Detailed Action
RCE filed on 03/16/2026 and claim filed on 02/19/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 1, 10 and 15 are independent claim. Claim 1, 10, 15 have been amended. No claim is added new.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application has PRO 63/429,125 filed on 11/30/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments added in the amendment filed on 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but moot in view of new ground of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US Patent Application Publication No 2021/0072927 A1) in view of Gunda (US Patent No 11,403,011 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a system for managing memory, the system comprising:
one or more memory resources (Yang, Fig-1);
wherein the system is configured to:
receive a command specifying an amount of computational resources and an amount of memory resources associated with a program (Yang, ¶[0018], the user space includes a plurality of executing application. Each application may execute functions in a user space storage library. Fig-5, ¶[0030], the storage driver discovers one or more physical controllers, having physical namespace in storage devices. This discovery may occur by polling the bus for new storage devices or receiving a signal when the storage device is coupled to the bus); and
process the command by the controller (Yang, ¶[0030]-¶[0031], a virtual controller is generated to have virtual namespaces representing physical namespace in one or more physical controllers. The virtual controller may be dynamically assigned to applications during operations to allow for flexible assignment of application to the physical namespaces in virtual namespaces assigned to virtual controllers).
Yang does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Gunda teaches:
a controller in a storage device (Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 30-60, storage device may include non-volatile memory, controller 123);
one or more computational resources in the storage device, distinct from the controller (Gunda, Fig-1, col 7, line 15-55, the L2P mapping table stores the mapping of logical addresses specified for data written from the host device to physical addresses in the NVM indicating the location where each of the data is stored. This mapping may be performed by the controller of the storage device);
wherein the processing includes dynamically assigning a portion of the one or more computational resources and assigning a portion of the one or more memory resources based on the command for use by the program (Gunda, col 5, line 1-10, allows for dynamic configuration for host read performance of random read operation. Col 13, line 1-10, a memory controller that implements an NVMe protocol or an extension to an NVMe protocol that allows the memory controller to request a dynamic change to the size);
and executing, in the storage device and on the assigned portion of the one or more computational resources, the program using the assigned portion of the one or more memory resources (Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 5-55, when the controller 123 executes the read command or write command, the controller accesses the mapping from the cache and reads the data from or writes the data to the NVM at the specified physical address. Col 9, line 5-30).
Yang in view of Gunda are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing access to storage devices and resources from multiple applications”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Yang in view of Gunda to include the idea of caching a portion of a management table that is used to translate between logical addresses used by the host system and physical addresses in the non-volatile memory. The benefit is when the memory system receives a read or write command, it can determine which memory location needs to be accessed (Gunda, col 1, line 30-50).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the command specifies that the portion of the one or more memory resources is restricted from access (Yang, ¶[0015], to manage application access to the storage devices so as to prevent uneven distribution of accesses by the applications to the storage devices. Thus, application access is managed to avoid overloading certain storage devices and to guarantee quality of service levels assigned to the applications).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system determines that the program attempts to access a region of the one or more memory resources different from the assigned portion of the one or more memory resources and the system stops execution of the program (Yang, ¶[0012], sharing the NVMe driver in the user space with multiple applications may not be efficient if multiple independent applications can access all of the NVMe devices, which may result in overburdening certain of the NVMe devices being accessed by multiple applications in a single host. Also Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 5-55, when the controller 123 executes the read command or write command, the controller accesses the mapping from the cache and reads the data from or writes the data to the NVM at the specified physical address. Col 9, line 5-30).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more memory resources comprises one or more local memory namespaces (Yang, ¶[0014], multiple processes to share storage devices by generating a plurality of virtual controllers, including virtual namespaces that each map to a physical namespace in a physical controller of one of the storage devices, and assigning each application to a virtual controller).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system comprises one or more storage resources including one or more storage namespaces (Yang, ¶[0014], multiple processes to share storage devices by generating a plurality of virtual controllers, including virtual namespaces that each map to a physical namespace in a physical controller of one of the storage devices, and assigning each application to a virtual controller).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the program is a first program in a multi-tenant environment comprising at least a second program (Yang, ¶[0014], generating a plurality of virtual controllers).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the command is based on a protocol, the protocol including non-volatile memory express (NVMe) (Yang, ¶[0013], one technique to support multiple processes sharing I/O resources involves having a kernel driver manage access to the NVMe devices. Gunda, col 13, line 1-10, memory controller implements an NVMe protocol).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more computational resources comprises a computational resource comprising at least one of a central processing unit (CPU), a graphical processing unit (GPU), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), a tensor processing unit (TPU), or an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (Yang, ¶[0042], FPGA, ASIC. Also Gunda, col 14, line 10-20).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the storage device comprises a non- volatile memory express (NVMe) enabled storage device, and the controller comprises an NVMe controller (Yang, ¶[0013], one technique to support multiple processes sharing I/O resources involves having a kernel driver manage access to the NVMe devices. Gunda, col 13, line 1-10, memory controller implements an NVMe protocol).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses a method for managing memory, the method comprising:
receiving, by a controller, a command specifying an amount of computational resources and an amount of memory resources associated with a program (Yang, ¶[0018], the user space includes a plurality of executing application. Each application may execute functions in a user space storage library. Fig-5, ¶[0030], the storage driver discovers one or more physical controllers, having physical namespace in storage devices. This discovery may occur by polling the bus for new storage devices or receiving a signal when the storage device is coupled to the bus); and
processing the command by the controller (Yang, ¶[0030]-¶[0031], a virtual controller is generated to have virtual namespaces representing physical namespace in one or more physical controllers. The virtual controller may be dynamically assigned to applications during operations to allow for flexible assignment of application to the physical namespaces in virtual namespaces assigned to virtual controllers).
Yang does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Gunda teaches:
a controller in a storage device (Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 30-60, storage device may include non-volatile memory, controller 123);
the storage device comprising the controller and the computational resources distinct from the controller (Gunda, Fig-1, col 7, line 15-55, the L2P mapping table stores the mapping of logical addresses specified for data written from the host device to physical addresses in the NVM indicating the location where each of the data is stored. This mapping may be performed by the controller of the storage devic);
wherein the processing includes dynamically assigning a portion of one or more computational resources and assigning a portion of one or more memory resources based on the command for use by the program (Gunda, col 5, line 1-10, allows for dynamic configuration for host read performance of random read operation. Col 13, line 1-10, a memory controller that implements an NVMe protocol or an extension to an NVMe protocol that allows the memory controller to request a dynamic change to the size);
and executing, in the storage device and on the assigned portion of the one or more computational resources, the program using the assigned portion of the one or more memory resources (Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 5-55, when the controller 123 executes the read command or write command, the controller accesses the mapping from the cache and reads the data from or writes the data to the NVM at the specified physical address. Col 9, line 5-30).
Yang in view of Gunda are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing access to storage devices and resources from multiple applications”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Yang in view of Gunda to include the idea of caching a portion of a management table that is used to translate between logical addresses used by the host system and physical addresses in the non-volatile memory. The benefit is when the memory system receives a read or write command, it can determine which memory location needs to be accessed (Gunda, col 1, line 30-50).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the command specifies that the portion of the one or more memory resources is restricted from access (Yang, ¶[0015], to manage application access to the storage devices so as to prevent uneven distribution of accesses by the applications to the storage devices. Thus, application access is managed to avoid overloading certain storage devices and to guarantee quality of service levels assigned to the applications).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the method further comprises determining that the program attempts to access a region of the one or more memory resources different from the assigned portion of the one or more memory resources and the storage device stops execution of the program (Yang, ¶[0012], sharing the NVMe driver in the user space with multiple applications may not be efficient if multiple independent applications can access all of the NVMe devices, which may result in overburdening certain of the NVMe devices being accessed by multiple applications in a single host. Also Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 5-55, when the controller 123 executes the read command or write command, the controller accesses the mapping from the cache and reads the data from or writes the data to the NVM at the specified physical address. Col 9, line 5-30).
Regarding Claim 13, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the program is a first program in a multi-tenant environment comprising at least a second program (Yang, ¶[0014], generating a plurality of virtual controllers).
Regarding Claim 14, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the command is based on a protocol, the protocol including non-volatile memory express (NVMe) (Yang, ¶[0013], one technique to support multiple processes sharing I/O resources involves having a kernel driver manage access to the NVMe devices. Gunda, col 13, line 1-10, memory controller implements an NVMe protocol).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses a storage device for managing memory, the storage device comprising:
one or more memory resources (Yang, Fig-1);
wherein the device is configured to:
receive a command specifying an amount of computational resources and an amount of memory resources associated with a program (Yang, ¶[0018], the user space includes a plurality of executing application. Each application may execute functions in a user space storage library. Fig-5, ¶[0030], the storage driver discovers one or more physical controllers, having physical namespace in storage devices. This discovery may occur by polling the bus for new storage devices or receiving a signal when the storage device is coupled to the bus); and
process the command by the controller (Yang, ¶[0030]-¶[0031], a virtual controller is generated to have virtual namespaces representing physical namespace in one or more physical controllers. The virtual controller may be dynamically assigned to applications during operations to allow for flexible assignment of application to the physical namespaces in virtual namespaces assigned to virtual controllers).
Yang does not explicitly discuss the following limitation that Gunda teaches:
a controller (Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 30-60, storage device may include non-volatile memory, controller 123);
one or more computational resources, distinct from the controller (Gunda, Fig-1, col 7, line 15-55, the L2P mapping table stores the mapping of logical addresses specified for data written from the host device to physical addresses in the NVM indicating the location where each of the data is stored. This mapping may be performed by the controller of the storage device);
wherein the processing includes dynamically assigning a portion of one or more computational resources and assigning a portion of one or more memory resources based on the command for use by the program (Gunda, col 5, line 1-10, allows for dynamic configuration for host read performance of random read operation. Col 13, line 1-10, a memory controller that implements an NVMe protocol or an extension to an NVMe protocol that allows the memory controller to request a dynamic change to the size);
and executing, in the storage device and on the assigned portion of the one or more computational resources, the program using the assigned portion of the one or more memory resources (Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 5-55, when the controller 123 executes the read command or write command, the controller accesses the mapping from the cache and reads the data from or writes the data to the NVM at the specified physical address. Col 9, line 5-30).
Yang in view of Gunda are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem solving area”. Namely, they pertain to the field of “managing access to storage devices and resources from multiple applications”. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Yang in view of Gunda to include the idea of caching a portion of a management table that is used to translate between logical addresses used by the host system and physical addresses in the non-volatile memory. The benefit is when the memory system receives a read or write command, it can determine which memory location needs to be accessed (Gunda, col 1, line 30-50).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the storage device of claim 15, wherein the command specifies that the portion of the one or more memory resources is restricted from access (Yang, ¶[0015], to manage application access to the storage devices so as to prevent uneven distribution of accesses by the applications to the storage devices. Thus, application access is managed to avoid overloading certain storage devices and to guarantee quality of service levels assigned to the applications).
Regarding Claim 17, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the storage device of claim 15, wherein the device is further configured to determine that the program attempts to access a region of the one or more memory resources different from the assigned portion of the one or more memory resources and the storage device stops execution of the program (Yang, ¶[0012], sharing the NVMe driver in the user space with multiple applications may not be efficient if multiple independent applications can access all of the NVMe devices, which may result in overburdening certain of the NVMe devices being accessed by multiple applications in a single host. Also Gunda, Fig-1, col 8, line 5-55, when the controller 123 executes the read command or write command, the controller accesses the mapping from the cache and reads the data from or writes the data to the NVM at the specified physical address. Col 9, line 5-30).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the storage device of claim 15, wherein the program is a first program in a multi-tenant environment comprising at least a second program (Yang, ¶[0014], generating a plurality of virtual controllers).
Regarding Claim 19, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the storage device of claim 15, wherein the command is based on a protocol, the protocol including non-volatile memory express (NVMe) (Yang, ¶[0013], one technique to support multiple processes sharing I/O resources involves having a kernel driver manage access to the NVMe devices. Yang, ¶[0013], one technique to support multiple processes sharing I/O resources involves having a kernel driver manage access to the NVMe devices. Gunda, col 13, line 1-10, memory controller implements an NVMe protocol).
Regarding Claim 20, Yang in view of Gunda discloses the storage device of claim 15, wherein the storage device comprises a non-volatile express (NVMe) enabled storage device (Yang, ¶[0013], one technique to support multiple processes sharing I/O resources involves having a kernel driver manage access to the NVMe devices).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-Form 892).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WASIKA NIPA whose telephone number is (571)272-8923. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Pwu can be reached on 571-272-6798. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WASIKA NIPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433