DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claims 7 and 8 limitation “means for” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “imaging the medium” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 7-8 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11/890492. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim the same device. The current application has a broader independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Limitation “an ultrasound transducer for controlling each of the plurality of ultrasound probes to propagate unfocused ultrasound energy to a brain” is unclear. As see in applicant’s abstract, the transducer is arranged in each of the plurality of ultrasound probes. The transducer does not control the probes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-17 and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alleman et al. (US 2012/0083718 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Sackner (US 2006/0185083 (provided in the IDS)) and further in view of Li et al. (US 2018/0001114).
Addressing claims 1 and 21, Alleman discloses a device for treating dementia, comprising:
a plurality of ultrasound probes (see Fig. 3B and [0119]; 105-106);
an ultrasound transducer for controlling each of the plurality of ultrasound probes to propagate unfocused ultrasound energy to a brain (see Fig. 3B and [0119]; 105-106);
an ultrasound generator connected to each of the plurality of ultrasound probes, wherein the ultrasound generator is configured to control the ultrasound transducer so as to sequentially radiate the unfocused ultrasound energy from the plurality of ultrasound probes, wherein a frequency of the radiated unfocused ultrasound energy is set within a range of from 0.5 megahertz (“MHz”) to 0.8 MHz (see [0077], [0096], [0111], [0119], [0209], [0215], [0218], [0233] and Fig. 1; generator in control 102; transducer cycle sequentially),
wherein the unfocused ultrasound energy irradiation from the plurality of ultrasound probes is performed at an interval of 0.30/f ms or more from an end of ultrasound irradiation from one ultrasound probe to a start of ultrasound irradiation from a next ultrasound probe, where f represents a frequency (MHz) of a pulse to be transmitted (see Fig. 16A and [0214-0215]; 0.30/f ms mean 0.3 milliseconds interval; as see in Fig. 16A and [0214-0215] there is an interval duration between each ultrasound probe transmission; each transmission pulse is 16 milliseconds and total 16 pulses therefore the total time of the pulses is 256 milliseconds; cycle sequentially about every half a second which is 500 millisecond; 16 pulses in a cycle of 500 milliseconds and the pulses total 256 milliseconds therefore the off-time interval between the pulse produce by each probe is more than 0.3 milliseconds).
wherein the unfocused ultrasound energy is diffused in an inversely tapered shape gradually enlarging in diameter toward a radiation direction (see Fig. 9A),
the ultrasound generator is configured to stimulate by applying an average intensity of 720 mW/cm2 (see [0208]).
Alleman does not disclose wherein a spreading angle of an inclined surface of the unfocused ultrasound energy in the inversely tapered shape enlarging in diameter is greater than about 50° and less than 100°, and treatment to enhance the expression of endothelial nitric oxide synthase (eNOS), vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF), and fibroblast growth factor (FGF).
Sackner explicitly discloses treatment to improve dementia by release nitric oxide from eNOS (see [0161]; release nitric oxide from eNOS is enhancing eNOS because when eNOS is weaken it does not release much nitric oxide therefore enhance it by stimulate it to release more nitric oxide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alleman to have wherein the dementia is treated by enhancing expression of endothelial nitric oxide synthase (“eNOS”) as taught by Sackner because enhance eNOS help release nitric oxide to improve cerebral blood flow and long-term potentiation (LTP), a persistent increase in synaptic strength of nerves implicated in certain forms of learning and memory (see [0161]).
Li explicitly discloses wherein a spreading angle of an inclined surface of the unfocused ultrasound energy in the inversely tapered shape enlarging in diameter is greater than about 50° and less than 100° (see Figs. 1 and 3; the upper and lower part of beam each spread/incline at 26.57 and 36.87 degree therefore the beam spreading angle is 53.14 and 73.74; frequency is related to angle; however, as see in Figure the diameter of the ultrasound disk also related to the angle; there no evidence in Li shows that higher frequency result in lower angle; there are many factors involve in calculation angle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alleman to have wherein a spreading angle of an inclined surface of the unfocused ultrasound energy in the inversely tapered shape enlarging in diameter is greater than about 50° as taught by Li because this beam-spreading profile producing wide anatomical coverage for the targeted cerebral vasculature (see [0088]). The beam angle is a designer choice to cover the treatment area. the Board already agree with examiner that it is obvious to combine the reference. Also see the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure for spreading angle of 50-120 degree.
Addressing claims 10-12, Sackner discloses:
addressing claim 10. The device according to claim 1, wherein the dementia is Alzheimer’s disease or vascular dementia (see [0030], [0051], [0163] and [0165]).
addressing claim 11, for reducing at least one member selected from the group consisting of Amyloid B40 and Amyloid B42, wherein the dementia is Alzheimer’s disease (see [0161-163]; reducing Amyloid β40 or Amyloid β42 is a result of brain stimulation and not a method step; Alleman discloses method step of ultrasound stimulation to treat brain which result in reducing Amyloid β40 and Amyloid β42; also see the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure)
addressing claim 12, wherein the dementia is cerebrovascular dementia (see [0161-0163 and [0185]; Alleman’s device in view of Sackner is capable of treating cerebrovascular dementia).
Addressing claims 2-3, 6-9 and 23-25, Alleman discloses:
addressing claim 2, wherein the radiated unfocused ultrasound energy is a non-continuous wave, and a number of cycles thereof is set within a range of from 1 cycle to 64 cycles (see [0210]; cycles is calculated by multiply pulse duration by frequency; pulse duration of 10 microsecond multiply by 3 or 3.5 MHz gives 30 and 35 cycles).
addressing claim 3, wherein a sound pressure of radiated ultrasound directly under the ultrasound transducer is within a range of from 0.1 MegaPascal (“MPa”) to 1.5 MPa (see [0101], claim 19 and [0216]; peak rarefaction pressure is half of ultrasound pressure passing through tissue or half of ultrasound pressure directly under the ultrasound transducer therefore ultrasound pressure passing through tissue or ultrasound pressure directly under the ultrasound transducer is 0.6 to 2 MPa which is in the range of applicant claim).
addressing claim 6, wherein the plurality of ultrasound probes each further include an ultrasound receiving element for receiving ultrasound radiated from mutually different ultrasound probes and transmitted through the brain (see [0279]; transducers function as transcranial Doppler monitor is a receiver; examiner interprets the claim limitation as transducers also function as receivers).
addressing claim 7, comprising means for evaluating a treatment effect of ultrasound in accordance with a received intensity of the transmitted ultrasound (see [0078] and [0279]; Doppler monitoring is use to evaluate a treatment effect).
addressing claim 8, output adjusting means for adjusting an output of ultrasound to be output in accordance with a received intensity of the transmitted ultrasound (see [0106-0107], [0120], [0175], [0206], [0208], [0279]; adjust the intensity and cap the intensity at appropriate value therefore the system is monitor the output intensity; the system adjust the output to an appropriate intensity within the acceptable treatment range; especially [0175], [0206] and [0208]).
addressing claim 9, wherein the radiated ultrasound is a non-continuous wave, and the number of cycles thereof is set in 32 cycles (see [0210]; cycles is calculated by multiply pulse duration by frequency; pulse duration of 10 microsecond multiply by 3 or 3.5 MHz gives 30 and 35 cycles).
addressing claims 23-25, wherein the radiated unfocused ultrasound energy is a non-continuous wave, and a number of cycles thereof is set within a range of from 1 cycle to 64 cycles, 24 cycles to 40 cycles and the number of cycles thereof is set to 32 cycles (see [0210]; cycles is calculated by multiply pulse duration by frequency; pulse duration of 10 microsecond multiply by 3 or 3.5 MHz gives 30 and 35 cycles).
Addressing claims 5 and 22, Li discloses:
addressing claim 5, wherein the spreading angle is less than about 100° (see Fig. 3).
addressing claim 2, wherein the spreading angle is about 77° (see Fig. 15A and [0214-0215]; Li discloses spreading angle close to 77°).
Addressing claims 13-17 and 19-20, the device in claims 1-3 and 5-12 include a non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 13-17 and 19-20 therefore claims 13-17 and 19-20 are being rejected for the same reason as claims 1-3 and 5-12.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alleman et al. (US 2012/0083718 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Sackner (US 2006/0185083 (provided in the IDS)), further in view of Li et al. (US 2018/0001114) and Tyler (US 2012/0289869 (provided in the IDS)).
Addressing claims 4 and 18, Alleman does not disclose wherein the sufficient treatment time ranges from greater than 5 minutes and wherein the instructions are configured to control the plurality of ultrasound probes for the treatment time from 1 minute to 60 minutes per treatment and for treatment performed 1 to 7 times in 5 to 10 days, and those treatments continue once in 1 to 4 months. Tyler discloses wherein the sufficient treatment time ranges from greater than 5 minutes and wherein the instructions are configured to control the plurality of ultrasound probes for the treatment time from 1 minute to 60 minutes per treatment and for treatment performed 1 to 7 times in 5 to 10 days, and those treatments continue once in 1 to 4 months (see [0027], [0037], [0041], [0086], [0142], [0144], [0149], [0153] and claim 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alleman to have wherein the sufficient treatment time ranges from greater than 5 minutes and wherein the instructions are configured to control the plurality of ultrasound probes for the treatment time from 1 minute to 60 minutes per treatment and for treatment performed 1 to 7 times in 5 to 10 days, and those treatments continue once in 1 to 4 months as taught by Tyler because this help improve brain condition (see [0027]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2016/0243381 (see [0046]; ultrasound treatment for dementia); US 2015/0151142 (see [0077]; prf less than 2.66 khz; pulse duration of 1 microsecond to 200 microsecond is within the claiming range) and US 2018/0304101 (see [0031] and [0056]; ultrasound brain stimulation reduce Amyloid β40 and Amyloid β42); US 2016/0001096 (see [0175], [0182], [0186] and abstract; neuromodulation of whole brain for 15 minutes to 60 minutes); US 2017/0080256 (see [0115]; stimulate the whole brain) and US 2014/0127329 (see [0106]; weak and aging eNOS reduced nitric oxide level) and US 2015/0073400 (see [0109]; beam spreading angle of 50-120 degree).
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797