DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed July 2, 2026.
Claim 16 was amended, rendering claims 1-28 pending, with claims 1-15 withdrawn as a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. (U.S. 6,503,321).
Levy discloses single-crystal films having second harmonic generation (column 11, lines 16-25), as in claim 16. In claim 16, the phrases, “for creating a macroscopic artificial lattice” and “configured for assembly into an artificial lattice based on one or more properties, wherein the one or more properties comprise nonlinear optical properties comprising second harmonic generation” is a intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In claim 16, the phrase, “adapted from a bulk van der Waals crystal” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having single crystal monolayers. The reference suggests such a product because Levy discloses single-crystal films having second harmonic generation (column 11, lines 16-25).
Concerning claim 20, Figure 3 of Levy shows the single-crystal films (32) create a heterobilayer.
Claim Objection
4. Claims 18-19, 21-22, 24-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited composition further including where a first of the two or more macroscopic single crystal monolayers has an orientation difference from a second of the two or more macroscopic single crystal monolayers, where the first and single crystal monolayers are adapted for reassembly into an artificial lattice.
The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited composition further including where the two or more macroscopic single crystal monolayers are transition metal dichalcogenide monolayers. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited composition further including where a configuration of the monolayers includes an angular and/or lattice mismatch. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited composition further including where the transition metal dichalcogenide is chosen from the group consisting of MoS2, WS2, MoSe2, WS2, WSe2, MoTe2, and MoS2.
The prior art does not teach motivation or suggestion for modification to make the invention as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s argument of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Velicky et al., "Mechanism of Gold-Assisted Exfoliation of Centimeter-Sized Transition-Metal Dichalcogenide Monolayers," ACS Nano 12: 10463-10472 (2018) is moot based on grounds of new rejection.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781