DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding arguments on pages 12-13 of the Remarks, Examiner notes that while Applicant argues that Kim’s encoding mode is “not a selection between two architecturally distinct encoding schemes,” that this definition is not found in the claims. The claims do not describe any detail about the difference between the encoding modes, only that one is “based on virtual speaker selection” and the other is “based on directional audio encoding.” No detail is given about the virtual speaker selection, nor about how the encoding modes are based on the criteria. Further, the above criteria do not describe how the encoding modes are “architecturally distinct” but rather only describe a single criteria of the encoding modes. Thus, the claims still lack sufficient detail to differentiate from the broadest reasonable interpretation of the cited references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 13, and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2015/0340044 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches:
A three-dimensional audio signal processing method, comprising:
performing a linear decomposition on a current frame of a three-dimensional audio signal, to obtain a linear decomposition result (para [0047-51], where the LIT receives HOA coefficients for a frame and performs a linear decomposition to obtain transformed HOA coefficients);
obtaining, based on the linear decomposition result, a sound field classification parameter corresponding to the current frame (para [0060-61], where singular values are analyzed to determine a manner in which to describe the audio); and
determining a sound field classification result of the current frame based on the sound field classification parameter (para [0061], [0065], where the system determines how many foreground and background audio objects to code based on the singular values);
determining, from a first encoding mode or a second encoding mode and based on the sound field classification result, an encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0066], where the mode may be encoding only foreground audio objects, or encoding both foreground and background audio objects), wherein one of the first encoding mode and the second encoding mode is an HOA encoding mode based on virtual speaker selection, and the other of the first encoding mode and the second encoding mode is an HOA encoding mode based on directional audio coding (para [0312-314], where different modes depend on synthetic audio objects, interpreted as virtual speakers, and para [0316], where certain modes specify vectors representing the directional aspects, and para [0060], where the V[k] vectors correspond to the received HOA signals or received audio data), wherein
when the sound field classification result comprises a quantity of heterogeneous sound sources, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and a sound field type, determining, based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources, the encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0083-84], where bit allocation scheme data or metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the encoding mode, and para [0060-61], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type), wherein the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is computed based on the sound field classification parameter and the sound field type is determined based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources (para [0060-61], [0065], where the system determines how many foreground and background audio objects to code based on the singular values, and where the sound field type depends on the number of sound sources in foreground and background);
when the sound field classification result comprises the sound field type, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining, based on the sound field type, the encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0083-84], where bit allocation scheme data or metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the encoding mode, and para [0060], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type); or
when the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining, based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, the encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0083-84], where bit allocation scheme data or metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the encoding mode, and para [0060], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type); and
encoding the current frame based on the encoding mode (para [0066], where the bits are allocated according to the specification of background and foreground audio objects).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the three-dimensional audio signal comprises a higher-order ambisonics (HOA) signal or a first-order ambisonics (FOA) signal (Fig. 2 element 11, para [0035-36], where HOA coefficients from the signals are compressed).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the performing the linear decomposition on the current frame of the three-dimensional audio signal, to obtain the linear decomposition result comprises:
performing a singular value decomposition on the current frame, to obtain a singular value corresponding to the current frame, wherein the linear decomposition result comprises the singular value (para [0047-48], where singular value decomposition is performed on the frame);
performing a principal component analysis on the current frame, to obtain a first feature value corresponding to the current frame, wherein the linear decomposition result comprises the first feature value (para [0047-48], where principal component analysis is performed on the frame); or
performing an independent component analysis on the current frame, to obtain a second feature value corresponding to the current frame, wherein the linear decomposition result comprises the second feature value (where another limitation is chosen).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of sound field classification parameters including the sound field classification parameter, and the sound field classification result comprises the sound field type (para [0060], where multiple singular values are the sound field classification parameters, and where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type) ; and
the determining the sound field classification result of the current frame based on the sound field classification parameter comprises:
when values of the plurality of sound field classification parameters all meet a preset dispersive sound source decision condition, determining that the sound field type is a dispersive sound field (para [0061], [0066], where singular values of background audio objects are significant enough to be allocated bits along with the foreground audio objects, interpreted as a dispersive sound field); or
when at least one of values of the plurality of sound field classification parameters meets a preset heterogeneous sound source decision condition, determining that the sound field type is a heterogeneous sound field (para [0061-65], where the singular values associated with the background objects are sufficiently low that only the foreground audio objects are used to represent the HOA signals, interpreted as a heterogeneous sound field).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 5, wherein the dispersive sound source decision condition comprises that the value of the sound field classification parameter is less than a preset heterogeneous sound source determining threshold (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where none of the singular values for audio objects exceeds a certain threshold, such as H02, H04-06, H08, and H10-11, where none of the values exceed 0.2); or
the heterogeneous sound source decision condition comprises that the value of the sound field classification parameter is greater than or equal to a preset heterogeneous sound source determining threshold (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where at least one of the singular values for audio objects exceeds a certain threshold, such as H03 and H09 both having values that exceed 0.5).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of sound field classification parameters including the sound field classification parameter (para [0060], where multiple singular values are the sound field classification parameters) ;
the sound field classification result comprises the sound field type, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type (para [0060], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type) ; and
the determining the sound field classification result of the current frame based on the sound field classification parameter comprises:
obtaining, based on values of the plurality of sound field classification parameters, the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources corresponding to the current frame (Fig. 7, para [0136-137], where graphs H01, H03, and H09 depict graphs showing certain singular values above a threshold, such as 0.2, which are interpreted as heterogeneous sources); and
determining the sound field type based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources corresponding to the current frame (para [0061], where the type is determined as foreground only or foreground and background depending on if there are any heterogeneous sources).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of sound field classification parameters including the sound field classification parameter (para [0060], where multiple singular values are the sound field classification parameters);
the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources (Fig. 7, para [0136-137], where graphs H01, H03, and H09 depict graphs showing certain singular values above a threshold, such as 0.2, which are interpreted as heterogeneous sources); and
the determining the sound field classification result of the current frame based on the sound field classification parameter comprises:
obtaining, based on values of the plurality of sound field classification parameters, the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources corresponding to the current frame (Fig. 7, para [0136-137], where graphs H01, H03, and H09 depict graphs showing certain singular values above a threshold, such as 0.2, which are interpreted as heterogeneous sources).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 7, wherein the determining the sound field type based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources corresponding to the current frame comprises:
when the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources meets a first preset condition, determining that the sound field type is a first sound field type (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where at least one of the singular values for audio objects exceeds a certain threshold, such as H03 and H09 both having values that exceed 0.5, indicating a foreground only type); or
when the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources does not meet a first preset condition, determining that the sound field type is a second sound field type (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where none of the singular values for audio objects exceeds a certain threshold, such as H02, H04-06, H08, and H10-11, where none of the values exceed 0.2, indicating a foreground and background type), wherein
the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources corresponding to the first sound field type is different from the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources corresponding to the second sound field type (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where having no audio objects whose singular values exceed a threshold results in a foreground and background type).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 10, wherein the first preset condition comprises that the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold, and the second threshold is greater than the first threshold (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where a first threshold is 1, since at least one source has a normalized amplitude of at least 0.5, and where a second threshold is 3, as there cannot be more than two signals with normalized amplitude greater than 0.5); or
the first preset condition comprises that the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is not greater than the first threshold or not less than the second threshold, and the second threshold is greater than the first threshold (where another limitation is chosen).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches:
A three-dimensional audio signal processing method, comprising:
receiving a bitstream (Fig. 2 element 21, para [0038], where a bitstream is received);
decoding the bitstream, to obtain a sound field classification result of a current frame (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background); and
obtaining a three-dimensional audio signal of a decoded current frame based on the sound field classification result (para [0093], [0134], where a decoder reconstructs a 3D soundfield based on the received bitstream), wherein obtaining the three-dimensional audio signal further comprises:
determining, from a first decoding mode or a second decoding mode and based on the sound field classification result, a decoding mode of the current frame (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the decoding mode is foreground only or includes background), wherein one of the first decoding mode and the second decoding mode is an HOA decoding mode based on virtual speaker selection, and the other of the first decoding mode and the second decoding mode is an HOA decoding mode based on directional audio coding (para [0312-314], where different modes depend on synthetic audio objects, interpreted as virtual speakers, and para [0316], where certain modes specify vectors representing the directional aspects, and para [0060], where the V[k] vectors correspond to the received HOA signals or received audio data), wherein the determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the sound field classification result comprises:
when the sound field classification result comprises a quantity of heterogeneous sound sources, or the sound field classification result comprises a quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and a sound field type, determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the decoding mode, and para [0060-61], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type), wherein the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is computed based on the sound field classification parameter and the sound field type is determined based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources (para [0060-61], [0065], where the system determines how many foreground and background audio objects to code based on the singular values, and where the sound field type depends on the number of sound sources in foreground and background);
when the sound field classification result comprises the sound field type, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the sound field type (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the decoding mode); or
when the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the decoding mode).
obtaining the three-dimensional audio signal of the decoded current frame based on the decoding mode (para [0093], [0134], where a decoder reconstructs a 3D soundfield based on the received bitstream).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 13, wherein the determining, based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources, the decoding mode corresponding to the current frame comprises:
when the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources meets a preset condition, determining that the decoding mode is a first decoding mode (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where at least one of the singular values for audio objects exceeds a certain threshold, such as H03 and H09 both having values that exceed 0.5, indicating a foreground only mode); or
when the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources does not meet a preset condition, determining that the decoding mode is a second decoding mode (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where none of the singular values for audio objects exceeds a certain threshold, such as H02, H04-06, H08, and H10-11, where none of the values exceed 0.2, indicating a foreground and background mode), wherein
the first decoding mode is an HOA decoding mode based on a virtual speaker selection or the HOA decoding mode based on a directional audio coding, the second decoding mode is the HOA decoding mode based on the virtual speaker selection or the HOA decoding mode based on the directional audio coding, and the first decoding mode and the second decoding mode are different decoding modes (para [0085], [0089-90], where the decoding modes are based on directional audio coding, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the decoding mode is foreground only or includes background).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 16, wherein the preset condition comprises that the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold, and the second threshold is greater than the first threshold (Fig. 7, para [0136-138], where a first threshold is 1, since at least one source has a normalized amplitude of at least 0.5, and where a second threshold is 3, as there cannot be more than two signals with normalized amplitude greater than 0.5); or
the preset condition comprises that the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is not greater than the first threshold or not less than the second threshold, and the second threshold is greater than the first threshold (where another limitation is chosen).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches:
A three-dimensional audio signal processing apparatus, comprising:
a memory that stores instructions (para [0342-344], where processor and memory are used); and
at least one processor, coupled to the memory (para [0342-344], where processor and memory are used), which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
perform a linear decomposition on a current frame of a three-dimensional audio signal, to obtain a linear decomposition result (para [0047-51], where the LIT receives HOA coefficients for a frame and performs a linear decomposition to obtain transformed HOA coefficients);
obtain, based on the linear decomposition result, a sound field classification parameter corresponding to the current frame (para [0060-61], where singular values are analyzed to determine a manner in which to describe the audio); and
determine a sound field classification result of the current frame based on the sound field classification parameter (para [0061], [0065], where the system determines how many foreground and background audio objects to code based on the singular values);
determine, from a first encoding mode or a second encoding mode and based on the sound field classification result, an encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0066], where the mode may be encoding only foreground audio objects, or encoding both foreground and background audio objects, and para [0060], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type), wherein one of the first encoding mode and the second encoding mode is an HOA encoding mode based on virtual speaker selection, and the other of the first encoding mode and the second encoding mode is an HOA encoding mode based on directional audio coding (para [0312-314], where different modes depend on synthetic audio objects, interpreted as virtual speakers, and para [0316], where certain modes specify vectors representing the directional aspects, and para [0060], where the V[k] vectors correspond to the received HOA signals or received audio data), wherein
when the sound field classification result comprises a quantity of heterogeneous sound sources, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining, based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources, the encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0083-84], where bit allocation scheme data or metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the encoding mode, and para [0060-61], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type), wherein the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is computed based on the sound field classification parameter and the sound field type is determined based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources (para [0060-61], [0065], where the system determines how many foreground and background audio objects to code based on the singular values, and where the sound field type depends on the number of sound sources in foreground and background);
when the sound field classification result comprises the sound field type, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining, based on the sound field type, the encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0083-84], where bit allocation scheme data or metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the encoding mode, and para [0060], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type); or
when the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining, based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, the encoding mode corresponding to the current frame (para [0083-84], where bit allocation scheme data or metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the encoding mode, and para [0060], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type); and
encode the current frame based on the encoding mode (para [0066], where the bits are allocated according to the specification of background and foreground audio objects).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches:
A three-dimensional audio signal processing apparatus, comprising:
a memory that stores instructions (para [0342-344], where processor and memory are used); and
at least one processor, coupled to the memory (para [0342-344], where processor and memory are used), which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive a bitstream (Fig. 2 element 21, para [0038], where a bitstream is received);
decode the bitstream, to obtain a sound field classification result of a current frame (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background); and
obtain a three-dimensional audio signal of a decoded current frame based on the sound field classification result (para [0093], [0134], where a decoder reconstructs a 3D soundfield based on the received bitstream), wherein to obtain the three-dimensional audio signal, the at least one processor is further to:
determine, from a first decoding mode or a second decoding mode and based on the sound field classification result, a decoding mode of the current frame (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the decoding mode is foreground only or includes background), wherein one of the first decoding mode and the second decoding mode is an HOA decoding mode based on virtual speaker selection, and the other of the first decoding mode and the second decoding mode is an HOA decoding mode based on directional audio coding (para [0312-314], where different modes depend on synthetic audio objects, interpreted as virtual speakers, and para [0316], where certain modes specify vectors representing the directional aspects, and para [0060], where the V[k] vectors correspond to the received HOA signals or received audio data), wherein the determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the sound field classification result comprises:
when the sound field classification result comprises a quantity of heterogeneous sound sources, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and a sound field type, determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the decoding mode, and para [0060-61], where the sound field type could be a foreground audio object type, or both foreground and background audio object type), wherein the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources is computed based on the sound field classification parameter and the sound field type is determined based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources (para [0060-61], [0065], where the system determines how many foreground and background audio objects to code based on the singular values, and where the sound field type depends on the number of sound sources in foreground and background);
when the sound field classification result comprises the sound field type, or the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the sound field type (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the decoding mode); or
when the sound field classification result comprises the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type, determining the decoding mode of the current frame based on the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources and the sound field type (para [0041], where the audio is decoded, and para [0093], where received metadata indicates whether the classification result is foreground only or includes background, corresponding to the decoding mode).
obtain the three-dimensional audio signal of the decoded current frame based on the decoding mode (para [0093], [0134], where a decoder reconstructs a 3D soundfield based on the received bitstream).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a bitstream generated using the method according to claim 1 (para [0344], where a computer readable medium is used).
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the three-dimensional audio signal comprises a higher-order ambisonics (HOA) signal or a first-order ambisonics (FOA) signal (Fig. 2 element 11, para [0035-36], where HOA coefficients from the signals are compressed).
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the three-dimensional audio signal comprises a higher-order ambisonics (HOA) signal or a first-order ambisonics (FOA) signal (Fig. 2 element 11, para [0035-36], where HOA coefficients from the signals are compressed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Boehm et al. (US 2018/0315432 A1), hereinafter referred to as Boehm.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein there are a plurality of linear decomposition results including the linear decomposition result, and there are a plurality of sound field classification parameters including the sound field classification parameter (para [0060], where the US and V vectors represent the linear decomposition results, and where multiple singular values are the sound field classification parameters); and
the obtaining, based on the linear decomposition result, the sound field classification parameter corresponding to the current frame comprises:
Kim does not teach:
obtaining a ratio of an ith linear analysis result of the current frame to an (i+1 )th linear analysis result of the current frame, wherein i is a positive integer; and
obtaining, based on the ratio, an ith sound field classification parameter corresponding to the current frame, wherein the sound field classification parameter corresponds to the ith sound field classification parameter.
Boehm teaches:
obtaining a ratio of an ith linear analysis result of the current frame to an (i+1 )th linear analysis result of the current frame, wherein i is a positive integer (para [0078], where a ratio of primary to ambient is calculated); and
obtaining, based on the ratio, an ith sound field classification parameter corresponding to the current frame, wherein the sound field classification parameter corresponds to the ith sound field classification parameter (para [0090-94], where the PAR is used in the decomposition process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim by using the primary-to-ambient ratio of Boehm (Boehm para [0078]) during the decomposition process of Kim (Kim para [0060]), in order to minimize a mean-squared error, as well as to maintain directional and ambient powers before and after decomposition (Boehm para [0078], [0090]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of Kim and Boehm do not teach the limitations of the claim. Specifically, none of the cited prior art teaches the specific number of sound field classification parameters, or the sequential performance of the claimed steps to obtain the quantity of heterogeneous sound sources corresponding to the current frame. Hence, none of the cited prior art, either alone or in combination thereof, teaches the combination of limitations found in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0268827 A1 para [0111] teaches a coding mode for HOA content using directional signal synthesis.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN S BLANKENAGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658