DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communications filed 12/31/2025, claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-10 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 4, and 6 are dependent upon a cancelled base claim, and are therefore incomplete as there is no antecedent basis for the limitations within the cancelled base claims.
MPEP 608.01(n): “If the base claim has been canceled, a claim which is directly or indirectly dependent thereon should be rejected as incomplete.”
For the purpose of compact prosecution claim 3 and 6 are being examined as dependent upon claim 1, and claim 4 is being examined as dependent on claim 3, with the aforementioned dependency on claim 1.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "Counterweight Blocks" in Page 2, Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous limitations describe the counterweight block as a single component, and then is further described as two separate components, spaced apart from each other. Further, the current claim limitation of “the counterweight blocks comprise two”, while clear in its intended meaning, does not currently describe what the “two” is presently referring to.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nevill, US Publication No. 2014/0348369 A1, in view of Kuze et al, US Publication No. 2017/0180868 A1, even further in view of Zhang, CN 113873406 A.
Regarding Claim 1, Nevill teaches, A speaker (Title/Abstract) comprising: a housing (FIG. 3, Cabinet 302) having a receiving space (FIG. 3), a sound outlet extending through the housing and communicating with the receiving space (FIG. 3, above the diaphragm 304 displays an outlet for sound extended into the Cabinet 302), and a sound producing unit housed in the receiving space and fixed to the housing (FIG. 3, Transducer, comprising elements 304, 308, 314, 316); the sound producing unit dividing the receiving space into a front cavity and a rear cavity (FIG. 3, Front cavity corresponds to the space in front of the diaphragm 304, the Rear Cavity corresponds to First Volume 310, in FIG. 4, 5, and 6, the rear cavity is First Volume 410/510/610, and the unlabeled area below the second Chassis 430/530/630.), the front cavity being communicated with the sound outlet (FIG. 3, the front cavity goes out into the sound outlet), and a sound producing side of the sound producing unit being oriented toward the sound outlet (FIG. 3, displays the front of the transducer facing the sound outlet portion of the Cabinet 302); wherein, the housing is further provided with a leakage hole through it (FIG. 5, Rear Passageway 434), and the leakage hole being in connection with the rear cavity (Paragraph 40, “FIG. 5 shows a third embodiment which illustrates a variation of the second embodiment. In addition to the vent 432 to the front of the cabinet 402, there is provided a rear passageway 434 which also vents the second air volume 412 to a region to the rear of the cabinet 402.”); the sound producing unit comprises: a frame fixed to the housing and having a holding space (FIG. 4, Second Chassis 430), a vibration system placed in the holding space and a magnetic circuit system for driving the vibration system to vibrate and sound (FIG. 4, Diaphragm 404, Magnetic Circuit 408), and a spring damping element resiliently connecting the magnetic circuit system to the frame (FIG. 6, Element 522 connects the magnetic circuit system to the frame); the vibration system comprises a diaphragm fixed to the frame at its outer periphery and a voice coil which drives the diaphragm to vibrate and sound (FIG. 3, Diaphragm 304, Coil 306); the magnetic circuit system is fixed to the frame and together with the frame and the vibration system encloses an inner acoustic cavity (FIG. 4, Second Chassis 430, First Volume 410), the magnetic circuit system being provided with a magnetic gap (Paragraph 5 describes the decoupling of the magnet from the enclosure in a manner that would constitute a magnetic gap.), the voice coil being fixed to the diaphragm and being inserted into the magnetic gap (FIG. 3, and FIG. 4, Displays the voice coil, fixed to the diaphragm, and further inserted within the magnetic gap.); the spring damping element supports the magnetic circuit system in vibration in the holding space (FIG. 6, Element 522 Supports the circuit system within the holding space of the cabinet 502.), wherein the sound producing unit further comprises a counterweight block housed in the rear cavity and fixed to the magnetic circuit system (FIG. 6, Conical Extension 524, within rear cavity and fixed to the magnet system.).
Nevill does not further teach the magnetic circuit system is further provided with a magnetic through-hole, the magnetic through-hole connects the inner acoustic cavity with the rear cavity, wherein the magnetic circuit system comprises a magnetic bowl, a magnet fixed to the magnetic bowl, and a pole core superimposed on a side of the magnet proximate to the diaphragm; the magnetic bowl comprising a bottom wall of the magnetic bowl and a side wall extending in a curved manner from a peripheral side of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl; the magnet being spaced from the side wall and forming the magnetic gap; and the spring damping element being fixedly coupled to the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl, the counterweight block comprise two, the two counterweight blocks are respectively fixed to the side of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl away from the magnet and spaced apart, the two counterweight blocks being symmetrically disposed about a short axis of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl; the two counterweight blocks, the magnetic bowl and the spring damping element constitutes another vibration system.
However, Kuze et al, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, the magnetic circuit system is further provided with a magnetic through-hole (FIG. 1, Through-hole 8), the magnetic through-hole connects the inner acoustic cavity with the rear cavity (FIG. 1, Paragraph 27, “The formation of through-hole 18 prevents space formed by diaphragm 12 and magnetic circuit 14 via voice coil body 13 from being sealed. When diaphragm 12 vibrates, air moves in and out through through-hole 18. Therefore, diaphragm 12, in a state in which distortion is suppressed, vibrates and plays back a sound.”, FIG. 1 does not further display a housing that would constitute the rear cavity in such an embodiment, but would form a rear cavity communicating with the through-hole if present.), wherein the magnetic circuit system comprises a magnetic bowl (US 2017, Second Frame 11B), a magnet fixed to the magnetic bowl (FIG. 1, Magnetic Circuit 14, Paragraph 53, “Furthermore, since second frame 11B covers the outer periphery of damper 24, magnetic circuit 14,”), and a pole core superimposed on a side of the magnet proximate to the diaphragm (FIG. 1, First Surface 43, Magnetic Circuit 14); the magnetic bowl comprising a bottom wall of the magnetic bowl and a side wall extending in a curved manner from a peripheral side of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl (FIG. 1, displays Second Frame 11B forming a bottom wall and a side wall, curved around a peripheral side.); the magnet being spaced from the side wall and forming the magnetic gap (FIG. 1, displays a gap between Magnetic Circuit 14 and the side of Second Frame 11B); and the spring damping element being fixedly coupled to either the side wall or the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl (FIG. 1, Damper 24, Paragraph 49, “Furthermore, frame 11 may cover diaphragm 12, damper 24, and outer peripheral surface of magnetic circuit 14, and further may hold them.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of a magnetic through hole, connecting the inner acoustic cavity with the rear cavity, as taught by Kuze et al, with the system as taught by Nevill. The motivation being to allow for better diaphragm movement within the system, as necessitated by the embodiment used.
Nevill in view of Kuze et al do not further teach, wherein, the counterweight block comprise two, the two counterweight blocks are respectively fixed to the side of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl away from the magnet and spaced apart, the two counterweight blocks being symmetrically disposed about a short axis of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl; the two counterweight blocks, the magnetic bowl and the spring damping element constitutes another vibration system.
However, Zhang, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, the counterweight block comprise two (FIG. 3, Weight Block 44, Second Portion 442, See Page 7, “FIG. 6 is a magnetic bowl 41, elastic sheet 45 and counterweight block 44 of the structure schematic diagram, as shown in FIG. 3-6, further, the magnetic circuit system 4 comprises a magnetic bowl 41, the magnetic bowl 41 has a bowl bottom 411 and bowl wall 412 around the bowl bottom 411 edge. the weight block 44 has a first portion 441 and a second portion 442, the first portion 441 and the second portion 442 is disposed on the outer side of the bowl wall 412 and surrounds the bowl wall 412 outer side; the top of the first portion 441 and the end face of the bowl wall 412 are in the same height, The bottom of the second portion 442 is at the same height as the outer side of the bowl bottom 411. elastic sheet 45 is configured to surround the bowl wall 412 and located between the first portion 441 and the second portion 442, wherein the portion of the region and the first portion 441 and the second portion 442 contact the elastic sheet 45 has an epitaxial portion 451, the epitaxial portion 451 is connected to the shell wall 412. When the magnetic bowl 41 and the counterweight block 44 are moved, the magnetic bowl 41 and the counterweight block 44 are not contact to the barrier structure 11 and the shell bottom 12.”), the two counterweight blocks are respectively fixed to the side of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl away from the magnet and spaced apart, the two counterweight blocks being symmetrically disposed about a short axis of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl (FIG. 3 displays the two sides with separate counterweight blocks, attached with the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl, further aligned with the short axis of the bottom wall.); the two counterweight blocks, the magnetic bowl and the spring damping element constitutes another vibration system (See Page 3, “when the magnetic bowl and the balance weight block are moved, the magnetic bowl and the balance weight block are not contact with the blocking structure and the shell bottom;”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of two counterweight blocks, respectively fixed to the side of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl away from the magnet and spaced apart, the two counterweight blocks being symmetrically disposed about a short axis of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl; and the two counterweight blocks, the magnetic bowl, and the spring damping element constitutes another vibration system, as taught by Zhang, with the system as taught by Nevill in view of Kuze et al. The motivation being to allow for more access to the counterweights, and allow for further modification of the system as needed for certain embodiments, as well as allowing the system to have separate vibration systems, to reduce force upon the surrounding structure.
Regarding Claim 3, Nevill in view of Kuze et al, further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Kuze et al further teaches, wherein the magnetic through-hole includes a first magnetic through-hole through the pole core, a second magnetic through-hole through the magnet, and a third magnetic through-hole through the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl (FIG. 1, Displays the through-hole 18, creating a hole through the First Surface 43, Magnetic Circuit 14, and Second Frame 11B).
Regarding Claim 4, Nevill in view of Kuze et al further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and Kuze et al further teaches, wherein the first magnetic through-hole is provided orthogonally to the second magnetic through-hole, and the second magnetic through-hole is provided orthogonally to the third magnetic through-hole (FIG. 1, Displays the through-hole 18, creating a hole through the First Surface 43, Magnetic Circuit 14, and Second Frame 11B).
Regarding Claim 6, Nevill in view of Kuze et al further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Nevill further teaches, wherein the counterweight block is affixed to opposite sides of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl proximate to one side of the rear cavity, or is affixed to the geometric center of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl, or is affixed around the circumference of the bottom wall of the magnetic bowl (FIG. 6, displays the weight and it’s alignment with the magnet system.).
Regarding Claim 8, Nevill in view of Kuze et al further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Kuze et al further teaches, wherein the number of the magnetic through-hole is one through the geometric center of the magnetic circuit system or a plurality spaced apart from each other and through the magnetic circuit system (FIG. 1, FIG. 2, Through-Hole 18, Second Through-Hole 26.).
Regarding Claim 9, Nevill in view of Kuze et al further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Nevill further teaches, wherein the leakage hole is a tapered hole formed by stamping from one side proximate to the magnetic circuit system to one side remote from the magnetic circuit system or a groove with a through-hole formed by press-thinning (FIG. 5, Rear Passageway 434, Vent 432, Paragraph 40, “FIG. 5 shows a third embodiment which illustrates a variation of the second embodiment. In addition to the vent 432 to the front of the cabinet 402, there is provided a rear passageway 434 which also vents the second air volume 412 to a region to the rear of the cabinet 402. It will be appreciated that, as a further variation, the forward venting vent of the second embodiment could be dispensed with entirely, with a rear vent similar to this third embodiment being provided.”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nevill, US Publication No. 2014/0348369 A1, in view of Kuze et al, US Publication No. 2017/0180868 A1, even further in view of Zhang, CN 113873406 A, further in view of Wang, WO 2020/134369 A1.
Regarding Claim 10, Nevill in view of Kuze et al further in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not further teach the interior of the magnetic through-hole is filled with a low-flow-resistance sound-absorbing material.
However, Wang, in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the interior of the magnetic through-hole is filled with a low-flow-resistance sound-absorbing material (See Page 2, “The speaker box 100 further includes a powder filling through-hole 112 provided on the top wall 11, the powder filling through-hole 112 communicates the second space 22 with the external environment, and passes through the powder filling through-hole 112 to the second space 22 is filled with sound absorbing material.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of a magnetic through-hole filled with sound-absorbing material, as taught by Wang, with the system as taught by Nevill in view of Kuze et al further in view of Zhang. The motivation being to further control the sound leakage in the system and allow for a better flow rate of air within the rear cavity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DYLAN MAGUIRE NEECE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692