DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on May 27, 2025 has been received. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because Figs. 1-2 include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 104, 108, 110, 114, 120, 122, and 212.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 – “the pair of shoulder strap” should read “the pair of shoulder straps”
Claim 9 – “an outer garment, the outer garment comprises…” should read “an outer garment, wherein the outer garment comprises…”
Claim 9 – the paragraph reciting “a front side and a back side opposite to the front side” should include an end semicolon
Claim 9 – “a full-length opening extends vertically along the back side” should read “a full-length opening extending vertically along the back side”
Claim 11 – “an opening extends vertically along the back side of the outer garment” should read “an opening extending vertically along the back side of the outer garment”
Claim 11 – “a firm surface” should read “a first surface”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio (US PG Pub 2015/0158663) in view of Currier (US Patent No. 6,059,633) and Falla (US PG Pub 2005/0221718).
Regarding claim 1, Bonfiglio discloses a medical gown (gown 10, which is configured for use in a hospital and is therefore a medical gown inasmuch as claimed, see Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0004-0014 and 0026) comprising:
an outer garment (20, 30) comprising:
a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (see front view of Figs. 1-2 and back view of Fig. 3);
a left sleeve (adjacent left shoulder 26, see Fig. 1);
a right sleeve (adjacent right shoulder 26, see Fig. 1);
an opening (11), wherein the opening extends vertically along the back side of the outer garment (see back view of Fig. 3), and wherein the opening is a full-length opening (see Fig. 3 and paragraph 0029), and
a fastening mechanism (12) operable to selectively close the opening and secure a first portion and a second portion of the outer garment (i.e., right and left rear portions of the outer garment on opposing sides of opening 11, see Fig. 3 and paragraph 0029); and
a brassiere (28) secured to an inner surface of the front side of the outer garment (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0027 and 0030).
Bonfiglio substantially discloses the invention as claimed above, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the brassiere comprises: a pair of shoulder straps; and a pair of breast-supporting cups manufactured with double-layer fabrics and bounded edges; wherein the brassiere is secured to the outer garment by an attachment between the outer garment and the brassiere provided at an upper portion of each shoulder strap of the pair of shoulder straps. Bonfiglio is silent as to the particular structure of the brassiere, and the particular attachment method of the brassiere to the outer garment.
However, the Examiner notes that shoulder straps and breast-supporting cups are conventional brassiere features that are well-known in the art. For example, Currier teaches a gown-type garment having an integrated bra (8, see Fig. 1), comprising: an outer garment (10) comprising: a left sleeve (see Fig. 1); a right sleeve (see Fig. 1); and a brassiere (40), wherein the brassiere comprises: a pair of shoulder straps (48); and a pair of breast-supporting cups (42) manufactured with bounded edges (at least lower and inner side bounded edges 56, 60, see Fig. 5 and column 3, lines 19-43); wherein the brassiere is secured to the outer garment by an attachment (54) between the outer garment and the brassiere provided at an upper portion of each shoulder strap of the pair of shoulder straps (see Figs. 2, 3, and 5 and column 3, lines 6-18), so as to provide comfortable, non-binding, and non-restrictive support for the wearer’s breasts, and to provide freedom of movement of the outer garment relative to the brassiere (see column 1, lines 5-11 and 41-60; column 2, lines 47-54; and column 3, lines 6-43).
Furthermore, Falla teaches a brassiere (10) having a pair of breast cups (20) that each have a two-ply (i.e., double-layer) fabric structure (see outer layer 122 and inner layer 126 in Fig. 3, and paragraphs 0026-0027) with bounded edges (128, see Figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0026), so as to provide additional support for the wearer’s breasts, while maintaining natural shaping and flexibility for comfort and freedom of movement (see paragraphs 0002, 0004, 0015, and 0026-0029).
Therefore, based on Currier’s and Falla’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specifically provided Bonfiglio’s brassiere with a pair of shoulder straps; and a pair of breast-supporting cups manufactured with double-layer fabrics and bounded edges; wherein the brassiere is secured to the outer garment by an attachment between the outer garment and the brassiere provided at an upper portion of each shoulder strap of the pair of shoulder straps, as shoulder straps and breast-supporting cups are conventional brassiere features that are well-known in the art, and doing so would provide comfortable, non-binding, and non-restrictive support for the wearer’s breasts, while maintaining natural shaping and flexibility, and providing freedom of movement of the outer garment relative to the brassiere.
Regarding claim 2, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier and Falla) is further disclosed wherein the outer garment (20, 30 of Bonfiglio) comprises a top edge (adjacent neck opening 20’ and shoulders 26 of Bonfiglio) and a bottom edge (34 of Bonfiglio), and wherein the full-length opening (11 of Bonfiglio) of the outer garment is connected to the top edge and the bottom edge of the outer garment (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraph 0029 of Bonfiglio).
Regarding claim 3, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier and Falla) is further disclosed wherein the shoulder straps (48 of Currier) are attached to the outer garment (10 of Currier) by at least one of sewing, heat pressing, high-pressure processing, and gluing (i.e., sewing 54; see Figs. 2, 3, and 5 and column 3, lines 6-18 of Currier).
Regarding claim 5, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier and Falla) is further disclosed wherein the fastening mechanism (12 of Bonfiglio) is selected from a group comprising zipper, one or more pairs of hook and loop material, one or more buttons, and one or more snap fasteners (see paragraph 0029 of Bonfiglio).
Regarding claim 7, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier and Falla) is further disclosed wherein the outer garment (20, 30 of Bonfiglio) comprises a straight sideline (see at least skirt portion 30 of Bonfiglio, which includes straight sidelines towards a middle and bottom of the skirt portion, see Figs. 1-3 of Bonfiglio).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio, Currier, and Falla, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Forbes et al. (herein Forbes)(US PG Pub 2013/0276202).
Regarding claim 4, Bonfiglio, Currier, and Falla together teach the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Bonfiglio further discloses wherein the sleeves each comprise a sleeve portion (body of each sleeve, see Figs. 1-3); and a sleeve opening (along top of each sleeve, see Figs. 1-3). Bonfiglio also discloses a shoulder fastening mechanism (25) along each shoulder portion (26) adjacent to each sleeve (see Figs. 1-3 and paragraph 0026), comprising at least one of: a zipper, a hook and loop material, buttons, or snap fasteners (see paragraph 0026), but fails to disclose wherein the shoulder fastening mechanisms continue along the sleeves, so as to form sleeve opening fastening mechanisms.
However, Forbes teaches a medical gown (see Figs. 1-3 and at least paragraphs 0002 and 0015-0016) comprising: an outer garment (10) comprising: a left sleeve (left 24); a right sleeve (right 24); a full-length opening (front opening, see at least Figs. 1-2); and a fastening mechanism (13, 15, see at least Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0029-0032), operable to selectively close the opening and secure a first portion (12) and a second portion (14) of the outer garment (see Figs. 13 and paragraphs 0029-0032), wherein each sleeve comprises a sleeve portion (along length of each sleeve 24); a sleeve opening (defined by flaps 22, see Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0026-0028); and a fastening mechanism (snap fasteners 13, 15, see Fig. 1A) that extends along each shoulder and continues along the sleeve, so as to form a sleeve opening fastening mechanism (see Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 0026-0028), so as to allow the outer garment to be selectively opened and closed along the length of the top shoulder/arm openings, to selectively provide coverage and/or access (see paragraphs 0026-0028).
Therefore, based on Forbes’ teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Bonfiglio’s shoulder fastening mechanisms to continue along the sleeves, so as to also form sleeve opening fastening mechanisms, as doing so would to allow the outer garment to be selectively opened and closed along the length of the top shoulder/arm openings, to selectively provide coverage and/or access along both the shoulders and sleeves.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio, Currier, and Falla, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Torrey (US PG Pub 2007/0161329).
Regarding claim 6, Bonfiglio, Currier, and Falla together teach the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
Currier further teaches wherein the brassiere (40) comprises a brassiere opening (along front, see Figs. 1-3) and a brassiere closing mechanism (52), wherein the pair of shoulder straps (50) is attached to the outer garment (at 54) to form a neckline and a remaining portion of the brassiere is detached from the outer garment (see Figs. 1-5 and column 3, line 55 – column 3, lines 18), but fails to teach wherein the brassiere further comprises at least one brassiere back string, and wherein the brassiere closing mechanism is placed on the at least one brassiere back string. Instead, Currier discloses a front brassiere closing mechanism (52) embodied as a clasp (see Figs. 1-3 and column 2, lines 55-67).
However, Torrey teaches a brassiere (100) comprising a pair of cups (130, 140), a pair of shoulder straps (112, 122), a front brassiere closing mechanism (180), and rear brassiere closing mechanism (knot of 190) placed on at least one brassiere back string (string/tie system as described in paragraphs 0041-0043, 0080, and 0082, which can form one or both of the front and rear closing mechanisms 180, 190), so as to allow the bra to be adjustably and removably connected at both the front and rear of the bra, to allow the right and left sides of the bra to be combined in various sizing combinations (see at least Abstract and paragraphs 0017-0029).
Therefore, based on Torrey’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the brassiere together taught by Bonfiglio, Currier, and Falla to further include at least one brassiere back string and a rear/back brassiere closing mechanism placed on the at least one brassiere back string, as doing so would allow the bra to be adjustably and removably connected at both the front and rear of the bra, to allow the right and left sides of the bra to be combined in various sizing combinations.
Regarding claim 8, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier, Falla, and Torrey) is further disclosed wherein the brassiere closing mechanism (closure of 190 of Torrey) comprises at least one of: a zipper, a hook and loop material, buttons, or snap fasteners (see paragraph 0082 of Torrey; Torrey discloses wherein the back fastener component may include one or more of a snap system, a hook and loop system, a button system, and/or a tie system).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio in view of Behrens et al. (herein Behrens)(US PG Pub 2011/0041231).
Regarding claim 9, Bonfiglio discloses a medical gown (gown 10, which is configured for use in a hospital and is therefore a medical gown inasmuch as claimed, see Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0004-0014 and 0026) comprising:
an outer garment (20, 30), wherein the outer garment comprises:
a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (see front view of Figs. 1-2 and back view of Fig. 3);
a full-length opening (11) extending vertically along the back side (see Fig. 3 and paragraph 0029);
a brassiere (28) attached to an inner surface of the front side of the outer garment (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0027 and 0030).
Bonfiglio substantially discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to further disclose a pair of outer garment components and a pair of brassiere components, wherein the brassiere is removably attached to the outer garment via connecting and disconnecting the pair of outer garment components and the pair of brassiere components.
However, Behrens teaches a medical garment with an integrated brassiere (40+42, which is designed for medical use, see at least paragraphs 0001, 0014-0018, and paragraphs 0026-0027) comprising: an outer garment (40); a brassiere (42); and a fastening mechanism (41) comprising a pair of outer garment components (snap halves on outer garment 40) and a pair of brassiere components(corresponding snap halves on brassiere 42), wherein the brassiere is removably attached to the outer garment via connecting and disconnecting the pair of outer garment components and the pair of brassiere components (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraph 0027), so as to allow the outer garment to be conveniently used with or without the brassiere according to the wearer’s needs (see paragraph 0027).
Therefore, based on Behrens’ teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Bonfiglio’s brassiere to be removably attached to the outer garment via connecting and disconnecting a pair of outer garment components and a pair of brassiere components, as doing so would allow the outer garment to be conveniently used with or without the brassiere according to the wearer’s needs.
Regarding claim 10, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Behrens) is further disclosed wherein the pair of outer garment components (snap halves of 41 of Behrens on outer garment 40 of Behrens) and the pair of brassiere components (corresponding snap halves on brassiere 42 of Behrens) are selected from a group consisting of: a zipper, a hook and loop material, buttons, and snap fasteners (see at least paragraph 0027 of Behrens).
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio in view of Currier, further in view of Dowe (US PG Pub 2010/0144241).
Regarding claim 11, Bonfiglio discloses a medical gown (gown 10, which is configured for use in a hospital and is therefore a medical gown inasmuch as claimed, see Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0004-0014 and 0026) comprising:
an outer garment (20, 30) comprising:
a front side and a back side opposite to the front side of the outer garment (see front view of Figs. 1-2 and back view of Fig. 3);
a left sleeve (adjacent left shoulder 26, see Fig. 1);
a right sleeve (adjacent right shoulder 26, see Fig. 1);
an opening (11) extending vertically along the back side of the outer garment (see back view of Fig. 3), and wherein the outer garment opening has a length equal to a length of the outer garment (see Fig. 3 and paragraph 0029); and
a fastening mechanism (12) operable to secure a first portion and a second portion of the outer garment (i.e., right and left rear portions of the outer garment on opposing sides of opening 11, see Fig. 3 and paragraph 0029); and
a brassiere (28) secured to an inner surface of the front side of the outer garment (see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 0027 and 0030).
Bonfiglio substantially discloses the invention as claimed above, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the brassiere comprises: a pair of shoulder straps, and a pair of breast-supporting cups manufactured with bounded edges; wherein the brassiere is attached to the outer garment by attaching the shoulder straps to the outer garment. Bonfiglio is silent as to the particular structure of the brassiere, and the particular attachment method of the brassiere to the outer garment.
However, the Examiner notes that shoulder straps and breast-supporting cups are conventional brassiere features that are well-known in the art. For example, Currier teaches a gown-type garment having an integrated bra (8, see Fig. 1), comprising: an outer garment (10) comprising: a left sleeve (see Fig. 1); a right sleeve (see Fig. 1); and a brassiere (40), wherein the brassiere comprises: a pair of shoulder straps (48); and a pair of breast-supporting cups (42) manufactured with bounded edges (at least lower and inner side bounded edges 56, 60, see Fig. 5 and column 3, lines 19-43); wherein the brassiere is attached to the outer garment by attaching the shoulder straps (via 54) to the outer garment (see Figs. 2, 3, and 5 and column 3, lines 6-18), so as to provide comfortable, non-binding, and non-restrictive support for the wearer’s breasts, and to provide freedom of movement of the outer garment relative to the brassiere (see column 1, lines 5-11 and 41-60; column 2, lines 47-54; and column 3, lines 6-43).
Therefore, based on Currier’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Bonfiglio’s brassiere to include a pair of shoulder straps, and a pair of breast-supporting cups manufactured with bounded edges; wherein the brassiere is attached to the outer garment by attaching the shoulder straps to the outer garment; as shoulder straps and breast-supporting cups are conventional brassiere features that are well-known in the art, and doing so would provide comfortable, non-binding, and non-restrictive support for the wearer’s breasts, and to provide freedom of movement of the outer garment relative to the brassiere.
Bonfiglio and Currier fail to further teach wherein the pair of cups are manufactured with double-layer fabrics, wherein the double-layer fabric of each cup forms a first surface and an opposing second surface, such that the brassiere is capable of being worn with either the first surface or the second surface contacting a wearer’s skin.
However, Dowe teaches a brassiere (10) having a pair of breast cups (12a, 12b) manufactured with double-layer fabrics (20a, 20b, see Figs. 1-3 and paragraph 0031), wherein the double-layer fabric of each cup forms a first surface and an opposing second surface (respective surfaces of 20a, 20b), such that the brassiere is capable of being worn with either the first surface or the second surface contacting a wearer’s skin (see Fig. 1-3 and paragraphs 0031 and 0036 of Dowe), to provide the user with two different patterns, colors, fabrics, or aesthetic motifs that can be selectively worn on the outside of the brassiere, to accommodate different clothing choices (see paragraphs 0003-0006, 0016-0020, and 0031).
Therefore, based on Dowe’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the brassiere together taught by Bonfiglio and Currier to be manufactured with double-layer fabrics, wherein the supporting cups and the brassiere further comprise two identical surfaces, as doing so would provide the user with two different patterns, colors, fabrics, or aesthetic motifs that can be selectively worn on the outside of the brassiere, to accommodate different clothing choices.
Bonfiglio and Currier also fail to teach wherein the brassiere comprises a pair of brassiere ties. Instead, Currier teaches a clasp mechanism (52, see Figs. 2-3 and column 2, line 55 - column 3, line 5).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted Currier’s clasp for a pair of ties, as
such a modification would be nothing more than a simple substitution of one known garment fastener for another (i.e., ties instead of a clasp), to provide a decorative appearance. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 12, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier and Dowe) is further disclosed wherein the opening of the outer garment (11 of Bonfiglio) comprises: a top edge (adjacent neck opening 20’ and shoulders 26 of Bonfiglio) and a bottom edge (34 of Bonfiglio), and wherein the outer garment opening is connected to the top edge and the bottom edge (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraph 0029 of Bonfiglio).
Regarding claim 13, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier and Dowe) is further disclosed wherein the pair of shoulder straps (48 of Currier) is attached to the outer garment (10 of Currier) by at least one of sewing, heat pressing, high-pressure processing, and gluing (i.e., sewing 54; see Figs. 2, 3, and 5 and column 3, lines 6-18 of Currier).
Regarding claim 15, the modified gown of Bonfiglio (i.e., Bonfiglio in view of Currier and Dowe) is further disclosed wherein the fastening mechanism (12 of Bonfiglio) is selected from a group comprising zipper, one or more pairs of hook and loop material, one or more buttons, and one or more snap fasteners (see paragraph 0029 of Bonfiglio).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfiglio, Currier, and Dowe, as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Forbes.
Regarding claim 14, Bonfiglio, Currier, and Dowe together teach the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above.
Bonfiglio further discloses wherein the sleeves each comprise a sleeve portion (body of each sleeve, see Figs. 1-3); and a sleeve opening (along top of each sleeve, see Figs. 1-3). Bonfiglio also discloses a shoulder fastening mechanism (25) along each shoulder portion (26) adjacent to each sleeve (see Figs. 1-3 and paragraph 0026), comprising at least one of: a zipper, a hook and loop material, buttons, or snap fasteners (see paragraph 0026), but fails to disclose wherein the shoulder fastening mechanisms continue along the sleeves, so as to form sleeve opening fastening mechanisms.
However, Forbes teaches a medical gown (see Figs. 1-3 and at least paragraphs 0002 and 0015-0016) comprising: an outer garment (10) comprising: a left sleeve (left 24); a right sleeve (right 24); a full-length opening (front opening, see at least Figs. 1-2); and a fastening mechanism (13, 15, see at least Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0029-0032), operable to selectively close the opening and secure a first portion (12) and a second portion (14) of the outer garment (see Figs. 13 and paragraphs 0029-0032), wherein each sleeve comprises a sleeve portion (along length of each sleeve 24); a sleeve opening (defined by flaps 22, see Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0026-0028); and a fastening mechanism (snap fasteners 13, 15, see Fig. 1A) that extends along each shoulder and continues along the sleeve, so as to form a sleeve opening fastening mechanism (see Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 0026-0028), so as to allow the outer garment to be selectively opened and closed along the length of the top shoulder/arm openings, to selectively provide coverage and/or access (see paragraphs 0026-0028).
Therefore, based on Forbes’ teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Bonfiglio’s shoulder fastening mechanisms to continue along the sleeves, so as to also form sleeve opening fastening mechanisms, as doing so would to allow the outer garment to be selectively opened and closed along the length of the top shoulder/arm openings, to selectively provide coverage and/or access along both the shoulders and sleeves.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELYN BRAVO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732