DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 8/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-13, 16-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites, “wherein at least one axis of confinement is created by an accordion mode formed from a folded, running-wave cavity.” Where the applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “accordion mode” in claim 3 is used by the claim to describe some unspecified use of a running wave cavity, while the accepted meaning deals with a musical instrument. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term, or explain what kind of arrangement defines the metes and bounds of “accordion mode.” For the purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as best understood in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0218617 A1 [Schuster] in view of US 2021/0336032 A1 [Anderson]
Regarding Claim 3:
Schuster teaches a device for forming an optical trap, the device comprising:
a cavity spacer comprising a plurality of mirrors (Fig. 12, para 55), wherein at least one axis of confinement is created by an accordion mode formed from a folded, running wave cavity (Fig. 12 shows such an accordion mode).
However, Schuster fails to teach a three-dimensional array of trapping potentials formed by electromagnetic energy within at least one optical cavity defined by the plurality of mirrors, wherein the three-dimensional array of trapping potentials is configured to trap a plurality of atoms.
Anderson teaches a three-dimensional array of trapping potentials formed by electromagnetic energy within at least one optical cavity, wherein the three-dimensional array of trapping potentials is configured to trap a plurality of atoms (paras 296-297, 328; eq 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the 3D array of trapping potentials in a cavity as is discussed by Anderson with the optical cavity of Shuster discussed above. One would have been motivated to do so since Shuster suggests using its optical cavity in conjunction with a tweezer array, e.g., the array of Anderson, in order to improve photon collection probability and thus state detection of qubits in the array. Shuster paras 6-9.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 3, wherein said one or more atoms comprise one or more qubits. Shuster para 7-8, Anderson paras 290, 313.
Regarding Claim 5:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 4, wherein said one or more qubits are configured to perform a quantum computation. Anderson para 129.
Regarding Claim 6:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 5, wherein said quantum computation comprises a gate-model quantum computation or an adiabatic quantum computation. The qubits of the above modified invention are configured for such operations since they are neutral atom qubits, and all neutral atom qubits are so configured.
Regarding Claim 7:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 3, wherein said one or more atoms comprise neutral atoms. Anderson para 288, 298-304, et al; Shuster paras 3, 8.
Regarding Claim 8:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 3, wherein said folded, running wave cavity comprises a first arm and a second arm, wherein said first and said second arm are folded to form a point of intersection. Shuster Fig. 12, see also Shuster para 53 describing Bow-tie geometry.
Regarding Claim 9:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 8, wherein said point of intersection is coincident with an imaging axis of an imager configured to obtain one or more images of said one or more atoms. Interrogating trapped atoms, as is described in Shuster para 8, would entail the intersection being an imaging axis of an imager.
Regarding Claim 10:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 3, wherein said folded, running wave cavity is a ring cavity. Shuster Figs. 11, 12, see also Shuster para 53 describing Bow-tie geometry.
Regarding Claim 11:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 10, wherein said ring cavity comprises a bow-tie configuration, wherein said bow-tie configuration comprises a point of intersection (Shuster para 53), wherein said point of intersection is coincident with an imaging axis of an imaging unit configured to obtain one or more images of said one or more atoms (Interrogating trapped atoms, as is described in Shuster para 8, would entail the intersection being an imaging axis of an imager.).
Regarding Claim 12:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 10, wherein said ring cavity comprises four cavity mirrors, wherein said four cavity mirrors are oriented to form a point of intersection within said ring cavity. Shuster Fig. 12.
Regarding Claim 13:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 12, but fails to specify that each of said four cavity mirrors has a radius of curvature of at least 40 millimeters (mm).
Optimizing the radius of curvature of each of the mirrors is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Shuster teaches that the radius of curvature of the cavity mirrors can be modified to adjust cooperativity. Para 27.As such, Shuster identifies radius of curvature as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize radii of curvature in the above modified invention to be at least 40 millimeters since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 16:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 3, further comprising said plurality of atoms disposed within said three-dimensional trapping potential, wherein said plurality of atoms comprises a temperature of 10 microkelvin (μk). Anderson paras 167, 494.
Regarding Claim 17:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 3, wherein said three-dimensional trapping potential comprises a plurality of optical trapping sites, wherein each optical trapping site of said plurality of optical trapping sites is spatially distinct. Anderson Fig. 7.
Regarding Claim 18:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 17, wherein each optical trapping site of said plurality of optical trapping sites is spatially separated from each other optical trapping site by at least 200 nanometers (nm). Anderson para 330.
Regarding Claim 19:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 17, wherein each optical trapping site of said plurality of optical trapping sites is configured to trap a single atom of said plurality of atoms. Anderson paras 129, 130.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0218617 A1 [Schuster] in view of US 2021/0336032 A1 [Anderson] as applied to claim 3, and further in view of US 2022/0301738 A1 [Blatt].
Regarding Claim 21:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 3, but fails to teach that said cavity spacer comprises ultra-low thermal expansion glass, wherein said ultra-low thermal expansion glass comprises a coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 400+/−30 parts per billion (ppB)/° C. at 5 to 35° C.
Blatt teaches an optical trap (Figs. 1, 2) using a cavity spacer comprising ultra-low thermal expansion glass 9paras 47, 53), wherein said ultra-low thermal expansion glass comprises a coefficient of thermal expansion of at most 400+/−30 parts per billion (ppB)/° C. at 5 to 35° C (para 75). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the ultra-low thermal expansion glass of Blatt as the spacer glass of the above modified invention. One would have been motivated to do so since this would ensure proper alignment despite thermal influences. Blatt para 47.
Double Patenting
Claims 3, 10, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,875,227 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim describes the same limitations and structures, albeit in slightly different words, as the instant claims.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881