DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are currently pending
Claims 1-10 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11/29/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 4-5 state “each of the meltblown fibers” and instead should state “each of the plurality of meltblown fibers” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “of the meltblown fibers” and instead should state “of the plurality of meltblown fibers” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “of the meltblown fibers” and instead should state “of the plurality of meltblown fibers” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a roller temperature” on lines 2-3. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a roller temperature’ as recited on lines 8-9 of claim 1, or a different roller temperature?
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a roller temperature” on lines 2-3. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is referring to the same ‘a roller temperature’ as recited on lines 8-9 of claim 1, or a different roller temperature?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEMMEL et al. (U.S. 2020/0398200 A1) (hereinafter “Demmel”) in view of Rock et al. (U.S. 2009/0186548 A1) (hereinafter “Rock”) and further in view of Bansal et al. (U.S. 2002/0034909 A1) (hereinafter “Bansal”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Demmel teaches a manufacturing method of a meltblown fiber membrane (see paragraphs 1, 9, 21-23, 28 and 36), comprising:
passing a meltblown film to perform a calendering process on the meltblown film (see paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing a nonwoven layer comprising a plurality of fibres) (see paragraph 36 further describing a calendaring process), wherein the meltblown film comprises a plurality of meltblown fibers (see paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing a nonwoven layer comprising a plurality of fibres), each of the meltblown fibers comprises a high-fluidity polyester and a modified polyester (see paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing high-fluidity polyester and modified polyester fibres), and operating at temperatures under 230°C, specifically ranging from 100°C to 155°C (see paragraphs 12 and 63).
Demmel does not explicitly teach passing a meltblown film between a first pressing roller and a second pressing roller to perform a calendering process on the meltblown film, a melt index of the high-fluidity polyester under a temperature of 230°C ranges from 350 g/10min to 550 g/10min, a melt index of the modified polyester under a temperature of 230°C ranges from 200 g/10min to 400 g/10min, and a roller temperature of each of the first pressing roller and the second pressing roller ranges from 100°C to 155°C, as recited in independent claim 1.
Rock further teaches passing a meltblown film between a first pressing roller and a second pressing roller to perform a calendering process on the meltblown film (see Rock paragraphs 49-50 further describing passing a film between heated rolls 102 to perform a calendering process).
Bansal further teaches a metblown fiber system and method including a melt index of at least 10 g/10 min at temperatures ranging from 120°C to 140°C (see Bansal paragraphs 20-21, 34-35 and 46).
Demmel and Rock are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a fiber system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the manufacturing method of a meltblown fiber membrane of Demmel to include a step of passing a film between multiple rollers to perform a calendering process, as taught by Rock, in order to effectively and efficiently create a meltblown fiber membrane with optimized characteristics (see Rock paragraphs 49-50 further describing passing a film between heated rolls 102 to perform a calendering process).
Demmel, Rock and Bansal are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a fiber system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the manufacturing method of a meltblown fiber membrane of Demmel, as modified by Rock, to include a melt index parameter operating at a specific temperature, as taught by Bansal, for optimization purposes of the meltblown fiber membrane (see Bansal paragraphs 20-21, 34-35 and 46).
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Rock further teaches a roller distance between the first pressing roller and the second pressing roller ranges from 0.05 mm to 0.10 mm (see Rock paragraphs 49-50 further describing passing a film between heated rolls 102 to perform a calendering process).
Demmel, Rock and Bansal are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a fiber system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the manufacturing method of a meltblown fiber membrane of Demmel, as modified by Bansal, to include a step of passing a film between multiple rollers to perform a calendering process, as taught by Rock, in order to effectively and efficiently create a meltblown fiber membrane with optimized characteristics (see Rock paragraphs 49-50 further describing passing a film between heated rolls 102 to perform a calendering process).
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Demmel further teaches the high-fluidity polyester is polybutylene terephthalate (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing high-fluidity polyester and modified polyester fibres), and the roller temperature of each of the first pressing roller and the second pressing roller ranges from 130°C and 155°C (see Demmel paragraphs 12 and 63).
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein the high-fluidity polyester is a thermoplastic polyester elastomer (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing high-fluidity polyester and modified polyester fibres), and the roller temperature of each of the first pressing roller and the second pressing roller ranges from 100°C and 115°C (see Demmel paragraphs 12 and 63).
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Demmel further teaches a linear pressure of each of the first pressing roller and the second pressing roller ranges from 50 kg/cm to 70 kg/cm (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25, 27-28 and 36).
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Demmel further teaches more than 50% of a quantity of the meltblown fibers has a fiber diameter ranging from 0.5 µm to 1.5 µm (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25, 27-28 and 36).
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Demmel further teaches more than 75% of a quantity of the meltblown fibers has a fiber diameter ranging from 0.5 µm to 1.0 µm (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25, 27-28 and 36).
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Demmel further teaches the modified polyester comprises a soft-chain polyester, and the soft-chain polyester has a monomer represented by formula (1) (see current claim set) (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing high-fluidity polyester and modified polyester fibres).
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Demmel further teaches the modified polyester comprises a soft-chain polyester, and the soft-chain polyester has a monomer represented by formula (2) (see current claim set) (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing high-fluidity polyester and modified polyester fibres).
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Demmel, Rock and Bansal teaches the manufacturing method of the meltblown fiber membrane of claim 1, wherein Demmel further teaches the modified polyester comprises a soft-chain polyester, and the soft-chain polyester has a monomer represented by formula (3) (see current claim set), wherein X is a positive integer ranging from 1 to 12, and y is a positive integer ranging from 1 to 12 (see Demmel paragraphs 1, 9, 21-25 and 27-28 further describing high-fluidity polyester and modified polyester fibres).
Other References Considered
Park (U.S. 2008/0241297 A1) (hereinafter “Park”) teaches an electric spinning apparatus for mass-production of nano-fiber.
XUE et al. (U.S. 2021/0171707 A1) (hereinafter “Xue”) teaches polyesters with ultra-high flowability and superior stability and meltblown fibers.
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773