DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims indicate in parenthesis abbreviations that are just abstract representations not short hand abbreviations and should be removed. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims should be indefinite, 112(b) because claims 2-3, 6-8 refer to “it” and it is unclear what the “it” references.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (hereinafter Jiang)(CN 113872675 A) in view of Chakraborty et al. (hereinafter Chakra)(US 2018/0070363).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches a method for allocating time-frequency telecommunication resources in a wireless satellite telecommunication system, said satellite telecommunication system comprising a satellite, user terminals UE (20_1, 20_2), the satellite being suitable for simultaneously rendering multiple telecommunication beams (B_1, B_2) that are each associated, at a given time, with a separate user terminal UE (20_1, 20_2) and for dynamically re-centering each beam on the UE associated with said beam; each telecommunication beam (B_1, B_2) being established according to time-frequency resources selectively allocated to the associated UE (20_1, 20_2); said method being comprising the following steps rendered by an electronic resource allocation unit: obtaining the position of each UE (20_1, 20_2)(claim 1, optimal bema and time slot; satellite and all the terminals under the satellite coverage; beam center pointing according to the terminal position information; resource allocation message; obtaining latest geographic position information of the terminal);
Jiang did not teach specifically given a set of grids (G1, G2) each representing at least a portion of the Earth's surface and each comprising a plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the grid, the distance between any two areas of a grid being above a determined non-zero threshold associated with the grid, the time-frequency resources are allocated relative to a time T by applying at least the following rule, at least the same time-frequency resource being associated with the grid beforehand: said time-frequency resource associated with the grid may be allocated to each of 2 UEs (20_1, 20_2) only if the obtained positions of said 2 UEs are in separate areas from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the grid.
However, Chakra teaches in an analogous art given a set of grids (G1, G2) each representing at least a portion of the Earth's surface and each comprising a plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the grid, the distance between any two areas of a grid being above a determined non-zero threshold associated with the grid, the time-frequency resources are allocated relative to a time T by applying at least the following rule, at least the same time-frequency resource being associated with the grid beforehand: said time-frequency resource associated with the grid may be allocated to each of 2 UEs (20_1, 20_2) only if the obtained positions of said 2 UEs are in separate areas from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the grid(P[0085], locations of the UEs; first and second UE in sector 1 and region 2(grid on earth); operation resources allocated to the first UE are different from the local operation resources allocated to the second UE; P[0073], signal strength above threshold; P[0042], satellite radio) . Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method given a set of grids (G1, G2) each representing at least a portion of the Earth's surface and each comprising a plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the grid, the distance between any two areas of a grid being above a determined non-zero threshold associated with the grid, the time-frequency resources are allocated relative to a time T by applying at least the following rule, at least the same time-frequency resource being associated with the grid beforehand: said time-frequency resource associated with the grid may be allocated to each of 2 UEs (20_1, 20_2) only if the obtained positions of said 2 UEs are in separate areas from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the grid in order to reduce interference.
Regarding claim 2, Chakra teaches the time-frequency resource allocation method according to claim 1, wherein if, during a first step of allocating time-frequency resources using said set of grids (G1, G2) that are each associated with a first determined threshold, it has not been possible to allocate time-frequency resources to at least one UE (20_1, 20_2) in accordance with the rule, an additional allocation step is performed using at least one set of additional grid(s) representing at least said portion of the Earth's surface and each comprising a plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the grid, the distance between any two areas of a grid being above a second determined non-zero threshold associated with the grid, which is below the first threshold(P[0079], two UEs in the coverage area may be allocated the same resources if the two UEs are distant from each other; may not cause inter UE interference to each other due to distance between the UEs).
Claims 5-7 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 1-2 respectively.
Claim(s) 3, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (hereinafter Jiang)(CN 113872675 A) in view of Chakraborty et al. (hereinafter Chakra)(US 2018/0070363) and Buer al. (hereinafter Buer)(US 2018/0006710).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jiang and Chakra teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the time-frequency resources are allocated, relative to a time T, by moreover applying at least the following rule: given a first grid (G1), or a second grid (G2) separate from the first grid, from the set of grids associated with a first time-frequency resource, or a second time-frequency resource separate from the first time-frequency resource: when a UE (20_1, 20_2) is determined as being located in both a first area from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the first grid and a second area from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the second grid, it is determined whether the UE is closer to the center of the first area or to the center of the second area; and if the UE is determined as being closer to the center of the first area, or the second area, the first time-frequency resource, or the second time-frequency resource, is allocated thereto. However, Buer teaches in an analogous art wherein the time-frequency resources are allocated, relative to a time T, by moreover applying at least the following rule: given a first grid (G1), or a second grid (G2) separate from the first grid, from the set of grids associated with a first time-frequency resource, or a second time-frequency resource separate from the first time-frequency resource: when a UE (20_1, 20_2) is determined as being located in both a first area from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the first grid and a second area from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the second grid, it is determined whether the UE is closer to the center of the first area or to the center of the second area; and if the UE is determined as being closer to the center of the first area, or the second area, the first time-frequency resource, or the second time-frequency resource, is allocated thereto(P[0054-0056]; Figs. 1 and 3B; P[0056], first position 355 may be associated with service beam coverage area 126-c and second position 360 may be associated with second service beam coverage area 126-d; upon exceeding a threshold distance from the approved position 355). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the time-frequency resources are allocated, relative to a time T, by moreover applying at least the following rule: given a first grid (G1), or a second grid (G2) separate from the first grid, from the set of grids associated with a first time-frequency resource, or a second time-frequency resource separate from the first time-frequency resource: when a UE (20_1, 20_2) is determined as being located in both a first area from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the first grid and a second area from said plurality of non-contiguous areas distributed in the second grid, it is determined whether the UE is closer to the center of the first area or to the center of the second area; and if the UE is determined as being closer to the center of the first area, or the second area, the first time-frequency resource, or the second time-frequency resource, is allocated theretoin order to have improved efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (hereinafter Jiang)(CN 113872675 A) in view of Chakraborty et al. (hereinafter Chakra)(US 2018/0070363) and Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee)(US 2017/0366244).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jiang and Chakra teaches all the particulars of the claim except the time-frequency resource allocation method according to claim 1, wherein the position of a UE (20_1, 20_2) is obtained by rendering the following steps: calculating values of the beamforming weights maximizing the power of predefined signals received from a UE; estimating the direction of arrival, referred to as DOA, of a signal from a UE according to said beamforming weights determined for the UE by applying a regression algorithm linking beamforming weights and DOAs; determining the position of the UE according to at least the intersection of the Earth's surface and the estimated DOA. However, Lee teaches in an analogous art wherein the position of a UE (20_1, 20_2) is obtained by rendering the following steps: calculating values of the beamforming weights maximizing the power of predefined signals received from a UE; estimating the direction of arrival, referred to as DOA, of a signal from a UE according to said beamforming weights determined for the UE by applying a regression algorithm linking beamforming weights and DOAs; determining the position of the UE according to at least the intersection of the Earth's surface and the estimated DOA(P[0110-0111], measurement results for each beam direction; select a value predicted (regression) as a more detailed measurement results; allocate a weight value differently depending on accuracy/reliability of each measurement result and combine weight values to be used for position estimation of the UE; transmit signals using a beam direction reported by the UE as having highest accuracy/reliability). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the position of a UE (20_1, 20_2) is obtained by rendering the following steps: calculating values of the beamforming weights maximizing the power of predefined signals received from a UE; estimating the direction of arrival, referred to as DOA, of a signal from a UE according to said beamforming weights determined for the UE by applying a regression algorithm linking beamforming weights and DOAs; determining the position of the UE according to at least the intersection of the Earth's surface and the estimated DOA in order to have improved accuracy/reliability.
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647