DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 01/25/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0009575 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 11/23/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0164517 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 applicant uses “compressive”. It appears that this should read “compress” . Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "84a" and "84ae" have both been used to designate the same object in figure 1.
Reference characters “521b”, “52”, and “52b” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11.
Reference characters “521a” and “52 a” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11.
Reference characters “551” and “55” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11.
Reference characters “511a” and “51a” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11.
Reference characters “511b”, “51”, and “51b” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11.
Reference characters “512a” and “51a” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11. Reference characters “552” and “55” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11.
Reference characters “522a” and “52 a” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11
Reference characters “522b”, “52”, and “52 b” have been used to designate the same object in figure 11.
The examiner notes that 51a, 51b, 52a, and 52b do not appear in the instance specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka (JP201373915A; as cited in the ids filed 04/17/2025) and in view of Park (US20110159348A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka discloses a battery pack comprising: a plurality of battery units arranged along a row (“first axis”) [0007, Yoshioka]; and binding mechanism configured to provide a binding force to physically bind together the plurality of battery units [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], the binding mechanism comprising: a front end plate (3a) and a rear end plate (3b) respectively at outer sides of one end position and another end position of the plurality of battery units along the first axis [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka]; a stack case (2) connecting the front end plate and the rear end plate to each other and extending across side surfaces of the plurality of battery units [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka]; and a coupling mechanism (4 and 37) connecting at least one of the front end plate and the rear end plate with the pair of side plates [fig. 2, Yoshioka].
Yoshioka is silent to a pair of side plates connecting the front and rear end plate.
However, Park discloses a battery module with a plurality of battery units in a row [0043, fig. 1, Park]. The battery module is bound at two ends by a first and second end plates (51 and 52) [0047, fig. 1, Park]. Side plates (40) bind the sides of the battery and an upper (20) and lower (30) plates bind the top and bottom [0051-0054, fig. 1, Park]. Park additionally discloses multiple embodiments and in one notes that the battery module includes a first and second end plate and a side plate for extending across a side of the battery unit [0010, 0018, Park]. Where the side plate may include a first and second side plate connected to the end plates and extending across the surface of the battery unit on opposite sides [0015, 0018, Park].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoshioka such that the stack case were at least two separate side panels extending across the two endplates and along the surface of the battery pack [fig. 2, Park]. Doing so would still allow for one to define the sides of the case while still being able to two end plates of the case [fig. 2, Park].
Regarding claim 18, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein each of the plurality of battery units comprises: an electrode assembly comprising a plurality of electrode layers stacked along the first axis [0025-0026, Yoshioka]; and a case accommodating the electrode assembly [0025-0026, Yoshioka].
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoshioka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okada (JP2013055069A as cited in the ids filed 04/17/2025).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Modified Yoshioka is explicitly silent to 1) if the binding mechanism is configured to compressive the plurality of battery units (claim 2). 2) wherein the binding mechanism is configured to provide a compressive force to one side or both sides of the plurality of battery units wherein a first thickness is a total thickness of the plurality of battery units after being compressed by the binding mechanism (claim 3). 3) a second thickness is a total thickness of the plurality of battery units arranged along the first axis before being compressed by the binding mechanism (claim 3). 4) and wherein the first thickness is 99% or less of the second thickness (claim 3).
In regards to 1), Okada teaches of traditional methods for assembling a battery pack comprising a plurality of regular batteries (901) in a stacking direction [0002-0004, fig. 1, claim 1, Okada]. The batteries are compressed between two end plates (908, “binding mechanism”) and fixed into place by metal bars/bolts (906 and 907, “coupling mechanism) on the side of the stacked batteries [0002-0004, fig. 1, claim 1, Okada]. Okada notes in these traditional methods the end plates become deformed and loose their ability to maintain a compress state [0002-0004, Okada].
Okada then teaches of a plurality of embodiments containing stacked batteries compressed between two end points (“binding mechanism”) and fixed into place by metal bands (“compressing mechanism”) [0007, claim 1, Okada].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoshioka such that the binding mechanism was configured to compress the plurality of battery units. Maintaining a compressive state on the battery stack may prevent the batteries from expanding and decreasing in battery performance [0013, Okada] (claim 2).
In regards to 2) and 3) Okada teaches that the battery stack is compressed such that the distance between the end plates (“binding mechanism”) are shortened to a predetermined distance [0036-0039, 0046, Okada]. This compress state is maintained by metal bands (“compressing mechanism”) (claim 3).
The examiner notes that if distance between the binding mechanism (end plates) are shortened such that they compress the battery stack. Then the battery stack is being compressed on both ends and has a first (compressed) and second (uncompressed) thickness.
In regards to 4) Okada teaches the final compressed thickness is a predetermined dimension and as such, is a result effective variable, see MPEP 2144.05.II. The teachings of Okada make it clear that if the compression of the battery stacks is insufficient then performance may deteriorate as the battery swells [0002-0004, Okada], and that fixing the battery in a compression state may prevent a decrease in performance [0010-0013, Okada]. (claim 3)
One of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that if the batteries are over compressed, then damage to the battery casing/hardware may occur.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious that the binding mechanism applied a compression force to both sides of the battery stack such that the battery stack was compressed to a predetermined size, such as 99% or less of its original size. Doing so may prevent damage occurring to the battery stack as a result of swell and as such preventing a decrease to battery performance [0010-0013, Okada].
Regarding claim 4, Modified Yoshioka is silent to the coupling mechanism further comprises: a first coupling member integrally formed with the front end plate. 2) a second coupling member coupled to the first coupling member and opposing a second side of the rear end plate.
In regards to 1) and 2) Okada teaches of metal bands (“a first coupling member”) integrally formed with the front end plate (105A) [0034, fig. 24-25, Okada]. A second coupling member (7) coupled to the first coupling member and opposing a second side of the rear end plate (105B) [0033-0034, fig. 21, Okada].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoshioka such that the coupling mechanism comprised a first coupling member integrally connected to a front endplate and a second coupling member connected to the first coupling member and opposing a second side of the rear endplate. Doing so allows for the coupling mechanism to be connected to the end plate in a secure way [0034, Okada]
Claim(s) 5-13, 16-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoshioka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon (US20060115719A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yoshioka discloses the battery pack, wherein the coupling mechanism further comprises a first coupling member (4) and a second coupling member (37) [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and wherein the second coupling member is coupled to the first coupling member and opposes a second side of the rear end plate [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Yoshioka is silent to 1) the first coupling member comprises: a protruding portion contacting a second side of the front end plate. 2) and an extending portion extending from the protruding portion.
However Jeon, teaches of a plurality of stacked battery cells (11) pressed into each other by two end plates (21) bound together with a bolt type connecting rod (30, “first coupling member”) and nut (31, “second coupling member”) [0055, fig. 2, Jeon].
Annotated fig. 2, Jeon
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoshioka such that a bolt/connection rod containing a protruding portion contacting a second side of the front end plate and an extending portion extending from the protruding portion. The use of a bolt is a known material used to connect and fasten two objects, such as end plates, together [0055, fig. 2, Jeon]
Regarding claim 6, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the front end plate has an end plate through-hole therein [0023, fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], wherein the pair of side plates each has a side plate through-hole formed therein [0023, fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and wherein the rear end plate has an end plate coupling hole formed therein [0023, fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Annotated figure 1 and 2, Yoshioka
Regarding claim 7, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the first coupling member sequentially passes through the end plate through-hole [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], the side plate through-hole [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and the end plate coupling hole [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and wherein the second coupling member is coupled to an end of the first coupling member having sequentially passed through the end plate through-hole [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], the side plate through-hole [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and the end plate coupling hole [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 8, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the end plate through-hole is in an area of the front end plate on a plane of contact between the front end plate and the pair of side plates [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 9, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the side plate through-hole is within the side plates and extends parallel to the first axis [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 10, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the end plate coupling hole is in an area of the rear end plate on a plane of contact between the rear end plate and the pair of side plates [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 11, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the coupling mechanism further comprises a plurality of the first coupling members (4) and a plurality of the second coupling members (37) [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and wherein a number of each of the end plate through-holes [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], the side plate through-holes [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and the end plate coupling holes corresponds to a number of the first coupling members and a number of the second coupling members [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 12, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the front end plate has a plurality of the end plate through-holes [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and wherein the plurality of end plate through-holes are adjacent in a direction parallel to a plane of contact between the front end plate and the pair of side plates and perpendicular to the first axis [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 13, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the plurality of end plate through-holes are spaced apart from each other [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 16, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the rear end plate has a plurality of the end plate coupling holes [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and wherein the plurality of end plate coupling holes are adjacent to each other in a direction parallel to a plane of contact between the rear end plate and the pair of side plates and perpendicular to the first axis [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 17, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, wherein the plurality of end plate coupling holes are spaced apart from each other [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka].
Regarding claim 19, modified Yoshioka discloses that the cell is a non-aqueous rechargeable battery comprising positive and negative electrode [0026, Yoshioka]. However, they are explicitly silent to the specific details of the electrolyte layer.
Okada teaches of a battery containing a positive and negative plates are stacked in a housing and filled with an electrolytic solution made from a conductive liquid [0020, Okada].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoshioka such that the non-aqueous rechargeable battery had an electrolyte that was a conductive liquid. Doing so would provide an intermediate potential between the positive and negative electrodes [0020, Okada].
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoshioka as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kim (US20110293978A1).
Regarding claim 14 and 15, modified Yoshioka teaches the battery pack, The battery pack as claimed in claim 6, wherein the pair of side plates each has a side plate through-holes arranged along a plane of contact between the side plates and the pair of end plates [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka], and wherein any one of the side plate through-holes extends in a direction perpendicular to the plane of contact between the side plates and the pair of end plates and parallel to the first axis [fig. 1-2, Yoshioka]. (claim 14)
Yoshioka is silent to 1) the pair of side plates each having a plurality of the side plate through holes (claim 14). 2) the plurality of side plate through-holes are spaced apart from each other (claim 15)
In regards to 1) and 2), Kim discloses a plurality of battery cells (110) in a stack direction bound by two end plates (130) on either end of the stack and a supporting member side wall portions (121b, “side walls”) [0027-0033, fig. 2, Kim]. The two end plates are bound together by a plurality base portion (124, “first coupling member”) extending through each of the side walls [0033, fig. 3, Kim]. (1) (claim 14)
Kim additionally depicts the through holes to be spaced apart from each other [fig. 3, Kim]. (2) (claim 15)
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoshioka such that each side plate has a plurality of side plate through holes (claim 14) spaced apart from each other (claim 15) in which the first coupling member may extend through. Baring criticality or unexpecting results this is a matter of mere Duplication of Parts, see MPEP 2144.04.VI.B. Additionally, this structural feature is a known feature within the arts to bind two end plates together [fig. 2, Kim]
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yoshioka as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Cho (US20060115719A1).
Regarding claim 20, Yoshioka teaches of a positive and negative electrode [0026, Yoshioka], but is silent to the specifics within.
However, Cho discloses a lithium battery comprised of a cathode and anode layer [0012, Cho], wherein the cathode layer comprises a cathode current collector [0056, Cho], and the anode layer comprises an anode current collector [0022, Cho]. The anode current collector comprises a base film (1 and 3) comprised of two polymer layers and may include PP, PE, PET, or PI [0030, Cho], the metal layer comprises In, Cu, Ni, Ti, Co, Mg, Al, Ge [0033, Cho].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Yoshioka such that the anode current collector comprised of a base film made of a combination of a polymer, such as those of, PP, PE, PET, or PI and a metal layer comprised of a combination of In, Cu, Ni, Ti, Co, Mg, Al, Ge. Doing so would allow for one to construct a current collector for a negative electrode [abstract, 0022, Cho].
Conclusion
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724