DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/18/25 and 11/29/23 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, on lines 4-5, the term “I/Q samples” should be recited “in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) samples” in this first instance.
Regarding claim 7, on lines 4-5, the term “LLR values” should be recited “log-likelihood ratio (LLR) values” in this first instance.
Regarding claim 8, on line 4, the term “TB” should be recited “transport block (TB)” in this first instance.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 28 be found allowable, claim 30 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 16, 18, 20, 24, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baldemair et al. (U.S. 10,419,259) (hereinafter “Baldemair”). Baldemair teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit a control message that indicates one or more differential offsets, the one or more differential offsets to be applied to one or both of a first time duration to process a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission at the first UE and a second time duration to prepare a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission at the first UE” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 (first UE) of Figure 2 that transmits a random access preamble 202 (control message) to radio access node 102 which causes the radio access node 102 to respond with an RAR message 204 including indication of a time-domain resource allocation for MSG3 transmission on PUSCH (indication of differential offset), such that the wireless device 100 may determine a slot offset value K2 206 (second time duration) based on the received indication and a PUSCH table, and add an additional slot offset value 208 (differential offset) to the determined K2 to provide an increased slot offset value as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, line 55 – column 10, line 9; where the wireless device 304 of Figure 3 includes processing circuitry 316 (processor) coupled to a device readable medium 324 (memory).
Lastly, “transmit one or more uplink messages based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 that transmits the MSG3 transmission (uplink message) in accordance with (based on) the newly determined increased slot offset 210 (differential offset) as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 10, lines 7-9.
Regarding claim 2, “wherein, to transmit the one or more uplink messages, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) messages” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 that transmits the MSG3 transmission (uplink message) on the PUSCH (PUSCH message) in accordance with the increased slot offset value, the increased slot offset value being a sum of the determined slot offset value and an additional slot offset value for the MSG3 transmission as spoken of on column 6, lines 35-38.
Regarding claim 16, “a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: obtain a control message that indicates one or more differential offsets, the one or more differential offsets to be applied to one or both of a first time duration to process a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission at a first UE and a second time duration to prepare a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission at the first UE” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 (first UE) of Figure 2 that transmits a random access preamble 202 (control message) to radio access node 102 (network entity) which causes the radio access node 102 to respond (to the obtained control message) with an RAR message 204 including indication of a time-domain resource allocation for MSG3 transmission on PUSCH (indication of differential offset), such that the wireless device 100 may determine a slot offset value K2 206 (second time duration) based on the received indication and a PUSCH table, and add an additional slot offset value 208 (differential offset) to the determined K2 to provide an increased slot offset value as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, line 55 – column 10, line 9; where the network node 334 of Figure 3 includes processing circuitry 338 (processor) coupled to a device readable medium 344 (memory).
Lastly, “obtain one or more uplink messages based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 that transmits the MSG3 transmission (uplink message) to (obtained by) the radio access node 102 in accordance with (based on) the newly determined increased slot offset 210 (differential offset) as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 10, lines 7-9.
Regarding claim 18, “wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output an indication of a configured uplink grant via which to receive the control message that indicates the one or more differential offsets, wherein the control message is obtained based at least in part on the configured uplink grant” is anticipated by the radio access node 102 (network entity) that configures a PUSCH table 200 for the wireless device 100 via a system information SIB1 transmission or higher layer signaling (indication of configured uplink grant), the PUSCH table including multiple time-domain resource allocation configurations as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, lines 50-54; where the wireless device 100 determines a slot offset value K2 based on the PUSCH table 206 as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, lines 61-64.
Regarding claim 20, “a method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting a control message that indicates one or more differential offsets, the one or more differential offsets to be applied to one or both of a first time duration to process a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission at the first UE and a second time duration to prepare a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission at the first UE” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 (first UE) of Figure 2 that transmits a random access preamble 202 (control message) to radio access node 102 which causes the radio access node 102 to respond with an RAR message 204 including indication of a time-domain resource allocation for MSG3 transmission on PUSCH (indication of differential offset), such that the wireless device 100 may determine a slot offset value K2 206 (second time duration) based on the received indication and a PUSCH table, and add an additional slot offset value 208 (differential offset) to the determined K2 to provide an increased slot offset value as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, line 55 – column 10, line 9.
Lastly, “transmitting one or more uplink messages based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 that transmits the MSG3 transmission (uplink message) in accordance with (based on) the newly determined increased slot offset 210 (differential offset) as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 10, lines 7-9.
Regarding claim 24, “receiving a response to the control message from a network entity; and applying the one or more differential offsets based at least in part on receiving the response, wherein the one or more uplink messages are transmitted based at least in part on applying the one differential offsets” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 (first UE) of Figure 2 that transmits a random access preamble 202 (control message) to radio access node 102 which causes the radio access node 102 to respond with an RAR message 204 (response) including indication of a time-domain resource allocation for MSG3 transmission on PUSCH (indication of differential offset), such that the wireless device 100 may determine a slot offset value K2 206 (second time duration) based on the received indication and a PUSCH table, and add an additional slot offset value 208 (applies differential offset) to the determined K2 to provide an increased slot offset value as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, line 55 – column 10, line 9; where the wireless device 304 of Figure 3 includes processing circuitry 316 (processor) coupled to a device readable medium 324 (memory).
Regarding claim 27, “a method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: obtaining a control message that indicates one or more differential offsets, the one or more differential offsets to be applied to one or both of a first time duration to process a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission at a first UE and a second time duration to prepare a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission at the first UE” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 (first UE) of Figure 2 that transmits a random access preamble 202 (control message) to radio access node 102 (network entity) which causes the radio access node 102 to respond (to the obtained control message) with an RAR message 204 including indication of a time-domain resource allocation for MSG3 transmission on PUSCH (indication of differential offset), such that the wireless device 100 may determine a slot offset value K2 206 (second time duration) based on the received indication and a PUSCH table, and add an additional slot offset value 208 (differential offset) to the determined K2 to provide an increased slot offset value as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, line 55 – column 10, line 9.
Lastly, “obtaining one or more uplink messages based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets” is anticipated by the wireless device 100 that transmits the MSG3 transmission (uplink message) to (obtained by) the radio access node 102 in accordance with (based on) the newly determined increased slot offset 210 (differential offset) as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 10, lines 7-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 22, 23, 25, 26, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair in view of Wang et al. (U.S. 2024/0283615) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 3, Baldemair teaches claim 2 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “receive a downlink control information (DCI) message scheduling a plurality of PUSCH occasions, wherein each respective PUSCH occasion is associated with a respective slot offset between downlink control message reception and uplink data transmission; and transmit a PUSCH message of the one or more PUSCH messages via one of the plurality of PUSCH occasions based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets”.
However, Wang teaches a method and apparatus for reporting configured grant resource usage status in a wireless environment where DCI transmission is utilized in a random access process as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0066]; where a TDRA field of an activation DCI (DCI message) may indicate a row of a TDRA table specifically used for the allocation of multiple PUSCH occasions, and where one or more rows of the TDRA table includes information such as one or more slot offsets (K2) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0149].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the DCI transmission and allocation of PUSCH occasions as taught in Wang to the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource utilization in the system by providing explicit indication of resources to be used for PUSCH transmission as spoken of on page 11, paragraphs [0147] and [0149] of Wang.
Regarding claim 22, Baldemair teaches claim 20 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “applying the one or more differential offsets based at least in part on reception of a downlink control information (DCI) message after transmitting the control message, wherein the one or more uplink messages are transmitted based at least in part on applying the one or more differential offsets.
However, Wang teaches a method and apparatus for reporting configured grant resource usage status in a wireless environment where DCI transmission is utilized in a random access process as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0066]; where a TDRA field of an activation DCI (DCI message) may indicate a row of a TDRA table specifically used for the allocation of multiple PUSCH occasions, and where one or more rows of the TDRA table includes information such as one or more slot offsets (K2) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0149].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the DCI transmission and allocation of PUSCH occasions as taught in Wang to the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource utilization in the system by providing explicit indication of resources to be used for PUSCH transmission as spoken of on page 11, paragraphs [0147] and [0149] of Wang.
Regarding claim 23, Baldemair does not explicitly teach “wherein the DCI message indicates a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) identifier which corresponds to a HARQ identifier associated with the control message”.
However, Wang teaches a method and apparatus for reporting configured grant resource usage status in a wireless environment where DCI transmission is utilized in a random access process as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0066]; where a TDRA field of an activation DCI (DCI message) may indicate a row of a TDRA table specifically used for the allocation of multiple PUSCH occasions, where one or more rows of the TDRA table includes information such as one or more slot offsets (K2) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0149]; and where the activation DCI activates a configured grant via a configured grant configuration, the CG configuration including a number of HARQ processes (HARQ identifier) as spoken of on page 7, paragraphs [0072]-[0073].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the DCI transmission and allocation of PUSCH occasions as taught in Wang to the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource utilization in the system by providing explicit indication of resources to be used for PUSCH transmission as spoken of on page 11, paragraphs [0147] and [0149] of Wang.
Regarding claim 25, Baldemair teaches claim 20 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “applying the one or more differential offsets after transmitting the control message, wherein the control message includes an uplink control information (UCI) message, and wherein the one or more uplink messages are transmitted based at least in part on applying the one or more differential offsets”.
However, Wang teaches a method and apparatus for reporting configured grant resource usage status in a wireless environment where DCI transmission is utilized in a random access process as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0066]; where a TDRA field of an activation DCI (DCI message) may indicate a row of a TDRA table specifically used for the allocation of multiple PUSCH occasions, where one or more rows of the TDRA table includes information such as one or more slot offsets (K2) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0149]; and where the activation DCI activates a configured grant via a configured grant configuration, the CG configuration including a number of HARQ processes (HARQ identifier), the HARQ information being provided via UCI messaging as spoken of on page 7, paragraphs [0072]-[0073] and [0079].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the DCI transmission and allocation of PUSCH occasions as taught in Wang to the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource utilization in the system by providing explicit indication of resources to be used for PUSCH transmission as spoken of on page 11, paragraphs [0147] and [0149] of Wang.
Regarding claim 26, Baldemair further teaches the adding of an additional slot offset value to the determined slot offset value K2 by the wireless device 100 subsequent to (directly after) the transmission of the random access preamble 202 as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on column 9, line 55 – column 10, line 9.
Regarding claims 28 and 30, Baldemair teaches claim 27 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “outputting a radio resource control (RRC) message or a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message configuring an offset between a first uplink transmission occasion and a second uplink transmission occasion; and obtaining an uplink message of the one or more uplink messages via one of the first uplink transmission occasion and the second uplink transmission occasion based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets”.
However, Wang teaches a method and apparatus for reporting configured grant resource usage status in a wireless environment where DCI transmission is utilized in a random access process as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0066]; where a TDRA field of an activation DCI (DCI message) may indicate a row of a TDRA table specifically used for the allocation of multiple PUSCH occasions, where one or more rows of the TDRA table includes information such as one or more slot offsets (K2), and where the TDRA table may be configured via RRC signaling (RRC message) as spoken of on page 11, paragraph [0149].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the DCI transmission and allocation of PUSCH occasions as taught in Wang to the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource utilization in the system by providing explicit indication of resources to be used for PUSCH transmission as spoken of on page 11, paragraphs [0147] and [0149] of Wang.
Claim(s) 15, 21, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 2026/0012293) (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 15, Baldemair teaches claim 1 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “receive a control signal that indicates a first slot offset between reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and transmission of feedback and that indicates a second slot offset between reception of a downlink control message and transmission of uplink data, wherein the first slot offset and the second slot offset are based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets, and wherein the one or more uplink messages are transmitted according to at least the first slot offset or the second slot offset”.
However, Zhang teaches a method for HARQ retransmission where a UE receives DCI having associated K0, K1, and K2 offset values (e.g. first slot offset, second slot offset); where the K0 offset value represents a time interval between the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and the PDCCH carrying the DCI; the K1 offset value represents a time interval between the PUCCH for transmitting the HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception and the PDSCH; and the K2 offset value represents a time interval between the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI and the PDCCH carrying the DCI as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0107]-[0109].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the usage of a DCI having associated K0, K1, K2 offset values as taught in Zhang in the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource allocation in the system by providing established time offset values between different types of transmissions, thereby regulating delay and timing of the system as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0107]-[0109] of Zhang.
Regarding claim 21, Baldemair teaches claim 20 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “receiving a control signal that indicates a first slot offset between reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and transmission of feedback and that indicates a second slot offset between reception of a downlink control message and transmission of uplink data, wherein the first slot offset and the second slot offset are based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets, and wherein the one or more uplink messages are transmitted according to at least the first slot offset or the second slot offset”.
However, Zhang teaches a method for HARQ retransmission where a UE receives DCI having associated K0, K1, and K2 offset values (e.g. first slot offset, second slot offset); where the K0 offset value represents a time interval between the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and the PDCCH carrying the DCI; the K1 offset value represents a time interval between the PUCCH for transmitting the HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception and the PDSCH; and the K2 offset value represents a time interval between the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI and the PDCCH carrying the DCI as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0107]-[0109].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the usage of a DCI having associated K0, K1, K2 offset values as taught in Zhang in the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource allocation in the system by providing established time offset values between different types of transmissions, thereby regulating delay and timing of the system as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0107]-[0109] of Zhang.
Regarding claim 29, Baldemair teaches claim 27 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “outputting a control signal that indicates a first slot offset between transmission of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and reception of feedback and that indicates a second slot offset between transmission of a downlink control message and reception of uplink data, wherein the first slot offset and the second slot offset are based at least in part on the one or more differential offsets, and wherein the one or more uplink messages are obtained according to at least the first slot offset or the second slot offset”.
However, Zhang teaches a method for HARQ retransmission where a UE receives DCI having associated K0, K1, and K2 offset values (e.g. first slot offset, second slot offset); where the K0 offset value represents a time interval between the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and the PDCCH carrying the DCI; the K1 offset value represents a time interval between the PUCCH for transmitting the HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH reception and the PDSCH; and the K2 offset value represents a time interval between the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI and the PDCCH carrying the DCI as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0107]-[0109].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the usage of a DCI having associated K0, K1, K2 offset values as taught in Zhang in the system of Baldemair in order to optimize the radio resource allocation in the system by providing established time offset values between different types of transmissions, thereby regulating delay and timing of the system as spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0107]-[0109] of Zhang.
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair in view of Goyal et al. (U.S. 2025/0227794) (hereinafter “Goyal”).
Regarding claim 17, Baldemair teaches claim 16 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “wherein the control message includes a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) message”.
However, Goyal teaches a method and system for exchanging configuration information for a wireless terminal WTRU, where the WTRU may be configured with an uplink resource configuration to send a report, and where the WTRU may be configured to send the report as an uplink MAC-CE message as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0159].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the MAC-CE messaging taught in Goyal to the uplink control transmission of Baldemair in order to provide a more adaptive system that supports uplink control transmission using a variety of communication protocols, thereby increasing compatibility with different network configurations as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0159] of Goyal.
Regarding claim 19, Baldemair teaches claim 16 as described above. Baldemair does not explicitly teach “obtain a request for uplink resources associated with the control message that indicates the one or more differential offsets; and output an allocation of the uplink resources, wherein the control message is obtained based at least in part on the uplink resources”.
However, Goyal teaches a method and system for exchanging configuration information for a wireless terminal WTRU, where the WTRU may be configured with an uplink resource configuration (uplink resources) to send a report (control message), where the configuration includes time offset information, where the configuration may be communicated to (output allocation) the WTRU using RRC signaling, and where if the WTRU does not have allocated resources, the WTRU may request to the network to allocate resources for the communication (uplink resources) as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0159].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the requesting of uplink resources by a WTRU as taught in Goyal to the system of Baldemair in order to improve the resource allocation of the system by allowing for user equipment to dynamically request uplink resources as needed, thereby reducing potential waste of network resources as spoken of on page 13, paragraph [0159] of Goyal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467