Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 12/08/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-15, and 17-20 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating modified grounds of rejection. Please see modified grounds of rejection below.
The Applicant argues the prior art does not teach wherein the insert controls the flow of compressed air “into and out of the pressure chamber” since Dobson discloses only one direction of flow, citing Figure 2 of Dobson as evidence. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is the size of constriction of the insert which controls the flow therethrough and said functionality would remain regardless of flow direction.
The Applicant further argues the knife edge seal of Petrasko as described in the rejections is not a seal because as disclosed in the Figures of Petrasko it “does not contact outlet guide vane … 146 nor OGV support arm 152”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would immediately understand that structure to be a knife edge seal for which it is common to be shown as not touching opposing structures as evidenced by previously cited prior art such as: US 10612383 to Moniz (seal 102, Figures 4/6), US 10830092 to Snow (cavity seal 228, Fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11060530 to Petrasko in view of US 11852073 to Dobson.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Petrasko discloses a turbomachine (see title), comprising:
a high-pressure rotor shaft (high pressure spool assembly 128, depicted as numeral 34 in Fig 1, comprising cone arm 130, rotor disk 132, and spool member 134; Fig 2) defining an outer surface (radially outer surfaces of the high pressure rotor shaft, Fig 2) and including a rotor seal disposed along the outer surface (unlabeled knife edge seal extending from cone arm 130 towards outlet guide vanes 146, Fig 2);
a compressor discharge plenum (combustion cavity 148, Fig 2), extending annularly around the outer surface of the high-pressure rotor shaft (Figs 1-2);
an inner casing assembly (OGV support arm 152 and unlabeled casing structure affixed to an aft end of OGV support arm 152 which further defines combustion cavity 148 and supports stationary seal 172, Fig 2) defining a first airflow opening (openings 168, Fig 2),
wherein the rotor seal is configured to form a first seal against a first surface of the inner casing assembly (surface of OGV support arm 152 adjacent and facing knife edge projection extending from forward end of cone arm 130, Fig 2),
wherein the compressor discharge plenum is at least partially formed by the inner casing (Fig 2); and
a pressure seal disk (rotor disk 132, Fig 2) coupled to the high-pressure rotor shaft (Fig 2),
wherein the pressure seal disk is configured to form a second seal (CDP seal 170, Fig 2) against a second surface of the inner casing assembly (stationary seal 172, Fig 2),
wherein the inner casing assembly, the high-pressure rotor shaft, the rotor seal, and the pressure seal disk form a pressure chamber therebetween (CDP seal cavity 166, Fig 2),
wherein the pressure chamber is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum via the first airflow opening (Col 8 Lns 30-45).
(ii) Petrasko does not disclose:
a first insert disposed within the first airflow opening,
wherein the first insert is configured to control a flow of the compressed air from the compressor discharge plenum into and out of the pressure chamber.
(iii) Dobson is also in the field of turbomachines (see abstract) and teaches:
a first airflow opening (bore 26b, Fig 2),
a first insert (26a, Fig 2) disposed within the first airflow opening (Fig 2),
wherein the first insert is configured to control a flow of compressed air from a compressor discharge plenum (flow F, Fig 1, Col 3 Lns 45-47) into a pressure chamber (flow F2 into receiving space of pneumatically actuated bleed valve 22, Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first airflow opening as disclosed by Petrasko with the above aforementioned first insert as taught by Dobson for the purpose of providing an orifice insert having a calibrated constriction selectively installed to control the flow through first airflow opening according to flow parameters of a given application (Col 4 Lns 42-44/48-53).
(v) The Examiner notes that the limitation “to control a flow of the compressed air from the compressor discharge plenum into and out of the pressure chamber” is a functional limitation. As the prior art teaches all structural features of the claimed invention it can perform the claimed function.
(b) Regarding claim 5:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson teaches the turbomachine of claim 1.
(ii) Petrasko further discloses a turbine rotor disk (turbine disk of HP turbine 28 connected to high pressure spool 34, Fig 1) coupled to the high-pressure rotor shaft (Fig 1), wherein the pressure seal disk is disposed forward of the turbine rotor disk (HP turbine 28 located aft of combustor section 26, Figs 1-2).
(c) Regarding claim 6:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson teaches the turbomachine of claim 1.
(ii) Petrasko further discloses a compressor flow conditioner (outlet guide vanes 146, Fig 2) disposed at an inlet of the compressor discharge plenum (Fig 2), and a turbine rotor disk (turbine disk of HP turbine 28 connected to high pressure spool 34, Fig 1) disposed downstream from the compressor discharge plenum (HP turbine 28 located aft of combustor section 26, Figs 1-2), wherein the pressure seal disk is disposed between the compressor flow conditioner and the turbine rotor disk (Fig 2).
(d) Regarding claim 7:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson teaches the turbomachine of claim 1.
(ii) Petrasko further discloses a combustor (fuel air mixers 156 and combustion chamber 158, Fig 2) disposed within the compressor discharge plenum (Fig 2).
(e) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Petrasko discloses an aircraft (“aircraft”, Col 1 Ln 21), comprising:
a fuselage (all aircraft must have a fuselage of some kind); and
a turbomachine (gas turbine engine 10, Fig 1),
the turbomachine comprising:
a high-pressure rotor shaft (high pressure spool assembly 128, depicted as numeral 34 in Fig 1, comprising cone arm 130, rotor disk 132, and spool member 134; Fig 2),
the high-pressure rotor shaft having an outer surface (radially outer surfaces of the high pressure rotor shaft, Fig 2) and a rotor seal (unlabeled knife edge seal extending from cone arm 130 towards outlet guide vanes 146, Fig 2) disposed along the outer surface (Fig 2);
an inner casing assembly (OGV support arm 152 and unlabeled casing structure affixed to an aft end of OGV support arm 152 which further defines combustion cavity 148 and supports stationary seal 172, Fig 2);
a compressor discharge plenum (combustion cavity 148, Fig 2) extending annularly around the outer surface of the high-pressure rotor shaft (Figs 1-2),
wherein the inner casing assembly defines a first airflow opening (openings 168, Fig 2),
wherein the rotor seal is configured to form a first seal against a first surface of the inner casing assembly (surface of OGV support arm 152 adjacent and facing knife edge projection extending from forward end of cone arm 130, Fig 2); and
a pressure seal disk (rotor disk 132, Fig 2) coupled to the high-pressure rotor shaft (Fig 2),
wherein the pressure seal disk is configured to form a second seal (CDP seal 170, Fig 2) against a second surface of the inner casing assembly (stationary seal 172, Fig 2),
wherein the inner casing assembly, the high-pressure rotor shaft, the rotor seal, and the pressure seal disk form a pressure chamber therebetween (CDP seal cavity 166, Fig 2),
wherein the pressure chamber is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum via the first airflow opening (Col 8 Lns 30-45).
(ii) Petrasko does not disclose:
a first insert disposed within the first airflow opening,
wherein the first insert is configured to control a flow of the compressed air from the compressor discharge plenum into and out of the pressure chamber.
(iii) Dobson is also in the field of turbomachines (see abstract) and teaches:
a first airflow opening (bore 26b, Fig 2),
a first insert (26a, Fig 2) disposed within the first airflow opening (Fig 2),
wherein the first insert is configured to control a flow of compressed air from a compressor discharge plenum (flow F, Fig 1, Col 3 Lns 45-47) into a pressure chamber (flow F2 into receiving space of pneumatically actuated bleed valve 22, Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first airflow opening as disclosed by Petrasko with the above aforementioned first insert as taught by Dobson for the purpose of providing an orifice insert having a calibrated constriction selectively installed to control the flow through first airflow opening according to flow parameters of a given application (Col 4 Lns 42-44/48-53).
(v) The Examiner notes that the limitation “to control a flow of the compressed air from the compressor discharge plenum into and out of the pressure chamber” is a functional limitation. As the prior art teaches all structural features of the claimed invention it can perform the claimed function.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11060530 to Petrasko in view of US 11852073 to Dobson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 10337405 to Steen.
(a) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson teaches the turbomachine of claim 1.
(ii) Petrasko does not disclose wherein the inner casing assembly defines a second airflow opening disposed aft of the pressure seal disk within the compressor discharge plenum, wherein the second airflow opening is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum.
(iii) Steen is also in the field of turbomachines (see background) and teaches:
a first pressure chamber (CDP cavity 312, Fig 3,
a first airflow opening (opening in unlabeled casing structure defining CDP cavity 312 and receiving airflow from conduit 284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60)
wherein the first pressure chamber is in fluid communication with a conduit (284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60) via the first airflow opening (Fig 3),
a second pressure chamber (cavity 308, Fig 3),
a second airflow opening (opening in unlabeled casing structure defining cavity 308 and receiving pressurized air from conduit 284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60), and
wherein the second pressure chamber is in fluid communication with the conduit via the second airflow opening (Fig 3).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner casing assembly as disclosed by Petrasko with the above aforementioned first and second airflow openings as taught by Steen for the purpose of providing an efficient method for cooling of gas turbine engine components and, specifically, channeling the flow of cooling fluid proximate the high speed shaft to remove residual heat after shutdown (Col 7 Lns 3-11).
(v) The Examiner notes that the first and second airflow openings of Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen would both be in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum (Petrasko: Col 8 Lns 30-45; Steen: Col 5 Lns 56-60).
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11060530 to Petrasko in view of US 11852073 to Dobson as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of US 10830092 to Snow.
(a) Regarding claims 4 and 18:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson teaches the turbomachine of claim 1 and the aircraft of claim 15.
(ii) Petrasko does not disclose:
a pump,
wherein the pump is fluidly coupled to the compressor discharge plenum and to the first airflow opening,
wherein the pump is configured to control pressure of the compressed air from the compressor discharge plenum inside the pressure chamber.
(iii) Snow is also in the field of turbomachines (see abstract) and teaches:
a pump (“pump” 218, Col 13 Lns 32-35, in combination with valve 216, Fig 4),
a pressure chamber (thrust cavity 222, Figs 4-8)
wherein the pump is fluidly coupled to a first airflow opening of the pressure chamber (opening through which second line 220 is received, Fig 4),
wherein the pump is configured to control pressure of compressed air supplied to the pressure chamber (Col 13 Lns 22-24).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compressor discharge plenum as disclosed by Petrasko to supply air to a pump as taught by Snow for the purpose of controlling the pressure of supplied compressed air (Col 13 Lns 22-24).
Claim(s) 8-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11060530 to Petrasko in view of US 11852073 to Dobson as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of US 4653267 to Brodell.
(a) Regarding claims 8-9 and 19:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson teaches the turbomachine of claim 1 and the aircraft of claim 15.
(ii) Petrasko as modified by Dobson does not teach:
wherein the high-pressure rotor shaft defines a first bypass opening, wherein the first bypass opening is defined forward of the rotor seal; nor
wherein the high-pressure rotor shaft defines a second bypass opening, wherein the second bypass opening is defined aft of the pressure seal disk and forward of a turbine rotor disk of the turbomachine.
(iii) Brodell is also in the field of turbomachines (see abstract) and teaches:
a high-pressure rotor shaft (disks of high pressure compressor comprising compressor blades 12 and stators 14, high pressure compressor rear shaft 41, Fig 1),
wherein the high-pressure rotor shaft defines a first bypass opening (anti-vortex tube 56, Fig 1) defined forward of a rotor seal (thrust balancing seal 38, Fig 1), and
the high-pressure rotor shaft defines a second bypass opening (air from anti-vortex tube travels axially aft to cavity 54, Fig 1, Col 3 Lns 25-30; there must be a respective opening in high-pressure compressor rear shaft 41 to allow said air into cavity 54, Fig 1) defined aft of a pressure seal disk (seal 50, Fig 1) and forward of a turbine rotor disk of the turbomachine (high pressure turbine 20, Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the high-pressure rotor shaft as disclosed by Petrasko with the above aforementioned first and second bypass openings as taught by Brodell for the purpose of providing air to a downstream structure such as a bearing compartment (Col 3 Lns 25-30).
(b) Regarding claims 10 and 20:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Brodell teaches the turbomachine of claim 9 and the aircraft of claim 19.
(ii) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Brodell further teaches at least one of a first bypass insert disposed within the first bypass opening (insert of Dobson also may be used in the first bypass opening of the proposed combination with the same motivation as described in the rejection of claims 1 and 15 above), and
a second bypass insert disposed within the second bypass opening (insert of Dobson may be used in the second bypass opening of the proposed combination with the same motivation as described in the rejection of claims 1 and 15 above).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11060530 to Petrasko in view of US 11852073 to Dobson in further view of US 10337405 to Steen.
(a) Regarding claim 11:
(i) Petrasko discloses a turbomachine (see title), comprising:
a high-pressure rotor shaft (high pressure spool assembly 128, depicted as numeral 34 in Fig 1, comprising cone arm 130, rotor disk 132, and spool member 134; Fig 2) defining an outer surface (radially outer surface of the high pressure rotor shaft, Fig 2);
an inner casing assembly (OGV support arm 152 and unlabeled casing structure affixed to an aft end of OGV support arm 152 which further defines combustion cavity 148 and supports stationary seal 172, Fig 2);
a compressor discharge plenum (combustion cavity 148, Fig 2) at least partially formed by the inner casing assembly (Fig 2),
wherein the inner casing assembly defines a first airflow opening (openings 168, Fig 2),
a pressure seal disk (rotor disk 132, Fig 2) coupled to the high-pressure rotor shaft (Fig 2),
the pressure seal disk having a forward side face (surface facing cone arm 130, Fig 2), a sealing face (surface of tooth assembly 174, Figs 2/4), and an aft side face (surface facing spool member 134, Fig 2);
a first pressure chamber (CDP seal cavity 166, Fig 2) at least partially defined by the high-pressure rotor shaft, the inner casing assembly, and the forward side face of the pressure seal disk (Fig 2),
wherein the first pressure chamber is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum via the first airflow opening (Col 8 Lns 30-45); and
a second pressure chamber (unlabeled cavity at least partially defined by the aft side face of rotor disk 132, radially outer surface of spool member 134, and unlabeled casing structure affixed to an aft end of OGV support arm 152 which further defines combustion cavity 148 and supports stationary seal 172, Fig 2) at least partially defined by the high-pressure rotor shaft, the inner casing assembly, and the aft side face of the pressure seal disk (Fig 2).
(ii) Petrasko does not disclose:
a first insert disposed within the first airflow opening,
wherein the first insert is configured to control a flow of the compressed air from the compressor discharge plenum into and out of the pressure chamber.
(iii) Dobson is also in the field of turbomachines (see abstract) and teaches:
a first airflow opening (bore 26b, Fig 2),
a first insert (26a, Fig 2) disposed within the first airflow opening (Fig 2),
wherein the first insert is configured to control a flow of compressed air from a compressor discharge plenum (flow F, Fig 1, Col 3 Lns 45-47) into a pressure chamber (flow F2 into receiving space of pneumatically actuated bleed valve 22, Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first airflow opening as disclosed by Petrasko with the above aforementioned first insert as taught by Dobson for the purpose of providing an orifice insert having a calibrated constriction selectively installed to control the flow through first airflow opening according to flow parameters of a given application (Col 4 Lns 42-44/48-53).
(v) The Examiner notes that the limitation “to control a flow of the compressed air from the compressor discharge plenum into and out of the pressure chamber” is a functional limitation. As the prior art teaches all structural features of the claimed invention it can perform the claimed function.
(vi) Petrasko does not disclose wherein the inner casing assembly defines a second airflow opening; nor wherein the second pressure chamber is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum via the second airflow opening.
(vii) Steen is also in the field of turbomachines (see background) and teaches:
a first pressure chamber (CDP cavity 312, Fig 3,
a first airflow opening (opening in unlabeled casing structure defining CDP cavity 312 and receiving airflow from conduit 284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60)
wherein the first pressure chamber is in fluid communication with a conduit (284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60) via the first airflow opening (Fig 3),
a second pressure chamber (cavity 308, Fig 3),
a second airflow opening (opening in unlabeled casing structure defining cavity 308 and receiving pressurized air from conduit 284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60), and
wherein the second pressure chamber is in fluid communication with the conduit via the second airflow opening (Fig 3).
(viii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner casing assembly as disclosed by Petrasko with the above aforementioned first and second airflow openings as taught by Steen for the purpose of providing an efficient method for cooling of gas turbine engine components and, specifically, channeling the flow of cooling fluid proximate the high speed shaft to remove residual heat after shutdown (Col 7 Lns 3-11).
(ix) The Examiner notes that the first and second airflow openings of Petrasko as modified by Steen would both receive air from air conduit (162) of Steen which is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum (Petrasko: Col 8 Lns 30-45; Steen: Col 5 Lns 56-60).
(b) Regarding claim 12:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen teaches the turbomachine of claim 11.
(ii) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen further teaches:
a first rotor seal (Petrasko: unlabeled knife edge seal extending from cone arm 130 towards outlet guide vanes 146, Fig 2) and a second rotor seal (Steen: unlabeled knife edge seal at aft end of cavity 308 between unlabeled inner casing structure partially defining cavity 308 and an unlabeled turbine disk of rotatable member 234 partially defining cavity 308, Fig 3),
wherein the first rotor seal is configured to form a first seal against a first surface of the inner casing assembly (Petrasko: surface of OGV support arm 152 adjacent and facing knife edge projection extending from forward end of cone arm 130, Fig 2),
the sealing face of the pressure seal disk is configured to form a second seal against a second surface of the inner casing assembly (Petrasko: seal member 172, Fig 2), and
wherein the second rotor seal is configured to form a third seal against a third surface of the inner casing assembly (Steen: surface of unlabeled inner casing structure partially defining cavity 308 forming a rotor seal with knife edges of unlabeled turbine disk of rotatable member 234 partially defining cavity 308, Fig 3).
(c) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson teaches the aircraft of claim 15.
(ii) Petrasko does not disclose wherein the inner casing assembly defines a second airflow opening disposed aft of the pressure seal disk within the compressor discharge plenum, wherein the second airflow opening is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum.
(iii) Steen is also in the field of turbomachines (see background) and teaches:
a first pressure chamber (CDP cavity 312, Fig 3,
a first airflow opening (opening in unlabeled casing structure defining CDP cavity 312 and receiving airflow from conduit 284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60)
wherein the first pressure chamber is in fluid communication with a conduit (284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60) via the first airflow opening (Fig 3),
a second pressure chamber (cavity 308, Fig 3),
a second airflow opening (opening in unlabeled casing structure defining cavity 308 and receiving pressurized air from conduit 284/310, Fig 3; Col 5 Lns 56-60), and
wherein the second pressure chamber is in fluid communication with the conduit via the second airflow opening (Fig 3).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner casing assembly as disclosed by Petrasko with the above aforementioned first and second airflow openings as taught by Steen for the purpose of providing an efficient method for cooling of gas turbine engine components and, specifically, channeling the flow of cooling fluid proximate the high speed shaft to remove residual heat after shutdown (Col 7 Lns 3-11).
(v) The Examiner notes that the first and second airflow openings of Petrasko as modified by Steen would both receive air from air conduit (162) of Steen which is in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum (Petrasko: Col 8 Lns 30-45; Steen: Col 5 Lns 56-60).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11060530 to Petrasko in view of US 11852073 to Dobson in further view of US 10337405 to Steen as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 8967528 to Mackin.
(a) Regarding claim 13:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen teaches the turbomachine of claim 11.
(ii) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen further teaches:
a flow control valve (Steen: valve assembly 318, Fig 3) having an inlet in fluid communication with the compressor discharge plenum (Petrasko: source of compressed air is combustion cavity 148, Fig 2; Steen: valve 318 sources compressed air from both temporary supply 324 and HP compressor bleed supply 320, Fig 3),
a first outlet in fluid communication with the first pressure chamber and the second pressure chamber via the second airflow opening via the first airflow opening (Steen: Fig 3, Col 5 Lns 56-60).
(iii) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen do not explicitly teach the valve having a second outlet in fluid communication with the second pressure chamber via the second airflow opening.
(iv) Mackin is also in the field of turbo machines (see abstract) and teaches:
a flow control valve (three way pressure regulating valve 410, Fig 5) having an inlet in fluid communication with an inlet conduit (outlet 270, Fig 5),
a first outlet in fluid communication with a first conduit (conduit 406, Fig 5), and
a second outlet in fluid communication with a second conduit (conduit 408, Fig 5).
(v) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flow control valve as taught by the combined teachings of Petrasko as modified by Steen with the above aforementioned flow control valve as taught by Mackin for the purpose of controlling bleed air flow to the first pressure chamber and/or the second pressure chamber (Col 9 Lns 37-43; Col 10 Lns 1-12).
(b) Regarding claim 14:
(i) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen as even further modified by Mackin teaches the turbomachine of claim 13.
(ii) Petrasko as modified by Dobson as further modified by Steen as even further modified by Mackin further teaches wherein the flow control valve is configured to modulate a first pressure in the first pressure chamber and a second pressure in the second pressure chamber (Mackin: three-way pressure regulating valve 410 is capable of regulating output pressures; Col 10 Lns 5).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745