DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 11, 14, 15, 18, 21, 23, 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by AN et al. (US 20250182488 A1) (AN).
Regarding claim 1, AN discloses A method comprising:
tracking an object within initial video capture information;
Fig. 14, for tracking the detected target object in an image
determining that the object is not within a privacy zone based upon a depth of the privacy zone; and
[0056] To protect the privacy of an object, the surveillance apparatus 100 may perform masking on a certain object before transmitting an image to the management apparatus 200 and based on Fig. 14 for step 730 and [0065] and [0066] the masking conditions may include at least one of the distance and the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object included in an image.
generating final video capture information by selectively applying or .
[0075] The condition determination portion 143 may determine whether masking conditions for a target object are satisfied. For example, if the masking conditions involve the distance between the target object and a reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than a threshold distance. In an embodiment, if the masking conditions involve the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the overlapping area exceeds a threshold area.
Regarding claim 3, AN discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining that the object is not within a privacy zone based upon the depth of the privacy zone, comprises:
determining the depth and a location of the object within the initial video capture information; and
[0075] The condition determination portion 143 may determine whether masking conditions for a target object are satisfied. For example, if the masking conditions involve the distance between the target object and a reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than a threshold distance. In an embodiment, if the masking conditions involve the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the overlapping area exceeds a threshold area.
comparing the depth and the location of the object to the depth and the location of the privacy zone to identify that the object is not within the privacy zone.
[0079] Even when the masking conditions for the target object are no longer satisfied after masking has been performed, the masking portion 144 may maintain the masking for that target object. For example, when the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than the threshold distance, the masking portion 144 may perform masking on the target object. Then, the distance may later be increased to exceed the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may still maintain the masking for the target object. Similarly, the masking portion 144 may perform masking because the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object exceeds the threshold area, and later, the overlapping area may decrease to fall below the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may also maintain the masking for the target object.
Regarding claim 4, AN discloses The method of claim 3, wherein determining the depth and the location of the object within the initial video capture information, comprises:
determining the depth of the object via depth sensor of a video capture device that captures the initial video capture information.
[0075] The condition determination portion 143 may determine whether masking conditions for a target object are satisfied. For example, if the masking conditions involve the distance between the target object and a reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than a threshold distance. In an embodiment, if the masking conditions involve the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the overlapping area exceeds a threshold area.
Regarding claim 8, AN discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: capturing the initial video capture information; and transmitting the final video capture information to an image processing device or a presentation device.
[0062] Referring to FIG. 2, the surveillance apparatus 100 may include a camera 110, a storage device 120, a controller 130, an image processing module 140, and a communication interface 150.
Regarding claim 11, AN discloses A system for managing privacy zones in video surveillance, comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions; and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions to:
track an object within initial video capture information;
Fig. 14, for tracking the detected target object in an image
determine that the object is not within a privacy zone based upon a depth of the privacy zone; and
[0056] To protect the privacy of an object, the surveillance apparatus 100 may perform masking on a certain object before transmitting an image to the management apparatus 200 and based on Fig. 14 for step 730 and [0065] and [0066] the masking conditions may include at least one of the distance and the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object included in an image.
generate final video capture information by selectively applying or .
[0075] The condition determination portion 143 may determine whether masking conditions for a target object are satisfied. For example, if the masking conditions involve the distance between the target object and a reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than a threshold distance. In an embodiment, if the masking conditions involve the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the overlapping area exceeds a threshold area.
Regarding claim 14, AN discloses The system of claim 11, wherein to determine that the object is not within a privacy zone based upon a depth of the privacy zone, the one or more processors are configured to:
determine the depth and a location of the object within the initial video capture information; and
[0075] The condition determination portion 143 may determine whether masking conditions for a target object are satisfied. For example, if the masking conditions involve the distance between the target object and a reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than a threshold distance. In an embodiment, if the masking conditions involve the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the overlapping area exceeds a threshold area.
compare the depth and the location of the object to the depth and the location of the privacy zone to identify that the object is not within the privacy zone.
[0079] Even when the masking conditions for the target object are no longer satisfied after masking has been performed, the masking portion 144 may maintain the masking for that target object. For example, when the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than the threshold distance, the masking portion 144 may perform masking on the target object. Then, the distance may later be increased to exceed the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may still maintain the masking for the target object. Similarly, the masking portion 144 may perform masking because the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object exceeds the threshold area, and later, the overlapping area may decrease to fall below the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may also maintain the masking for the target object.
Regarding claim 15, AN discloses The system of claim 13, wherein to determine that the object is not within a privacy zone based upon a depth of the privacy zone, the one or more processors are configured to:
determine the depth of the object via depth sensor of a video capture device that captures the initial video capture information.
[0075] The condition determination portion 143 may determine whether masking conditions for a target object are satisfied. For example, if the masking conditions involve the distance between the target object and a reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than a threshold distance. In an embodiment, if the masking conditions involve the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the overlapping area exceeds a threshold area.
Regarding claim 18, AN discloses A non-transitory computer-readable device storing instructions thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, causes the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising:
tracking an object within initial video capture information;
Fig. 14, for tracking the detected target object in an image
determining that the object is not within a privacy zone based upon a depth of the privacy zone; and
[0056] To protect the privacy of an object, the surveillance apparatus 100 may perform masking on a certain object before transmitting an image to the management apparatus 200 and based on Fig. 14 for step 730 and [0065] and [0066] the masking conditions may include at least one of the distance and the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object included in an image.
generating final video capture information by selectively applying or
[0075] The condition determination portion 143 may determine whether masking conditions for a target object are satisfied. For example, if the masking conditions involve the distance between the target object and a reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than a threshold distance. In an embodiment, if the masking conditions involve the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object, the condition determination portion 143 may determine whether the overlapping area exceeds a threshold area.
Regarding claim 21, AN discloses The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the object is not within a privacy zone based upon the depth of the privacy zone comprises comparing an estimate of the depth of the privacy zone to an estimate of a depth of the object within a video frame.
[0056] To protect the privacy of an object, the surveillance apparatus 100 may perform masking on a certain object before transmitting an image to the management apparatus 200 and based on Fig. 14 for step 730 and [0065] and [0066] the masking conditions may include at least one of the distance and the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object included in an image.
Regarding claim 23, AN discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the privacy zone comprises two or more privacy zones.
[0079] Even when the masking conditions for the target object are no longer satisfied after masking has been performed, the masking portion 144 may maintain the masking for that target object. For example, when the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than the threshold distance, the masking portion 144 may perform masking on the target object. Then, the distance may later be increased to exceed the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may still maintain the masking for the target object. Similarly, the masking portion 144 may perform masking because the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object exceeds the threshold area, and later, the overlapping area may decrease to fall below the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may also maintain the masking for the target object.
Regarding claim 24, AN discloses The method of claim 23, wherein at least two of the two or more privacy zones do not overlap.
[0079] Even when the masking conditions for the target object are no longer satisfied after masking has been performed, the masking portion 144 may maintain the masking for that target object. For example, when the distance between the target object and the reference object is less than the threshold distance, the masking portion 144 may perform masking on the target object. Then, the distance may later be increased to exceed the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may still maintain the masking for the target object. Similarly, the masking portion 144 may perform masking because the overlapping area between the target object and the reference object exceeds the threshold area, and later, the overlapping area may decrease to fall below the threshold. In this case, the masking portion 144 may also maintain the masking for the target object.
Regarding claim 26, AN discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a location of the object determine a shape of the mask.
[0091]-[0095] and FIG. 7 The masking conditions may include an overlapping area A between the target object 510 and the reference object 520.
or FIG. 8 may mask the entirety of the target object 510, or may mask a part of the target object 510.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIRA MONSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422