DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second subspace Ab” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should read:
A display module, comprising: a flexible display panel comprising a display portion, a bending portion, and a binding portion, wherein the display portion and the binding portion are connected to each other by the bending portion, and the binding portion is disposed at a rear portion of the display portion; a bearing assembly disposed between the display portion and the binding portion, wherein there is a bending space between the bearing assembly and the bending portion; and a first colloid disposed in the bending space and connected to the bearing assembly and the bending portion;
wherein the bending space comprises a first subspace, and the bearing assembly comprises: a first back plate provided at a side of the display portion facing the binding portion; a second back plate provided at a side of the binding portion facing the display portion; a buffer layer provided at a surface of the first back plate away from the display portion; and wherein the first subspace is between a surface of the first back plate facing the bending portion, a surface of the second back plate facing the bending portionthe first colloid is connected to at least one of the first back plate, the second back plate, or the buffer layer.
a second colloid, wherein the second colloid is connected to a surface of the second back plate facing the first back plate, and the second colloid is connected to the first colloid .
In Claim 5, line 4 should read “the third subspace”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN112071203A) and Oppo (CN110022388).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses (Fig. 2) a display module, comprising: a flexible display panel comprising a display portion (103), a bending portion (110), and a binding portion (120), wherein the display portion (103) and the binding portion (120) are connected to each other by the bending portion (110), and the binding portion (120) is disposed at a rear portion of the display portion (103); a bearing assembly (101, 109, 102)) disposed between the display portion (103) and the binding portion (120), wherein there is a bending space between the bearing assembly (101, 109, 102) and the bending portion (110);
wherein the bending space comprises a first subspace (space at bending space), and the bearing assembly comprises: a first back plate (101) provided at a side of the display portion (103) facing the binding portion (120); a second back plate (102) provided at a side of the binding portion (120) facing the display portion (103); a buffer layer (109) provided at a surface of the first back plate (101) away from the display portion (103); and wherein the first subspace is between a surface of the first back plate (101) facing the bending portion (110), a surface of the second back plate (102) facing the bending portion (110);
a second colloid (111), wherein the second colloid (111) is connected to a surface of the second back plate (102) facing the first back plate (101).
Chen does not specifically disclose a first colloid disposed in the bending space and connected to the bearing assembly and the bending portion; the first colloid is disposed in the first subspace, and the first colloid is connected to at least one of the first back plate, the second back plate, or the buffer layer; and the second colloid is connected to the first colloid.
Oppo teaches a display module (Fig. 2) comprising a first colloid (120) disposed in a bending space and connected to a bearing assembly (131) and a bending portion; the first colloid (120) is disposed in a first subspace, and the first colloid (120) is connected to a second back plate (132).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Oppo and make Chen’s display module with a first colloid disposed in the bending space and connected to the bearing assembly and the bending portion; the first colloid is disposed in the first subspace, and the first colloid is connected to at least one of the first back plate, the second back plate, or the buffer layer; and the second colloid is connected to the first colloid, in order to protect the display module from being damage by force when bended.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the display module according to claim 1, wherein the bending space further comprises a second subspace communicating with the first subspace (see annotated fig 2 below); the second subspace is between a surface of the first back plate (101) facing the second back plate (102), a surface of the buffer layer (109) facing the bending portion (110), and the surface of the second back plate (102) facing the first back plate (101), the second colloid (111) is provided in the second subspace, and the second colloid (111) is connected to the surface of the first back plate (111 is connected to 101 through 109) facing the second back plate(102) and the surface of the buffer layer (109) facing the bending portion.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the display module (Fig. 2) according to claim 1, further comprising a protective adhesive layer (105) provided on a surface of the bending portion away from the bending space and extending to cover the display portion (103) and the binding portion (120).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the display module (Fig. 2) according to claim 1, further comprising: a polarizing plate (104) provided at a side of the display portion of away from the first back plate (101).
Chen fails to specifically disclose a cover plate provided at a side of the polarizing plate away from the display portion; and an optical adhesive layer provided between the polarizing plate and the cover plate.
Oppo teaches the display module comprising a cover plate (170) provided at a side of a polarizing plate (150) away from the display portion; and an optical adhesive layer (160) provided between the polarizing plate (150) and the cover plate (170).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Oppo and make Chen’s display module with a cover plate provided at a side of the polarizing plate away from the display portion; and an optical adhesive layer provided between the polarizing plate and the cover plate, in order to protect the display portion.
Claim(s) 5-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Oppo and further view of HU (CN115775499A).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 1.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose the bending space further comprises a third subspace communicating with the first subspace; and an edge of a surface of the buffer layer away from the first back plate is provided with a groove as a third subspace, and the second colloid is provided in the groove and connected to a groove wall of the groove.
HU teaches a display module wherein a bending space comprises a third subspace communicating with a first subspace (see annotated Fig. 7 below); and an edge of a surface of a buffer layer (22) away from a first back plate (21) is provided with a groove as the third subspace, and a second colloid (25) is provided in the groove and connected to a groove wall of the groove.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of HU and make the modified Chen’s display module with the bending space further comprises a third subspace communicating with the first subspace; and an edge of a surface of the buffer layer away from the first back plate is provided with a groove as a third subspace, and the second colloid is provided in the groove and connected to a groove wall of the groove, in order to have a more compact display module.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 5.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose the second back plate is at least partially received in the groove.
However, HU teaches in Fig. 7, the binding portion (12) is at least partially received in the groove.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of HU and make the modified Chen’s display module with the second back plate is at least partially received in the groove, in order to have a more compact display module.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 5.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose a distance between the first back plate and the second back plate is less than a thickness of the buffer layer.
However, HU teaches the distance between elements (in the prior art elements 21, 24 and 12) can be reduced by changing the size of the second colloid (251)(see embodiment in fig. 2 and embodiment in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of HU and make the modified Chen’s display module with a distance between the first back plate and the second back plate is less than a thickness of the buffer layer, in order to have a more compact display module.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 5, wherein a sidewall of the groove is provided obliquely in a direction away from the bending space (see Hu Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the display module according to claim 4, wherein the second colloid (111) is disposed between the first back plate (101) and the second back plate (102).
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose a distance between the first back plate and the second back plate is equal to a thickness of the second colloid.
However, HU teaches the distance between elements (in the prior art elements 21, 24 and 12) can be reduced by changing the size of the second colloid (251)(see embodiment in fig. 2 and embodiment in fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of HU and make the modified Chen’s display module with a distance between the first back plate and the second back plate is equal to a thickness of the second colloid, in order to have a more compact display module.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Oppo and HU, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 10,943,961; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 5.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose the buffer layer exposes at least a portion of the surface of the first back plate away from the display portion and close to the first subspace.
Kim (Fig. 11) teaches a display module wherein a buffer layer (PF1) exposes at least a portion of a surface of a substrate (SUB) away from a substrate portion and close to a first subspace.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kim and make the modified Chen’s display module with the buffer layer exposes at least a portion of the surface of the first back plate away from the display portion and close to the first subspace, in order to have the first colloid contact the first back plate so that it will better support the bending region.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Oppo, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 12,382,594; hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 1.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose an orthographic projection of the second colloid on the first back plate covers an orthographic projection of the second back plate on the buffer layer.
Kwon teaches an orthographic projection of a second colloid (400) on a first back plate (210) covers an orthographic projection of a second back plate (220) on a buffer layer (300)(Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kwon and make the modified Chen’s display module with an orthographic projection of the second colloid on the first back plate covers an orthographic projection of the second back plate on the buffer layer, in order to have better adhesion between all structures.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Oppo, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2018/0081399; hereinafter Kwon ‘399).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 1.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose the second colloid and the first colloid are of a same material.
Kwon ‘399 teaches a display module wherein the materials of a second colloid (340) may be formed of materials such as PET and the like (see col. 15, lines 35-37) and a first colloid (700) is a resin (see col. 13, lines 3-4)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kwon ‘399 and make the modified Chen’s display module with the second colloid and the first colloid are of a same material, in order to increase the rigidity of the bending part depending on the design requirements of the display module.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Chen discloses the display module according to claim 1.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose a material of the first colloid has a viscosity of W before being heated and cured, and 20,000 Cp W<60,000Cp.
Kwon ‘399 teaches (Figs 4A-4B) a display module wherein a material of a first colloid (700) has a high viscosity (see col 14, lines 43-48).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kwon ‘399 and make the modified Chen’s display module with the first colloid has a viscosity of W before being heated and cured, and 20,000 Cp W<60,000Cp, in order to ensure the material of the first colloid stays in place without flowing.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Oppo, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2014/0217382; hereinafter Kwon ‘382).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the display module according to claim 1, further comprising a circuit board (108) and a chip (107), the circuit board and the chip are disposed at and connected to a side of the binding portion away from the display portion.
The modified Chen fails to specifically disclose the bending portion is configured to electrically connect a switching control layer in the display portion to the circuit board and the chip.
Kwon ‘382 discloses (Fig. 4) a display module comprising a bending portion (BP) configured to electrically connect a switching control layer in a display portion (P1) to the circuit board (470, 460) and the chip (462)(see par. [0049]: “The chip 162 may be a driving device, which can be connected to the circuitry formed on the non-display area of the flexible substrate 110 to supply driving signal to the display unit 120. The circuit board 170 may receive an image signal from another component and supply the signals to the display unit 120 via the circuitry on the insulating film 160 and the non-display area of the flexible substrate 110. The functionality of the chip 162 and the circuit board 170 are not particularly limited, and they may provide various other functionalities, for instance audio, a touch sensing capability on the display area of the flexible OLED display 100, etc).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kwon ‘382 and make the modified Chen’s display module with the bending portion is configured to electrically connect a switching control layer in the display portion to the circuit board and the chip, in order to minimize the size of display module.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on January 19, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845