DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regards to claims 2 and 3, the limitations “a distance” in lines 1 and 2 render the claim unclear since it is not clear if it is the same distance or a different distance. It is recommended that Applicant distinguish between these distances by referencing them as “first distance”, “second distance” and so on. For the sake of examination, these distances are being considered as different distances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note applicable to all claims being rejected in this Office action: Examiner notes that the limitations "overlap", "layer", "portion" “disposed” “on” “part” are being interpreted broadly in accordance with MPEP. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. The claim presently discloses a structural limitation (i.e. overlap, layer, portion, contact) that is taught by prior art of record, therefore, the limitation is considered met by the prior art of record. Additionally, Merriam Webster dictionary defines the above limitations as “to occupy the same area in part”, “one thickness lying over or under another”, “an often limited part of a whole” “arranged” “a function word to indicate position in close proximity with” “ one of several or many equal units of which something is composed” respectively. Further note the limitation “contact” is being interpreted to include "direct contact" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between) and "indirect contact" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maruyama, Satoshi (US 2017/0278916 A1 hereinafter Maruyama).
Regarding Claim 1, Maruyama discloses in Fig 4, 5: A thin film transistor substrate comprising:
a substrate (10);
a first thin film transistor (TFT2) disposed on the substrate, the first thin film transistor including a first gate electrode (GE2), a first active layer (CH2), a first source electrode (SE2), and a first drain electrode (DE2);
a second thin film transistor (TFT1) disposed on the substrate, the second thin film transistor including a second gate electrode (GE1), a second active layer (CH1) disposed on a different layer as the first active layer, a second source electrode (SE1 above the insulating layer), a second drain electrode (DE1), a first conductive layer (CP1) disposed between the second active layer (CH1) and the second source electrode (SE1), and a second conductive layer (CP1) disposed between the second active layer (CH1) and the second drain electrode (DE1); and
a capacitor (C) electrode including a first layer (CL1) and a second layer (CL2) disposed on the first layer, wherein the first layer of the capacitor electrode is on a same layer as the second active layer (CH1), and the second layer of the capacitor electrode is on a same layer as the first conductive layer (CP1) [0024-0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2018/0151114 A1 hereinafter Choi) as evidenced by Maruyama, Satoshi (US 2017/0278916 A1 hereinafter Maruyama).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi discloses in Fig 4, 5: A thin film transistor substrate comprising:
a substrate (101);
a first thin film transistor (Tdr) disposed on the substrate, the first thin film transistor including a first gate electrode (See Fig 4), a first active layer (129), a first source electrode (144), and a first drain electrode (See Fig 4);
a second thin film transistor (Tsw1) disposed on the substrate, the second thin film transistor including a second gate electrode (114), a second active layer (119) disposed on a different layer as the first active layer, a second source electrode (portion of 141 above 105), a second drain electrode (portion of 142 above 105), a first conductive layer (portion of 141 in the via opening of 105: note claim does not differentiate between the source electrode and the conductive layer) disposed between the second active layer (119) and the second source electrode, and a second conductive layer (portion of 142 in the via opening of 105) disposed between the second active layer and the second drain electrode; and
a capacitor (Cst2) electrode including a first layer (111) and a second layer (121) disposed on the first layer, wherein the first layer of the capacitor electrode is on a same layer as the second active layer (119), and the second layer of the capacitor electrode is on a same layer as the first conductive layer (portion of 141 in the via is present in the same layer 105 as 121) [0049, 0064, 0065, 0070, 0074]. It is noted that even though Fig 5 does not disclose a second gate electrode, Choi discloses in [0075] that not all structural details are shown in cross section of Fig 5. One of ordinary skilled in the art would find it obvious that a driving transistor would have a gate electrode for it to function normally. Additionally, as evidenced by Maruyama in Fig 4 and 5 show a gate electrode for both the transistors.
Regarding Claim 2, Choi discloses in Fig 4, 5: The thin film transistor substrate according to claim 1, wherein a distance from the second active layer (119) to the second gate electrode (114) is different from a distance from the first active layer (129) to the first gate electrode (See Fig 4). Note that the claim does not specify how these distances are measured and hence one of ordinary skilled in the art could arbitrarily choose a point on each structure to measure the distances to read on the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 3, Choi discloses in Fig 4, 5: The thin film transistor substrate according to claim 2, wherein a distance from the second active layer (119) to the second gate electrode (114) is greater than a distance from the first active layer (129) to the first gate electrode (See Fig 4). Note that the claim does not specify how these distances are measured and hence one of ordinary skilled in the art could arbitrarily choose a point on each structure to measure the distances to read on the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 6, Choi discloses in Fig 4, 5: The thin film transistor substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first active layer includes:
a first channel part (123) overlapping the first gate electrode;
a first connection part (121) disposed on a first side of the first channel part, the first connection part is in contact with the first source electrode;
a second connection part (122) disposed on a second side of the first channel part, and
the second connection part is in contact with the first drain electrode (See Fig 4);
the second active layer includes a second channel part (113) overlapping the second gate electrode (114);
a third connection part (111) disposed on a first side of the second channel part, and the third connection part (111) is in contact with the first conductive layer; and a fourth connection part (112) disposed on a second side of the second channel part, and the fourth connection part is in contact with the second conductive layer (portion of 142 in the via in 105).
Regarding Claim 7, Choi discloses in Fig 4, 5: The thin film transistor substrate according to claim 6, wherein the second active layer includes:
a first intermediate part disposed between the second channel part and the third connection part;
a second intermediate part disposed between the second channel part and the fourth connection part (See mark-up below and interpretation of “part” in note above);
the first intermediate part overlaps a region between the second gate electrode and the first conductive layer; and
the second intermediate part overlaps a region between the second gate electrode and the second conductive layer. Examiner notes that the claim does not specify an overlap direction and hence the intermediate parts are being chosen so as to overlap the structures claimed in any direction/view.
Regarding Claim 8, Choi discloses in Fig 4, 5: The thin film transistor substrate according to claim 1, wherein the capacitor electrode (111) is electrically connected to the first source electrode (144) and the capacitor electrode overlaps at least a portion of the first active layer. Examiner notes that the claim does not specify an overlap direction and hence the capacitor electrode and the first active layer overlap.
Regarding Claim 21, Choi discloses in Fig 4, 5: A display apparatus comprising:
a thin film transistor substrate (101) according to claim 1;
a first electrode (131) disposed on the thin film transistor substrate;
a light emitting layer (132) disposed on the first electrode; and
a second electrode (133) disposed on the light emitting layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 4, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode are disposed on a same layer, or the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode include a same material, and the second active layer is disposed below the first active layer” as recited in claim 4 in combination with the remaining features.
Dependent claim 5 is allowed based on virtue of its dependencies
The most relevant prior art references, (US 20170278916 A1) to Maruyama, Satoshi in Fig 4 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 4, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph.
With respect to claim 9, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “a first channel part overlapping the first gate electrode, a first connection part disposed on a first side of the first channel part, and the first connection part is in contact with the first source electrode; a second connection part disposed on a second side of the first channel part, and the second connection part is in contact with the first drain electrode; and the capacitor electrode overlapping the first connection part, and the capacitor electrode not overlapping the second connection part.” as recited in claim 9 in combination with the remaining features.
The most relevant prior art references, (US 20170278916 A1) to Maruyama, Satoshi in Fig 4 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 9, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph.
With respect to claim 10, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “a light blocking layer overlapping at least a portion of the first active layer and the capacitor electrode below the capacitor electrode, wherein a capacitor comprises the light blocking layer and the capacitor electrode.” as recited in claim 10 in combination with the remaining features.
Dependent claim 11 is allowed based on virtue of its dependencies
The most relevant prior art references, (US 20170278916 A1) to Maruyama, Satoshi in Fig 4 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 10, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph.
With respect to claim 12, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “a light blocking layer overlapping at least a portion of the second active layer, the light blocking layer electrically connected to the second source electrode, wherein a capacitor comprises the light blocking layer and the capacitor electrode.” as recited in claim 12 in combination with the remaining features.
The most relevant prior art references, (US 20170278916 A1) to Maruyama, Satoshi in Fig 4 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 12, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph.
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: With respect to claim 13, the primary reason for allowance is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “the first layer of the first gate electrode is disposed on a same layer as the second active layer or the first layer of the first gate electrode contains a same material as the second active layer, and the second layer of the first gate electrode is disposed on a same layer as the first conductive layer or the second layer of the first gate electrode contains a same material as the first conductive layer.” as recited in claim 13 in combination with the remaining features.
Dependent claims 14-20 are allowed based on virtue of their dependencies
The most relevant prior art references, (US 20170278916 A1) to Maruyama, Satoshi in Fig 4 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 13, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph.
Conclusion
/NISHATH YASMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811