DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner decided to maintain 112 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments on page 8-9, applicants argue “Applicant respectfully disagrees that the Specification is silent regarding "engineering services". The Specification describes the engineering services in detail, including but not limited to: " Functional Role: The specification explicitly defines engineering services as being "configured for preparing respective configuration collections for specific ones of the RT services 15". (Spec. [0018].)”. Examiner respectfully disagree because applicants refer to specification paragraph 0018 and 0019 but it does not define the terms “engineering services”. Paragraph 0018. For instance, the forwarding of the configuration collections may be in response to input from a user, e.g. a human user, possibly the same user as interacted with the engineering platform for preparing the configuration collections. Such input may e.g. be via a user interface (UI) 11 of the deploy manager 13. Thus, the forwarding may, in some embodiments, be in response to input from a user U, e.g. via a deploy user interface 11 and paragraph 0019 Additionally or alternatively, the instructing of each of the RT services, by the deploy service 10, to apply the configurations of the configuration collection forwarded to it may, in some embodiments, be triggered by input from a user U, e.g. a human user, possibly the same user as interacted with the engineering platform for preparing the configuration collections. Thus, the instructing may be triggered by input from a user U, e.g. via a deploy user interface 11.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10-11, applicants argue “Sarojini fails to disclose or teach "from each of a plurality of engineering services configured for preparing respective configuration collections for specific ones of the RT services, via a communication link or network between the deploy service and each of the engineering services, obtaining at least one configuration collection, each configuration collection being addressed to a specific one of the RT services." That is, Sarojini does not describe a deploy service that obtains the configuration collections from the engineering
services via a communication link or network between the deploy service and each of the engineering services. Since claims 1, 11, 12, 13, and 15 of the present application specify that there is a communication link or network between the deploy service and each of the engineering services, this indicates that they are separate, distinct entities”. Examiner respectfully disagree because Sarojini paragraph 0076 teaches “transmit the plurality of configuration files to the data server” and paragraph 0042-0052 teaches “Step S413, the plurality of configuration files are stored in the configuration cache 224 and the download tool 222 downloads the plurality of configuration files to the data server 210”.
Applicant’s arguments on page 10-11, applicants argue “claim 9 recites: "The method of claim 1, further comprising: using discovery to identify the engineering services; and from the identified engineering services, requesting the addressed configuration collections. Claim 9 accordingly specifies the manner in which the deploy service obtains the configuration collections. The Office Action at page 5 alleges that Sarojini discloses this claimed feature. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Sarojini merely describes that the configuration tool 220 requests to configure the system. (Par. [0050]”. Examiner respectfully disagree because applicant’s first said it does not teach but later applicant’s recites Sarojini merely describes, it’s not merely it does teaches the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11-13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 11-13 and 14 recites the limitations “engineering services” is not clear to the examiner. Specification is silent regarding the terms. Dependent claims did not clarify the terms so dependent claims also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-17 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAROJINI et al. USPGPUB 20160380816 A1(hereinafter “SAROJINI”).
As to claim 1, SAROJINI teaches a method performed by a deploy service for coordinated deploy to runtime, RT, services in an automation system (paragraph 0050 and FIG. 2C and 4B), the method comprising: from each of a plurality of engineering services configured for preparing respective configuration collections for specific ones of the RT services, via a communication link or network between the deploy service and each of the engineering services, obtaining at least one configuration collection, each configuration collection being addressed to a specific one of the RT services (paragraph 0042-0052 and 0076, FIG. 2C, 4B(step S413) “plurality of configuration methods 225 to manage transactions when the configuration tool 220 configures at least one of the data server 210, the historian 204 and the acquisition engine 206. The data server 210 includes, not limited to, the data server configuration module 226. The historian 204 includes, not limited to, the historian configuration module 227. The acquisition engine 206 includes, not limited to, the acquisition engine configuration module 228”); forwarding each of the obtained configuration collections to the RT service to which it is addressed (paragraph 0053 and FIG. 4B step S414 “transmit the configuration files and configuration functions to the data server configuration module 226, the historian configuration module 227 and the acquisition engine configuration module 228. The configuration library 221use the plurality of services 212 to support the transmission from the configuration methods 225 to the data server configuration module 226”); for each of the configuration collections, in response to the forwarding thereof, receiving an acknowledgement from the RT service to which it was forwarded, indicating that the RT service is able to apply the configuration collection (paragraph 0054-0055 and FIG. 4B step S415 “data server configuration module 226, the historian configuration module 227 and the acquisition engine configuration module 228 validate the plurality of configuration files”); in response to receiving the acknowledgements for all of the configuration collections, instructing each of the RT services from which the acknowledgements were received to apply the configuration collections (paragraph 0056 and FIG. 4B S417 “configuration library 221 notifies the data server configuration module 226, the historian configuration module 227 and the acquisition engine configuration module 228 to continue with the configuration function when there is no validation error”).
As to claim 2, SAROJINI teaches wherein the forwarding is in response to input(paragraph 0061 “a request to configure the system 200 is initiated automatically or manually by a user”).
As to claim 3, SAROJINI teaches further comprising: storing the obtained configuration collections in a deploy store before the forwarding (paragraph 0084 “store the plurality of configuration files to the data server”).
As to claim 4, SAROJINI teaches wherein communication between the deploy service and each of the RT services is in accordance with Open Platform Communications, OPC, Unified Architecture, UA (paragraph 0060 “data access system 200 uses OPC UA standard. An OPC UA client 202”).
As to claim 6, SAROJINI teaches wherein the instructing is triggered by inpu
As to claim 7, SAROJINI teaches wherein at least one of the RT services is a controller comprised in a Distributed Control System, DCS (paragraph 0060 “An example of the data source 208 is a distributed control system (DCS). The data source 208 reads data from field devices 209 in an industrial plant”).
As to claim 9, SAROJINI teaches further comprising: using discovery to identify the engineering services; and from the identified engineering services, requesting the addressed configuration collections (paragraph 0050-0054 and FIG. 2A-4B).
As to claim 10, SAROJINI teaches wherein at least one of the RT services is a Human-Machine Interface, HMI, e.g. including services for Operator Graphics, Trend Displays, and/or Alarm & Event Lists (paragraph 0023-0028 and FIG. 2A-2C).
As to claim 11, is related to claim 1 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 12, is related to claim 1 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 13, is related to claim 1 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 14, SAROJINI teaches wherein the engineering services are comprised in an engineering platform accessible to a user via a web portal (paragraph 0092-0094).
As to claim 15, is related to claim 1 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 16, SAROJINI teaches further comprising: storing the obtained configuration collections in a deploy store before the forwarding (paragraph 0084 “store the plurality of configuration files to the data server”).
As to claim 17, SAROJINI teaches wherein communication between the deploy service and each of the RT services is in accordance with Open Platform Communications, OPC, Unified Architecture, UA (paragraph 0060 “data access system 200 uses OPC UA standard. An OPC UA client 202”).
As to claim 19, cancelled.
As to claim 20, cancelled.
As to claim 21, SAROJINI teaches wherein the deploy service is agnostic to the content of the configuration collections (paragraph 0052-0076).
As to claim 22, SAROJINI teaches wherein said forwarding is based on metadata associated with the configuration collections (paragraph 0024-0028).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8-9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAROJINI et al. USPGPUB 20160380816 A1(hereinafter “SAROJINI”) in view of BUTLER et al. USPGPUB 2018/0276962 (hereinafter “BUTLER”).
As to claims 5 and 18, SAROJINI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
SAROJINI does not explicitly teach wherein communication between the deploy service and each of the engineering services is in accordance with Hypertext Transfer Protocol, HTTP, Representational State Transfer, REST.
However, BUTLER teaches wherein communication between the deploy service and each of the engineering services is in accordance with Hypertext Transfer Protocol, HTTP, Representational State Transfer, REST (paragraph 0031 “representational state transfer (REST) APIs” and paragraph 0400-0432 “stream is transcoded into HTTPS (also called HTTP over TLS, HTTP over SSL, and HTTP Secure) Live streaming (HLS); for Android it is converted to Real Time Streaming Protocol (RTSP) and for web applications it is converted to SKIP. (HTTP is Hypertext Transfer Protocol)”).
SAROJINI and Spencer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to engineering service system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above engineering service system, as taught by SAROJINI, and incorporating fault condition, as taught by BUTLER.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve monitoring, controlling to give home owners and business owners peace of mind, as suggested by BUTLER (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 8, SAROJINI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
SAROJINI does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one of the RT services is a Modbus TCP/IP, MBTCP, module or a Profinet module.
However, BUTLER teaches wherein the at least one of the RT services is a Modbus TCP/IP, MBTCP, module or a Profinet module (paragraph 0410-0432 “top of the TCP/IP protocol”).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119