DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 15 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) and further in view of KR - 200437096 Y1 (Examiner disclosed English machined in previous office action), Guido et al. (US – 2015/0204474 A1) and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1).
As per claim 1, Boecker discloses Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration comprising:
a damper (242, 243, Fig: 2A) attached to a refrigerant pipe of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system at a first location (A vibration-damping device 242 is configured to engage the refrigerant line 215 between the vibration control device 241 and the compressor 210. The vibration-damping device 242 may generally be configured to absorb or damp the vibration/displacement of the refrigerant line 215. In the illustrated embodiment, the vibration-damping device 242 may include a damping member 243 and a holding device 244 (e.g., a clamp, etc.). The holding device 244 generally can help keep the damping member 243 on the refrigerant line 215, [0033], Fig: 2A).
Boecker discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose the damper comprising:
a first annular structure comprising an elastic material, wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure;
wherein the elastic material has a hole therein, and the first annular structure has a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material; and
a clamp configured to secure the first annular structure at the first location of the refrigerant pipe, wherein the clamp comprises:
a metallic material; and
one or more tightening mechanisms configured to secure the clamp at the first location of the refrigerant pipe.
KR - 200437096 discloses Apparatus for Insulate Cooling Pipe comprising: the damper comprising:
a first annular structure (10, left, Fig: 1-2) comprising an elastic material (semicircular urethane shoe 10 is mounted to the outside of the pipe (1), TECH- SOLUTION, paragraph: 3), wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure (Fig: 1-2); and
a clamp (21, Fig: 1-2) configured to secure the first annular structure at the first location of the refrigerant pipe (Fig: 1-2), wherein the clamp comprises:
one or more tightening mechanisms (24, Fig: 1-2) configured to secure the clamp at the first location of the refrigerant pipe (Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker to make the damper in which a first annular structure comprising an elastic material, wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure; and a clamp configured to secure the first annular structure at the first location of the refrigerant pipe, wherein the clamp comprises and one or more tightening mechanisms configured to secure the clamp at the first location of the refrigerant pipe as taught by KR - 200437 in order to provide a heat insulating device of the refrigeration pipe fixing unit that can prevent the condensation is prevented from occurring in the assembly between the pipe and the clamp.
Again, Guido discloses After The Mass-Spring Principle Operating Vibration Absorber comprising:
a first annular structure (1, Fig: 1-2) comprising an elastic material (open at one side and in the fitted condition is mounted with elastic deformation on the main body (2) in such a way that it embraces it on at least three sides, therefore, is obviously disclose elastic material, Claim 13), wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure (FIGS. 1 with 4 and 7 with 10 show vibration dampers according to the invention, each of which has a hollow-cylindrical main body 2 with an inside hollow space 3 which extends therethrough and the inside diameter of which is matched to the outside diameter of the injection line pipe (not shown) on which the vibration damper 1 is to be non-rotatably mounted, [0046], Fig: 1-2);
wherein the elastic material (1, 2, Fig: 1-2) has a hole (3, Fig: 1-2) therein, and the first annular structure has a cut (5, the main body 2 can be spread open at that line 5 in order to permit the injection line pipe to pass through the resulting opening into the inside hollow space 3 in the vibration damper 1, Fig: 1-2) extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material (Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 to make the elastic material has a hole therein, and the first annular structure has a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material as taught by Guido in order to develop a vibration damper of the kind set forth in the opening part of this specification in such a way that, with the same damping effectiveness, it can be of a markedly lower weight, a smaller volume and a smaller wall thickness than the known vibration damper.
Further, Boecker and KR - 200437096 both disclose clamp but silent about clamp made of a metallic material.
Dodge discloses Pipe Insulation Coupling With Sealing Mechanism comprising clamp made of a metallic material (the pipe insulation coupling to be supplemented with a failsafe such as a metal clamp, [0005], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 to make the clamp with metal as taught by Dodge in order to provide the coupling systems with locking feet do not allow the pipe insulation coupling to be supplemented with a failsafe such as a metal clamp.
As per claim 2, Boecker discloses wherein: the refrigerant pipe has a first vibration amplitude at the first location for a first natural frequency (A compressor of an HVAC system may produce vibration during operation. The vibration of the compressor may be transmitted to refrigerant lines in the HVAC system, which can cause vibration and/or displacement of one or more of the refrigerant lines, [0014], Fig: 2A); and
the damper has a mass, a spring constant, and a damping constant such that the damper reduces the first vibration amplitude of the refrigerant pipe during operation or transportation (The vibration control device can help isolate the vibration, thereby reducing or preventing the vibration from passing the vibration control device along the refrigerant line. The system may also include a vibration-damping device to damp or absorb the vibration of the refrigerant line. A position of the vibration control device can provide a reference point for a location of the vibration-damping, [0016], Fig: 2A).
As per claim 3, KR - 200437096 further discloses wherein the clamp further comprises:
a first half-shell structure (21, left, Fig: 2); and
a second half-shell structure (21, right, Fig: 2) attached to the first half-shell structure using a first tightening mechanism and a second tightening mechanism (24, both ends, Fig: 1-2), wherein:
the first annular structure (10, left, Fig: 1-2) is interposed between the first half- shell structure and the second half-shell structure (Fig: 1-2); and
the first annular structure is interposed between the first tightening mechanism and the second tightening mechanism (Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 4, KR - 200437096 further discloses wherein each of the first half- shell structure and the second half-shell structure (21, left and right, Fig: 2) has a substantially uniform thickness (Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 6, Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer between the first annular structure and the refrigerant pipe.
Guido discloses After The Mass-Spring Principle Operating Vibration Absorber comprising:
an adhesive layer between the first annular structure and the refrigerant pipe (he vibration dampers are mounted non-rotatably on the injection line pipe in question, which can be effected for example by being glued on. For that purpose, a suitable layer of adhesive is provided between the inside surface of the respective hollow cylinder 2 and the outside of the injection line pipe (not shown), [0060], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge to use the adhesive layer between the first annular structure and the refrigerant pipe as taught by Guido in order to prevent the pipe from slipping and prevent vibration.
As per claim 7, KR - 200437096 further discloses wherein the elastic material comprises nitrile rubber (both sides of the urethane shoe 10 is also semi-circular to fit inside the rubber band, TECH-SOLUTION, paragraph: 7).
As per claim 8, Boecker discloses Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration comprising:
a damper (242, 243, Fig: 2A) attached to a refrigerant pipe of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system at a first location (A vibration-damping device 242 is configured to engage the refrigerant line 215 between the vibration control device 241 and the compressor 210. The vibration-damping device 242 may generally be configured to absorb or damp the vibration/displacement of the refrigerant line 215. In the illustrated embodiment, the vibration-damping device 242 may include a damping member 243 and a holding device 244 (e.g., a clamp, etc.). The holding device 244 generally can help keep the damping member 243 on the refrigerant line 215, [0033], Fig: 2A).
Boecker discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose the damper comprising:
a first annular structure comprising: an elastic material having:
a hole therein, wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the hole; and a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure; and
a clamp configured to secure the first annular structure at the first location of the refrigerant pipe, wherein the clamp comprises:
one or more tightening mechanisms configured to secure the clamp at the first location of the refrigerant pipe.
KR - 200437096 discloses Apparatus for Insulate Cooling Pipe comprising: the damper comprising:
a first annular structure (10, left, Fig: 1-2) comprising:
an elastic material (semicircular urethane shoe 10 is mounted to the outside of the pipe (1), TECH-SOLUTION, paragraph: 3), having:
a hole therein (Fig: 1-2), wherein the refrigerant pipe (1, Fig: 1) extends through the hole (Fig: 1); and
a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material (Attached figure and Fig: 1-2); and
a clamp (21, Fig: 1-2) configured to secure the first annular structure at the first location of the refrigerant pipe (Fig: 1-2), wherein the clamp comprises:
a metallic material; and one or more tightening mechanisms (24, Fig: 1-2) configured to secure the clamp at the first location of the refrigerant pipe (Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker to make the damper in which a first annular structure comprising: an elastic material having: a hole therein, wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the hole; and a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure; and a clamp configured to secure the first annular structure at the first location of the refrigerant pipe, wherein the clamp comprises: one or more tightening mechanisms configured to secure the clamp at the first location of the refrigerant pipe as taught by KR - 200437 in order to provide a heat insulating device of the refrigeration pipe fixing unit that can prevent the condensation is prevented from occurring in the assembly between the pipe and the clamp.
Further, Boecker and KR - 200437096 both disclose clamp but silent about clamp made of a metallic material.
Dodge discloses Pipe Insulation Coupling With Sealing Mechanism comprising: clamp made of a metallic material (the pipe insulation coupling to be supplemented with a failsafe such as a metal clamp, [0005], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 to make the clamp with metal as taught by Dodge in order to provide the coupling systems with locking feet do not allow the pipe insulation coupling to be supplemented with a failsafe such as a metal clamp.
As per claim 9, KR - 200437096 further discloses the damper has a mass, a spring constant, and a damping constant such that the damper reduces the first vibration amplitude of the refrigerant pipe during operation or transportation (The vibration control device can help isolate the vibration, thereby reducing or preventing the vibration from passing the vibration control device along the refrigerant line. The system may also include a vibration-damping device to damp or absorb the vibration of the refrigerant line. A position of the vibration control device can provide a reference point for a location of the vibration-damping, [0016], Fig: 2A).
As per claim 14, Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer between the first annular structure and the refrigerant pipe.
Guido discloses After The Mass-Spring Principle Operating Vibration Absorber comprising:
an adhesive layer between the first annular structure and the refrigerant pipe (he vibration dampers are mounted non-rotatably on the injection line pipe in question, which can be effected for example by being glued on. For that purpose a suitable layer of adhesive is provided between the inside surface of the respective hollow cylinder 2 and the outside of the injection line pipe (not shown), [0060], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge to use the adhesive layer between the first annular structure and the refrigerant pipe as taught by Guido in order to prevent the pipe from slipping and prevent vibration.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) as modified by KR - 200437096 Y1 (Examiner disclosed English machined translation in previous office action) and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of A. N. Wells (US - 3,172,502).
As per claim 5, Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the first half-shell structure and the second half-shell structure has a non- uniform thickness.
Wells discloses Vibration damper comprising: wherein each of the first half-shell structure (first upper portion 34, Fig: 4) and the second half-shell structure (second lower or clamping portion 36) has a non-uniform thickness (34 and 36 are different thickness, Fig: 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge to make the clamp in which each of the first half-shell structure and the second half-shell structure has a non-uniform thickness as taught y Wells in order to a simple and effective apparatus which can be quickly and easily attached in operative position about a conduit.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) as modified by KR - 200437096 Y1) and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Manfredotti (US - 2011/0308905 A1).
As per claim 10, Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose
a first plate; and
a second plate attached to the first plate using a first tightening mechanism and a second tightening mechanism, wherein:
the first annular structure is interposed between the first plate and the second plate; and
the first annular structure is interposed between a first tightening mechanism and a second tightening mechanism.
Manfredotti discloses Device For Damping The Vibration Of A Structure comprising:
a first plate (61', Fig: 3); and
a second plate (61", Fig: 3) attached to the first plate using a first tightening mechanism (Attached figure and Fig: 3) and
a second tightening mechanism (Attached figure and Fig: 3), wherein:
the first annular structure (30, Fig: 3) is interposed between the first plate (61') and the second plate (61", Fig: 3); and
the first annular structure (30) is interposed between a first tightening mechanism and a second tightening mechanism (Attached figure and Fig: 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge to make the first plate; and the second plate attached to the first plate using a first tightening mechanism and the second tightening mechanism, wherein: the first annular structure is interposed between the first plate and the second plate; and the first annular structure is interposed between a first tightening mechanism and the second tightening mechanism as taught by Manfredotti in order to optimize the efficiency of the absorber, it is appropriate to adjust the resonant frequency of the absorber so that said resonant frequency is equal to the frequency of the vibration of the structure that is to be damped.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) as modified by KR - 200437096 Y1) and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of E. W. Waters (US - 2,994,499).
As per claim 11, Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the clamp further comprises a second annular structure surrounding the first annular structure, wherein:
the second annular structure is secured to the first annular structure using a first tightening mechanism;
the second annular structure has a second cut extending from an inner sidewall of the second annular structure to an outer sidewall of the second annular structure; and the first tightening mechanism provides the clamp with a desired mass.
Waters discloses Conduit Clamp comprising:
wherein the clamp (10, Fig: 1-2) further comprises a second annular structure surrounding the first annular structure, wherein:
the second annular structure (12, Fig: 1-2) is secured to the first annular structure (26, Fig: 1-2, 4) using a first tightening mechanism (16, Fig: 1-2);
the second annular structure (26) has a second cut (30, Fig: 3) extending from an inner sidewall of the second annular structure to an outer sidewall of the second annular structure (Fig: 3); and
the first tightening mechanism (16, Fig: 1-2) provides the clamp with a desired mass (Fig: 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge to make the clamp in which a second annular structure surrounding the first annular structure, wherein: the second annular structure is secured to the first annular structure using a first tightening mechanism; the second annular structure has a second cut extending from an inner sidewall of the second annular structure to an outer sidewall of the second annular structure; and the first tightening mechanism provides the clamp with a desired mass as taught by Waters in order to provide an improved shock-resistant conduit clamp adapted to absorb vibration and dissipate heat.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) as modified by KR - 200437096 Y1 and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of LEE et al. (US - 2022/0412423 A1).
As per claim 12, Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the clamp further comprises:
a first half-shell structure; and a second half-shell structure attached to the first half-shell structure using a hinge, wherein:
a first tightening mechanism secures the first half-shell structure and the second half-shell structure around the first annular structure; and
the refrigerant pipe is interposed between the hinge and the first tightening mechanism.
LEE discloses Mass Damper For Vehicle Air Conditioning System comprising: the clamp (120, Fig: 2-10) further comprises: a first half-shell structure (123, Fig: 2-10); and
a second half-shell structure 126, Fig: 2-10) attached to the first half-shell structure using a hinge (129, Fig: 2-10), wherein:
a first tightening mechanism (124, Fig: 2-10) secures the first half-shell structure and the second half-shell structure around the first annular structure (Fig: 9-0); and
the refrigerant pipe is interposed between the hinge and the first tightening mechanism (Various embodiments of the present disclosure relates to a mass damper which is mounted on a refrigerant pipe for the flow of refrigerant in a vehicle air conditioner system to reduce vibration and noise generated in the refrigerant pipe, [0054], Fig: 2-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge to make the clamp in which a first half-shell structure; and a second half-shell structure attached to the first half-shell structure using a hinge, wherein: a first tightening mechanism secures the first half-shell structure and the second half-shell structure around the first annular structure; and the refrigerant pipe is interposed between the hinge and the first tightening mechanism as taught by LEE in order to reduce vibrations generated in the refrigerant pipe and noise.
As per claim 13, LEE further disclose wherein the first annular structure has a shape of a cylindrical shell (123, Fig: 9).
Claim(s) 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) and further in view of KR-200437096 Y1 (Examiner disclosed English machined translation in previous office action), Guido et al. (US – 2015/0204474 A1) and F. H. Rice (US - 2,466,912).
As per claim 15, Boecker discloses Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration comprising:
a damper (242, 243, Fig: 2A) attached to a refrigerant pipe of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system at a first location (A vibration-damping device 242 is configured to engage the refrigerant line 215 between the vibration control device 241 and the compressor 210. The vibration-damping device 242 may generally be configured to absorb or damp the vibration/displacement of the refrigerant line 215. In the illustrated embodiment, the vibration-damping device 242 may include a damping member 243 and a holding device 244 (e.g., a clamp, etc.). The holding device 244 generally can help keep the damping member 243 on the refrigerant line 215, [0033], Fig: 2A).
Boecker discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose the damper comprising:
an annular elastic structure, comprising an elastic material, wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the annular clastic structure; and an annular metallic structure embedded in the annular elastic structure,
wherein the elastic material has a hole therein, and the first annular structure has a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material; and
KR - 200437096 discloses Apparatus for Insulate Cooling Pipe comprising: an annular elastic structure (10, Fig: 1-2), wherein the refrigerant pipe (1, Fig: 1- 2) extends through the annular clastic structure (Figures 2 and 3 shows a state in which the heat insulating device of the refrigeration pipe fixing unit according to the present invention is installed, TECH-SOLUTION, paragraph 2 Fig: 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker to make the annular elastic structure, wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the annular clastic structure as taught by KR - 200437096 in order to provide a heat insulating device of the refrigeration pipe fixing unit that can prevent the condensation is prevented from occurring in the assembly between the pipe and the clamp.
Again, Guido discloses After The Mass-Spring Principle Operating Vibration Absorber comprising:
a first annular structure (1, Fig: 1-2) comprising an elastic material (open at one side and in the fitted condition is mounted with elastic deformation on the main body (2) in such a way that it embraces it on at least three sides, therefore, is obviously disclose elastic material, Claim 13), wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure (FIGS. 1 with 4 and 7 with 10 show vibration dampers according to the invention, each of which has a hollow-cylindrical main body 2 with an inside hollow space 3 which extends therethrough and the inside diameter of which is matched to the outside diameter of the injection line pipe (not shown) on which the vibration damper 1 is to be non-rotatably mounted, [0046], Fig: 1-2);
wherein the elastic material (1, 2, Fig: 1-2) has a hole (3, Fig: 1-2) therein, and the first annular structure has a cut (5, the main body 2 can be spread open at that line 5 in order to permit the injection line pipe to pass through the resulting opening into the inside hollow space 3 in the vibration damper 1, Fig: 1-2) extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material (Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 to make the elastic material has a hole therein, and the first annular structure has a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material as taught by Guido in order to develop a vibration damper of the kind set forth in the opening part of this specification in such a way that, with the same damping effectiveness, it can be of a markedly lower weight, a smaller volume and a smaller wall thickness than the known vibration damper.
Further, Boecker and KR - 200437096 also fail to disclose an annular metallic structure embedded in the annular elastic structure.
Rice discloses Wire Or Conduit Clip comprising:
an annular metallic structure (6, Fig: 1-4) embedded in the annular elastic structure (18, a cushion strip 18 of rubber or the like having rebent flanges 18 to hold it on the loop and provided with tubular cushioning ribs 20 as seats for the wires or conduit, Col: 3, Ln: 9-13, Fig: 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 to make the an annular metallic structure embedded in the annular elastic structure as taught by Rice in order to provide quickly and easily applied to and removed from wires or conduits before or after being fastened to a support.
As per claim 16, Rice further discloses one or more metallic pins (6, Fig: 1-4) embedded in the annular elastic structure (Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 17, Rice further disclose wherein the one or more metallic pins (6, Fig: 1-4) have a shape of a cylinder (Fig: 1-4).
As per claim 18, Rice further disclose wherein the annular elastic structure (18, Fig: 3-4) has a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the annular elastic structure to an outer sidewall of the annular elastic structure (Fig: 3-4).
As per claim 20, Boecker discloses the damper has a mass, a spring constant, and a damping constant such that the damper reduces the first vibration amplitude of the refrigerant pipe during operation or transportation (The vibration control device can help isolate the vibration, thereby reducing or preventing the vibration from passing the vibration control device along the refrigerant line. The system may also include a vibration-damping device to damp or absorb the vibration of the refrigerant line. A position of the vibration control device can provide a reference point for a location of the vibration-damping, [0016], Fig: 2A).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) as modified by KR - 200437096 Y1 (Examiner disclosed English machined translation for rejection reference) and F. H. Rice (US - 2,466,912) as applied to claims 15 above, and further in view of Guido et al. (US - 2015/0204474 A1).
As per claim 19, Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Dodge discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose an adhesive layer between the annular elastic structure and the refrigerant pipe
Guido discloses After The Mass-Spring Principle Operating Vibration Absorber comprising:
an adhesive layer between the annular elastic structure and the refrigerant pipe (he vibration dampers are mounted non-rotatably on the injection line pipe in question, which can be effected for example by being glued on. For that purpose a suitable layer of adhesive is provided between the inside surface of the respective hollow cylinder 2 and the outside of the injection line pipe (not shown), [0060], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Method and System To Reduce Damage Cause By Vibration of the Boecker as modified by KR - 200437096 and Rice to use an adhesive layer between the annular elastic structure and the refrigerant pipe as taught by Guido in order to prevent the pipe from slipping and prevent vibration.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In page 9-12 of remark, applicant argued that “Boecker modified with KR – 200437096 would render Bocker inoperable for its intended purpose”, “Boecker does not state any drawbacks or problem relating to “the condensation is prevented from occurring in the assembly between the pipe and clamp” that need improvement”, and “Also, the combination of Boecker, KR – 200437096, and Dodge fails to teach, suggest, or disclose “wherein the elastic material has a hole therein, and the first annular structure has a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material” recited in claim 1.
In response to applicant arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees. First, independent claim 1, does not require the phrase “the condensation is prevented from occurring in the assembly between the pipe and clamp” it’s does not in claim 1. Only claimed damper attached to a refrigerant pipe of HVAC and elastic annular structure, metallic clamp and tightening mechanism.
First, Boecker discloses damper 242, 243 attached to refrigerant pipe of HVAC at first location and holding device 244 generally keep the damping member 243 on the refrigerant line.
KR – 200437096 also discloses first annular structure (21), a clamp (21) and tightening mechanism 24, and Dodge teaches pipe insulation coupling and metal clamp and also disclose “a heat insulation device of the refrigeration pipe fixing portion that can prevent the assembly from weakening by blocking the vibration generated in the wall or pipe.”
However, Boecker, KR – 200437096 and Dodge did not disclose new limitations “wherein the elastic material has a hole therein, and the first annular structure has a cut extending from an inner sidewall of the elastic material to an outer sidewall of the elastic material”.
For this new limitations examiner teaches Guido et al. (US – 2015/0204474 A1). Guido discloses all new limitations in Fig: 1-2, that is a first annular structure (1, Fig: 1-2), an elastic material (open at one side and in the fitted condition is mounted with elastic deformation on the main body (2) in such a way that it embraces it on at least three sides, therefore, is obviously disclose elastic material, Claim 13), wherein the refrigerant pipe extends through the first annular structure (FIGS. 1 with 4 and 7 with 10 show vibration dampers according to the invention, each of which has a hollow-cylindrical main body 2 with an inside hollow space 3 which extends therethrough and the inside diameter of which is matched to the outside diameter of the injection line pipe (not shown) on which the vibration damper 1 is to be non-rotatably mounted, [0046], Fig: 1-2).
Finally, all independent claims 1, 8, and 15 did not disclose to “the condensation is prevented from occurring in the assembly between the pipe and clamp” that need improvement”
Therefore, rejection of claim 1 over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) and further in view of KR - 200437096 Y1, Guido et al. (US – 2015/0204474 A1) and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1) is proper for the reason set forth above and maintained the rejection.
Further, rejection of claim 8 over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) and further in view of KR - 200437096 Y1, and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1) is proper for the reason set forth above and maintained the rejection.
Further rejection over claim 15 over Boecker et al. (US - 2015/0300683 A1) and further in view of KR-200437096 Y1, Guido et al. (US – 2015/0204474 A1) and F. H. Rice (US - 2,466,912) is proper for the reason set forth above and maintained the rejection.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 depend directly on claims 1, 8 and 15 accordingly and are therefore rejection over depend directly on claims 1 and 8 and therefore, rejection over Boecker and further in view of KR - 200437096 Y1, and Dodge et al. (US - 2021/0180739 A1), A. N. Wells (US - 3,172,502), Monfredotti (US – 2011/0308905 A1), E. W. Water (US – 2,994,499), LEE et al. (US – 2022/0412423 A1), and F. H. Rice are proper for the reason set forth above and maintained the rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616