DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2023 was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Todd US 20020115499.
Regarding claim 1, Todd discloses a golf dampening system comprising: a continuous first half (12); and a band (13).
Regarding claim 2, Todd discloses that the continuous first half is comprised of a first recessed area (32).
Regarding claim 3, Todd further discloses that the continuous first half is comprised of a circular shape (Fig. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Todd further discloses that the band is comprised of an elastic band ([0028-29]).
Regarding claim 5, Todd does not disclose that the band is comprised of an indicia. However, it has been held that for an apparatus claim, matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). Here, the indicia is a design aspect of the band and serves no mechanical function. Therefore, it cannot be used to distinguish a claimed invention over the prior art, and it is not given any patentable weight.
Regarding claim 6, Todd further discloses that the continuous first half (12) is comprised of a vibration-absorbing material (11).
Regarding claim 7, Todd further discloses that the vibration-absorbing material is comprised of a rubber ([0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd US 200250115499 in view of Kumamoto US 20030073508.
Regarding claim 8, Todd discloses a cylinder (12); and a band (13). However, it does not teach that the cylinder comprises a first half cylinder and a second half cylinder.
Kumamoto teaches a golf dampening system comprising a first and second half cylinder (20A,20B, Fig. 4B) in order to attach it to a pre-existing golf club shaft (1’). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylinder as taught by Todd by utilizing two half cylinder halves as taught by Kumamoto in order to attach the dampening member to the golf club.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the combination further discloses that the first and second halves are comprised of a first and second recessed area (Todd, 32).
Regarding claims 11-12, Todd further discloses a first interior surface (31) of the half-cylindrical first half is comprised of a first fastener (11) and that the first fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener ([0025]).
Regarding claims 14-15, Todd further discloses that a second interior surface (31) of the half-cylindrical second half is comprised of a second fastener (11) and that the second fastener is comprised of an adhesive fastener ([0025]).
Regarding claim 17, see claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18, Todd further discloses that the half-cylindrical first half and the half-cylindrical second half are comprised of a vibration-absorbing material (11).
Regarding claim 19, see claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 20, Todd discloses a method of using a golf dampening system, the method comprising the steps of: providing a golf dampening system comprised of a cylinder (12), and a band (13); positioning the cylinder on a golf shaft of a golf club (100) below a grip of the golf club (Fig. 1); and placing the band (13) around a recessed area (32) of the cylinder to secure the cylinder on the shaft.
However, it does not teach that the cylinder comprises a first and second half positioned opposite of each other.
Kumamoto teaches a golf dampening system comprising a first and second half cylinder (20A,20B, Fig. 4B) in order to attach it to a pre-existing golf club shaft (1’). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylinder as taught by Todd by utilizing two half cylinder halves as taught by Kumamoto in order to attach the dampening member to the golf club.
Claim(s) 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todd US 200250115499 in view of Kumamoto US 20030073508 as applied to claims 11 and 14, respectively, above and further in view of Glanzner US 10550910.
Regarding claims 13 and 16, the combination does not teach that the first and second fasteners are comprised of magnetic fastneners.
Glanzner teaches a vibration dampener fastened to a tube (3) by adhesives (col. 13 ln. 40-45) or magnets (col. 14 ln. 38-44). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the means for fastening the dampener to the golf club shaft as taught by Todd by utilizing magnets as taught by Glanzner in order to achieve the predictable results of fastening a dampener to a tube to be dampened.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Todd US 6544129 and Kumamoto US 6935969.
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711