 is lower than 27 in Fig. 2), wherein an access line of the second circuit assembly is disposed in the first docking portion (see Figs. 2 and 3 the flexible wiring exits from the region of housing 16 that contains 23).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a depressed first docking portion as taught by Nomura 2014 in the camera module of Okuda for the purpose of sealing the image sensor as taught by Nomura 2014 (paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 16, the Okuda – Nomura 2014 combination teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 15,” however, Okuda fails to teach “wherein the second fixed portion further comprises a second docking portion, the second docking portion has a depression structure, and the first docking portion and the second docking portion are formed on opposite sides of the second fixed portion, wherein the optical system further comprises a third module disposed in the second docking portion.”
Nomura 2014 teaches “wherein the second fixed portion further comprises a second docking portion (portion of housing 16 into which the second lens group frame 34 is docked see Fig. 2), the second docking portion has a depression structure (accommodating recess 18), and the first docking portion and the second docking portion are formed on opposite sides of the second fixed portion (see Fig. 2 packing 23 and the portion of the accommodating recess 18 into which the second lens group frame 34 is docked are on opposite ends of 16), wherein the optical system further comprises a third module (second lens group) disposed in the second docking portion (see Fig. 2).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second fixed portion with a second docking portion opposite to the first docking portion into which an optical module is accommodated as taught by Nomura 2014 in the camera module of Okuda because Okuda does not disclose the specifics of how G2 and G3 are accommodated into the fixed portion of body module 11 and Nomura teaches an appropriate housing configuration having guide rods 36 and 37 similar to that of Okuda 22 and 23.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Reference will be made to Okuda US 2015/0160438 A1 (hereafter Okuda), Sharma et al. US 2017/0094187 A1 (hereafter Sharma), Nomura et al. US 2014/0086568 A1 (hereafter Nomura 2014), Jung US 2016/0377881 A1 (hereafter Jung) and Mireault et al. US 2022/0091482 A1 (hereafter Mireault).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to teach or reasonably suggest the following limitation when taken in context of the claim as a whole: (claim 1) “wherein as viewed along the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member, wherein as viewed along a second direction that is perpendicular to the incident direction and the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member” and (claim 13) “the first module further comprises a counterweight member, and the electromagnetic driving member and the counterweight member are disposed on the first movable portion, wherein the counterweight member is situated at the first side, the electromagnetic driving member is situated at the second side, and a weight of the counterweight member is substantially the same as a weight of the electromagnetic driving member.”
As explained above, Okuda anticipates the optical system of claim 1. However, Okuda does not teach a counterweight member or any of the limitations thereof.
Sharma further teaches “wherein the first driving assembly comprises an electromagnetic driving member (first magnet 1226c), the first module further comprises a counterweight member (dummy mass 1240c), and the electromagnetic driving member and the counterweight member are disposed on the first movable portion (see Fig. 1C the driving magnets are positioned on the magnet holder 1006 which is part of the first movable portion), wherein the counterweight member is situated at the first side (dummy mass 1240c is on the left side proximate to the other camera assembly), the electromagnetic driving member is situated at the second side (1226c is on the right side), and a weight of the counterweight member is substantially the same as a weight of the electromagnetic driving member (paragraph [0277]: “The dummy mass 1240c may be configured to act as a counterbalance to the first magnet 1226c” If it is a mass which acts as a counterbalance and is equidistant from the optical axis then it is “substantially the same weight” as the first magnet 1226c).” However, Sharma fails to teach (claim 1) “wherein as viewed along the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member, wherein as viewed along a second direction that is perpendicular to the incident direction and the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member”.
However, there is no combination of references that would render the combination of limitations of claims 1 and 13 obvious without improper hindsight. Okuda and Sharma disclose disparate camera systems, there is no space in Okuda to dispose counterweights as disclosed by Sharma, and there is no motivation to modify Sharma in view of Okuda to incorporate the claimed overlapping elements.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art taken either singly or in combination fails to teach or reasonably suggest the following limitation when taken in context of the claim as a whole: (claim 1) “wherein as viewed along the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member, wherein as viewed along a second direction that is perpendicular to the incident direction and the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member” and (claim 17) “an elastic member, connected to the holder and the frame; and
a plurality of supporting members, connected to the elastic member and the base, wherein the elastic member has a plurality of sections separate from each other, and the sections are one- on-one connected to the supporting members.”
Okuda anticipates claim 1, but fails to teach (claim 17) “an elastic member, connected to the holder and the frame; and a plurality of supporting members, connected to the elastic member and the base, wherein the elastic member has a plurality of sections separate from each other, and the sections are one- on-one connected to the supporting members.”
Nomura 2014 teaches a system similar to Okuda and further teaches three extension springs 69 that could correspond to either the elastic member or the plurality of supporting members, but Nomura 2014 does not teach “wherein the elastic member has a plurality of sections separate from each other, and the sections are one- on-one connected to the supporting members.”
Jung teaches “The optical system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first movable portion comprises:
a holder (bobbin 110), configured to connect the first optical member (paragraph [0085]: “a lens barrel (not shown), which is provided on the inner side surface (i.e. the inner surface) of the bobbin 110 and on which at least one lens is mounted.”);
a frame (housing 140), surrounding the holder (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 8);
an elastic member (upper elastic member 150), connected to the holder and the frame (e.g. paragraph [0084]: “the upper and lower elastic members 150 and 160 may be coupled to the bobbin 110 and the housing 140”); and
a plurality of supporting members (support members 220), connected to the elastic member (paragraph [0142]: “the first upper elastic member 150-1... may be connected to a first support member 220-1… the second upper elastic member 150-2... may be connected to a second support member 220-2… the third upper elastic member 150-3... may be connected to a third support member 220-3… the fourth upper elastic member 150-4... may be connected to a fourth support member 220-4) and the base (e.g. paragraph [0141]: “the support members 220 and the circuit board 250, all of which are coupled to one another.” and Fig. 8 where 220 extend down to 250), wherein the elastic member has a plurality of sections(150-1, 150-2, 150-3 and 150-4) separate from each other (paragraph [0142]: “the upper elastic member 150 may include at least four upper elastic members 150, that is, first to fourth upper elastic members 150-1, 150-2, 150-3, and 150-4, which are conductively isolated from each other.” see also Fig. 12), and the sections are one-on-one connected to the supporting members (see Fig. 12 and paragraph [0142]: “the first upper elastic member 150-1... may be connected to a first support member 220-1… the second upper elastic member 150-2... may be connected to a second support member 220-2… the third upper elastic member 150-3... may be connected to a third support member 220-3… the fourth upper elastic member 150-4... may be connected to a fourth support member 220-4).” However, Jung fails to teach (claim 1) “wherein as viewed along the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member, wherein as viewed along a second direction that is perpendicular to the incident direction and the first direction, at least a portion of the first driving assembly overlaps the second optical member”
Mireault teaches (Fig. 2A and paragraph [0038]: “A suspension arrangement may be used to suspend the carrier 244 from the stationary structure 246 and to allow motion of the light folding element 202 enabled by the actuator(s). In some embodiments, the suspension arrangement may include one or more springs (e.g., sheet spring(s) 248 and/or one or more wires (e.g., suspension wire(s) 250).” However, this is only superficially similar to Okuda because the suspension structure is for the prism not any lens on the object-side of the prism.
There is no combination of references that would render claim 17 obvious. The structures of Okuda and Jung are disparate systems such that Jung would not inform an ordinary skilled artisan how to incorporate the claimed elastic members and supporting members from Jung into Okuda. Nor is there any motivation to incorporate the overlapping elements of Okuda into Jung.
Claims 18-19 depend from claim and are allowable for at least the reason stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872