Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 13, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being obvious over Kang et al (K.R. Patent Application Publication 20210108239 A1) hereinafter Kang, and further in view of Callens et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20150233552 A1) hereinafter Callens. ¶
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses a method for improving structural support (Title: Display Device) for a display apparatus (display device 100, p. 3, ll. 15) comprising a flat panel display (display panel 110, p. 3, ll. 15) and a circuit board situated at a back side of the flat panel display (PCB P, p. 3, ll. 31-34, “the frame 130 may be equipped with PCB (P, not shown) on which a plurality of electronic devices are located here”), the method comprising:
preparing a chassis (plate 120, p. 3, ll. 15);
applying a first adhesive member (second adhesive member 152, p. 5, ll. 11) to selective areas on a front surface of the chassis (p. 5, ll. 11-12, “the plate 120 may be coupled to the display panel 110 by the second adhesive member 152”; the front surface being the side that faces towards the display panel 110); and
bonding the front surface of the chassis to the back side of the flat panel display using the first adhesive member (p. 5, ll. 11-12, “the plate 120 may be coupled to the display panel 110 by the second adhesive member 152”)
However, Kang fails to disclose wherein the first adhesive member is deformable under shear force that is coplanar with the flat panel display
Callens discloses a method for improving structural support (Title: Display for Special Environments) of a display apparatus (display structure 10, ¶36) comprising a flat panel display (optical sheets 22, 23, & 25, ¶47) and chassis (backlight housing 27, ¶47), the method comprising:
a first adhesive member (pressure sensitive adhesive system PSA system 17, ¶38) wherein the first adhesive member is deformable under a shear force that is coplanar with the flat panel display (¶38, “All PSA systems of the present embodiment comprise at least one sandwich structure where two PSA's are enclosing a semi-rigid material or carrier, for example of foam or sponge type. Since the sandwiched structure contains an additional mechanical structure, the overall system provides an increased ability to take up shear forces”).
Kang discloses a method for improving structural support for a display comprising elements of a display panel, circuit board, chassis, and preparing adhesives to selective areas between the display panel and chassis. Callens discloses a method wherein the adhesive used is a pressure sensitive adhesive system that is able to conform under loads between the plurality of layers within a display apparatus. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the pressure sensitive adhesives from Callen’s disclosure and utilize it as the adhesive member in Kang’s disclosure as it would provide advantages such as reduction in shear forces induced between layers that is induced by vibrational forces as well as differences in thermal expansion coefficients (Callens, ¶1 & 13). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to implement such deformable adhesives as they are well known to accommodate for dimensional tolerances, reducing overall errors during high production manufacturing.
Regarding claim 2, Kang in view of Callens teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Kang further discloses wherein the preparing the chassis comprises shaping the front surface of the chassis to mate with the back side of the flat panel display (p. 5, ll. 36-37, “the front surface of the body 121 may be positioned in parallel with the front surface of the second adhesive member 152 to be in contact with the rear surface of the display panel 110”; p. 5, ll. 13, “the plate 120 may include a body 121 and a depression 122”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 2 in the manner of using deformable adhesives for force adsorption).
Regarding claim 3, Kang in view of Callens teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Kang further discloses wherein the preparing the chassis comprises forming a recessed portion on the front surface of the chassis, wherein the recessed portion is configured to receive the circuit board of the display apparatus (Kang discloses in p. 4, ll. 12-14, of another structured element, frame 130, which is shaped and equipped with a PCB. Therein, it is adhered to plate 120 with a first adhesive member 151, having the circuit board portion located between, as depicted in FIG. 3 below. Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to implement such a structure of frame 130 to plate 120, allowing for reduction in total cost and material usage during manufacturing).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 3 in the manner of using deformable adhesives for force adsorption).
Regarding claim 6, Kang in view of Callens teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Callens further discloses wherein the first adhesive member comprises a foam material (¶13, “foam or sponge type, an elastic material, etc”) having a first adhesive surface and a second adhesive surface opposite to the first adhesive surface, wherein the first adhesive surface is configured to bond to the front surface of the chassis and the second adhesive surface is configured to bond to the back side of the flat panel display (as depicted in FIG. 1C; each of the adhesive tape bond to the surfaces of the chassis and display panel).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 6 in the manner of using deformable adhesives for force adsorption).
Regarding claim 13, Kang discloses an assembly for improving structural support (Title: Display Device) for a display apparatus (display device 100, p. 3, ll. 15), wherein the display apparatus comprises a flat panel display (display panel 110, p. 3, ll. 15) and a circuit board situated at a back side of the flat panel display (PCB P, p. 3, ll. 31-34, “the frame 130 may be equipped with PCB (P, not shown) on which a plurality of electronic devices are located here”), the assembly comprising:
a chassis (plate 120, p. 3, ll. 15) having a front surface configured to mate with the back side of the flat panel display (p. 5, ll. 11-12, “the plate 120 may be coupled to the display panel 110 by the second adhesive member 152”; the front surface being the side that faces towards the display panel 110); and
a first adhesive member (second adhesive member 152, p. 5, ll. 11) attached to selective areas of the front surface of the chassis (surfaces where second adhesive member 152 is provided, as depicted in FIGS. 2 & 6),
wherein the first adhesive member is configured to bond the front surface of the chassis to the back side of the flat panel display (p. 5, ll. 11-12, “the plate 120 may be coupled to the display panel 110 by the second adhesive member 152”),
However, Kang fails to disclose wherein the first adhesive member is deformable under a shear force that is coplanar with the flat panel display.
Callens discloses a method for improving structural support (Title: Display for Special Environments) of a display apparatus (display structure 10, ¶36) comprising a flat panel display (optical sheets 22, 23, & 25, ¶47) and chassis (backlight housing 27, ¶47), the method comprising:
a first adhesive member (pressure sensitive adhesive system PSA system 17, ¶38) wherein the first adhesive member is deformable under a shear force that is coplanar with the flat panel display (¶38, “All PSA systems of the present embodiment comprise at least one sandwich structure where two PSA's are enclosing a semi-rigid material or carrier, for example of foam or sponge type. Since the sandwiched structure contains an additional mechanical structure, the overall system provides an increased ability to take up shear forces”).
Kang discloses a method for improving structural support for a display comprising elements of a display panel, circuit board, chassis, and preparing adhesives to selective areas between the display panel and chassis. Callens discloses a method wherein the adhesive used is a pressure sensitive adhesive system that is able to conform under loads between the plurality of layers within a display apparatus. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the pressure sensitive adhesives from Callen’s disclosure and utilize it as the adhesive member in Kang’s disclosure as it would provide advantages such as reduction in shear forces induced between layers that is induced by vibrational forces as well as differences in thermal expansion coefficients (Callens, ¶1 & 13). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to implement such deformable adhesives as they are well known to accommodate for dimensional tolerances, reducing overall errors during high production manufacturing.
Regarding claim 15, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 11, as detailed above, and Callens further discloses wherein the first adhesive member comprises a foam material (¶13, “foam or sponge type, an elastic material, etc”) having a first adhesive surface and a second adhesive surface opposite to the first adhesive surface, wherein the first adhesive surface is configured to bond to the front surface of the chassis and the second adhesive surface is configured to bond to the back side of the flat panel display (as depicted in FIG. 1C; each of the adhesive tape bond to the surfaces of the chassis and display panel).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 13, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 15 in the manner of using deformable adhesives for force adsorption).
Claims 4-5 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being obvious over Kang in view of Callens, and further in view of Won et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20070195221 A1), hereinafter Won.
Regarding claim 4, Kang in view of Callens teaches the method of claim 3, as detailed above,
However, both Kang and Callens fail to discloses the method of attaching one or more spacers to the recessed portion, wherein the one or more spacers are configured to contact a back surface of the circuit board when the front surface of the chassis is bonded to the back side of the flat panel display.
Won discloses of a display apparatus (Title: Display Apparatus) wherein the method comprises of attaching one or more spacers (spacer, ¶31) to a recessed portion (bottom-receiving container 500, ¶44), wherein the one or more spacers are configured to contact a back surface of the circuit board (first substrate 311, ¶31) and a front surface of the chassis (second substrate 313, ¶31) (¶31, “The first and second substrates 311 and 313 are spaced apart from each other by a spacer and bonded to each other by sealant or a glass frit”).
Kang, in view of Callens teaches the method for improving structural support for a display apparatus, utilizing a pressure sensitive adhesive system for adsorption of forces, reducing overall defects due to vibrations and varied thermal expansion coefficients between material layers. Also, Kang IVO Callens teaches an assembly wherein a circuit is located in a recessed portion of the chassis, the arrangement allowing for a circuit to be located between the chassis and a display panel. Won discloses a display assembly method wherein two bodies, namely the first and second substrate, are spaced apart by a spacer, then bonded to each other by use of a sealant. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the spacer and sealant, disclosed by Won, and apply the elements to the display panel, chassis, and circuit board arrangement of Kang, IVO Callens, in order to provide greater structural support to the circuit board as the spacers would bear compressive loads. Furthermore, a POSITA would have recognized that spacing provides electrical protection/isolation between components, preventing unwanted electrical conduction and resistances.
Regarding claim 5, Kang, in view of Callens and Won, teaches the method of claim 4, as detailed above, and Won further discloses wherein further comprising applying a sealant (sealant, ¶31) to the recessed portion at locations adjacent the one or more spacers, wherein the applied sealant is configured to fill any voids formed between the back surface of the circuit board and an inner surface of the recessed portion when the front surface of the chassis is bonded to the back side of the flat panel display (a POSITA would have recognized that, from Won’s disclosure ¶31, the sealant provided between the first and second substrate would fill unoccupied space of the spacers between the two substrates).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 4, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 4 in the manner of using spacers and sealants to provide space and support to the circuit boards within a display apparatus).
Regarding claim 14, Kang, in view of Callens and Won, teaches the method of claim 4, as detailed above, and Kang further discloses wherein the recessed portion is configured to receive the circuit board of the display apparatus, wherein when the front surface of the chassis is bonded to the back side of the flat panel display (Kang discloses in p. 4, ll. 12-14, of another structured element, frame 130, which is shaped and equipped with a PCB. Therein, it is adhered to plate 120 with a first adhesive member 151, having the circuit board portion located between, as depicted in FIG. 3 below. Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to implement such a structure of frame 130 to plate 120, allowing for reduction in total cost and material usage during manufacturing),
Won further discloses comprising one or more spacers (spacer, ¶31), the one or more spacers are configured to contact a back surface of the circuit board, and any space between the back surface of the circuit board (first substrate 311, ¶31) and an inner surface of the recessed portion (bottom-receiving container 500, ¶44) of the chassis (second substrate 313, ¶31) that is unoccupied by the one or more spacers is filled with a sealant (sealant, ¶31) (¶31, “The first and second substrates 311 and 313 are spaced apart from each other by a spacer and bonded to each other by sealant or a glass frit”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 4, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 14 in the manner of using spacers and sealants to provide space and support to the circuit boards within a display apparatus).
Claims 7-12 & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being obvious over Kang in view of Callens, and further in view of Kim et al (K.R. Patent Application Publication 20080036479 A)
Regarding claim 7, Kang in view of Callens teaches the method of claim 1, as detailed above.
However, both Kang and Callens fail to disclose the method of the applying the first adhesive member to selective areas of the front surface of the chassis comprises applying the first adhesive member along left and right edges of the front surface of the chassis.
Kim discloses a method (Title: Plasma Display Device) wherein the applying the first adhesive member (double-sided adhesive tape 600, p. 4, ll. 8) to selective areas between the front surface of the chassis (chassis base 100, p. 4, ll. 6) and back surface of the flat panel display (panel assembly 500, p. 4, ll. 7) comprises applying the first adhesive member along left and right edges of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 applied to the left and right edges).
Kang, in view of Callens teaches the method for improving structural support for a display apparatus, utilizing a pressure sensitive adhesive system for adsorption of forces, reducing overall defects due to vibrations and varied thermal expansion coefficients between material layers. Kim also discloses a display assembly method wherein the adhesives are applied to specific locations between the chassis and display, said specific locations are formed in a concave-convex patterned surface area. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the placement of adhesives and patterned surface area, taught by Kim, and apply it to the method of Kang IVO Callens as it would allow for dampening/amplification of noise transfer characteristics through the chassis base (Kim, p. , ll. ). Also, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to pattern the surface as it would provide greater surface area to the adhesives, allowing for greater adherence. Furthermore, it would have been viewed to a POSITA as routine optimization for an operator to provide the specific locations for the adhesive material as it is greatly dependent on the internal space/interference found inside the display device.
Regarding claim 8, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 7, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the applying the first adhesive member to selective areas of the front surface of the chassis comprises applying the first adhesive member along one or more horizontal strips extending between the left and right edges of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching from the left edge to the right edge).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 8 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 9, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 7, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the applying the first adhesive member to selective areas of the front surface of the chassis comprises applying the first adhesive member along a bottom edge of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching from the left edge to the right edge along the bottom edge).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 9 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 10, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 9, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the first adhesive member extends continuously along the left, bottom, and right edges of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching along the left, bottom, and right edge).
(Though FIG. 2a may not be seen as to depict a continuous adhesive, [p. 4, ll. 5-10] details that “the concave-convex portion (A)… can be formed over all areas on the front and rear of the chassis base 100”. Thus, it would have been routine and obvious to a POSITA to have concave-convex portion (A) extend continuously along the left, bottom, and right edge provided with the adhesive material).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 10 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 11, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 10, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein further comprising applying an adhesive member along a top edge of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching along the top edge),
Kang further discloses wherein another adhesive is a second adhesive (first adhesive member 151; FIG. 3 depicts the adhesive member 151 across the entire surface, including the top edge; refer to the rejection of claim 3 on how plate 120 could have the structure of frame 130 to have the recessed portion), and
the second adhesive having a higher adhesive strength than the first adhesive member, wherein the second adhesive also bonds the front surface of the chassis to the back side of the flat panel display (Kang teaches the two different types of adhesives while Kim teaches the specific location and placement of an adhesive. Because the adhesive at the these locations are used for securing the chassis and display panel together, a POSITA would have recognized the benefit of employing the relatively stronger of the two adhesives to the top edge as it is known to provide greater support for the forces/moment caused by possible deformation and orientation of the display apparatus. Thus, selecting Kang’s first adhesive 151 to be located at the top edge would have yielded no more than predictable results, being a routine selection of adhesives).
(Also refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 11 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 12, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 11, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the top edge adhesive member is applied in a plurality of isolated areas along the top edge of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching along the top edge as isolated segments of adhesive material).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 11 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 16, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 13, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the first adhesive member is attached to left, right, and bottom edges of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 along the left, bottom, and right edge).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 16 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 17, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 13, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the first adhesive member extends continuously along the left, bottom, and right edges of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching along the left, bottom, and right edge).
(Though FIG. 2a may not be seen as to depict a continuous adhesive, [p. 4, ll. 5-10] details that “the concave-convex portion (A)… can be formed over all areas on the front and rear of the chassis base 100”. Thus, it would have been routine and obvious to a POSITA to have concave-convex portion (A) extend continuously along the left, bottom, and right edge provided with the adhesive material).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 17 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 18, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 13, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the first adhesive member is attached to a front surface of the chassis as to from one or more horizontal strips extending between the left and right edges of the front surface of the chassis.
However, Kim fails to disclose the horizontal strips located in the middle portion of the front surface of the chassis.
Kang, however, depicts in FIG. 3 horizontal strips of adhesives (second adhesive member 152) located at the center of the chassis (plate 120). In the instance the depicted horizontal strips of Kang are not adhesives, a combination of Kang and Kim teaches adhesives that could be provided in the center as a POSITA would have recognized that position of the adhesives is routine, highly dependent of space within the display apparatus.
(Also refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 18 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 19, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 13, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein further comprising applying an adhesive member along a top edge of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching along the top edge),
Kang further discloses wherein another adhesive is a second adhesive (first adhesive member 151; FIG. 3 depicts the adhesive member 151 across the entire surface, including the top edge; refer to the rejection of claim 3 on how plate 120 could have the structure of frame 130 to have the recessed portion), and
the second adhesive having a higher adhesive strength than the first adhesive member, wherein the second adhesive also bonds the front surface of the chassis to the back side of the flat panel display (Kang teaches the two different types of adhesives while Kim teaches the specific location and placement of an adhesive. Because the adhesive at the these locations are used for securing the chassis and display panel together, a POSITA would have recognized the benefit of employing the relatively stronger of the two adhesives to the top edge as it is known to provide greater support for the forces/moment caused by possible deformation and orientation of the display apparatus. Thus, selecting Kang’s first adhesive 151 to be located at the top edge would have yielded no more than predictable results, being a routine selection of adhesives).
(Also refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 19 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Regarding claim 20, Kang, in view of Callens and Kim, teaches the method of claim 13, as detailed above, and Kim further discloses wherein the second adhesive member is attached to a plurality of isolated areas along the top edge of the front surface of the chassis (FIG. 2a depicts adhesives 600 extending in horizontal strips, stretching along the top edge as isolated segments of adhesive material).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 7, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 20 in the manner of providing specific locations for the adhesive material).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729