Status of claims
The following claims have been rejected or allowed for the following reasons:
Claim(s) 1-11 is rejected under 35 USC § 103
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-193330, filed on 12/2/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement/statements (IDS) were filed on 11/19/25 and 11/29/23. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Mochizuki (US 20150224926 A1), in further view of Ichikawa (US 20170067609 A1), in further view of Hagaribommanahalli (US 20220379910 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Mochizuki teaches A road surface illuminating device, comprising: an illuminating unit mounted on a vehicle and configured to illuminate (Mochizuki [0006] reads “The driving support apparatus of the present disclosure includes: a projecting unit configured to project a predetermined support pattern on a road surface ahead of an own vehicle or a front window of the own vehicle; and a driving support control unit configured to control a projection state of the support pattern.”);
an environmental sensor configured to detect configured to control (Mochizuki [0022] reads “The driving support ECU 2 is provided with a road information detecting unit 21 configured to detect information of a road where the own vehicle is travelling from the front area image captured by the photographing camera CAM.”);
Mochizuki does not teach wherein the illumination controller is configured to: calculate a movable area, which is an area avoiding the obstacle, based on a detection result of the environmental sensor, and cause the illuminating unit to emit the movable area with
Ichikawa in analogous art, teaches and cause the illuminating unit to emit the movable area with (Ichikawa [0092] reads “FIG. 8A is a view in which marks and the like informing the driver in a following vehicle in an adjacent lane of a lane change of the host vehicle are depicted on the road surface with laser light by the vehicle lamp (1 or 45). In the vehicle lamp (1 or 45), the lane change direction of the host vehicle detected by the turn signal lamp switch 64 or the steering operation detecting mechanism 65 is detected, and first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) indicating a lane change of the host vehicle My changing the lane from a traveling lane R11 to an adjacent lane R12 are depicted based on the detection result. Even though a turn signal lamp of the host vehicle My cannot be viewed, a driver in a different vehicle Otr can avoid a minor collision by visually recognizing the first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) in front thereof.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that this area would be the space where the passing vehicle does not collide with the vehicle in the other lane.);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki with that of Ichikawa to include a system that changes the projected light from a vehicle based on objects that are detected in front of the vehicle. This would allow for better safety around the vehicle. (Ichikawa [0005 – 0006] reads “An object of the present invention of this application is to provide a vehicle lamp of which laser light in red or the like other than white depicting a warning mark and the like in front of a vehicle is prevented from being recognized as configuring a headlamp of the vehicle by a person viewing from a place in front of the vehicle. Another object of the present invention of this application is to provide a vehicle lamp in which the degree of freedom of laser radiation in colors and the like is enhanced and lines, marks, and the like allowing a driver to more easily recognize the circumstances of a road can be depicted, and a vehicle lamp control system.”);
Mochizuki/Ichikawa does not teach wherein the illumination controller is configured to: calculate a movable area, which is an area avoiding the obstacle, based on a detection result of the environmental sensor.
Hagaribommanahalli in analogous art, teaches wherein the illumination controller is configured to: calculate a movable area, which is an area avoiding the obstacle, based on a detection result of the environmental sensor, (Hagaribommanahalli [0103] reads “The reference-trajectory generation layer 504 provides the coarse driveline to a discrete-time speed plan module 528. If an object is a static object and an adjusted drivable area is passable (e.g., the AV can pass through one or more gaps in the drivable area or the adjusted drivable area, as the case may be), then a module 530 can apply static constraints (e.g., lateral constraints) to determine an adjusted drivable area. A module 532 can determine (e.g., predict) the locations of the AV at different discrete points in time. That is, the module 532 determines locations of arrivals, along the coarse driveline, at different time points. If an object is a dynamic object and the object is a lateral constraint, then the module 532 can adjust the drivable area based on the arrival locations so as to avoid collisions.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki/Ichikawa with that of Hagaribommanahalli to include a method for determining an area in which a vehicle can operate within without interfering with existing obstacles. This would allow the vehicle to operate in a manner that is both more optimal and safer for everyone involved. (Hagaribommanahalli 0004] reads “However, sub-optimal or inaccurate scene understanding may cause the programming of the autonomous vehicle to plan sub-optimal trajectories for the AV. As such, detecting, diagnosing, and possibly remedying errors related to scene misunderstanding can be advantageous in autonomous driving.”);
Regarding claim 2 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1, wherein the patterned light has a width greater than or equal to [[the]]a width of [[the]]an entirety of the vehicle including side mirrors. (Mochizuki figures 3 A-D clearly depict different types of patterns that the vehicle can produce, some of which are wider than the entire vehicle.);
Mochizuki figures 3 A-D
Regarding claim 3 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1, wherein the illumination controller Is further configured to determine (Mochizuki [0006] reads “The driving support control unit includes: a road information detecting unit configured to detect information of a road on which the own vehicle is travelling; a travelling state detecting unit configured to detect a traveling state of the own vehicle, the traveling state including at least one of a vehicle speed and a steering direction; a proper state determining unit configured to determine a proper vehicle speed and proper steering of the own vehicle based on the information of the road and the traveling state; and a projection control unit configured to project the support pattern as a moving image based on determination by the proper state determining unit.”);
when there is no obstacle in front of the vehicle. (Ichikawa [0092] reads “FIG. 8A is a view in which marks and the like informing the driver in a following vehicle in an adjacent lane of a lane change of the host vehicle are depicted on the road surface with laser light by the vehicle lamp (1 or 45). In the vehicle lamp (1 or 45), the lane change direction of the host vehicle detected by the turn signal lamp switch 64 or the steering operation detecting mechanism 65 is detected, and first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) indicating a lane change of the host vehicle My changing the lane from a traveling lane R11 to an adjacent lane R12 are depicted based on the detection result. Even though a turn signal lamp of the host vehicle My cannot be viewed, a driver in a different vehicle Otr can avoid a minor collision by visually recognizing the first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) in front thereof.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that this area would be the space where the passing vehicle does not collide with the vehicle in the other lane.);
Regarding claim 4 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1, wherein the illumination controller is further configured to change (Ichikawa [0091] reads “In this case, the lighting tool ECU 51 calculates a braking distance in accordance with the speed of the host vehicle as well as an amount of rainfall and the presence or absence of frozenness on the traveling road surface which are obtained through the speedometer 58, the raindrop sensor 56, the road information communication system 59, and the like. Then, the lighting tool ECU 51 depicts multiple marks indicating a position where the host vehicle can stop on the road surface in accordance with the application degree of the brake. For example, in a case where a braking distance in which a host vehicle My traveling 60 km per hour on the road surface in wet weather can stop through a gentle braking operation is calculated to be 90 m, a braking distance in which the host vehicle My can stop through an ordinarily forceful braking operation is calculated to be 70 m, and a braking distance in which the host vehicle My can stop through a braking operation performed with full strength is calculated to be 50 m, the vehicle lamp (1 or 45) depicts a rectangular and green first mark 62 a within a range from 70 m to 90 m in front of the vehicle, a rectangular and yellow second mark 62 b within a range from 50 m to 70 m, a rectangular and red third mark 62 c within a range equal to or less than 50 m, and the like in front of the host vehicle My.”);
Regarding claim 5 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1, wherein the environmental sensor includes a camera. (Mochizuki [0022] reads “The driving support ECU 2 is provided with a road information detecting unit 21 configured to detect information of a road where the own vehicle is travelling from the front area image captured by the photographing camera CAM. The road information includes, for example, information on slopes, tunnels, curved paths or straight paths, and information on road signs present on the road and lane lines marked on the road surface.”);
Regarding claim 8 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a non-emergency vehicle, and the illumination controller is further configured to specify a light, and that there is no overhang of the patterned light from the demarcation line where the overhang is prohibited. (Mochizuki figures 6 A-C depict different setups for the patterned light wherein the pattered light can be made such that it does not overlap with the lane edge markings and does not exceed the edge of the roadway.);
Mochizuki figures 6 A-C
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli, in further view of Navarro (US 20210354644 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1.
Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli does not teach wherein the vehicle is an emergency vehicle, and the illumination controller is further configured to allow the illuminating unit to emit
Navarro in analogous art, teaches wherein the vehicle is an emergency vehicle, and the illumination controller is further configured to allow the illuminating unit to emit (Navarro [0020] reads “The illustrative lighting units 114, 138 may emit light 204 continuously (e.g., uninterrupted), according to a predetermined pattern, or may not emit light at all, as desired by the user. Furthermore, the lighting units 114, 138 may emit light of a single color, or multiple colors (e.g., blue and red). The lighting units 114, 138 are illustratively electrically coupled to a conventional light control unit (not shown) operably coupled to the vehicle 200, in a known manner.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that emergency personal would only turn on their emergency lights while preforming an act that is an emergency.);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli with that of Navarro to include the ability to place this lighting system onto an emergency vehicle. This would allow for the emergency vehicle to be better spotted when it is on the way to an emergency. (Navarro [0002] reads “Utility and emergency vehicles are often outfitted with lighting assemblies, including aftermarket lighting assemblies, to increase visibility to other drivers and, at times, used to communicate while moving through traffic. Often, these lighting assemblies are installed on the front end of the vehicle, but installation is burdensome and requires removal of the existing fascia or vehicle grille. Furthermore, conventional front-end lighting assemblies are typically only visible from the front of the vehicle and may be hindered by a guard or other front-end tactical vehicle protection, which requires an emergency vehicle, for example, to drive further into an active intersection and risk a collision. Less invasive, more visible options are desired.”);
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli, in further view of Navarro (US 20210354644 A1), in further view of Nagata (Nagata US 20230356653 A1);
Regarding claim 7 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1.
Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli does not teach wherein the vehicle is an emergency vehicle, and the illumination controller is further configured to allow the illuminating unit to emit
Navarro in analogous art, teaches wherein the vehicle is an emergency vehicle, (Navarro [0020] reads “The illustrative lighting units 114, 138 may emit light 204 continuously (e.g., uninterrupted), according to a predetermined pattern, or may not emit light at all, as desired by the user. Furthermore, the lighting units 114, 138 may emit light of a single color, or multiple colors (e.g., blue and red). The lighting units 114, 138 are illustratively electrically coupled to a conventional light control unit (not shown) operably coupled to the vehicle 200, in a known manner.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that emergency personal would only turn on their emergency lights while preforming an act that is an emergency.);
when the vehicle makes an emergency run. (Navarro [0020] reads “The illustrative lighting units 114, 138 may emit light 204 continuously (e.g., uninterrupted), according to a predetermined pattern, or may not emit light at all, as desired by the user. Furthermore, the lighting units 114, 138 may emit light of a single color, or multiple colors (e.g., blue and red). The lighting units 114, 138 are illustratively electrically coupled to a conventional light control unit (not shown) operably coupled to the vehicle 200, in a known manner.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that emergency personal would only turn on their emergency lights while preforming an act that is an emergency.);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli with that of Navarro to include the ability to place this lighting system onto an emergency vehicle. This would allow for the emergency vehicle to be better spotted when it is on the way to an emergency. (Navarro [0002] reads “Utility and emergency vehicles are often outfitted with lighting assemblies, including aftermarket lighting assemblies, to increase visibility to other drivers and, at times, used to communicate while moving through traffic. Often, these lighting assemblies are installed on the front end of the vehicle, but installation is burdensome and requires removal of the existing fascia or vehicle grille. Furthermore, conventional front-end lighting assemblies are typically only visible from the front of the vehicle and may be hindered by a guard or other front-end tactical vehicle protection, which requires an emergency vehicle, for example, to drive further into an active intersection and risk a collision. Less invasive, more visible options are desired.”);
Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli/Navarro does not teach and the illumination controller is further configured to allow the illuminating unit to emit
Nagata in analogous art, teaches and the illumination controller is further configured to allow the illuminating unit to emit (Nagata [0353] reads “Moreover, boundary line patterns 9 indicating the boundary lines 51 of the travel lane 40 a are projected on the front of the vehicle 1. A boundary line pattern 9 a of them, which is projected on the right side in the figure. The boundary line pattern 9 a is projected overlapping white lines (center lines) indicating a boundary to an opposite lane. Moreover, a boundary line pattern 9 b projected on the left side in the figure is projected overlapping curbs that are a boundary to a sidewalk”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli/Navarro with that of Nagata to include a method that would allow for the system to cover up centerlines on roadways. This would allow for the emergency vehicle to better communicate the direction that it would like to travel in. (Nagata [0004 – 0005] reads “Presenting a traveling direction of the vehicle as described above can call attention of people inside and outside the vehicle. In an actual traffic environment, it is necessary to call attention to various targets in addition to the traveling direction of the vehicle, and it is desirable to provide a technology capable of enhancing the safety for driving. In view of the above-mentioned circumstances, it is an objective of the present technology to provide an information processing apparatus, an information processing method, a program, and a projection apparatus by which the safety for driving can be enhanced.”);
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli, in further view of Motoyama (US 20220340130 A1).
Regarding claim 9 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1, wherein the illumination controller is further configured to shape (Ichikawa [0092] reads “FIG. 8A is a view in which marks and the like informing the driver in a following vehicle in an adjacent lane of a lane change of the host vehicle are depicted on the road surface with laser light by the vehicle lamp (1 or 45). In the vehicle lamp (1 or 45), the lane change direction of the host vehicle detected by the turn signal lamp switch 64 or the steering operation detecting mechanism 65 is detected, and first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) indicating a lane change of the host vehicle My changing the lane from a traveling lane R11 to an adjacent lane R12 are depicted based on the detection result. Even though a turn signal lamp of the host vehicle My cannot be viewed, a driver in a different vehicle Otr can avoid a minor collision by visually recognizing the first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) in front thereof.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that this area would be the space where the passing vehicle does not collide with the vehicle in the other lane.);
as a result of avoiding the interference with the obstacle. (Ichikawa [0092] reads “FIG. 8A is a view in which marks and the like informing the driver in a following vehicle in an adjacent lane of a lane change of the host vehicle are depicted on the road surface with laser light by the vehicle lamp (1 or 45). In the vehicle lamp (1 or 45), the lane change direction of the host vehicle detected by the turn signal lamp switch 64 or the steering operation detecting mechanism 65 is detected, and first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) indicating a lane change of the host vehicle My changing the lane from a traveling lane R11 to an adjacent lane R12 are depicted based on the detection result. Even though a turn signal lamp of the host vehicle My cannot be viewed, a driver in a different vehicle Otr can avoid a minor collision by visually recognizing the first to third arrow marks (66 to 68) in front thereof.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that this area would be the space where the passing vehicle does not collide with the vehicle in the other lane.);
Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli does not teach and issue an alert to a passenger of the vehicle when the length of the patterned light becomes shorter than a predetermined reference pattern length.
Motoyama in analogous art, teaches and issue an alert to a passenger of the vehicle when the length of the patterned light becomes shorter than a predetermined reference pattern length (Motoyama [0095] reads “The automated driving control unit 112 performs control related to automated driving such as autonomous traveling or driving support. Specifically, for example, the automated driving control unit 112 performs cooperative control for the purpose of implementing functions of an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) including collision avoidance or shock mitigation of the own vehicle, follow-up traveling based on an inter-vehicle distance, vehicle speed maintaining traveling, warning for collision of the own vehicle, or warning for lane departure of the own vehicle.”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli with that of Motoyama to include a method for notifying the occupant of the vehicle of the situation that is going on outside of the vehicle. This would allow for safer condition for the occupants of the vehicle. (Motoyama [0002 – 0004] reads “In a case where automated driving is generalized and put into practical use, autonomous traveling is safely performed by, in a normal state, traveling in a traveling lane assumed as a route to a destination while checking a situation of surroundings. However, in an emergency event in which an emergency vehicle is approaching, it is necessary to safely pull a vehicle body to a roadside zone or the like that is different from a traveling lane, that is, a zone that is normally not for travelling, and clear the traveling lane for the emergency vehicle. Thus, a technology for safely pulling over a vehicle has been proposed in which, at the time of emergency, a road shoulder is detected, it is determined whether or not the road shoulder is available for pulling over, and the vehicle is pulled over if the road shoulder is available for pulling over (see Patent Document 1).”);
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli, in further view of Roeber (US 20220348139 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 1.
Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli does not teach wherein the illumination controller is further configured to: in response to an end point of the patterned light being outside the movable area, move the end point of the patterned light in a vehicle width direction to locate the end point of the patterned light within the movable area; And in response to the patterned light not within the movable area after the end point of the patterned light is moved to an edge of a road, move the end point of the patterned light closer to the vehicle.
wherein the illumination controller is further configured to: in response to an end point of the patterned light being outside the movable area, move the end point of the patterned light in a vehicle width direction to locate the end point of the patterned light within the movable area; And in response to the patterned light not within the movable area after the end point of the patterned light is moved to an edge of a road, move the end point of the patterned light closer to the vehicle. (Roeber [0063] reads “FIG. 5 shows the determination of the outer safety line 6, for example by a simulation of the planned parking process. FIG. 6 shows the motor vehicle in a starting position. FIG. 7 shows schematically a first parking maneuver, wherein the motor vehicle 1 is reversing and slightly swinging out onto the opposite lane. FIG. 8 shows the further reversing movement of the motor vehicle 1, wherein this swerves to the opposite lane by the maximum amount. At the same time, the illumination of the road surface 9 was adapted to the progress already made in the parking process. This means that only the road surface required in the future will be illuminated and the projection of indication signs will be adapted accordingly. In FIG. 9, the parking process is already so advanced that the motor vehicle 1 no longer needs a road surface of the opposite lane for further parking. Accordingly, no indication sign 60 is projected onto the surface of the opposite lane.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that when the patterned light section is adapted based on the presence or absence of additional vehicles that the edges of the patterned light may be moved closer or farther away from the vehicle.);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli with that of Roeber to include a method for adjusting the size of the projected light around a given vehicle. This would allow for the current vehicle to better communicate its desired or future actions to other vehicles and pedestrians in the given scene which would make the given situation safer. (Hagaribommanahalli [0009- 0010] reads “ If the determined distance falls below a specified first threshold, a warning signal is output to approaching road user, for example in the form of a light pattern projected onto the surface of the road. The intensity and color of the light pattern can be adapted to the current environmental conditions, in particular the weather, the time of day, the road surface and the color of the road surface. When illuminating the road surface required for parking, i.e. the maneuvering area, preferably only the area required in the future depending on the progress of the parking process is illuminated. Thus, the illuminated surface is preferably adapted to the progress of the parking process.”);
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli/Navarro/Nagata, in further view of Roeber (US 20220348139 A1).
Regarding claim 11 Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli/Navarro/Nagata teaches The road surface illuminating device according to claim 9.
Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli does not teach wherein the illumination controller is further configured to in response to the patterned light having an interfering portion interfering with the obstacle, move the interfering portion of the patterned light in a vehicle width direction, and in response to the patterned light interfering with the obstacle after the interfering portion of the patterned light is moved to an edge of a road, move an end point of the patterned light closer to the vehicle until there is no interference with the obstacle.
Roeber in analogous art, teaches wherein the illumination controller is further configured to in response to the patterned light having an interfering portion interfering with the obstacle, move the interfering portion of the patterned light in a vehicle width direction, and in response to the patterned light interfering with the obstacle after the interfering portion of the patterned light is moved to an edge of a road, move an end point of the patterned light closer to the vehicle until there is no interference with the obstacle. (Roeber [0060] reads “A motor vehicle 1 according to the invention, which comprises a parking assistance device 57, which is designed to carry out a method according to the invention, intends to park parallel to lane 2 in a free parking space 3 between motor vehicles 4 already parked parallel to lane 2. The motor vehicle 1 comprises a parking assistance device. The parking assistance device is designed to carry out a method according to the invention, in particular as described in FIGS. 1 to 4. By means of the parking assistance device, a trajectory 5 for parking the motor vehicle 1 is calculated. Furthermore, based on the geometry and dimensions of the motor vehicle 1, as well as the calculated trajectory 5, an outer safety line or its course 6 is calculated. The safety line 6 indicates the road area used by the motor vehicle 1 in the course of the parking process, preferably plus a specified safety distance.” It would be appreciated by one with ordinary skill in the art that when calculating the trajectory of a given vehicle plus an additional given safety distance around the vehicle, the endpoints of this spaces would be moved in such a way as to not overlap with surround obstacles or other vehicles.);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Mochizuki/Ichikawa/Hagaribommanahalli with that of Roeber to include a method for adjusting the size of the projected light around a given vehicle. This would allow for the current vehicle to better communicate its desired or future actions to other vehicles and pedestrians in the given scene which would make the given situation safer. (Hagaribommanahalli [0009- 0010] reads “ If the determined distance falls below a specified first threshold, a warning signal is output to approaching road user, for example in the form of a light pattern projected onto the surface of the road. The intensity and color of the light pattern can be adapted to the current environmental conditions, in particular the weather, the time of day, the road surface and the color of the road surface. When illuminating the road surface required for parking, i.e. the maneuvering area, preferably only the area required in the future depending on the progress of the parking process is illuminated. Thus, the illuminated surface is preferably adapted to the progress of the parking process.”);
Response to arguments
Applicant argues < Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Mochizuki et al. (US 20150224926 A1, hereinafter "Mochizuki") in view of Nakabayashi et al. (US 20200339031 A1, hereinafter "Nakabayashi") and Ichikawa et al. (US 20170067609 A1, hereinafter "Ichikawa"). Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections.> [Remarks Page 6 Second paragraph]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant made significant changes to the current scope of the claimed invention and therefore a new rejection and prior are could be used to reject the currently amended claims. The applicant amended to add a method for calculating the drivable area around a given vehicle. This amendment is clearly taught by Hagaribommanahalli. (Hagaribommanahalli [0103] reads “The reference-trajectory generation layer 504 provides the coarse driveline to a discrete-time speed plan module 528. If an object is a static object and an adjusted drivable area is passable (e.g., the AV can pass through one or more gaps in the drivable area or the adjusted drivable area, as the case may be), then a module 530 can apply static constraints (e.g., lateral constraints) to determine an adjusted drivable area. A module 532 can determine (e.g., predict) the locations of the AV at different discrete points in time. That is, the module 532 determines locations of arrivals, along the coarse driveline, at different time points. If an object is a dynamic object and the object is a lateral constraint, then the module 532 can adjust the drivable area based on the arrival locations so as to avoid collisions.”); Therefore, the combination teaches the claimed invention.
Other references not Cited
Throughout examination other references were found that could read onto the prior art. Though these references were not used in this examination they could be used in future examination and could read on the contents of the current disclosure. These references are, Fujisaki (JP 2016143399 A); Suzuki (JP 2020131897 A); Nakabayashi (US 20200339031 A1).
Conclusion
/JOHN MARTIN O'MALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658