DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 1/20/2026 claims 1- 6, 8- 13 and 15- 20 have been amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 1/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner has considered new reference Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0217751 A1). Zhou teaches about determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; Zhou states in [0089] about For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may start at an end of a slot containing the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of the DCI or MAC-CEDCI or MAC-CE carrying the beam indication. In other words, the UE/BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the TCI state indication or at an end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. In such cases, the TCI state indication may represent the time in X ms or Y slots/symbols starting from either the end of the slot carrying the TCI indication or the end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state information to application of the TCI state indication (e.g., when the UE/BS begins communicating using the TCI state indication); further see [0077, 0090, 0135, 0136, 0172, 0173]; now refer to [0083] regarding
where μ.sub.DCI is the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication (i.e. reference here) (e.g., sub-carrier spacing of the DCI carrying the TCI state indication), μ.sub.Applied is the sub-carrier spacing of the target channel or target reference signal (i.e. smallest here) (e.g., to which the TCI state indication is applied), and d depends on the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, d=8, 8, 14 if μ.sub.DCI=0, 1, 2 (i.e. offset value/s relative to last symbol of ACK to DCI(here d can be offset (i.e. refer to [0090]… , the TCI state application time (i.e. the TCI state application time may start at different starting locations and may be configured as a number of milliseconds, a number of symbols, or a number of slots; see [0089]) may start from the end of slot containing the acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, the UE may send an acknowledgement of the TCI state indication to the network. Thereafter, the UE and BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the acknowledgement or may start the TCI state application time at an end of the acknowledgement. In some cases, if an existing DL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0, 1_1, 1_2) is used for the TCI state indication and the existing DL DCI format schedules DL reception (Rx), the acknowledgement may be the acknowledgement for the scheduled DL Rx (e.g., PDSCH) In some cases, if an existing UL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_0, 0_1, 0_2) is used for the TCI state indication and schedules an UL transmission (Tx), the acknowledgement can be the scheduled UL Tx (e.g. PUSCH, SRS)) or offset can be X slot/symbol starting from the end); further see [0228].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3- 5, 8, 10- 12, 15- 16, 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE “enhancement on multi-beam operation”, R1-2108870 see IDS filed on 5/9/2025 page 1 cite #C3 in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0217751 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZTE teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see section 2.2 title Signaling design for DCI (i.e. downlink control information which is being received by UE here as a wireless communication device) based TCI state indication); and
determining by the wireless communication device, one or more offset values relative to a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling; and determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) (see section 2.2.1 DCI-based beam indication, regarding application time of the beam indication, the first slot to apply the indicated TCI is at least Y symbols after the last symbol of the acknowledgment of the joint or separate DL/UL beam indication…The Y symbols are configured by the gNB based on UE capability, which is also reported in units of symbols.. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS…here value of Y defines the offset).
But ZTE is silent about determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; however Zhou states in [0089] about For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may start at an end of a slot containing the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of the DCI or MAC-CEDCI or MAC-CE carrying the beam indication. In other words, the UE/BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the TCI state indication or at an end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. In such cases, the TCI state indication may represent the time in X ms or Y slots/symbols starting from either the end of the slot carrying the TCI indication or the end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state information to application of the TCI state indication (e.g., when the UE/BS begins communicating using the TCI state indication); further see [0077, 0090, 0135, 0136, 0172, 0173]; now refer to [0083] regarding
where μ.sub.DCI is the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication (i.e. reference here) (e.g., sub-carrier spacing of the DCI carrying the TCI state indication), μ.sub.Applied is the sub-carrier spacing of the target channel or target reference signal (i.e. smallest here) (e.g., to which the TCI state indication is applied), and d depends on the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, d=8, 8, 14 if μ.sub.DCI=0, 1, 2 (i.e. offset value/s relative to last symbol of ACK to DCI(here d can be offset (i.e. refer to [0090]… , the TCI state application time (i.e. the TCI state application time may start at different starting locations and may be configured as a number of milliseconds, a number of symbols, or a number of slots; see [0089]) may start from the end of slot containing the acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, the UE may send an acknowledgement of the TCI state indication to the network. Thereafter, the UE and BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the acknowledgement or may start the TCI state application time at an end of the acknowledgement. In some cases, if an existing DL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0, 1_1, 1_2) is used for the TCI state indication and the existing DL DCI format schedules DL reception (Rx), the acknowledgement may be the acknowledgement for the scheduled DL Rx (e.g., PDSCH) In some cases, if an existing UL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_0, 0_1, 0_2) is used for the TCI state indication and schedules an UL transmission (Tx), the acknowledgement can be the scheduled UL Tx (e.g. PUSCH, SRS)) or offset can be X slot/symbol starting from the end); further see [0228].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of ZTE to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 1, wherein at least one of:
The one or more offset values are determined according to a group of CCs having CC with the smallest SCC;
The one or more offset values re degerming according to a list of CCs having the CC with the smallest SCS or
the one or more offset values are determined from a plurality of offset values each configured for a respective (CC) or bandwidth part (BWP); ZTE see section 2.2.1 first agreement .. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS i.e. such dependency implies that different Y is applied for respective CCs, i.e. selected from a plurality of offset values.
Regarding claim 4, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 1,
wherein the one or more offset values correspond to a first CC; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1 the smallest SCS and alt3 the use of reference SCS is discussed.
Regarding claim 5, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 4, further comprising:
identifying, by the wireless communication device, the CC with the smallest SCS amongst the one or more CCs; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1: the first slot and the Y symbols are both determined on the carrier with the smallest SCS among the carrier(s) applying the beam indication.
Regarding claim 8, ZTE teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor configured to:
receive, via a receiver a from a wireless communication node, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see section 2.2 title Signaling design for DCI (i.e. downlink control information which is being received by UE here as a wireless communication device) based TCI state indication); and
determine one or more offset values relative to a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling; and determine a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) (see section 2.2.1 DCI-based beam indication, regarding application time of the beam indication, the first slot to apply the indicated TCI is at least Y symbols after the last symbol of the acknowledgment of the joint or separate DL/UL beam indication…The Y symbols are configured by the gNB based on UE capability, which is also reported in units of symbols.. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS…here value of Y defines the offset).
But ZTE is silent about determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; however Zhou states in [0089] about For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may start at an end of a slot containing the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of the DCI or MAC-CEDCI or MAC-CE carrying the beam indication. In other words, the UE/BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the TCI state indication or at an end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. In such cases, the TCI state indication may represent the time in X ms or Y slots/symbols starting from either the end of the slot carrying the TCI indication or the end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state information to application of the TCI state indication (e.g., when the UE/BS begins communicating using the TCI state indication); further see [0077, 0090, 0135, 0136, 0172, 0173]; now refer to [0083] regarding
where μ.sub.DCI is the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication (i.e. reference here) (e.g., sub-carrier spacing of the DCI carrying the TCI state indication), μ.sub.Applied is the sub-carrier spacing of the target channel or target reference signal (i.e. smallest here) (e.g., to which the TCI state indication is applied), and d depends on the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, d=8, 8, 14 if μ.sub.DCI=0, 1, 2 (i.e. offset value/s relative to last symbol of ACK to DCI(here d can be offset (i.e. refer to [0090]… , the TCI state application time (i.e. the TCI state application time may start at different starting locations and may be configured as a number of milliseconds, a number of symbols, or a number of slots; see [0089]) may start from the end of slot containing the acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, the UE may send an acknowledgement of the TCI state indication to the network. Thereafter, the UE and BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the acknowledgement or may start the TCI state application time at an end of the acknowledgement. In some cases, if an existing DL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0, 1_1, 1_2) is used for the TCI state indication and the existing DL DCI format schedules DL reception (Rx), the acknowledgement may be the acknowledgement for the scheduled DL Rx (e.g., PDSCH) In some cases, if an existing UL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_0, 0_1, 0_2) is used for the TCI state indication and schedules an UL transmission (Tx), the acknowledgement can be the scheduled UL Tx (e.g. PUSCH, SRS)) or offset can be X slot/symbol starting from the end); further see [0228].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of ZTE to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 10, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 8, wherein at least one of:
The one or more offset values are determined according to a group of CCs having CC with the smallest SCC;
The one or more offset values re degerming according to a list of CCs having the CC with the smallest SCS or
the one or more offset values are determined from a plurality of offset values each configured for a respective (CC) or bandwidth part (BWP); ZTE see section 2.2.1 first agreement .. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS i.e. such dependency implies that different Y is applied for respective CCs, i.e. selected from a plurality of offset values.
Regarding claim 11, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 8,
wherein the one or more offset values correspond to a first CC; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1 the smallest SCS and alt3 the use of reference SCS is discussed.
Regarding claim 12, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
identify a CC with the smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) amongst of one or more CCs; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1: the first slot and the Y symbols are both determined on the carrier with the smallest SCS among the carrier(s) applying the beam indication.
Regarding claim 15, ZTE teaches a method comprising:
sending, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see section 2.2 title Signaling design for DCI (i.e. downlink control information which is being received by UE here as a wireless communication device and sent by gNB as a communication node) based TCI state indication); and
wherein one or more offset values relative to a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling; and wherein a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) (see section 2.2.1 DCI-based beam indication, regarding application time of the beam indication, the first slot to apply the indicated TCI is at least Y symbols after the last symbol of the acknowledgment of the joint or separate DL/UL beam indication…The Y symbols are configured by the gNB based on UE capability, which is also reported in units of symbols.. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS…here value of Y defines the offset).
But ZTE is silent about determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; however Zhou states in [0089] about For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may start at an end of a slot containing the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of the DCI or MAC-CEDCI or MAC-CE carrying the beam indication. In other words, the UE/BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the TCI state indication or at an end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. In such cases, the TCI state indication may represent the time in X ms or Y slots/symbols starting from either the end of the slot carrying the TCI indication or the end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state information to application of the TCI state indication (e.g., when the UE/BS begins communicating using the TCI state indication); further see [0077, 0090, 0135, 0136, 0172, 0173]; now refer to [0083] regarding
where μ.sub.DCI is the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication (i.e. reference here) (e.g., sub-carrier spacing of the DCI carrying the TCI state indication), μ.sub.Applied is the sub-carrier spacing of the target channel or target reference signal (i.e. smallest here) (e.g., to which the TCI state indication is applied), and d depends on the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, d=8, 8, 14 if μ.sub.DCI=0, 1, 2 (i.e. offset value/s relative to last symbol of ACK to DCI(here d can be offset (i.e. refer to [0090]… , the TCI state application time (i.e. the TCI state application time may start at different starting locations and may be configured as a number of milliseconds, a number of symbols, or a number of slots; see [0089]) may start from the end of slot containing the acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, the UE may send an acknowledgement of the TCI state indication to the network. Thereafter, the UE and BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the acknowledgement or may start the TCI state application time at an end of the acknowledgement. In some cases, if an existing DL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0, 1_1, 1_2) is used for the TCI state indication and the existing DL DCI format schedules DL reception (Rx), the acknowledgement may be the acknowledgement for the scheduled DL Rx (e.g., PDSCH) In some cases, if an existing UL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_0, 0_1, 0_2) is used for the TCI state indication and schedules an UL transmission (Tx), the acknowledgement can be the scheduled UL Tx (e.g. PUSCH, SRS)) or offset can be X slot/symbol starting from the end); further see [0228].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of ZTE to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 16, ZTE teaches a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor configured to:
send, via a transmitter to a wireless communication device, a downlink control information (DCI) signaling, which indicates a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (see section 2.2 title Signaling design for DCI (i.e. downlink control information which is being received by UE here as a wireless communication device and sent by gNB as a communication node) based TCI state indication); and
wherein one or more offset values relative to a last symbol of an acknowledgment to the DCI signaling; and wherein a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) (see section 2.2.1 DCI-based beam indication, regarding application time of the beam indication, the first slot to apply the indicated TCI is at least Y symbols after the last symbol of the acknowledgment of the joint or separate DL/UL beam indication…The Y symbols are configured by the gNB based on UE capability, which is also reported in units of symbols.. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS…here value of Y defines the offset).
But ZTE is silent about determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; however Zhou states in [0089] about For example, in some cases, the TCI state application time may start at an end of a slot containing the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of the DCI or MAC-CEDCI or MAC-CE carrying the beam indication. In other words, the UE/BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the TCI state indication or at an end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. In such cases, the TCI state indication may represent the time in X ms or Y slots/symbols starting from either the end of the slot carrying the TCI indication or the end of the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state information to application of the TCI state indication (e.g., when the UE/BS begins communicating using the TCI state indication); further see [0077, 0090, 0135, 0136, 0172, 0173]; now refer to [0083] regarding
where μ.sub.DCI is the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication (i.e. reference here) (e.g., sub-carrier spacing of the DCI carrying the TCI state indication), μ.sub.Applied is the sub-carrier spacing of the target channel or target reference signal (i.e. smallest here) (e.g., to which the TCI state indication is applied), and d depends on the sub-carrier spacing of the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, d=8, 8, 14 if μ.sub.DCI=0, 1, 2 (i.e. offset value/s relative to last symbol of ACK to DCI(here d can be offset (i.e. refer to [0090]… , the TCI state application time (i.e. the TCI state application time may start at different starting locations and may be configured as a number of milliseconds, a number of symbols, or a number of slots; see [0089]) may start from the end of slot containing the acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication or from the end of acknowledgement for the DCI or MAC-CE carrying the TCI state indication. For example, in some cases, the UE may send an acknowledgement of the TCI state indication to the network. Thereafter, the UE and BS may start the TCI state application time at an end of a slot carrying the acknowledgement or may start the TCI state application time at an end of the acknowledgement. In some cases, if an existing DL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0, 1_1, 1_2) is used for the TCI state indication and the existing DL DCI format schedules DL reception (Rx), the acknowledgement may be the acknowledgement for the scheduled DL Rx (e.g., PDSCH) In some cases, if an existing UL DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_0, 0_1, 0_2) is used for the TCI state indication and schedules an UL transmission (Tx), the acknowledgement can be the scheduled UL Tx (e.g. PUSCH, SRS)) or offset can be X slot/symbol starting from the end); further see [0228].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of ZTE to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the wireless communication device, a time for applying the TCI state in one or more component carriers (CCs) using a ratio of a smallest subcarrier spacing (SCS) to a reference SCS and the one or more offset values; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 18, ZTE teaches as per claim 16, wherein at least one of:
The one or more offset values are determined according to a group of CCs having CC with the smallest SCC;
The one or more offset values re degerming according to a list of CCs having the CC with the smallest SCS or
the one or more offset values are determined from a plurality of offset values each configured for a respective (CC) or bandwidth part (BWP); ZTE see section 2.2.1 first agreement .. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS i.e. such dependency implies that different Y is applied for respective CCs, i.e. selected from a plurality of offset values.
Regarding claim 19, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 16,
wherein the one or more offset values correspond to a first CC; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1 the smallest SCS and alt3 the use of reference SCS is discussed.
Regarding claim 20, ZTE in view of Zou teaches as per claim 19, wherein the wireless communication device identifies the CC with the smallest SCS amongst the one or more CCs; ZTE see section 2.2.1 second agreement alt1: the first slot and the Y symbols are both determined on the carrier with the smallest SCS among the carrier(s) applying the beam indication.
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE “enhancement on multi-beam operation”, R1-2108870 see IDS filed on 5/9/2025 page 1 cite #C3 in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0217751 A1) and in further view of Yang et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0089070 A1).
Regarding claim 2, ZTE in view of Zhou teaches as per claim 1, wherein degerming the one or more offset values comprising:
determining, by the wireless communication device, a first offset value and a second offset value relative to the last symbol of the acknowledgment to the DCI signaling, the first and second offset values configured for the group of CCs, the list of CCs, the CC, or a bandwidth part (BWP) with the smallest SCS, wherein the first offset value is different from the second offset value; here ZTE teaches in section 2.2.1 first agreement .. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS ( i.e. assuming that such dependency implies that different Y is applied for respective CCs, i.e. selected from a plurality of offset values); but ZTE fails to clearly state about first offset value is different from second offset value; however Yang states in [0045] about The terminal determines a target subcarrier spacing according to a subcarrier spacing determining rule, where the target subcarrier spacing includes a first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to N component carriers CCs or a second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to a first bandwidth part (BWP) of the N CCs, N is greater than or equal to 1, the first BWP is a BWP to which the common beam information is applied, and the first BWP includes at least one of an uplink BWP or a downlink BWP; further see [0046] Step 203: The terminal determines a beam application time (i.e. offset here) based on the target subcarrier spacing, where the beam application time includes a first beam application time corresponding to the N CCs (i.e. first offset) or a second beam application time (i.e. second offset) corresponding to the first BWP of the N CCs. [0047] Specifically, the first beam application time is determined based on the first target subcarrier spacing, or the second beam application time is determined based on the second target subcarrier spacing. [0048] In the method for determining beam application time in this embodiment of this application, after receiving the beam indication signaling, the terminal determines, according to the subcarrier spacing determining rule, the first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the N component carriers CCs or the second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first bandwidth part BWP of the N CCs, and determines the first beam application time based on the first target subcarrier spacing or determines the second beam application time based on the second target subcarrier spacing, so as to determine the beam application time corresponding to the plurality of CCs or the BWPs of the plurality of CCs. ..;further see [0116- 0121].. if the beam application time is a first beam application time, the second duration is determined based on one of the following: [0122] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the first PDCCH is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols; or [0123] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the acknowledgment ACK message of the DCI is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yang with the teachings of ZTE in view of Zou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein first and second offset value are different; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, ZTE in view of Zhou teaches as per claim 8, wherein to determine the one or more offset values comprising:
determine a first offset value and a second offset value relative to the last symbol of the acknowledgment to the DCI signaling, the first and second offset values configured for the group of CCs, the list of CCs, the CC, or a bandwidth part (BWP) with the smallest SCS, wherein the first offset value is different from the second offset value; here ZTE teaches in section 2.2.1 first agreement .. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS ( i.e. assuming that such dependency implies that different Y is applied for respective CCs, i.e. selected from a plurality of offset values); but ZTE fails to clearly state about first offset value is different from second offset value; however Yang states in [0045] about The terminal determines a target subcarrier spacing according to a subcarrier spacing determining rule, where the target subcarrier spacing includes a first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to N component carriers CCs or a second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to a first bandwidth part (BWP) of the N CCs, N is greater than or equal to 1, the first BWP is a BWP to which the common beam information is applied, and the first BWP includes at least one of an uplink BWP or a downlink BWP; further see [0046] Step 203: The terminal determines a beam application time (i.e. offset here) based on the target subcarrier spacing, where the beam application time includes a first beam application time corresponding to the N CCs (i.e. first offset) or a second beam application time (i.e. second offset) corresponding to the first BWP of the N CCs. [0047] Specifically, the first beam application time is determined based on the first target subcarrier spacing, or the second beam application time is determined based on the second target subcarrier spacing. [0048] In the method for determining beam application time in this embodiment of this application, after receiving the beam indication signaling, the terminal determines, according to the subcarrier spacing determining rule, the first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the N component carriers CCs or the second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first bandwidth part BWP of the N CCs, and determines the first beam application time based on the first target subcarrier spacing or determines the second beam application time based on the second target subcarrier spacing, so as to determine the beam application time corresponding to the plurality of CCs or the BWPs of the plurality of CCs. ..;further see [0116- 0121].. if the beam application time is a first beam application time, the second duration is determined based on one of the following: [0122] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the first PDCCH is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols; or [0123] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the acknowledgment ACK message of the DCI is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yang with the teachings of ZTE in view of Zou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein first and second offset value are different; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, ZTE in view of Zhou teaches as per claim 16, wherein to determine the one or more offset values comprising:
determine a first offset value and a second offset value relative to the last symbol of the acknowledgment to the DCI signaling, the first and second offset values configured for the group of CCs, the list of CCs, the CC, or a bandwidth part (BWP) with the smallest SCS, wherein the first offset value is different from the second offset value; here ZTE teaches in section 2.2.1 first agreement .. Y is configured per BWP , per CC or per band or per SCS , or independent of BWP/CC/SCS ( i.e. assuming that such dependency implies that different Y is applied for respective CCs, i.e. selected from a plurality of offset values); but ZTE fails to clearly state about first offset value is different from second offset value; however Yang states in [0045] about The terminal determines a target subcarrier spacing according to a subcarrier spacing determining rule, where the target subcarrier spacing includes a first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to N component carriers CCs or a second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to a first bandwidth part (BWP) of the N CCs, N is greater than or equal to 1, the first BWP is a BWP to which the common beam information is applied, and the first BWP includes at least one of an uplink BWP or a downlink BWP; further see [0046] Step 203: The terminal determines a beam application time (i.e. offset here) based on the target subcarrier spacing, where the beam application time includes a first beam application time corresponding to the N CCs (i.e. first offset) or a second beam application time (i.e. second offset) corresponding to the first BWP of the N CCs. [0047] Specifically, the first beam application time is determined based on the first target subcarrier spacing, or the second beam application time is determined based on the second target subcarrier spacing. [0048] In the method for determining beam application time in this embodiment of this application, after receiving the beam indication signaling, the terminal determines, according to the subcarrier spacing determining rule, the first target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the N component carriers CCs or the second target subcarrier spacing corresponding to the first bandwidth part BWP of the N CCs, and determines the first beam application time based on the first target subcarrier spacing or determines the second beam application time based on the second target subcarrier spacing, so as to determine the beam application time corresponding to the plurality of CCs or the BWPs of the plurality of CCs. ..;further see [0116- 0121].. if the beam application time is a first beam application time, the second duration is determined based on one of the following: [0122] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the first PDCCH is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols; or [0123] based on the subcarrier spacing of the CC in which the acknowledgment ACK message of the DCI is located, determining the second duration to be Y symbols. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yang with the teachings of ZTE in view of Zou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein first and second offset value are different; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 6, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE “enhancement on multi-beam operation”, R1-2108870 see IDS filed on 5/9/2025 page 1 cite #C3 in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0217751 A1) in view of Yuan et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0267855 A1).
Regarding claim 6, ZTE in view of Zhou teaches as per claim 3, but ZTE is silent about wherein CCs having a same SCS is configured with a same offset value; however Yuan states in [0254] about CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of ZTE in view of Zhou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, ZTE in view of Zhou teaches as per claim 10, but ZTE is silent about wherein CCs having a same SCS is configured with a same offset value; however Yuan states in [0254] about CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuan with the teachings of ZTE in view of Zhou to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein CCs having a same subcarrier spacing (SCS) is configured with a same offset value; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE “enhancement on multi-beam operation”, R1-2108870 see IDS filed on 5/9/2025 page 1 cite #C3 in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0217751 A1) in view of Abedini et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0354308 A1), hereafter Navid.
Regarding claim 7, ZTE in view of Zhou teaches as per claim 1, but ZTE is silent about receiving, by the wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; however Navid states in [0168]… The PDCCH communication may include an indication of an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset values configured for a time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. For example, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset value configured for the time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a first set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via a direct link, or the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to a second set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via the assisting node 704; further see [0169- 0171]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Navid with the teachings of ZTE in view of Zhou to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, by the wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; greater way resources can be managed/utilized can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, ZTE in view of Zhou teaches as per claim 8, but ZTE is silent about wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, via a receiver from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receive, via the receiver from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; however Navid states in [0168]… The PDCCH communication may include an indication of an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset values configured for a time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. For example, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a set of offset values of the plurality of sets of offset value configured for the time offset associated with the scheduled uplink communication. In some aspects, the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to an offset value in a first set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via a direct link, or the indication of the offset value included in the PDCCH communication may map to a second set of configured offset values associated with communication between the network entity 702 and the UE 120 via the assisting node 704; further see [0169- 0171]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Navid with the teachings of ZTE in view of Zhou to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, by the wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a configuration of a first offset value and a second offset value; and receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DCI signaling, which indicates to use at least one of: the first offset value or the second offset value; greater way resources can be managed/utilized can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference BAI et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0008044 A1) states in [0093] … the DCI 1 602 may indicate a location of the PDSCH 1 604 and/or a location of the A/N 1 606. As shown in FIG. 6C, the DCI 602 may include an offset indicator k0 and/or an offset indicator k1. The offset indicator k0 may indicate the offset between the slot (e.g., slot 0) the DCI 1 602 is transmitted/received in and the slot (e.g., slot m) the PDSCH 1 604 is scheduled. The offset indicator k1 may be based on the location of the PDSCH (e.g., PDSCH 1 604). In this regard, the offset indicator k1 may be predefined and/or preconfigured based on the location of the PDSCH. In this regard, the offset indicator k1 may indicate the offset between the slot the PDSCH 1 604 is scheduled and the slot (e.g., slot n) the A/N 1 606 is to be transmitted by the UE. The UE can thus determine the location/slot of the A/N 1 606 in the time domain.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479