DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/522518 filed on 11/29/2023. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 115260413 A). The English translation of the CN 115260413 A is attached.
Regarding to claim 1: Huang et al. disclose a high-safety, low-cost, and environmentally friendly polymer binder system for a lithium-ion battery (par. 1). The lithium-ion battery comprises an electrode. A slurry is used to prepared the electrode (par. 53). The slurry comprising:
an active material (par. 53);
a conductive agent (par. 53); and
a binder (par. 53),
wherein said binder comprises a calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate (A calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is equivalent to a proteinaceous substance. Soy protein is equivalent to one protein) (par. 46-48, 53).
Regarding to claim 2: Huang et al. disclose the calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is denatured by physical means (par. 3).
Regarding to claim 3, 5, 6: Huang et al. disclose the calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is cross-linked (par. 7-9).
Regarding to claim 4: Huang et al. disclose the calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is safe and inexpensive (par. 3).
Regarding to claim 8: Huang et al. disclose the mass ratio of the active material, the conductive agent and the binder is 8:1:1 (par. 53).
Regarding to claim 9: Huang et al. disclose the calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate binder with a mass fraction of about 5-9% (par. 51).
Regarding to claim 10: Huang et al. disclose the electrode comprising:
a copper current collector (par. 53); and
an 100°C treated layer of the slurry of claim 1, applied on a surface of said copper current collector (par. 53).
Regarding to claim 11: Huang et al. disclose a battery comprising the electrode of claim 10 (par. 53).
Regarding to claim 15: Huang et al. disclose a high-safety, low-cost, and environmentally friendly polymer binder system for a lithium-ion battery (par. 1). The lithium-ion battery comprises an electrode. The electrode comprising:
a copper current collector (par. 53); and
a layer of a slurry on a surface of said current collector (par. 53), wherein the slurry comprises:
an active material (par. 53);
a conductive agent (pad. 53); and
a binder (par. 53),
wherein said binder comprises a calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate (A calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is equivalent to a proteinaceous substance. Soy protein is equivalent to one protein) (par. 46-51, 53);
the calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is denatured by physical means (par. 3); and
the calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is cross-linked (par. 7-9).
Regarding to claim 16: Huang et al. disclose a battery comprising the electrode of claim 15 (par. 53).
Regarding to claim 17: Huang et al. disclose a high-safety, low-cost, and environmentally friendly polymer binder system for a lithium-ion battery (par. 1). The lithium-ion battery comprises an electrode. The electrode comprising:
a copper current collector (par. 53); and
a layer of a slurry on a surface of said current collector (par. 53), wherein the slurry comprises:
an active material (par. 53);
a conductive agent (pad. 53); and
a binder (par. 53),
wherein said binder comprises a calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate (A calcium ion modified polyacrylamide grafted soy protein isolate is equivalent to a proteinaceous substance. Soy protein is equivalent to one protein) (par. 46-51, 53);
Regarding to claim 18: Huang et al. disclose a battery comprising the electrode of claim 17 (par. 53).
Claims 1, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto et al. (US 11495799 B2).
Regarding to claim 1: Sakamoto et al. disclose a negative electrode of a lithium ion battery (abstract). A slurry is used to prepared the electrode (col. 23, lines 32-52). The slurry comprising:
an active material (col. 23, lines 32-52);
a conductive auxiliary (col. 23, lines 32-52); and
a binder (col. 23, lines 32-52),
wherein said binder comprises casein (equivalent to a proteinaceous substance which comprises at least one protein) (col. 18, lines 32-56).
Regarding to claim 10: Sakamoto et al. disclose the electrode comprising:
a collector; and
a heat treated layer of the slurry of claim 1, applied on a surface of said collector (col. 23, lines 32-52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (US 11495799 B2).
Regarding to claims 12, 13, 14: Sakamoto et al. disclose a process of preparing the electrode of claim 10, comprising: applying said slurry on said surface; heating said slurry on said surface to a temperature of 50 to 200° C, thereby obtaining said heat treated layer (col. 23, lines 32-52). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Claims 1, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 110707294 A), hereinafter Huang 294, in view of Sakamoto et al. (US 11495799 B2).The English translation of the CN 110707294 A is attached.
Regarding to claim 1: Huang 294 discloses a three-dimensional fiber-frame lithium battery anode (par.2). The lithium-ion battery comprises an anode. A uniformly dispersed suspension is used to prepared the anode (par. 11). The suspension (equivalent to a slurry) comprising:
zinc oxide (equivalent to an active material) (par. 6, 13);
a gelatin solution (equivalent to a binder composition (par. 7, 11, 32),
wherein said gelatin solution comprises gelatin, water, and trifluoroethanol (The combination of gelatin, water, and trifluoroethanol is equivalent to a proteinaceous substance. The gelatin is equivalent to a protein) (par. 18, 19).
Huang 294 fail to explicitly disclose a conductive additive. However, Sakamoto et al. disclose a negative electrode of a lithium ion battery (abstract). A slurry is used to prepared the electrode (col. 23, lines 32-52). The slurry comprising:
an active material (col. 23, lines 32-52);
a conductive auxiliary (col. 23, lines 32-52); and
a binder (col. 23, lines 32-52),
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the conductive auxiliary of Sakamoto et al. into the suspension of Huang 294 because Sakamoto et al. teach that the conductive auxiliary can increase electron conductivity (col. 21, lines 32-38).
Regarding to claim 7: Huang 294. discloses said gelatin solution comprises gelatin, water, and trifluoroethanol (The combination of gelatin, water, and trifluoroethanol is equivalent to a proteinaceous substance) (par. 18, 19).
Regarding to claim 9: Huang 294 discloses said gelatin solution comprises gelatin, water, and trifluoroethanol. The preferred mass concentration of the gelatin solution is 8-15 wt%
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717