DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/521,831 filed on 11/28/2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0095225 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method (Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] UE sense, generate and send pose information to a network/XR server), comprising,
facilitating, by a user equipment comprising a processor, receiving, from a radio access network node, a user characteristic reporting configuration comprising at least one user characteristic indication indicative of at least one user characteristic (Figure 1, Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] UE; determine downlink burst occasion and generating pose information);
facilitating, by the user equipment, receiving, from the radio access network node, a user characteristic reporting request comprising at least one characteristic of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the at least one user characteristic indication (Figure 1, Paragraphs [0005], [0016], [0017] and [0045] UE; determine downlink burst occasion and generating pose information)
determining, by the user equipment, at least one user action indication indicative of at least one user action corresponding to at least one of the at least one characteristic of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the user characteristic reporting request (Paragraph [0030] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information); and
responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request, facilitating, by the user equipment, transmitting, to the radio access network node, a user characteristic report comprising the at least one user action indication (Figure 12, Paragraphs [0030], [0134] and [0137] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information).
2. Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the at least one user action indication is usable by the radio access network node to schedule resources accommodative of delivery of traffic corresponding to the at least one user action Paragraph [0030] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information).
3. Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches wherein the user characteristic reporting configuration is generated by an extended reality (XR) server (Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] UE sense, generate and send pose information to a network/XR server).
4. Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches further comprising: facilitating, by the user equipment, transmitting, to the radio access network node, at least one user characteristic capability indication indicative of at least one user characteristic capability, with respect to the user equipment, to report the at least one characteristic of the at least one user characteristic indication requested via the user characteristic reporting request (Figure 12, Paragraphs [0030], [0134] and [0137] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information).
5. Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches wherein an extended reality (XR) appliance comprises the user equipment (Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] UE sense, generate and send pose information to a network/XR server).
6. Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches, wherein the user equipment is a component of an extended reality (XR) processing unit communicatively coupled with an XR appliance (Fig. 9 Paragraph [0120] XR-related operations).
7. Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches wherein the at least one user characteristic corresponds to at least one action result resulting from performance of at least one action with respect to use of an extended reality (XR) user interface (Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] UE sense, generate and send pose information to a network/XR server).
8. Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches wherein the at least one action result comprises at least one of: a specified pose orientation, a level orientation, a target acceleration, a target velocity, a specified hand orientation of the user, an eye blink, a target eye blink rate, or a specified orientation with respect to a three-dimensional space (Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] pose information/pose orientation).
9. Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches wherein the determining of the at least one user action indication comprises: receiving, from an extended reality (XR) appliance, the at least one user action indication (Figure 12, Paragraphs [0030], [0134] and [0137] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 15, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0095225 A1) in view of Hatfield et al. (US 2025/0150511 A1)
10. Regarding claim 3, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the user characteristic reporting request comprises at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic indication, the method further comprising:
determining, by the user equipment, the at least one user characteristic according to
satisfaction of the at least one confidence level criterion to result in at least one determined user characteristic,
wherein the transmitting of the user characteristic report is based on the at least one
determined user characteristic satisfying the at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic.
Hatfield teaches wherein the user characteristic reporting request comprises at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic indication (Paragraphs [0104] and [0105] actions each with corresponding different confidence levels), the method further comprising:
determining, by the user equipment, the at least one user characteristic according to
satisfaction of the at least one confidence level criterion to result in at least one determined user characteristic (Paragraphs [0104] and [0105] actions each with corresponding different confidence levels; predictive model),
wherein the transmitting of the user characteristic report is based on the at least one
determined user characteristic satisfying the at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic (Paragraphs [0101] to [0105] actions each with corresponding different confidence levels; predictive model; threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the user characteristic reporting request comprises at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic indication, the method further comprising:
determining, by the user equipment, the at least one user characteristic according to
satisfaction of the at least one confidence level criterion to result in at least one determined user characteristic,
wherein the transmitting of the user characteristic report is based on the at least one
determined user characteristic satisfying the at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic as taught by Hatfield in the system of Kim for provisioning an article of the user to include a functional behavior see abstract of Hatfield.
11. Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Hatfield teaches wherein the user characteristic reporting request comprises at least one configured user characteristic indication duration indication indicative of at least one configured user characteristic indication validity period length during which the at least one confidence level criterion is to be valid with respect to the at least one determined user characteristic (Hatfield, Paragraphs [0113] and [0114] confidence level; predictive model; duration of virtual reality session).
12. Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Hatfield teaches wherein the user characteristic report further comprises at least one actual user characteristic indication duration indication indicative of at least one user characteristic indication validity period indication indicative of at least one user characteristic indication validity period during which the at least one confidence level criterion is valid with respect to the at least one determined user characteristic (Hatfield, Paragraphs [0113] and [0114] confidence level; predictive model; duration of virtual reality session).
13. Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches an extended reality (XR) processing unit comprising:
a processor configured to process executable instructions that, when executed by the
processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, from a radio network node, a user characteristic reporting configuration
comprising at least one user characteristic indication indicative of at least one user characteristic (Figure 1, Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] UE; determine downlink burst occasion and generating pose information);
receiving, from the radio network node, a user characteristic reporting request,
comprising at least one characteristic of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the at least one user characteristic indication (Figure 1, Paragraphs [0005], [0016], [0017] and [0045] UE; determine downlink burst occasion and generating pose information)
transmitting a user characteristic report
comprising the at least one user action indication (Figure 12, Paragraphs [0030], [0134] and [0137] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information).
Kim does not explicitly disclose and at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic indication;
determining at least one user action prediction indication indicative of at least one
predicted user action corresponding to at least one of the at least one characteristic of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the user characteristic reporting request; and responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request and based on the at least one user action prediction indication satisfying the at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one characteristic.
Hatfield teaches and at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic indication (Paragraphs [0101] to [0105] actions each with corresponding different confidence levels; predictive model; threshold);
determining at least one user action prediction indication indicative of at least one
predicted user action corresponding to at least one of the at least one characteristic of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the user characteristic reporting request (Paragraphs [0101] to [0105] actions each with corresponding different confidence levels; predictive model; threshold); and responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request and based on the at least one user action prediction indication satisfying the at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one characteristic (Hatfield, Paragraphs [0101] to [0105], [0113] and [0114] confidence level; predictive model; duration of virtual reality session).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic indication; determining at least one user action prediction indication indicative of at least one predicted user action corresponding to at least one of the at least one characteristic of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the user characteristic reporting request; and responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request and based on the at least one user action prediction indication satisfying the at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one characteristic as taught by Hatfield in the system of Kim for provisioning an article of the user to include a functional behavior see abstract of Hatfield.
14. Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Hatfield teaches wherein the operations further comprise: transmitting, to the radio network node, at least one user characteristic capability indication indicative of at least one user characteristic capability, with respect to the user equipment, to determine the at least one user action prediction indication (Paragraphs [0101] to [0105] actions each with corresponding different confidence levels; predictive model).
15. Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium (Paragraph [0009]), comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of an extended reality (XR) processing unit, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, from a radio network node, a user characteristic reporting configuration
comprising at least one user characteristic indication indicative of at least one user characteristic (Figure 1, Paragraphs [0005], [0016], and [0045] UE; determine downlink burst occasion and generating pose information);
receiving, from the radio network node, a user characteristic reporting request comprising at least one indication of the at least one user characteristic indication Figure 1, Paragraphs [0005], [0016], [0017] and [0045] UE; determine downlink burst occasion and generating pose information),
responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request, transmitting, to the radio network node, a user characteristic report Figure 12, Paragraphs [0030], [0134] and [0137] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the user characteristic reporting request comprises at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic
indication; receiving, from an XR appliance, at least one user action indication indicative of at least one user action corresponding to at least one of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the user characteristic reporting request;
based on the at least one user action indication, determining at least one user
characteristic prediction that satisfies the at least one confidence level criterion to result in a user characteristic prediction satisfaction result; and
responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request, transmitting, to the radio network node, a user characteristic report comprising the user characteristic prediction satisfaction result.
Hatfield teaches wherein the user characteristic reporting request comprises at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic
indication; receiving, from an XR appliance, at least one user action indication indicative of at least one user action corresponding to at least one of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the user characteristic reporting request;
based on the at least one user action indication, (Paragraphs [0101] to [0105] actions each with corresponding different confidence levels; predictive model; threshold);
based on the at least one user action indication, determining at least one user
characteristic prediction that satisfies the at least one confidence level criterion to result in a user characteristic prediction satisfaction result; and
responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request, transmitting, to the radio network node, a user characteristic report comprising the user characteristic prediction satisfaction result (Hatfield, Paragraphs [0101] to [0105], [0113] and [0114] confidence level; predictive model; duration of virtual reality session).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the user characteristic reporting request comprises at least one confidence level indication indicative of at least one confidence level criterion corresponding to the at least one user characteristic
indication; receiving, from an XR appliance, at least one user action indication indicative of at least one user action corresponding to at least one of the at least one user characteristic indicated by the user characteristic reporting request;
based on the at least one user action indication, determining at least one user
characteristic prediction that satisfies the at least one confidence level criterion to result in a user characteristic prediction satisfaction result; and
responsive to receiving the user characteristic reporting request, transmitting, to the radio network node, a user characteristic report comprising the user characteristic prediction satisfaction result as taught by Hatfield in the system of Kim for provisioning an article of the user to include a functional behavior see abstract of Hatfield.
16. Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Hatfield teaches wherein the user
characteristic report further comprises at least one actual user characteristic indication duration indication indicative of at least one user characteristic prediction validity period during which the at least one confidence level criterion is valid with respect to the user characteristic prediction satisfaction result (Hatfield, Paragraphs [0101] to [0105], [0113] and [0114] confidence level; predictive model; duration of virtual reality session).
17. Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Hatfield, wherein the operations
further comprise: transmitting, to the radio network node, at least one user characteristic capability indication indicative of at least one user characteristic capability, with respect to XR appliance, to report to the XR processing unit the at least one of the at least one user characteristic indication indicated by the user characteristic reporting configuration (Kim, Figure 12, Paragraphs [0030], [0134] and [0137] UE receives configuration to jointly transmit a subset of pose information and transmits pose information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Jia et al. (US 2024/0161412 A1) Paragraph [0032]
Rao et al. (US 2024/0422511 A1) Paragraph [0203]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466