Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-11, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feiweier (US 2017/0205483).
Regarding claim 1, Feiweier teaches a method for determining a parameter setting for a gradient power of a magnetic resonance system by an electronic computing device, the method performed continuously during a sequence-prepare phase in which a user provides input via an input device to define a measurement protocol, wherein the method is performed prior to the user initiating a start of measurement the method comprising:
specifying a limit value for a nerve stimulation of a person positioned in the magnetic resonance system [Fig. 2 and ¶0108. ¶0031, ¶0122. See also rest of reference.];
repeatedly performing the following steps in real-time response to continuous user input [¶0010. See also rest of reference.] via the input device during the sequence-prepare phase:
entering an individual gradient parameter within a predefined range for a pulse of the gradient power as the parameter setting [Fig. 2 and ¶0109-0110. ¶0013, ¶0044. See also rest of reference.];
approximating a potential nerve stimulation as a function of the individual gradient parameter by a predefined mathematical model [See Fig. 2 and ¶0114-0116. See also simulation unit. See also rest of reference.];
comparing the approximated potential nerve stimulation with the limit value [See Fig. 2 and ¶0114-0116. ¶0031, ¶0122.. See also rest of reference.]; and
determining the parameter setting as a function of the comparison, wherein the predefined range is dynamically defined based on the predefined mathematical model and the limit value such that gradient parameter values that would cause the potential nerve stimulation to exceed the limit value are suppressed and not available for selection [See permissible range of parameter values. ¶0114-0116. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 2, Feiweier further teaches wherein a gradient amplitude of the pulse, a slew rate of the pulse, or the gradient amplitude of the pulse and the slew rate of the pulse are generated as the individual gradient parameter as a function of an input [See gradient amplitude or slew rate mentioned throughout reference. ¶0115. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 10, Feiweier further teaches wherein a peripheral nerve stimulation, a potential cardio nerve stimulation, or the peripheral nerve stimulation and the potential cardio nerve stimulation are taken into account in the determination of the parameter setting [¶0014. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 11, Feiweier further teaches wherein limit values for the peripheral nerve stimulation, the cardio nerve stimulation, or the peripheral nerve stimulation and the cardio nerve stimulation are specified for determining the parameter setting [¶0014. Fig. 2 and ¶0108. ¶0031, ¶0122. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 13, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 13 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the same reasons for rejection as claim 2 also apply to this claim. Claim 14 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 20 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 1.
At least independent claims 1, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feiweier (US 2015/0285885. Herein referred to as ‘885.).
Regarding claim 1, ‘858 teaches a method for determining a parameter setting for a gradient power of a magnetic resonance system by an electronic computing device, the method performed continuously during a sequence-prepare phase in which a user provides input via an input device to define a measurement protocol, wherein the method is performed prior to the user initiating a start of measurement the method comprising:
specifying a limit value for a nerve stimulation of a person positioned in the magnetic resonance system [See physiological limits. ¶0032.3 See also rest of reference.];
repeatedly performing the following steps in real-time response to continuous user input [See Fig. 2-3. ¶0057. See also rest of reference.] via the input device during the sequence-prepare phase:
entering an individual gradient parameter within a predefined range for a pulse of the gradient power as the parameter setting [See gradient slew rate and gradient amplitude. See also rest of reference.];
approximating a potential nerve stimulation as a function of the individual gradient parameter by a predefined mathematical model [See SAFE model. See also simulation unit. See also rest of reference.];
comparing the approximated potential nerve stimulation with the limit value [See Fig. 2-5 which all disclose a step(s) for comparing to a limit value. See also rest of reference.]; and
determining the parameter setting as a function of the comparison, wherein the predefined range is dynamically defined based on the predefined mathematical model and the limit value such that gradient parameter values that would cause the potential nerve stimulation to exceed the limit value are suppressed and not available for selection [¶0057, see grey values and red values. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 13, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 13 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 20 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding claim 20, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 20 is merely the apparatus version of method claim 1.
Claims 3-4 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Feiweier, in view of Vu (US 2010/0308829).
Regarding claim 3, Feiweier teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Feiweier is silent in teaching wherein, as the potential nerve stimulation, a nerve stimulation formed in all three spatial directions is approximated as a total nerve stimulation.
Vu, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein, as the potential nerve stimulation, a nerve stimulation formed in all three spatial directions is approximated as a total nerve stimulation [See equation 4. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feiweier with the teachings of Vu because both Feiweier and Vu are in the field of determining PNS and Vu teaches it is known in the art to calculate PNS using
[Vu - See equation 4. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 4, Feiweier and Vu teach the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends from.
However, Feiweier is silent in teaching wherein the potential nerve stimulation is approximated for each spatial direction and the total nerve stimulation is
Vu, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches Vu further teaches wherein a potential nerve stimulation is approximated for each spatial direction and the total nerve stimulation is determined by:
where NTotal corresponds to the total nerve stimulation and Nx, Ny, Nz correspond to the respective nerve stimulation in one spatial direction [See equation 4. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feiweier with the teachings of Vu because both Feiweier and Vu are in the field of determining PNS and Vu teaches it is known in the art to calculate PNS using
[Vu - See equation 4. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 15, the same reasons for rejection as claim 3 also apply to this claim. Claim 15 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the same reasons for rejection as claim 4 also apply to this claim. Claim 16 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 4.
Claims 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Feiweier, in view of Gong (US 2022/0381855).
Regarding claim 5, Feiweier teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Feiweier is silent in teaching wherein a respective nerve stimulation is determined in all three spatial directions and the potential nerve stimulation is approximated as that which has the highest value of the determined three nerve stimulations in one spatial direction.
Gong, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein a respective nerve stimulation is determined in all three spatial directions and the potential nerve stimulation is approximated as that which has the highest value of the determined three nerve stimulations in one spatial direction [¶0102, The direction in which the PNS value of the preliminary gradient pulse configuration has the highest value among the plurality of specified directions may be determined as a maximum PNS direction of the preliminary gradient pulse configuration. Accordingly, the PNS value in the maximum PNS direction may be determined as the global PNS value (also referred to as the global maximum PNS value) of the preliminary gradient pulse configuration. ¶0122 and Fig. 9, If a PNS value in any one of the plurality of directions exceeds a corresponding PNS threshold in the direction, the process 900 may proceed to 940. Therefore, if only the highest PNS in a specific direction exceeds the threshold, parameters are adjusted. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feiweier with the teachings of Gong because both references are in the field of creating pulse sequence that do not exceed stimulation thresholds and because Gong teaches it is known in the art to determine stimulation in all three spatial directions and the potential nerve stimulation is approximated as that which has the highest value of the determined three nerve stimulations in one spatial direction [Gong - ¶0102, ¶0122, Fig. 9].
Regarding claim 17, the same reasons for rejection as claim 5 also apply to this claim. Claim 17 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 5.
Claims 6-7 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Feiweier, in view of Hebrank (“SAFE-Model - A New Method for Predicting Peripheral Nerve Stimulations in MRI”).
Regarding claim 6, Feiweier teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Feiweier is silent in teaching wherein the predefined mathematical model is specified as an analytical mathematical model.
Hebrank, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the predefined mathematical model is specified as an analytical mathematical model [See New Stimulation Model and Results sections. Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feiweier with the teachings of Hebrank because Feiweier is in the field of ensuring MR sequences do not exceed PNS thresholds for patient safety and Hebrank teaches SAFE is a known model for determining if gradient pulses exceed PNS thresholds [Hebrank - See New Stimulation Model and Results sections. Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 7, Feiweier and Hebrank teaches the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends from.
Feiweier and Hebrank both teach wherein at least one of a ramp-up of the pulse, a plateau of the pulse, or a ramp-down of the pulse is evaluated analytically [Feiweier – See Fig. 4 and 8. Hebrank - See New Stimulation Model and Results sections. Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feiweier with the teachings of Hebrank because Feiweier is in the field of ensuring MR sequences do not exceed PNS thresholds for patient safety and Hebrank teaches SAFE is a known model for determining if gradient pulses exceed PNS thresholds [Hebrank - See New Stimulation Model and Results sections. Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 18, the same reasons for rejection as claim 6 also apply to this claim. Claim 18 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the same reasons for rejection as claim 7 also apply to this claim. Claim 19 is merely the non-transitory computer implemented storage medium version of method claim 7.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Feiweier, and in further view of Feiweier (US 2015/0285885. Herein referred to as ‘885.).
Regarding claim 8, Feiweier teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends from.
Feiweier are silent in teaching wherein the limit value is specified with a safety factor.
‘885, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the limit value is specified with a safety factor [¶0060, see safety margin. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feiweier with the teachings of ‘885 because both references are in the field of ensuring MR sequences do not exceed thresholds for patient safety and because ‘885 teaches it is known in the art to include safety margins with threshold values in order to thus reduce the complexity in the calculation of a measurement sequence that complies with physiological limits [‘885 -¶0060. See also rest of reference.].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858