Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-17, 21-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ABOTABL et al. (US 2025/0141591 A1, hereinafter Abotabl).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1, Abotabl discloses, a method of wireless communication for a user equipment (UE) (see e.g., “a method of wireless communication performed by a UE”, [0007]), comprising:
receiving a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for one or both of a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration or a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration (see e.g., “receiving a first gap measurement configuration for measurement during an active period of cell DTX or DRX operation of a first cell and a second gap measurement configuration for measurement during a non-active period of the cell DTX or DRX operation of the first cell”, [0007]);
receiving a downlink control information indicating that the configuration is activated, wherein the configuration is associated with an indication of direction (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405, among other examples.”, Fig. 4, [0098] and/or “receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0214] and/or “…indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, Fig. 5, [0104] and/or “A gap measurement configuration may indicate when to take measurements… and/or what signals to measure (e.g., inter-frequency, intra-frequency, inter-RAT). The network entity may transmit a first gap measurement configuration for use during active periods and a second gap measurement configuration to use during non-active periods…the UE may perform inter-frequency measurements only during in non-active periods as there may be no heavy interruption of data unlike during active periods”, [0046]; Examiner’s note: inter-frequency measurement only during in non-active period corresponds to indication of direction); and
determining whether to receive or transmit a communication during the non-active period of the configuration based on the communication being associated with the indication of direction (see e.g., “the UE may receive, from a network entity, first information corresponding to an active period of cell DTX/DRX operation and second information corresponding to a non-active period of the cell DTX/DRX operation…The UE may use the first information…for transmissions to the network entity during active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation and use the second information when rate matching during non-active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation.”, [0045] and/or “the network entity (e.g., using communication manager 150 and/or reception component 1402, depicted in FIG. 14) may receive, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell,”, [0155] and/or “The DCI may indicate different values depending on whether the UE 520 is going to perform rate matching differently for non-active periods than for active periods.”, [0104]).
Regarding Claim 2, Abotabl discloses, wherein the indication of direction is one of: an index of a reference signal or a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see e.g., “the UE 520 may measure reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)) of a second cell 614 during gap 602 of a non-active period 405 (that occurs before an active period 415)”, [0114]); or a spatial relation information (see e.g., “Uplink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include scheduling requests, periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reports, periodic and/or semi-persistent sounding reference signals (SRSs)…”, [0098]; Examiner’s note: Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) corresponds to spatial relation
Regarding Claim 3, Abotabl discloses, determining whether to receive or transmit the communication during the non-active period comprises determining not to transmit a scheduled transmission from the UE that is associated with a spatial relation information that identifies a reference signal corresponding to the indication of direction (see e.g., “scheduled or configured during the non-active period 405 may be dropped by the network node 110 and/or the UE 120). The UE 120 may be expected to not transmit or receive particular channels or signals during the non-active period 405…Uplink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include scheduling requests, periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reports, periodic and/or semi-persistent sounding reference signals (SRSs)…”, [0098], and/or “A cell DTX mode includes periodic DTX cycles, where each DTX cycle includes an active period during which the network entity uses power for transmission and a non-active period during which the network entity reduces its power and does not transmit signals (or does not transmit certain signals)”, [0097]; Examiner’s note: Uplink signal restricted or dropped during non-active (i.e., Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)) corresponds to spatial relation information).
Regarding Claim 4, Abotabl discloses, determining whether to receive or transmit the communication during the non-active period comprises determining not to receive a scheduled reception that is associated with a TCI state that identifies a reference signal corresponding to the indication of direction (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle…scheduled or configured during the non-active period 405 may be dropped by the network node 110 and/or the UE 120). The UE 120 may be expected to not transmit or receive particular channels or signals during the non-active period 405… the UE may drop reception of a PDCCH in a type-3 CSS, an SPS communication, a CSI-RS for generating CSI, and/or a CSI-RS for propagation delay compensation, among other examples. Downlink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI-RSs (e.g., including tracking reference signals (TRSs)), (PRSs), PDCCH communications scrambled with a UE-specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), PDCCHs in a type-3 CSS (e.g., a group-common PDCCH), and/or SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) communications, among other examples.”, [0098] and/or “the UE 520 may measure reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)) of a second cell 614 during gap 602 of a non-active period 405 (that occurs before an active period 415)”, [0114]; Examiner’s note: downlink synchronization signal block (SSBs) restricted or dropped during non-active (i.e., corresponds to TCI state).
Regarding Claim 5, Abotabl discloses, determining whether to receive or transmit the communication during the non-active period comprises receiving or transmitting the communication during the non-active period of the configuration based on the communication not being associated with the indication of direction (see e.g., “during the non-active period of a cell DTX/DRX mode, the UE may be expected to drop the use of some physical channels or signals. Dropping the use of some physical channels or signals may reduce the complexity at the UE or improve system performance of the UE. For example, for downlink communications, the UE may drop reception of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a type-3 common search space (CSS)…for uplink communications, the UE may drop transmission of a scheduling request (SR), a configured grant (CG) communication, and/or CSI feedback, among other examples.”, [0043]; and/or “The UE may use the first information when rate matching data for transmissions to the network entity during active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation and use the second information when rate matching during non-active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation. By rate matching during cell DTX/DRX non-active periods differently than during cell DTX/DRX non-active periods, the UE may improve reliability and improve resource allocation efficiency, which conserves signaling resources and avoids increasing latency.”, [0045]).
Regarding Claim 6, Abotabl discloses, wherein the configuration indicates the indication of direction associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle. The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405,”, [0045] and/or “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle. The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405”, [0098] and/or “the rate matching indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, [0104]).
Regarding Claim 7, Abotabl discloses, wherein the downlink control information indicates the indication of direction associated with the configuration (see e.g., “the rate matching indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, [0104] and/or “receiving DCI indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0126] and/or “receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0214]).
Regarding Claim 11, Abotabl discloses, a method of wireless communication for a network node (see e.g., “a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity”, [0008]), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for one or both of a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration or a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration (see e.g., “transmitting a first gap measurement configuration for measurement during an active period of cell DTX or DRX operation of a first cell and a second gap measurement configuration for measurement during a non-active period of the cell DTX or DRX operation of the first cell. The method may include receiving, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell.”, [0008]);
transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information indicating that the configuration is activated, wherein the configuration is associated with an indication of direction (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405, among other examples.”, Fig. 4, [0098] and/or “receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0214] and/or “…indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, Fig. 5, [0104] and/or “A gap measurement configuration may indicate when to take measurements… and/or what signals to measure (e.g., inter-frequency, intra-frequency, inter-RAT). The network entity may transmit a first gap measurement configuration for use during active periods and a second gap measurement configuration to use during non-active periods…the UE may perform inter-frequency measurements only during in non-active periods as there may be no heavy interruption of data unlike during active periods”, [0046]; Examiner’s note: inter-frequency measurement only during in non-active period corresponds to indication of direction); and
determining whether to receive or transmit a communication with the UE during the non-active period of the configuration based on the communication being associated with the indication of direction (see e.g., “the UE may receive, from a network entity, first information corresponding to an active period of cell DTX/DRX operation and second information corresponding to a non-active period of the cell DTX/DRX operation…The UE may use the first information…for transmissions to the network entity during active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation and use the second information when rate matching during non-active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation.”, [0045] and/or “the network entity (e.g., using communication manager 150 and/or reception component 1402, depicted in FIG. 14) may receive, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell,”, [0155] and/or “The DCI may indicate different values depending on whether the UE 520 is going to perform rate matching differently for non-active periods than for active periods.”, [0104]).
Regarding Claim 12, Abotabl discloses, wherein the indication of direction is one of: a an index of a reference signal or a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see e.g., “the UE 520 may measure reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)) of a second cell 614 during gap 602 of a non-active period 405 (that occurs before an active period 415)”, [0114]); or a spatial relation information (see e.g., “Uplink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include scheduling requests, periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reports, periodic and/or semi-persistent sounding reference signals (SRSs)…”, [0098]; Examiner’s note: Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) corresponds to spatial relation
Regarding Claim 13, Abotabl discloses, determining whether to receive or transmit the communication during the non-active period comprises determining not to receive a scheduled reception from the UE that is associated with a spatial relation information that identifies a reference signal corresponding to the indication of direction (see e.g., “scheduled or configured during the non-active period 405 may be dropped by the network node 110 and/or the UE 120). The UE 120 may be expected to not transmit or receive particular channels or signals during the non-active period 405…Uplink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include scheduling requests, periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reports, periodic and/or semi-persistent sounding reference signals (SRSs)…”, [0098], and/or “A cell DTX mode includes periodic DTX cycles, where each DTX cycle includes an active period during which the network entity uses power for transmission and a non-active period during which the network entity reduces its power and does not transmit signals (or does not transmit certain signals)”, [0097]; Examiner’s note: Uplink signal restricted or dropped during non-active (i.e., Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)) corresponds to spatial relation information).
Regarding Claim 14, Abotabl discloses, determining whether to receive or transmit the communication during the non-active period comprises determining not to transmit a scheduled transmission that is associated with a TCI state that identifies a reference signal corresponding to the indication of direction (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle…scheduled or configured during the non-active period 405 may be dropped by the network node 110 and/or the UE 120). The UE 120 may be expected to not transmit or receive particular channels or signals during the non-active period 405… the UE may drop reception of a PDCCH in a type-3 CSS, an SPS communication, a CSI-RS for generating CSI, and/or a CSI-RS for propagation delay compensation, among other examples. Downlink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI-RSs (e.g., including tracking reference signals (TRSs)), (PRSs), PDCCH communications scrambled with a UE-specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), PDCCHs in a type-3 CSS (e.g., a group-common PDCCH), and/or SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) communications, among other examples.”, [0098] and/or “the UE 520 may measure reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)) of a second cell 614 during gap 602 of a non-active period 405 (that occurs before an active period 415)”, [0114]; Examiner’s note: downlink synchronization signal block (SSBs) restricted or dropped during non-active (i.e., corresponds to TCI state).
Regarding Claim 15, Abotabl discloses, determining whether to receive or transmit the communication during the non-active period comprises receiving or transmitting the communication during the non-active period of the configuration based on the communication not being associated with the indication of direction (see e.g., “during the non-active period of a cell DTX/DRX mode, the UE may be expected to drop the use of some physical channels or signals. Dropping the use of some physical channels or signals may reduce the complexity at the UE or improve system performance of the UE. For example, for downlink communications, the UE may drop reception of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a type-3 common search space (CSS)…for uplink communications, the UE may drop transmission of a scheduling request (SR), a configured grant (CG) communication, and/or CSI feedback, among other examples.”, [0043]; and/or “The UE may use the first information when rate matching data for transmissions to the network entity during active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation and use the second information when rate matching during non-active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation. By rate matching during cell DTX/DRX non-active periods differently than during cell DTX/DRX non-active periods, the UE may improve reliability and improve resource allocation efficiency, which conserves signaling resources and avoids increasing latency.”, [0045]).
Regarding Claim 16, Abotabl discloses, wherein the configuration indicates the indication of direction associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle. The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405,”, [0045] and/or “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle. The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405”, [0098] and/or “the rate matching indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, [0104]).
Regarding Claim 17, Abotabl discloses, wherein the downlink control information indicates the indication of direction associated with the configuration (see e.g., “the rate matching indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, [0104] and/or “receiving DCI indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0126] and/or “receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0214]).
Regarding Claim 21, Abotabl discloses, An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see e.g., “The apparatus 1205 may be a UE or may be at (e.g., included in) a UE.”, Fig. 12, [0168]), comprising:
one or more memories, individually or in combination, storing computer-executable instructions (see e.g., “The memory 1225 may include multiple memories, such as memory 1225a, memory 1225b, and memory 1225c”, Fig. 12, [0169]); and
one or more processors, individually or in combination (see e.g., “The processor 1220 may include multiple processors, such as processor 1220a”, Fig. 12, [0169]), configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for one or both of a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration or a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration (see e.g., “receiving a first gap measurement configuration for measurement during an active period of cell DTX or DRX operation of a first cell and a second gap measurement configuration for measurement during a non-active period of the cell DTX or DRX operation of the first cell”, [0007]);
receive a downlink control information indicating that the configuration is activated, wherein the configuration is associated with an indication of direction (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405, among other examples.”, Fig. 4, [0098] and/or “receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0214] and/or “…indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, Fig. 5, [0104] and/or “A gap measurement configuration may indicate when to take measurements… and/or what signals to measure (e.g., inter-frequency, intra-frequency, inter-RAT). The network entity may transmit a first gap measurement configuration for use during active periods and a second gap measurement configuration to use during non-active periods…the UE may perform inter-frequency measurements only during in non-active periods as there may be no heavy interruption of data unlike during active periods”, [0046]; Examiner’s note: inter-frequency measurement only during in non-active period corresponds to indication of direction); and
determine whether to receive or transmit a communication during the non-active period of the configuration based on the communication being associated with the indication of direction (see e.g., “the UE may receive, from a network entity, first information corresponding to an active period of cell DTX/DRX operation and second information corresponding to a non-active period of the cell DTX/DRX operation…The UE may use the first information…for transmissions to the network entity during active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation and use the second information when rate matching during non-active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation.”, [0045] and/or “the network entity (e.g., using communication manager 150 and/or reception component 1402, depicted in FIG. 14) may receive, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell,”, [0155] and/or “The DCI may indicate different values depending on whether the UE 520 is going to perform rate matching differently for non-active periods than for active periods.”, [0104]).
Regarding Claim 22, Abotabl discloses, wherein the indication of direction is one of: an index of a reference signal or a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see e.g., “the UE 520 may measure reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)) of a second cell 614 during gap 602 of a non-active period 405 (that occurs before an active period 415)”, [0114]); or a spatial relation information (see e.g., “Uplink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include scheduling requests, periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reports, periodic and/or semi-persistent sounding reference signals (SRSs)…”, [0098]; Examiner’s note: Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) corresponds to spatial relation
Regarding Claim 23, Abotabl discloses, not to transmit a scheduled transmission from the UE that is associated with a spatial relation information that identifies a reference signal corresponding to the indication of direction (see e.g., “scheduled or configured during the non-active period 405 may be dropped by the network node 110 and/or the UE 120). The UE 120 may be expected to not transmit or receive particular channels or signals during the non-active period 405…Uplink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include scheduling requests, periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI reports, periodic and/or semi-persistent sounding reference signals (SRSs)…”, [0098], and/or “A cell DTX mode includes periodic DTX cycles, where each DTX cycle includes an active period during which the network entity uses power for transmission and a non-active period during which the network entity reduces its power and does not transmit signals (or does not transmit certain signals)”, [0097]; Examiner’s note: Uplink signal restricted or dropped during non-active (i.e., Sounding Reference Signal (SRS)) corresponds to spatial relation information).
Regarding Claim 24, Abotabl discloses, not to receive a scheduled reception that is associated with a TCI state that identifies a reference signal corresponding to the indication of direction (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle…scheduled or configured during the non-active period 405 may be dropped by the network node 110 and/or the UE 120). The UE 120 may be expected to not transmit or receive particular channels or signals during the non-active period 405… the UE may drop reception of a PDCCH in a type-3 CSS, an SPS communication, a CSI-RS for generating CSI, and/or a CSI-RS for propagation delay compensation, among other examples. Downlink channels or signals restricted during the non-active period 405 may include periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI-RSs (e.g., including tracking reference signals (TRSs)), (PRSs), PDCCH communications scrambled with a UE-specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI), PDCCHs in a type-3 CSS (e.g., a group-common PDCCH), and/or SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) communications, among other examples.”, [0098] and/or “the UE 520 may measure reference signals (e.g., CSI-RSs, synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)) of a second cell 614 during gap 602 of a non-active period 405 (that occurs before an active period 415)”, [0114]; Examiner’s note: downlink synchronization signal block (SSBs) restricted or dropped during non-active (i.e., corresponds to TCI state).
Regarding Claim 25, Abotabl discloses, to receive or transmit the communication during the non-active period of the configuration based on the communication not being associated with the indication of direction (see e.g., “during the non-active period of a cell DTX/DRX mode, the UE may be expected to drop the use of some physical channels or signals. Dropping the use of some physical channels or signals may reduce the complexity at the UE or improve system performance of the UE. For example, for downlink communications, the UE may drop reception of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a type-3 common search space (CSS)…for uplink communications, the UE may drop transmission of a scheduling request (SR), a configured grant (CG) communication, and/or CSI feedback, among other examples.”, [0043]; and/or “The UE may use the first information when rate matching data for transmissions to the network entity during active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation and use the second information when rate matching during non-active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation. By rate matching during cell DTX/DRX non-active periods differently than during cell DTX/DRX non-active periods, the UE may improve reliability and improve resource allocation efficiency, which conserves signaling resources and avoids increasing latency.”, [0045]).
Regarding Claim 26, Abotabl discloses, wherein the configuration indicates the indication of direction associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle. The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405,”, [0045] and/or “The configuration may indicate a non-active period 405 (which may also be referred to as an “uplink and/or downlink channel restriction window”) for the cycle. The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405”, [0098] and/or “the rate matching indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, [0104]).
Regarding Claim 27, Abotabl discloses, wherein the downlink control information indicates the indication of direction associated with the configuration (see e.g., “the rate matching indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, [0104] and/or “receiving DCI indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0126] and/or “receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0214]).
Regarding Claim 30, Abotabl discloses, an apparatus for a network node (see e.g., “apparatus 1505 may be a network entity or may be at (e.g., included in) a network entity”, Fig. 15, [0192]), comprising:
one or more memories, individually or in combination (see e.g., “The memory 1525 may include multiple memories, such as memory 1525a, memory 1525b, and memory 1525c”, Fig. 15, [0193]), storing computer-executable instructions; and
one or more processors, individually or in combination (see e.g., “The processor 1520 may include multiple processors, such as processor 1520a…”, Fig. 15, [0193]), configured to execute the instructions to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration of an active period and a non-active period for one or both of a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration or a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration (see e.g., “transmitting a first gap measurement configuration for measurement during an active period of cell DTX or DRX operation of a first cell and a second gap measurement configuration for measurement during a non-active period of the cell DTX or DRX operation of the first cell. The method may include receiving, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell.”, [0008]);
transmit, to the UE, a downlink control information indicating that the configuration is activated, wherein the configuration is associated with an indication of direction (see e.g., “The configuration may indicate a starting time of the non-active period 405 (e.g., a time offset), a duration of the non-active period 405, and/or a periodicity 410 of the non-active period 405, among other examples.”, Fig. 4, [0098] and/or “receiving downlink control information (DCI) indicating the active period or the non-active period”, [0214] and/or “…indicator may be included in downlink control information (DCI) and may indicate cell DTX or DRX active periods or cell DTX or DRX non-active periods”, Fig. 5, [0104] and/or “A gap measurement configuration may indicate when to take measurements… and/or what signals to measure (e.g., inter-frequency, intra-frequency, inter-RAT). The network entity may transmit a first gap measurement configuration for use during active periods and a second gap measurement configuration to use during non-active periods…the UE may perform inter-frequency measurements only during in non-active periods as there may be no heavy interruption of data unlike during active periods”, [0046]; Examiner’s note: inter-frequency measurement only during in non-active period corresponds to indication of direction); and
determine whether to receive or transmit a communication with the UE during the non-active period of the configuration based on the communication being associated with the indication of direction (see e.g., “the UE may receive, from a network entity, first information corresponding to an active period of cell DTX/DRX operation and second information corresponding to a non-active period of the cell DTX/DRX operation…The UE may use the first information…for transmissions to the network entity during active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation and use the second information when rate matching during non-active periods of cell DTX/DRX operation.”, [0045] and/or “the network entity (e.g., using communication manager 150 and/or reception component 1402, depicted in FIG. 14) may receive, after being in the non-active period, a measurement of a signal of a second cell,”, [0155] and/or “The DCI may indicate different values depending on whether the UE 520 is going to perform rate matching differently for non-active periods than for active periods.”, [0104]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 8-10, 18-20 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Abotabl, in view of Cirik et al. (US 2025/0113366 Al, hereinafter Cirik).
Regarding Claim 8, Abotabl fails to explicitly disclose, receiving a media access control – control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a set of activated TCI states from among a plurality of configured TCI states, wherein a subset of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Cirik discloses receiving a media access control – control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a set of activated TCI states from among a plurality of configured TCI states, wherein a subset of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI, RRC, control command, downlink control command/message, control command/message, Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE… the activation command may indicate activation of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (e.g., DLorJoint-TCIStateList). The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of joint TCI states of the plurality of joint TCI states. The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of downlink TCI states of the plurality of downlink TCI states”, [0441-0442]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 9, Abotabl and Cirik combined discloses, wherein the MAC-CE includes an indication of whether each TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI, RRC, control command, downlink control command/message, control command/message, Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE… the activation command may indicate activation of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (e.g., DLorJoint-TCIStateList). The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of joint TCI states of the plurality of joint TCI states. The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of downlink TCI states of the plurality of downlink TCI states”, [0441-0442] and/or “the first DRX configuration, for example, if the base station transmits, to the wireless device, RRC message(s) comprising a higher layer parameter dl-OrJointTCI-StateList or a higher layer parameter TCI-UL-State, and transmits a control command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI) indicating two TCI states (or two uplink TCI states) comprising a first indicated TCI state and a second indicated TCI state”, [1058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 10, Abotabl and Cirik combined discloses, wherein a configured number of TCI states indicated as activated and having lowest identifiers in the MAC-CE are associated with the configuration (see e.g., “A first PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the first DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the first TCI state. A second PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the second DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the second TCI state.”, [0201] and/or “a wireless device may receive two PT-RSs. A first PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the first DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the first TCI state. A second PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the second DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the second TCI state...first DM-RS port(s) of the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH reception may be associated with a first TCI state of the two TCI states. Second DM-RS port(s) of the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH reception may be associated with a second TCI state of the two TCI states.”, [0212-0213] and/or “the first DRX configuration, for example, if the base station transmits, to the wireless device…a higher layer parameter TCI-UL-State, and transmits a control command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI) indicating two TCI states (or two uplink TCI states) comprising a first indicated TCI state and a second indicated TCI state”, [1058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 18, Abotabl fails to explicitly disclose, transmitting a media access control – control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a set of activated TCI states from among a plurality of configured TCI states, wherein a subset of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Cirik discloses, transmitting a media access control – control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a set of activated TCI states from among a plurality of configured TCI states, wherein a subset of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI, RRC, control command, downlink control command/message, control command/message, Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE… the activation command may indicate activation of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (e.g., DLorJoint-TCIStateList). The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of joint TCI states of the plurality of joint TCI states. The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of downlink TCI states of the plurality of downlink TCI states”, [0441-0442]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 19, Abotabl and Cirik combined discloses, wherein the MAC-CE includes an indication of whether each TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI, RRC, control command, downlink control command/message, control command/message, Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE… the activation command may indicate activation of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (e.g., DLorJoint-TCIStateList). The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of joint TCI states of the plurality of joint TCI states. The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of downlink TCI states of the plurality of downlink TCI states”, [0441-0442] and/or “the first DRX configuration, for example, if the base station transmits, to the wireless device, RRC message(s) comprising a higher layer parameter dl-OrJointTCI-StateList or a higher layer parameter TCI-UL-State, and transmits a control command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI) indicating two TCI states (or two uplink TCI states) comprising a first indicated TCI state and a second indicated TCI state”, [1058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 20, Abotabl and Cirik combined discloses, wherein a configured number of TCI states indicated as activated and having lowest identifiers in the MAC-CE are associated with the configuration (see e.g., “A first PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the first DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the first TCI state. A second PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the second DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the second TCI state.”, [0201] and/or “a wireless device may receive two PT-RSs. A first PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the first DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the first TCI state. A second PT-RS of the two PT-RSs may be associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the second DM-RS port(s) corresponding to the second TCI state...first DM-RS port(s) of the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH reception may be associated with a first TCI state of the two TCI states. Second DM-RS port(s) of the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH reception may be associated with a second TCI state of the two TCI states.”, [0212-0213] and/or “the first DRX configuration, for example, if the base station transmits, to the wireless device…a higher layer parameter TCI-UL-State, and transmits a control command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI) indicating two TCI states (or two uplink TCI states) comprising a first indicated TCI state and a second indicated TCI state”, [1058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 28, Abotabl fails to explicitly disclose, receive a media access control – control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a set of activated TCI states from among a plurality of configured TCI states, wherein a subset of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Cirik discloses receive a media access control – control element (MAC-CE) that indicates a set of activated TCI states from among a plurality of configured TCI states, wherein a subset of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI, RRC, control command, downlink control command/message, control command/message, Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE… the activation command may indicate activation of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (e.g., DLorJoint-TCIStateList). The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of joint TCI states of the plurality of joint TCI states. The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of downlink TCI states of the plurality of downlink TCI states”, [0441-0442]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 29, Abotabl and Cirik combined discloses, wherein the MAC-CE includes an indication of whether each TCI state of the set of activated TCI states is associated with the configuration (see e.g., “The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI, RRC, control command, downlink control command/message, control command/message, Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE… the activation command may indicate activation of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (e.g., DLorJoint-TCIStateList). The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of joint TCI states of the plurality of joint TCI states. The subset of TCI states may be, for example, a subset of downlink TCI states of the plurality of downlink TCI states”, [0441-0442] and/or “the first DRX configuration, for example, if the base station transmits, to the wireless device, RRC message(s) comprising a higher layer parameter dl-OrJointTCI-StateList or a higher layer parameter TCI-UL-State, and transmits a control command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI) indicating two TCI states (or two uplink TCI states) comprising a first indicated TCI state and a second indicated TCI state”, [1058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Abotabl with Cirik, in order to stop scheduled transmission/reception, or by setting to use which TCI state to conduct scheduled transmission/reception, when a particular transmission resource is configured/indicated (see Cirik, paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
/FARID SEYEDVOSOGHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645