DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-18 and 22-24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “storage stable, fast, high, and excellent” in claim 1 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While one of ordinary skill in the art would understand in a general sense what it means to be storage stable, one of ordinary skill in the art would also note that no storage parameters such as temperature or humidity nor a time over which this stability is expected is given. As the conditions under which the composition is stored would have an effect upon the length of time which the composition could be expected to be stored, it is not possible to determine what the applicant intends to be the requirements for stability. Further, as no composition would be expected to be stable indefinitely, it is similarly not possible to determine whether or not a composition would meet the requirements of the claim without specifying the parameters required.
Similarly, the term “fast” in relation to curing is not defined, nor are the mechanical, electrical, or flame-retardant properties that are required to be “excellent” noted or what values for these properties that would meet the criteria. Finally, the applicant fails to note what constitutes a “high” glass transition temperature.
The applicant is required to review and revise the claim language to either remove these terms or to define which properties and values are required by the claim language.
For the purposes of examination, this language will not be evaluated on merit.
Claims 2-18 and 22-24 are rejected based upon their dependency upon Claim 1.
Claim 19-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Similar to claim 1, the term “storage stable” is not defined and thus renders the claim language to be indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, this term will not be evaluated on merit.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected based upon their dependency upon Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 16-18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nii (US 20160369042) in view of Fung (US 20100163783).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 16
Nii teaches a resin composition that includes an epoxy resin and acid anhydride (Abstract) where a combination of epoxy resins may be used (Paragraph 22) which includes phosphorus-containing epoxy resins (and notes the use in the examples of FX-289-P, which is non-halogenated) (Paragraph 22) as well as a variety of non-phosphorus containing resins such as those based upon bisphenol A or F (Paragraph 22) with Nii further noting that the inclusion of phosphorus-containing resins improving flame retardancy (Paragraph 22). Nii further teaches the use of cyclic anhydrides as curing agents (Paragraph 24) as well as the use of catalysts such as imidazoles (Paragraph 35). Nii also teaches the use of silica (Paragraph 36), which while not mentioned as a rheology modifier, is known in the art to be useful for this purpose with Nii noting that its inclusion is preferred to be below 50 parts in order to suppress reduction in fluidity of the composition (Paragraph 37) and would meet the requirements of the instant claims.
Nii fails to teach the incorporation of a heat stabilizing agent or antioxidant. Fung teaches that antioxidants such as di-tertiary butyl hydroxytoluene (commonly known as BHT) (Paragraph 48) as well as heat stabilizers may be incorporated to a phosphorus-containing epoxy composition (Paragraph 48). Fung notes that the use of such additives is done to achieve the desired physical properties and thermal stability (Paragraph 48). Fung does not teach the incorporation amounts, but does note that they are optional (Paragraph 48). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the compositions of Nii and Fung are broadly similar and that incorporation of these additives would enhance the stability of the resulting composition. As such, the ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to add them to the composition of Nii in any amount in order to enhance these properties. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used the additives taught by Fung in the composition taught by Nii to achieve the predictable result of an epoxy resin composition with improved thermal stability with a reasonable expectation of success.
Finally, Nii teaches that the composition can be cured and used for printed wiring boards (Paragraph 48) and while Nii does not explicitly state that the composition is solvent free, no solvent is mentioned as part of the composition (Claims 1-8).
Regarding Claim 3,
Nii teaches that the composition is cured at 180 °C (Paragraph 101) and that the resulting cured compositions had glass transition temperatures of between 150 and 170 °C (Table 1, working examples 1-12).
Regarding Claims 4-9 and 17,
Nii is silent on the elongation percentage, tensile strength, tensile modulus, flexural strength, volume resistance, dielectric constant, thermal conductivity, lap sheer strength, hardness, moisture resistance, and viscosity of the composition. However, as Nii in view of Fung teaches a composition that contains the required elements, it would logically follow that the physical properties of the composition would be broadly similar to those of the composition of the instant claims. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.II.
Regarding Claim 10,
Nii teaches that the composition passes the flammability requirements of UL 94 V-0 (Table 1, working examples 1-12).
Regarding Claims 11 and 12,
Nii teaches the use of a non-halogenated phosphorus-containing epoxy (FX-289-P as noted above in regard to Claim 1) as well as the use of bisphenol A and F, and dicyclopentadiene epoxy resins (Paragraph 22). While Nii does not teach a required amount or ratio of these resins, the examples teach the use of combined amounts between approximately 49 and 74% by weight (Table 1, examples 1-12 and Table 2, examples 13-20). Further, Nii notes that increasing amounts of phosphorus-containing epoxy resin improve flame retardancy (Paragraph 22). As the values of 49 to 74% are within the range of the combined amounts of the two epoxy resins and with Nii teaching that increasing amounts of phosphorus-containing epoxy resin improve flame retardancy, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the incorporation amount could be tailored to meet the amount of flame retardancy required for the specific application. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used an amount of epoxy resins within the requirements of claims 11 and 12 and it would further have been obvious to have used any amount of the two epoxy resins to meet the required amount of flame retardancy.
Regarding Claim 13,
Nii teaches that the equivalence ratio of epoxy to acid anhydride is to be between 1:0.1 and 1:0.6 (Paragraph 26) which based upon the amount of epoxy resin present would overlap with the range of the instant claim. Nii teaches that using more than 0.6 equivalents of anhydride can result in gelation while glass transition temperature will be too low if using less than 0.1 equivalents (Paragraph 26), giving one of ordinary skill in the art motivation to stay within the stated ranges. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Nii also teaches that anhydrides such as 4-methylhexahydrophthalic anhydride, tetrahydrophthalic anhydride and trimellitic anhydride may be used (Paragraph 24).
Regarding Claim 14,
Nii teaches that the catalyst can be an imidazole and exemplifies 2-ethyl-4-methylimidazole (Paragraph 35) which Nii further teaches can be used in any amount that does not impair the effects of the present invention (Paragraph 35). The ordinarily skilled artisan would know that increasing amounts of catalyst would increase the cure rate and would therefore use an amount of catalyst that afforded the desired rate of curing. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used any appropriate amount of catalyst to obtain the desired rate of curing.
Regarding Claim 18,
Nii teaches that the composition has a gel time of between 60 and 120 seconds (Paragraph 44), which overlaps with the range of the instant claims. As Nii teaches the amount of anhydride has a direct effect on gelation time (Paragraph 26), it would logically follow that the ratio of the reactants to each other would be the driving factor in the gelation time and that using similar amounts of catalyst and anhydride would afford similar gelation times. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 22,
While optional, Nii teaches the use of epoxy resins such as bisphenol F epoxy resins and bisphenol A novolac epoxy resins (Paragraph 22).
Regarding Claim 23,
While optional, Nii teaches the use of silane-based adhesion promotors (Paragraph 40).
Regarding Claim 24,
While optional, Nii teaches the use of fillers such as aluminum hydroxide (Paragraph 36).
Claims 15 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nii (US 20160369042) in view of Fung (US 20100163783) as applied to claims 1-14, 16-18 and 22-24 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 104559883).
Regarding Claim 15,
Nii in view of Fung teaches that compounds can be used to improve processability of the resin composition (Fung Paragraph 48), but does not teach the use of polyamide wax. Zhang teaches the use of organic thixotropic agents such as polyamide wax (Paragraph 13), which reads upon a rheology modifier. Because Fung teaches that compounds may be added to improve the processability and physical properties of the composition, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that altering the viscosity can improve processability and the ordinarily skilled artisan would look to the prior art to find additives that could alter the viscosity to a desired level. Because Zhang teaches compositions of epoxy resins meant for similar use cases, the ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize that additives useful in the composition of Zhang could also be used in the composition of Nii in view of Fung. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have combined the polyamide wax thixotropic agent of Zhang with the composition of Nii in view of Fung to obtain the predictable result of an epoxy resin composition with altered rheology with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 19-21,
Nii in view of Fung and in further view of Zhang teaches the use of non-halogenated phosphorus-containing resins, cyclic anhydride curing agents, phenolic stabilizing agents and polyamide waxes as discussed above in regard to claims 1, 15, and 16 and it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have combined them for the reasons stated previously. With regard to the resins being liquid, Nii is silent. However, Nii teaches that there is no particular limitation on the epoxy resins other than being bifunctional or polyfunctional (Paragraph 22). As Nii teaches both the use of bisphenol A epoxy resins (Paragraph 22) and phosphorus-containing epoxy resins (Paragraph 22), it would logically follow that the resin could be either solid or liquid and the ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize that because Nii explicitly states that the only requirement is that the resin possess two or more epoxide functionalities that any epoxy resin meeting this requirement can be used. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date to have used liquid epoxy resins. Finally, with regard to the imidazole catalyst being encapsulated, Nii is silent. However Nii teaches that any curing accelerator (catalyst) can be used as long as it facilitates the reaction between the epoxy resin and the anhydride (Paragraph 35). As the encapsulated imidazole catalyst would function similarly to a non-encapsulated imidazole following degradation of the encapsulation material, it would logically follow that such catalysts can be used. Because the encapsulated imidazole can facilitate the same reaction as the non-encapsulated version, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used any imidazole catalyst, including encapsulated versions.
With regard to the structure of claim 20, the structure as drawn represents a bisphenol A epoxy resin, which Nii teaches can be used (Paragraph 22). Further, Nii teaches the composition is cured to form a laminate as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
Finally, while the claim language of claim 19 states that the composition is for use in electronic applications, there is no modification to the composition to alter it in order to serve this purpose and, as a result, this language is considered intended use and is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.02.II.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nii (US 20170226276) teaches compositions similar to those of the instant application, including phosphorus-containing epoxy resins and cyclic anhydride curing agents, for use in electronic applications.
/A.J.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765