DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (2021/0339217 A1) in view of Bulgarelli et al. US 2020/0360243 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 13, Feng teaches a treatment composition for laundry cleaning detergent, dishwashing and personal cleaning; [43, 109, 115, 134], comprising delivery particles (microcapsules); [105-109], having core for containing benefit agents and shell of polyurea resin by reaction of polyisocyanide monomer (crosslinking agent, instant claim 6), oligomer and hydrolyzed chitosan; [27, 49-50] with molecular weight of 95 KDa or less; [22, 36, claim 7]. Note that, “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected [the claimed product and a product disclosed in the prior art] to have the same properties.” Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). [MPEP 2131.03, R6].
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Feng does not teach higher amounts of molecular weight. However, the analogous art of Bulgarelli teaches a consumer product composition utilized for laundry, soap bar, shampoo and household surface cleaner; [claim 14], comprising microcapsules comprising core and shell polymer similarly made from chitosan and polyisocyanate wherein the molecular weight is 100-500 KDa; [32]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make a shell polymer with higher molecular weight with the motivation of optimizing its dissolution in the washing liquid and thus adjusting its delivery time for cleaning purpose, as taught by Bulgarelli above.
Regarding claims 3-5, Feng teaches a degree of acetylation of 50%; [40], and an acid treated chitosan, by strong acid such as HCl, at 85 deg. C. ; [45-46], wherein the microcapsule is naturally and expectedly cationic (i.e. cationically modified); [42].
Regarding claims 7-10, Feng teaches the ratio of chitosan/crosslinking is 21-90/79-10 which renders the instantly claimed range obvious. Feng teaches the benefit agent such as fragrance; [41, 56], a partitioning modifier; [61], and delivery particles’ size are 1-100 micron; [42, claim 23].
Regarding claims 11-12 and 14, Feng teaches the particles disintegrate 50% after 20 days or 60% after 28 days (OECD method); [40, 103-104, table 2]. Treatment composition of Feng comprises adjunct ingredients such as surfactants, builders, chelating agent, dye transfer inhibiting agent, dispersant and enzyme; [171]. The amount of water is 5-95%; [255, tables 2-4].
Regarding claim 15, Feng teaches a method of washing a laundry fabric by contacting the surface with the composition of claim 1; [109, 132, 160-161].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/01/22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Because,
In response to applicant’s argument (page 5) that; “Applicant submits that the combination of Feng and Bulgarelli is improper. Specifically, the mechanisms of the processes used in Feng and Bulgarelli are at odds.”, it should be noted that the submitted instant claims are related to a composition encapsulated in delivery particles without any limitation(s) or any reference to any process. The submitted arguments are not commensurate with scope of the claim(s) and have no relation to merits or limitations of the claim(s) at hand.
In response to applicant’s argument that; “Applicant submits that Bulgarelli's encapsulation procedure relies on a separate emulsifier such as (Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) or Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP)) beyond the capsule wall materials to stabilize the perfume droplets and enable capsule crosslinking. The separate emulsifier is the key interfacial stabilizer; the chitosan does not perform that primary stabilizing function, but instead is part of the shell matrix formed within a emulsifier stabilized system.”, it is noted that the particulars of separate or non-separate emulsifiers (PVA or PVP) as compared between Feng and Bulgarelli not only are non-commensurate with scope of the claim(s) but additionally are, indeed, not related to the very reason of the combination of Feng and Bulgarelli. The only reason for combination of the above two prior arts of record is/was the very molecular weight of capsule’s polymeric material, along with the reason of their combinability, and no more.
Applicant’s argument (pages 5-6) that; “In Bulgarelli, a separate emulsifier (e.g. (Polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) or Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP))) beyond the capsule wall materials handles the droplet stabilization, so the chitosan molecular weight is optimized in the context of a emulsifier-stabilized interface. In Feng' s system, by contrast, increasing chitosan molecular weight directly changes chitosan emulsification properties (since chitosan is the stabilizer agent), therefore requiring different optimal molecular weight properties.”, as indicated above, the instant claims are devoid of any limitation relating to emulsifying agent / material nor its presence beyond the capsule wall (for stabilization of perfume….etc) or any other place within the claimed composition. The argument is not commensurate with scope of the claim(s).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/03/29
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767