DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 11/28/2023. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-4, 7, 13-18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US 2021/0029704), hereinafter “Zhou“, in view of Yao et al (US 2023/0097512), hereinafter “Yao“.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication device from a network, first signaling identifying a frequency resource set (pars [0042-0043] & Fig. 3);
receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network (pars [0042-0043] & Fig. 3), second signaling identifying two or more frequency resources from the frequency resource set to be activated simultaneously (par [0101]), wherein the two or more frequency resources comprises a first frequency resource and a second frequency resource (pars [0205-0206]); and
Zhou does not explicitly teach in response to receiving the second signaling, communicating, by the wireless communication device with the network using the two or more frequency resources simultaneously.
Yao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in response to receiving the second signaling, communicating, by the wireless communication device with the network using the two or more frequency resources simultaneously (pars [0040-0042] [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Zhou to Yao, in order to enhancing resource allocation to facilitate these multicast and broadcast communications as needed in the new radio system such as 5G networks (as suggested by Yao in paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 1, Zhou further teaches wherein the frequency resource set comprises a Bandwidth Part (BWP) set; and each of the two or more frequency resources is a BWP (pars [0101-0103]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 1, Zhou further teaches wherein communicating using the two or more frequency resources simultaneously comprises activating (pars [0101-0103]), by the wireless communication device, the two or more frequency resources in response to determining that the two or more frequency resources meet at least one condition (pars [0101-0103]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 1, Zhou further teaches wherein the frequency resource set comprises a first frequency resource set and a second frequency resource set (pars [0041-0043]); and the first frequency resource is from the first frequency resource set (pars [0041-0043]), and the second frequency resource is from the second frequency resource set (pars [0205-0206]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 1, Zhou does not clearly teach comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, a frequency resource list comprising at least one frequency resource; and switching, by the wireless communication device, to the at least one frequency resource in response to Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration or reconfiguration.
Yao, In the same field of endeavor teaches receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, a frequency resource list comprising at least one frequency resource; and switching, by the wireless communication device, to the at least one frequency resource in response to Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration or reconfiguration (pars [0038-0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Zhou to Yao, in order to enhancing resource allocation to facilitate these multicast and broadcast communications as needed in the new radio system such as 5G networks (as suggested by Yao in paragraph [0001]).
Regarding to claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a network to a wireless communication device, first signaling identifying a frequency resource set (pars [0042-0043] & Fig. 3);
sending, by the network to the wireless communication device (pars [0042-0043] & Fig. 3), second signaling identifying two or more frequency resources from the frequency resource set to be activated simultaneously (par [0101]), wherein the two or more frequency resources comprises a first frequency resource and a second frequency resource (pars [0205-0206]); and
Zhou does not explicitly teach in response to sending the second signaling, communicating, by the network with the wireless communication device using the two or more frequency resources simultaneously.
Yao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in response to sending the second signaling, communicating, by the network with the wireless communication device using the two or more frequency resources simultaneously (pars [0040-0042] [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Zhou to Yao, in order to enhancing resource allocation to facilitate these multicast and broadcast communications as needed in the new radio system such as 5G networks (as suggested by Yao in paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 15, Zhou further teaches wherein the frequency resource set comprises a Bandwidth Part (BWP) set (pars [0098] [0101-0103]); and each of the two or more frequency resources is a BWP (pars [0098] [0101-0103]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 15, Zhou further teaches wherein the wireless communication device activates the two or more frequency resources in response to determining that the two or more frequency resources meet at least one condition (pars [0098] [0101-0103]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 15, Zhou further teaches wherein the frequency resource set comprises a first frequency resource set and a second frequency resource set (pars [0041-0043]); and the first frequency resource is from the first frequency resource set (pars [0041-0043]), and the second frequency resource is from the second frequency resource set (pars [0041-0043]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Zhou and Yao teach the method of claim 15, Zhou does not clearly teach comprising sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a frequency resource list comprising at least one frequency resource, wherein the wireless communication device switches to the at least one frequency resource in response to Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration or reconfiguration.
Yao, In the same field of endeavor teaches comprising sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, a frequency resource list comprising at least one frequency resource, wherein the wireless communication device switches to the at least one frequency resource in response to Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration or reconfiguration (pars [0038-0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Zhou to Yao, in order to enhancing resource allocation to facilitate these multicast and broadcast communications as needed in the new radio system such as 5G networks (as suggested by Yao in paragraph [0001]).
Regarding to claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 15.
Regarding to claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 5-6, 8-12, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose receiving, by the wireless communication device from the network, scheduling indication on the first frequency resource, the scheduling indication schedules downlink data to be received by the wireless communication device from the network using a third frequency resource or uplink data to be transmitted by the wireless communication device to the network using the third frequency resource; determining, by the wireless communication device, to activate the third frequency resource in response to receiving the scheduling indication on the first frequency resource as specified in the claim.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose determining, by the wireless communication device, that no downlink transmission has been received within a time interval corresponding to an inactivity timer on any frequency resource in the frequency resource set since receiving a previous downlink transmission on a frequency resource in the frequency resource set; and switching, by the wireless communication device, to at least one default frequency resource from the frequency resource set in response to determining that no downlink transmission has been received within the time interval corresponding to the inactivity timer on any frequency resource in the frequency resource set since receiving the previous downlink transmission on the frequency resource in the frequency resource set as specified in the claim.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose determining, by the wireless communication device, that no downlink transmission has been received within a time interval corresponding to a first inactivity timer on the first frequency resource in the frequency resource set since receiving a previous downlink transmission on the first frequency resource in the frequency resource set; and deactivating, by the wireless communication device, the first frequency resource in response to determining that no downlink transmission has been received within the time interval corresponding to the first inactivity timer on the first frequency resource since receiving the previous downlink transmission on the first frequency resource as specified in the claim.
As to claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose determining, by the wireless communication device, that no downlink transmission has been received within a time interval corresponding to a first inactivity timer on a first frequency resource in the frequency resource set since receiving a previous downlink transmission on the first frequency resource; and switching, by the wireless communication device, to at least one default frequency resource from the first frequency resource in response to determining that no downlink transmission has been received within the time interval corresponding to the first inactivity timer on the first frequency resource since receiving the previous downlink transmission on the first frequency resource as specified in the claim.
As to claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose sending, by the network to the wireless communication device, scheduling indication on the first frequency resource, the scheduling indication schedules downlink data to be received by the wireless communication device from the network using a third frequency resource or uplink data to be transmitted by the wireless communication device to the network using the third frequency resource, wherein the wireless communication device determines to activate the third frequency resource in response to receiving the scheduling indication on the first frequency resource as specified in the claim.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641