DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 8/20/2026 claims 1- 2, 8- 9, 15- 17 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 4/27/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner has considered new reference Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0215050 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 15- 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0215050 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0105977 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pat. No. 12207270 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see Fig. 19 and [0222] about … The DCI may indicate one or more unified TCI states (e.g., one or more joint TCI states and/or one or more unified separate TCI states)…; further see Fig. 27 T1 about "DCI: scheduling TBs via a plurality of cells; and indicating unified TCI states for the plurality of cells."); and
determining by the wireless communication device, one or more offset values from a plurality of candidate offset values based on a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling (FIG. 19; see [0223] "at or after a time offset threshold starting from an end of transmission... of the acknowledgment (ACK/NACK)." FIG. 27, T3→T4);
wherein each of the plurality of candidate offset values (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters.") is configured via a respective radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see [0223].. "The wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters indicating the time offset threshold…." i.e. Each candidate threshold in the plurality is RRC-configured) for a respective group or list of component carriers (CCs) (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters."); and
But Xu is silent about determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values.
However Liu teaches in [0075] about application time (i.e. time) of the common TCI state indication for a CC list means a time (e.g. a symbol) from which the indicate TCI state shall begin to apply for all CCs in the CC list (i.e. for all BWPs in all the CCs in the CC list); now refer to [0076] The application time of the common TCI state indication begins from the first slot that is at least X ms or Y symbols (i.e. offset value) after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission carrying the acknowledgment (ACK) of the common TCI state indication (e.g. the joint or separate DL/UL TCI state indication (i.e. refer to in context with [0073].. UE receives a DCI (or MAC CE) indicating a joint DL/UL TCI state update …)). If the application time is configured as number of symbols and if different numerologies are configured for different CCs in a CC list (where each numerology corresponds a SCS and a CP configuration for a carrier, and different numerologies may have different SCSs), it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols (i.e. offset value); now refer to [0077] …the application time is determined by the reference SCS that is the smallest SCS among SCSs of all the CCs in the CC list and different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations (i.e. Y symbol).).
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Xu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
But Liu is silent about ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node.
However Zhou teaches in col. 13 lines 27- 40 regarding For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may be configured/determined according to:
Here ratio is uapplied/udci; further see claim 7 in context with claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Zu in view of Liu to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein having ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 1, wherein at least one of:
The one or more offset values are determined according to a group of CCs having CC with the smallest SCC;
The one or more offset values re degerming according to a list of CCs having the CC with the smallest SCS or
the one or more offset values are determined from a plurality of offset values each configured for a respective (CC) or bandwidth part (BWP); Liu in context with [0076] pls refer to [0077]... , the application time is determined by the reference SCS that is the smallest SCS among SCSs of all the CCs in the CC list.
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor configured to:
receive, via a receiver of wireless communication node, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see Fig. 19 and [0222] about … The DCI may indicate one or more unified TCI states (e.g., one or more joint TCI states and/or one or more unified separate TCI states)…; further see Fig. 27 T1 about "DCI: scheduling TBs via a plurality of cells; and indicating unified TCI states for the plurality of cells."); and
determine one or more offset values from a plurality of candidate offset values based on a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling (FIG. 19; see [0223] "at or after a time offset threshold starting from an end of transmission... of the acknowledgment (ACK/NACK)." FIG. 27, T3→T4);
wherein each of the plurality of candidate offset values (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters.") is configured via a respective radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see [0223].. "The wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters indicating the time offset threshold…." i.e. Each candidate threshold in the plurality is RRC-configured) for a respective group or list of component carriers (CCs) (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters."); and
But Xu is silent about determine a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values.
However Liu teaches in [0075] about application time (i.e. time) of the common TCI state indication for a CC list means a time (e.g. a symbol) from which the indicate TCI state shall begin to apply for all CCs in the CC list (i.e. for all BWPs in all the CCs in the CC list); now refer to [0076] The application time of the common TCI state indication begins from the first slot that is at least X ms or Y symbols (i.e. offset value) after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission carrying the acknowledgment (ACK) of the common TCI state indication (e.g. the joint or separate DL/UL TCI state indication (i.e. refer to in context with [0073].. UE receives a DCI (or MAC CE) indicating a joint DL/UL TCI state update …)). If the application time is configured as number of symbols and if different numerologies are configured for different CCs in a CC list (where each numerology corresponds a SCS and a CP configuration for a carrier, and different numerologies may have different SCSs), it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols (i.e. offset value); now refer to [0077] …the application time is determined by the reference SCS that is the smallest SCS among SCSs of all the CCs in the CC list and different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations (i.e. Y symbol).).
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Xu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
But Liu is silent about ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node.
However Zhou teaches in col. 13 lines 27- 40 regarding For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may be configured/determined according to:
Here ratio is uapplied/udci; further see claim 7 in context with claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Zu in view of Liu to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein having ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 8, wherein at least one of:The one or more offset values are determined according to a group of CCs having CC with the smallest SCC;
The one or more offset values re degerming according to a list of CCs having the CC with the smallest SCS or
the one or more offset values are determined from a plurality of offset values each configured for a respective (CC) or bandwidth part (BWP); Liu in context with [0076] pls refer to [0077]... , the application time is determined by the reference SCS that is the smallest SCS among SCSs of all the CCs in the CC list.
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches a method comprising:
sending, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see Fig. 19 and [0222] about … The DCI may indicate one or more unified TCI states (e.g., one or more joint TCI states and/or one or more unified separate TCI states)…; further see Fig. 27 T1 about "DCI: scheduling TBs via a plurality of cells; and indicating unified TCI states for the plurality of cells."); and
wherein one or more offset values from a plurality of candidate offset values based on a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling (FIG. 19; see [0223] "at or after a time offset threshold starting from an end of transmission... of the acknowledgment (ACK/NACK)." FIG. 27, T3→T4);
wherein each of the plurality of candidate offset values (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters.") is configured via a respective radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see [0223].. "The wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters indicating the time offset threshold…." i.e. Each candidate threshold in the plurality is RRC-configured) for a respective group or list of component carriers (CCs) (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters."); and
But Xu is silent about wherein, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values.
However Liu teaches in [0075] about application time (i.e. time) of the common TCI state indication for a CC list means a time (e.g. a symbol) from which the indicate TCI state shall begin to apply for all CCs in the CC list (i.e. for all BWPs in all the CCs in the CC list); now refer to [0076] The application time of the common TCI state indication begins from the first slot that is at least X ms or Y symbols (i.e. offset value) after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission carrying the acknowledgment (ACK) of the common TCI state indication (e.g. the joint or separate DL/UL TCI state indication (i.e. refer to in context with [0073].. UE receives a DCI (or MAC CE) indicating a joint DL/UL TCI state update …)). If the application time is configured as number of symbols and if different numerologies are configured for different CCs in a CC list (where each numerology corresponds a SCS and a CP configuration for a carrier, and different numerologies may have different SCSs), it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols (i.e. offset value); now refer to [0077] …the application time is determined by the reference SCS that is the smallest SCS among SCSs of all the CCs in the CC list and different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations (i.e. Y symbol).).
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Xu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
But Liu is silent about ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node.
However Zhou teaches in col. 13 lines 27- 40 regarding For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may be configured/determined according to:
Here ratio is uapplied/udci; further see claim 7 in context with claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Zu in view of Liu to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein having ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 16, Xu teaches a method comprising:
Send via a transmitter to a wireless communication device, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see Fig. 19 and [0222] about … The DCI may indicate one or more unified TCI states (e.g., one or more joint TCI states and/or one or more unified separate TCI states)…; further see Fig. 27 T1 about "DCI: scheduling TBs via a plurality of cells; and indicating unified TCI states for the plurality of cells."); and
wherein one or more offset values from a plurality of candidate offset values based on a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling (FIG. 19; see [0223] "at or after a time offset threshold starting from an end of transmission... of the acknowledgment (ACK/NACK)." FIG. 27, T3→T4);
wherein each of the plurality of candidate offset values (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters.") is configured via a respective radio resource control (RRC) parameter (see [0223].. "The wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters indicating the time offset threshold…." i.e. Each candidate threshold in the plurality is RRC-configured) for a respective group or list of component carriers (CCs) (see [0253]: "configuration parameters may indicate a respective time offset threshold for different quantities of the one or more unified TCI states... determine the time offset threshold... from a plurality of time offset thresholds indicated by the configuration parameters."); and
But Xu is silent about wherein, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values.
However Liu teaches in [0075] about application time (i.e. time) of the common TCI state indication for a CC list means a time (e.g. a symbol) from which the indicate TCI state shall begin to apply for all CCs in the CC list (i.e. for all BWPs in all the CCs in the CC list); now refer to [0076] The application time of the common TCI state indication begins from the first slot that is at least X ms or Y symbols (i.e. offset value) after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission carrying the acknowledgment (ACK) of the common TCI state indication (e.g. the joint or separate DL/UL TCI state indication (i.e. refer to in context with [0073].. UE receives a DCI (or MAC CE) indicating a joint DL/UL TCI state update …)). If the application time is configured as number of symbols and if different numerologies are configured for different CCs in a CC list (where each numerology corresponds a SCS and a CP configuration for a carrier, and different numerologies may have different SCSs), it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols (i.e. offset value); now refer to [0077] …the application time is determined by the reference SCS that is the smallest SCS among SCSs of all the CCs in the CC list and different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations (i.e. Y symbol).).
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Xu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using both (i) a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS received from the wireless communication node and (ii) the one or more offset values; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Here Liu stats in [0076] regarding .. it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols.
But Liu is silent about ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node.
However Zhou teaches in col. 13 lines 27- 40 regarding For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may be configured/determined according to:
Here ratio is uapplied/udci; further see claim 7 in context with claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Zu in view of Liu to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein having ratio of smallest SCS to reference SCS received from the wireless communication node; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 18, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 16, wherein at least one of:
The one or more offset values are determined according to a group of CCs having CC with the smallest SCC;
The one or more offset values re degerming according to a list of CCs having the CC with the smallest SCS or
the one or more offset values are determined from a plurality of offset values each configured for a respective (CC) or bandwidth part (BWP); Liu in context with [0076] pls refer to [0077]... , the application time is determined by the reference SCS that is the smallest SCS among SCSs of all the CCs in the CC list.
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0215050 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0105977 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pat. No. 12207270 B2) and in further view of Yang et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0089070 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 1, wherein degerming the one or more offset values comprising:
determining, by the wireless communication device, a first offset value and a second offset value relative to the last symbol of the acknowledgment to the DCI signaling, the first and second offset values configured for the group of CCs, the list of CCs, the CC, or a bandwidth part (BWP) with the smallest SCS, wherein the first offset value is different from the second offset value; here Liu teaches in [0076] application time of the common TCI state indication begins from the first slot that is at least X ms or Y symbols after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission carrying the acknowledgment (ACK) of the common TCI state indication (e.g. the joint or separate DL/UL TCI state indication). If the application time is configured as number of symbols and if different numerologies are configured for different CCs in a CC list (where each numerology corresponds a SCS and a CP configuration for a carrier, and different numerologies may have different SCSs), it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols (first and second offsets)..
But Xu fails to clearly state about first offset value is different from second offset value; however Yang states in [0045] about The terminal determines a target subcarrier spacing according to a subcarrier spacing determining rule, where the target subcarrier spacing includes a first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to N component carriers CCs or a second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to a first bandwidth part (BWP) of the N CCs, N is greater than or equal to 1, the first BWP is a BWP to which the common beam information is applied, and the first BWP includes at least one of an uplink BWP or a downlink BWP; further see [0046] Step 203: The terminal determines a beam application time (i.e. offset here) based on the target subcarrier spacing, where the beam application time includes a first beam application time corresponding to the N CCs (i.e. first offset) or a second beam application time (i.e. second offset) corresponding to the first BWP of the N CCs. [0047] Specifically, the first beam application time is determined based on the first target subcarrier spacing, or the second beam application time is determined based on the second target subcarrier spacing. [0048] In the method for determining beam application time in this embodiment of this application, after receiving the beam indication signaling, the terminal determines, according to the subcarrier spacing determining rule, the first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the N component carriers CCs or the second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first bandwidth part BWP of the N CCs, and determines the first beam application time based on the first target subcarrier spacing or determines the second beam application time based on the second target subcarrier spacing, so as to determine the beam application time corresponding to the plurality of CCs or the BWPs of the plurality of CCs. ..;further see [0116- 0121].. if the beam application time is a first beam application time, the second duration is determined based on one of the following: [0122] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the first PDCCH is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols; or [0123] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the acknowledgment ACK message of the DCI is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein first and second offset value are different; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 8, wherein to determine the one or more offset values comprising:
determine a first offset value and a second offset value relative to the last symbol of the acknowledgment to the DCI signaling, the first and second offset values configured for the group of CCs, the list of CCs, the CC, or a bandwidth part (BWP) with the smallest SCS, wherein the first offset value is different from the second offset value; here Liu teaches in [0076] application time of the common TCI state indication begins from the first slot that is at least X ms or Y symbols after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission carrying the acknowledgment (ACK) of the common TCI state indication (e.g. the joint or separate DL/UL TCI state indication). If the application time is configured as number of symbols and if different numerologies are configured for different CCs in a CC list (where each numerology corresponds a SCS and a CP configuration for a carrier, and different numerologies may have different SCSs), it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols (first and second offsets); but Xu fails to clearly state about first offset value is different from second offset value; however Yang states in [0045] about The terminal determines a target subcarrier spacing according to a subcarrier spacing determining rule, where the target subcarrier spacing includes a first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to N component carriers CCs or a second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to a first bandwidth part (BWP) of the N CCs, N is greater than or equal to 1, the first BWP is a BWP to which the common beam information is applied, and the first BWP includes at least one of an uplink BWP or a downlink BWP; further see [0046] Step 203: The terminal determines a beam application time (i.e. offset here) based on the target subcarrier spacing, where the beam application time includes a first beam application time corresponding to the N CCs (i.e. first offset) or a second beam application time (i.e. second offset) corresponding to the first BWP of the N CCs. [0047] Specifically, the first beam application time is determined based on the first target subcarrier spacing, or the second beam application time is determined based on the second target subcarrier spacing. [0048] In the method for determining beam application time in this embodiment of this application, after receiving the beam indication signaling, the terminal determines, according to the subcarrier spacing determining rule, the first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the N component carriers CCs or the second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first bandwidth part BWP of the N CCs, and determines the first beam application time based on the first target subcarrier spacing or determines the second beam application time based on the second target subcarrier spacing, so as to determine the beam application time corresponding to the plurality of CCs or the BWPs of the plurality of CCs. ..;further see [0116- 0121].. if the beam application time is a first beam application time, the second duration is determined based on one of the following: [0122] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the first PDCCH is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols; or [0123] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the acknowledgment ACK message of the DCI is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein first and second offset value are different; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 16, wherein to determine the one or more offset values comprising: determine a first offset value and a second offset value relative to the last symbol of the acknowledgment to the DCI signaling, the first and second offset values configured for the group of CCs, the list of CCs, the CC, or a bandwidth part (BWP) with the smallest SCS, wherein the first offset value is different from the second offset value; here Liu teaches in [0076] application time of the common TCI state indication begins from the first slot that is at least X ms or Y symbols after the last symbol of the PUCCH transmission carrying the acknowledgment (ACK) of the common TCI state indication (e.g. the joint or separate DL/UL TCI state indication). If the application time is configured as number of symbols and if different numerologies are configured for different CCs in a CC list (where each numerology corresponds a SCS and a CP configuration for a carrier, and different numerologies may have different SCSs), it is necessary to determine the application time based on a reference SCS since different SCSs correspond to different symbol durations if the application time is configured in terms of Y symbols (first and second offsets); but Xu fails to clearly state about first offset value is different from second offset value; however Yang states in [0045] about The terminal determines a target subcarrier spacing according to a subcarrier spacing determining rule, where the target subcarrier spacing includes a first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to N component carriers CCs or a second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to a first bandwidth part (BWP) of the N CCs, N is greater than or equal to 1, the first BWP is a BWP to which the common beam information is applied, and the first BWP includes at least one of an uplink BWP or a downlink BWP; further see [0046] Step 203: The terminal determines a beam application time (i.e. offset here) based on the target subcarrier spacing, where the beam application time includes a first beam application time corresponding to the N CCs (i.e. first offset) or a second beam application time (i.e. second offset) corresponding to the first BWP of the N CCs. [0047] Specifically, the first beam application time is determined based on the first target subcarrier spacing, or the second beam application time is determined based on the second target subcarrier spacing. [0048] In the method for determining beam application time in this embodiment of this application, after receiving the beam indication signaling, the terminal determines, according to the subcarrier spacing determining rule, the first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the N component carriers CCs or the second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first bandwidth part BWP of the N CCs, and determines the first beam application time based on the first target subcarrier spacing or determines the second beam application time based on the second target subcarrier spacing, so as to determine the beam application time corresponding to the plurality of CCs or the BWPs of the plurality of CCs. ..;further see [0116- 0121].. if the beam application time is a first beam application time, the second duration is determined based on one of the following: [0122] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the first PDCCH is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols; or [0123] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the acknowledgment ACK message of the DCI is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein first and second offset value are different; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 4- 5, 11- 12 and 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0215050 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0105977 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pat. No. 12207270 B2) and in further view of ZTE “enhancement on multi-beam operation”, R1-2108870 see IDS filed on 5/9/2025 page 1 cite #C3.
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 1, but Xu is silent about wherein the one or more offset values correspond to a first CC; however ZTE teaches in section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1 the smallest SCS and alt3 the use of reference SCS is discussed. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of ZTE with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 5, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou and ZTE teaches as per claim 4, further comprising: identifying, by the wireless communication device, the CC with the smallest SCS amongst the one or more CCs; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1: the first slot and the Y symbols are both determined on the carrier with the smallest SCS among the carrier(s) applying the beam indication.
Regarding claim 11, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 8, but Xu is silent about wherein the one or more offset values correspond to a first CC; however ZTE teaches in section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1 the smallest SCS and alt3 the use of reference SCS is discussed. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of ZTE with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 12, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou and ZTE teaches as per claim 11, further comprising: identifying, by the wireless communication device, the CC with the smallest SCS amongst the one or more CCs; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1: the first slot and the Y symbols are both determined on the carrier with the smallest SCS among the carrier(s) applying the beam indication.
Regarding claim 19, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 16, but Xu is silent about wherein the one or more offset values correspond to a first CC; however ZTE teaches in section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1 the smallest SCS and alt3 the use of reference SCS is discussed. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of ZTE with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 20, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou and ZTE teaches as per claim 19, further comprising:
identifying, by the wireless communication device, the CC with the smallest SCS amongst the one or more CCs; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1: the first slot and the Y symbols are both determined on the carrier with the smallest SCS among the carrier(s) applying the beam indication.
Claim(s) 6, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0215050 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0105977 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pat. No. 12207270 B2) in view of Yuan et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0267855 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 3, but Xu is silent about wherein CCs having a same SCS is configured with a same offset value; however Yuan states in [0254] about CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 10, but Xu is silent about wherein CCs having a same SCS is configured with a same offset value; however Yuan states in [0254] about CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0215050 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0105977 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US Pat. No. 12207270 B2) in view of Abedini et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0354308 A1), hereafter Navid.
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 1, but Xu is silent about receiving, by the wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; however Navid states in [0168]… The PDCCH communication may include an indication of an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset values configured for a time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. For example, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset value configured for the time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a first set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via a direct link, or the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to a second set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via the assisting node 704; further see [0169- 0171]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Navid with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, by the wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; greater way resources can be managed/utilized can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Xu in view of Liu and Zhou teaches as per claim 8, but Xu is silent about receiving, by the wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; however Navid states in [0168]… The PDCCH communication may include an indication of an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset values configured for a time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. For example, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset value configured for the time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a first set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via a direct link, or the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to a second set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via the assisting node 704; further see [0169- 0171]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Navid with the teachings of Xu in view of Liu and Zhou to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, by the wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; greater way resources can be managed/utilized can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Hong (US Pub. No. 2025/0088926 A1) teaches about transmitting, to the UE, a higher layer message including one or more pieces of candidate target cell configuration information for performing an L1/L2-triggered mobility (LTM) operation; receiving an L1 measurement result for a candidate target cell from the UE; and transmitting, to a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform the LTM operation to the target cell based on the L1 measurement result, wherein the UE performs a cell change operation to the target cell based on timing advance (TA) information about one or more target cells and the MAC Cel see claim 27.
Reference Xu et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0318795 A1) teaches about a wireless device receives downlink control information (DCI) indicating one or more unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states. The wireless device transmits an acknowledgment of the DCI. The wireless device applies, starting at a time offset value after transmitting the acknowledgment, the one or more unified TCI states to a downlink reception or an uplink transmission, wherein the time offset value is based on a quantity of the one or more unified TCI states; see abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479