DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN202321492200.4 on 06/12/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202321492200.4 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract has a word count of 164 words which is more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: There is two “1” characters on the first line of claim 1. The limitation of claim 7 “a springs” should be - - springs - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilcox (US 2235911).
With regards to claim 1, Wilcox discloses a multiduty cooking appliance (electric casserole, Fig. 1) comprising a heating base (shell 10 having base 12 having heating element 28, Fig. 1), a cooker body having a top and a bottom (shell 48 having a top and bottom, Fig. 1), a heating head (cover 17 having an electric heating element 26, Fig. 1), a first electric heating device disposed inside the heating base (heating element 28 disposed inside of shell 10, Fig. 1), and a second electric heating device disposed inside the heating head (electric heating element 26 disposed inside of cover 17, Fig. 1); wherein, the cooker body encloses a cooking chamber and has an opening on the top (shell 48 encloses a baking dish or pan 51 which has an opening on the top, Fig. 1); the first electric heating device and the second electric heating device are independent of each other (if it is desired to brown the top of the food quickly, the upper element 28 may be turned on aside from the lower electric element 28, Page 2 right column, lines 10-15); when the bottom of the cooker body is placed on the heating base (bottom of inner shell 48 is placed on outer shell 10, Fig. 1), the cooking chamber is disposed on top of the first electric heating device and the first electric heating device is capable of heating the cooking chamber (baking dish or pan 51 is disposed above the heating element 28 and is capable of heating the baking dish or pan 51, Fig. 1); when the heating head is placed on the top of the cooker body and covers the cooking chamber (cover 17 is placed on top of outer shell 10 and covers the baking dish or pan 51, Fig. 1), the second electric heating device inside the heating head is capable of heating the cooking chamber (electric heating element 26 inside the cover 17 is capable of heating the baking dish or pan 51, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 2, Wilcox discloses wherein the heating base has a first power interface for receiving a power wire to supply power to the first electric heating device (lower heating element 28 is connected to plug-in points 32 which extend outward through the base 12 for connection to the usual connector plug, Page 2,left column, lines 5-12), and the heating head has a second power interface for receiving a power wire to supply power to the second electric heating device (upper electric heating element 26 has a plug in point 27 to which a connector plug of usual design may be attached, Page 2, left column, lines 1-4).
With regards to claim 3, Wilcox discloses wherein the first electric heating device is an electric heating tube type heating structure (heating element 28 is an electric heating tube, Fig. 3), and a button is arranged at a front side of the heating base (switch 35 arranged on the front of the base 12 of shell 10, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zakowski et al (US20210137298A1).
With regards to claim 1, Zakowski et al discloses a multiduty cooking appliance (cooking appliance 10, Fig. 1) comprising a heating base (base 12 having a cooktop 28, Fig. 2), a cooker body having a top and a bottom (cooking pot 14 having a top and bottom, Fig. 2), a heating head (lid 16 having heating coil 44, Fig. 5), a first electric heating device disposed inside the heating base (cooktop 28 in base 12 is an induction heating element, a tubular heating element, such as a CALROD heater, or any other similar known heating element, paragraph 0053, lines 3-5), and a second electric heating device disposed inside the heating head (lid 16 having heating coil 44, Fig. 5); wherein, the cooker body encloses a cooking chamber and has an opening on the top (cooking pot 14 encloses a cooking basket having an opening on top, Fig. 2); the first electric heating device and the second electric heating device are independent of each other (cooktop 28 is controlled by control input 35 and heating coil 44 is controlled by control input 47, Fig. 3,5); when the bottom of the cooker body is placed on the heating base, the cooking chamber is disposed on top of the first electric heating device and the first electric heating device is capable of heating the cooking chamber (when the bottom of cooking pot 14 is placed on base 12, the cooking basket 18 is disposed on top of the cooktop 28 of base 12, Fig. 1); when the heating head is placed on the top of the cooker body and covers the cooking chamber, the second electric heating device inside the heating head is capable of heating the cooking chamber (when lid 16 is placed on top of cooking pot 14 and covers the cooking basket 18, the heating coil 44 inside of lid 16 is capable of heating food inside of cooking basket 18, Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 2, Zakowski et al discloses wherein the heating base has a first power interface for receiving a power wire to supply power to the first electric heating device (base 12 has a power input port 34, Fig. 3), and the heating head has a second power interface for receiving a power wire to supply power to the second electric heating device (lid 16 has a power input port 46, Fig. 5).
With regards to claim 3, Zakowski et al discloses wherein the first electric heating device is an electric heating tube type heating structure or an induction cooker type heating structure (cooktop 28 in base 12 is an induction heating element, a tubular heating element, such as a CALROD heater, or any other similar known heating element, paragraph 0053, lines 3-5), and a temperature adjustment control panel or a button is arranged at a front side of the heating base (the control unit 19 may instead be incorporated into the base 12 with the various switches 66, buttons 68, knobs 70 and/or display screen 76 being located on the body 27 of the base 12, paragraph 0061, lines 2-3).
With regards to claim 11, Zakowski et al discloses herein the heating base, the cooker body, and the heating head are mutually detachable (base 12, cooking pot 14 and lid 16 are mutually detachable, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon et al (US2004/0035845).
With regards to claim 4, Wilcox does not disclose wherein the second electric heating device is an air fryer type heating mechanism, and comprises a motor having an output shaft, a cooling fan, a heat circulating fan and a heating tube; both the cooling fan and the heat circulating fan are connected to the output shaft of the motor, a control knob or a control panel is arranged on the heating head.
Moon et al teaches wherein the second electric heating device is an air fryer type heating mechanism (power head 16 having a heating element 58 and oven fan 52 that creates heated airflow A, Fig. 3), and comprises a motor having a output shaft (fan motor 48 having a shaft 54, Fig. 3), a cooling fan (cooling fan 50, Fig. 3), a heat circulating fan (oven fan 52, Fig. 3) and a heating tube (heating element 58 is a ceramic coated infrared heater, paragraph 0016, line 5); both the cooling fan and the heat circulating fan are connected to the output shaft of the motor (a motor 48 for driving a cooling fan 50 and an oven fan 52 via a common shaft 54, paragraph 0016, lines 2-3), a control panel is arranged on the heating head (control panel 68 is arranged on power head 16, Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wilcox and Moon et al before him or her, to modify the cover of Wilcox to include the oven fan, cooling fan and control panel as taught by Moon et al because the combination allows for increased versatility of a cooking apparatus.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakowski et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon et al (‘845).
With regards to claim 4, Zakowski et al discloses wherein the second electric heating device is an air fryer type heating mechanism (lid 16 has a heating coil 44 capable of air frying, paragraph 066, lines 1-2), and comprises a motor having a output shaft (electric fan motor 108 for driving an output shaft 107, paragraph 0070, lines 6-8, Fig. 24 and 25), a heat circulating fan (fan 43, Fig. 24) and a heating tube (heating coil 44, Fig. 5).
Zakowski et al does not disclose a cooling fan and both the cooling fan and the heat circulating fan are connected to the output shaft of the motor, a control knob or a control panel is arranged on the heating head.
Moon et al (‘845) teaches a cooling fan (cooling fan 50, Fig. 3), a heat circulating fan (oven fan 52, Fig. 3) and a heating tube (heating element 58 is a ceramic coated infrared heater, paragraph 0016, line 5); both the cooling fan and the heat circulating fan are connected to the output shaft of the motor (a motor 48 for driving a cooling fan 50 and an oven fan 52 via a common shaft 54, paragraph 0016, lines 2-3), a control panel is arranged on the heating head (control panel 68 is arranged on power head 16, Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zakowski et al and Moon et al (‘845) before him or her, to modify the cover of Zakowski et al to include the oven fan, cooling fan and control panel as taught by Moon et al (‘845) because the combination allows for increased versatility of a cooking apparatus.
Claim(s) 5,6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakowski et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon et al (US20110220632A1).
With regards to claim 5, Zakowski et al discloses wherein a positioning mechanism is arranged between a bottom of the heating head and the top of the cooker body (lid 16 has an engagement hook portion 51 that engages the flange of cooking pot 14, Fig. 11).
Zakowski et al does not disclose wherein a positioning mechanism is arranged between a top of the heating base and the bottom of cooker body.
Moon et al (‘632) teaches wherein a positioning mechanism is arranged between a top of the heating base and the bottom of cooker body (attachment clips 24 are attached to side wall of the base 20 to latch with the securing member 56 of the cooking housing 14, Fig. 3,4,13A).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zakowski et al and Moon et al (‘632) before him or her, to modify the base and cooking body of Zakowski et al to include the clips and securing member as taught by Moon et al (‘632) because the combination allows for enhanced structural connection between a heating base and cooking body.
With regards to claim 6, Moon et al (‘632) teaches wherein an annular first positioning step is formed on the top of the heating base, a first positioning recess for receiving the positioning step is formed on the bottom of the cooker body, when the cooker body is placed on the heating base the first positioning step latches inside the first positioning recess (attachment clips 24 are attached to side wall of the base 20 to latch with the securing member 56 of the cooking housing 14, Fig. 3,4,13A).
With regards to claim 8, Zakowski et al discloses wherein an annular second positioning flange is formed on the top of the cooker body, a second positioning recess receiving the second positioning flange is formed on the bottom of the heating head, when the heating head is placed on the cooker body the second positioning flange latches inside the second positioning recess (lid 16 has an engagement hook portion 51 that engages the flange of cooking pot 14, Fig. 11).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakowski et al and Moon et al (‘632) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Chang (US 5,429,039).
With regards to claim 7, Zakowski et al and Moon et al (‘632) does not teach wherein the first electric heating device having a heating surface is positioned inside the heating base and is capable of floating up and down, and the first electric heating device is supported by springs to extend the heating surface of the first electric heating device beyond a top surface of the first positioning step.
Chang teaches wherein the first electric heating device having a heating surface is positioned inside the heating base and is capable of floating up and down, and the first electric heating device is supported by springs to extend the heating surface of the first electric heating device beyond a top surface of the first positioning step (electric heater 31 having a heating surface that is positioned inside the inner casing 3 and is capable of floating up and down by spring 305 from bottom wall 30 of inner casing 3, Fig. 7).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zakowski et al, Moon et al (‘632) and Chang before him or her, to modify the base and cooking body of Zakowski et al and Moon et al (‘632) to include the springs as taught by Chang because the combination allows for a heating device that turns off when a cook body is not present to preserve the internal components of an electric heater.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of De’Longhi et al (US2018/0333004).
With regards to claim 9, Wilcox does not disclose wherein a seal ring is arranged on the bottom surface of the heating head, so as to form a seal between the heating head and the cooker body when the heating head is placed on the top of the cooker body.
De’Longhi et al teaches wherein a seal ring is arranged on the bottom surface of the heating head, so as to form a seal between the heating head and the cooker body when the heating head is placed on the top of the cooker body (the lid 18 comprises a packing 34 to ensure the seal of the lid 18 and configured to collaborate as a function of the size and or shape of the container 14, paragraph 0055,0056).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wilcox and De’Longhi et al before him or her, to modify the cover of Wilcox to include the packing as taught by De’Longhi et al because the combination allows for a seal for a cover that promotes structural integrity.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakowski et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of De’Longhi et al.
With regards to claim 9, Zakowski et al does not disclose wherein a seal ring is arranged on the bottom surface of the heating head, so as to form a seal between the heating head and the cooker body when the heating head is placed on the top of the cooker body.
De’Longhi et al teaches wherein a seal ring is arranged on the bottom surface of the heating head, so as to form a seal between the heating head and the cooker body when the heating head is placed on the top of the cooker body (the lid 18 comprises a packing 34 to ensure the seal of the lid 18 and configured to collaborate as a function of the size and or shape of the container 14, paragraph 0055,0056).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zakowski et al and De’Longhi et al before him or her, to modify the cover of Zakowski et al to include the packing as taught by De’Longhi et al because the combination allows for a seal for a cover that promotes structural integrity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not disclose or teach the housing has a shell with an inner wall and a liner with a peripheral wall which flares outwardly towards the bottom of the liner, the liner has a circular through hole running through the liner, and the cooking container is removably placed inside the through hole.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J WARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761