Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Czarnecki et al. (US 6,600,122).
Regarding claim 1, Czamecki discloses a device comprising:
a first terminal (68);
a second terminal (80);
a contact member (62, 74, 56, 58) having an engagement portion,
the contact member (62, 74, 56, 58) being configured to be in a first position and a second position and to form a connection between the first terminal (68) and the second terminal (80) when being either in the first position or in the second position; and
a control unit (see col. 6, lines 19-32) configured to facilitate a transition of the contact member (62, 74, 56, 58) and to retain the contact member at the first position or at the second position in the absence of an external force; and
a bypass mechanism (10’, 20) comprising: at least a first moveable member (130, 94, 86, 150, 156) having a first surface (130, 150) configured to contact the engagement portion of the contact member (62, 74, 56, 58) at a first angle that is acute relative to an axis that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the contact member (62, 74, 56, 58).
Regarding claim 2, Czamecki discloses:
the first moveable member (130, 94, 86, 150, 156) is configured to move towards the engagement portion of the contact member (56, 62) and to apply force thereto to facilitate its transition from the first position to the second position.
Regarding claim 3, Czamecki discloses:
the first moveable member (130, 94, 86, 150, 156) is configured to move away from the engagement portion of the contact member (56, 62) when the force is no longer applied to the first moveable member (130, 94, 86, 150, 156).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the REMARKS:
Page 7, last paragraph, applicant argued that:
“Czarnecki does not disclose retention of the contact member in either position absent an applied external force. Continuous spring bias is required for its operation”;
“Czarnecki does not disclose an additional bypass mechanism”,
This argument is not found to be persuasive, because:
Czamecki clearly discloses the device with the contact members, which can be in either first or second position. It inherent for the switch to retain the contact member in either position absent an applied external force.
Czarnecki clearly discloses the bypass mechanism (10’, 20).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
June 26, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837