Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of “OSW-D-010 Occupancy Sensing Wall Dimmer / VSW-D-010 Vacancy Sensing Wall Dimmer” to Cooper lighting solutions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-14, 20-23 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Lutron maestro Advanced Programming mode” (hereinafter “Lutron”), in view of US20090213698 to Ostrovsky et al. (hereinafter “Ostrovsky”), in view of “OSW-D-010 Occupancy Sensing Wall Dimmer / VSW-D-010 Vacancy Sensing Wall Dimmer” to Cooper lighting solutions (hereinafter “Cooper”).
As for claim 1, Lutron substantially discloses a load control (Lutron, see page 1), comprising:
a housing, the housing (Lutron, see page 1) comprising:
a controllably conductive switch to control electrical power to a load (Lutron, see page 1);
a controller operatively coupled to control operation of the controllably conductive switch in an operational mode, and being user-programmable in a settings mode (Lutron, see pages 3 for advanced programming mode (i.e. user-programmable setting mode) and see page 6 for exiting the advanced programming mode and entering the normal operating mode); and
a control interface (Lutron, see page 1), the control interface comprising:
a first actuator to select, a programmable setting of a plurality of programmable settings of a settings level of the controller in the settings mode, the first actuator comprising a first user-activated electromechanical device and being selectable by a user without disassembly of the load control (Lutron, see page 1 and page 3 for selecting “Off” fade time/”on” fade time to modify based on the actuation the tap button); and
a second actuator to select, an option of a plurality of options of the selected programmable setting of the controller in the settings mode, the second actuator comprising a second user-activated electromechanical device and being selectable by the user without disassembly of the load control (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4 for selecting options of the selected “On” fade time/”Off” fade time based on the actuations of the raise/lower rocker).
Lutron does not explicitly disclose a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box.
However, Ostrovsky in an analogous art discloses a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box (Ostrovsky, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Ostrovsky of into the device of Lutron. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a wall mounted timer which is easy to install in a standard wall mounted electrical box (Ostrovsky, see [0003]).
The combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky does not explicitly disclose wherein: the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the first actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations, wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator.
However, Cooper in an analogous art discloses the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the first actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations (Cooper, see page 2 for settings mode based on number of times to press toggle), wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator (Cooper, see page 2 for settings mode options based on number of times of button presses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Cooper into the combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to enable navigating a multi-setting menu with few buttons and confirming selection with simple indicator feedback (Cooper, see page 1).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the control interface further comprises one or more light indicators to signal
the selected option of the selected programmable setting of the controller in the settings mode (Lutron, see page 4).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein in the operational mode, the controllably conductive switch changes power to the load based on actuation of the first actuator or the second actuator (Lutron, see page 1).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein in the operational mode, the controllably conductive switch at least one of:
transitions the load between an ON state and an OFF state (Lutron, see page 1).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the controller receives, based on the specified number of first actuations being within a first time interval, an indication of the programmable setting of the plurality programmable settings, and the controller receives, based on the specified number of second actuations being within a second time interval, an indication of the option of the plurality options (Lutron, see pages 3-4).
As per claim 12, Lutron substantially discloses a load control (Lutron, see page 1) comprising:
a housing (Lutron, see page 1), the housing comprising:
a controllably conductive switch to control electrical power to a load (Lutron, see page 1);
a controller operatively coupled to control operation of the controllably conductive switch in an operational mode, and being user-programmable in a settings mode (Lutron, see pages 3 for advanced programming mode (i.e. user-programmable setting mode) and see page 6 for exiting the advanced programming mode and entering the normal operating mode); and
a control interface (Lutron, see page 1) comprising a first actuator and a second actuator, wherein the first and second actuators are each actuatable by a user without disassembly of the load control (Lutron, see page 1), wherein when in the settings mode:
the first actuator to select, a plurality of programmable setting of one or more programmable settings of a settings level of the controller (Lutron, see page 1 and page 3 for selecting “Off” fade time/”on” fade time to modify based on the actuation the tap button); the first actuator comprising a first user-activated electromechanical device (Lutron, see page 1 and page 3),
the second actuator to select, based on a specified number of second actuations, an option of a plurality of options of the selected programmable setting of the controller (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4 for selecting options of the selected “On” fade time/”Off” fade time based on the actuations of the raise/lower rocker); the second actuator comprising a first user-activated electromechanical device (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4) and
one or more indicators to signal the selected option of the selected programmable setting of the controller (Lutron, see page 4).
Lutron does not explicitly disclose a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box.
However, Ostrovsky in an analogous art discloses a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box (Ostrovsky, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Ostrovsky of into the device of Lutron. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a wall mounted timer which is easy to install in a standard wall mounted electrical box (Ostrovsky, see [0003]).
The combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky does not explicitly disclose wherein: the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the first actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations, wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator.
However, Cooper in an analogous art discloses the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the first actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations (Cooper, see page 2 for settings mode based on number of times to press toggle), wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator (Cooper, see page 2 for settings mode options based on number of times of button presses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Cooper into the combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to enable navigating a multi-setting menu with few buttons and confirming selection with simple indicator feedback (Cooper, see page 1).
As per claim 13, Lutron substantially discloses a load control (Lutron, see page 1) comprising:
a housing (Lutron, see page 1), the housing comprising:
a controllably conductive switch to control electrical power to a load (Lutron, see page 1);
a controller operatively coupled to control operation of the controllably conductive switch in an operational mode, and being user-programmable in a settings mode mode (Lutron, see pages 3 for advanced programming mode (i.e. user-programmable setting mode) and see page 6 for exiting the advanced programming mode and entering the normal operating mode); and
a control interface (Lutron, see page 1), the control interface comprising:
a load control actuator, wherein in the operational mode of the controller, an actuation of the load control actuator results in changing power to the load (Lutron, see page 1);
a setup actuator to select, a programmable setting of a plurality of programmable settings of a settings level of the controller in the settings mode, the setup actuator comprising a first user-activated electromechanical device and being selectable by a user without disassembly of the load control (Lutron, see page 1 and page 3 for selecting “Off” fade time/”on” fade time to modify based on the actuation the tap button); and
wherein the load control actuator is further to select, an option of a plurality of options of the selected programmable setting of the controller in the settings mode, the load control actuator comprising a second user-activated electromechanical device and being selectable by the user without disassembly of the load control (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4 for selecting options of the selected “On” fade time/”Off” fade time based on the actuations of the raise/lower rocker).
Lutron does not explicitly disclose a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box.
However, Ostrovsky in an analogous art discloses a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box (Ostrovsky, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Ostrovsky of into the device of Lutron. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a wall mounted timer which is easy to install in a standard wall mounted electrical box (Ostrovsky, see [0003]).
The combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky does not explicitly disclose wherein: the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the setup actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations, wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator.
However, Cooper in an analogous art discloses the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the setup actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations (Cooper, see page 2 for settings mode based on number of times to press toggle), wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator (Cooper, see page 2 for settings mode options based on number of times of button presses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Cooper into the combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to enable navigating a multi-setting menu with few buttons and confirming selection with simple indicator feedback (Cooper, see page 1).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the control interface further comprises one or more light indicators to signal
the selected option of the selected programmable setting of the controller in the settings mode (Lutron, see page 4).
As per claim 20, Lutron substantially discloses a load control (Lutron, see page 1) comprising:
a housing (Lutron, see page 1), the housing comprising:
a controllably conductive switch to control electrical power to a load (Lutron, see page 1);
a dimmer associated with the controllably conductive switch to control dimming of the electrical power to the load (Lutron, see page 1), the dimmer comprising:
a dim actuator and a bright actuator (Lutron, see page 1); and
a controller operatively coupled to control operation of the controllably conductive switch in an operational mode, and being user-programmable in a settings mode Lutron, see pages 3 for advanced programming mode (i.e. user-programmable setting mode) and see page 6 for exiting the advanced programming mode and entering the normal operating mode); and
a control interface (Lutron, see page 1), the control interface comprising:
a load control actuator, wherein in the operational mode of the controller, actuation of the load control actuator results in the controllably conductive switch changing power to the load (Lutron, see page 1);
a setup actuator to select, a programmable setting of a plurality of programmable settings of a settings level of the controller in the settings mode, the setup actuator comprising a user-activated electromechanical device, and being selectable by a user without disassembly of the load control (Lutron, see page 1 and page 3 for selecting “Off” fade time/”on” fade time to modify based on the actuation the tap button); and
wherein the controller receives a selected option of a plurality of options of the selected programmable setting, wherein in setting mode: the selected option is based on a specified number of actuations of at least one of the dim actuator, the bright actuator, or the load control actuator (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4 for selecting options of the selected “On” fade time/”Off” fade time based on the actuations of the raise/lower rocker).
Lutron does not explicitly disclose a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box, a dimmer light bar to indicate a dimming level.
However, Ostrovsky in an analogous art discloses a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box (Ostrovsky, see abstract), a dimmer light bar to indicate a dimming level (Ostrovsky, see Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Ostrovsky of into the device of Lutron. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a wall mounted timer which is easy to install in a standard wall mounted electrical box (Ostrovsky, see [0003]).
The combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky does not explicitly disclose wherein: the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the setup actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations; the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options is selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator.
However, Cooper in an analogous art discloses wherein: the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the setup actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations; the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options is selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator (Cooper, see page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Cooper into the combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to enable navigating a multi-setting menu with few buttons and confirming selection with simple indicator feedback (Cooper, see page 1).
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the control interface further comprises one or more light indicators to signal
the selected option of the selected programmable setting of the controller in the settings mode (Lutron, see page 4).
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein in the settings mode, the controller receives a selected programmable sub-setting of multiple programmable sub-settings of the selected programmable setting based on an actuation of either the dim actuator or the bright actuator of the dimmer, and wherein based on the selected programmable sub-setting, the controller receives the selected option of the plurality of options based on the specified number of actuations of the dim actuator or the bright actuator (Lutron, see pages 3-4).
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 22 is incorporated, Ostrovsky further discloses wherein the selected programmable setting is a dimmer light level setting, and the multiple programmable sub-settings comprise a minimum dim-light level setting and a maximum dim-light level setting, and wherein the dimmer light bar is part of the one or more light indicators and signals the selected option for the minimum dim-light level setting or maximum dim-light level setting (Ostrovsky, see Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Ostrovsky of into the device of Lutron. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a wall mounted timer which is easy to install in a standard wall mounted electrical box (Ostrovsky, see [0003]).
As per claim 26, Lutron substantially discloses a load control (Lutron, see page 1) comprising:
a housing (Lutron, see page 1), the housing comprising:
a controllably conductive switch to control electrical power to a load (Lutron, see page 1);
a controller operatively coupled to control operation of the controllably conductive switch in an operational mode, and being user-programmable in a settings mode (Lutron, see pages 3 for advanced programming mode (i.e. user-programmable setting mode) and see page 6 for exiting the advanced programming mode and entering the normal operating mode); and
a control interface (Lutron, see page 1), the control interface comprising:
a load control actuator, wherein in the operational mode of the controller, actuation of the load control actuator results in the controllably conductive switch changing power to the load (Lutron, see page 1);
a setup actuator to select, a programmable setting of a plurality of programmable settings of a settings level of the controller in the settings mode, the setup actuator comprising a user-activated electromechanical device, and being selectable by a user without disassembly of the load control (Lutron, see page 1 and page 3 for selecting “Off” fade time/”on” fade time to modify based on the actuation the tap button);
at least one select actuator to facilitate, at least in part, user input of one or more selections in the settings mode of the controller (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4 for selecting options of the selected “On” fade time/”Off” fade time based on the actuations of the raise/lower rocker); and
wherein the controller receives a selected option of a plurality of options of the selected programmable setting based on a specified number of second actuations of one or more of the at least one select actuator or the load control actuator (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4 for selecting options of the selected “On” fade time/”Off” fade time based on the actuations of the raise/lower rocker).
Lutron does not explicitly disclose a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box.
However, Ostrovsky in an analogous art discloses a housing configured to be installed in an electrical box (Ostrovsky, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Ostrovsky of into the device of Lutron. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a wall mounted timer which is easy to install in a standard wall mounted electrical box (Ostrovsky, see [0003]).
The combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky does not explicitly disclose the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the setup actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations, wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator.
However, Cooper in an analogous art discloses the selection of the programmable setting is based on a specified number of actuations of the setup actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each programmable setting of the plurality of programmable settings is selectable by a different specified number of actuations, wherein: the selection of the option is based on a specified number of actuations of the actuator, the specified number being greater than one; each option of the plurality of options being selected by a different specified number of actuations of the actuator (Cooper, see page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Cooper into the combination of Lutron and Ostrovsky. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to enable navigating a multi-setting menu with few buttons and confirming selection with simple indicator feedback (Cooper, see page 1).
As per claim 27, the rejection of claim 26 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the control interface further comprises one or more light indicators to signal
the selected option of the selected programmable setting of the controller in the settings mode (Lutron, see page 4).
As per claim 28, the rejection of claim 27 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the control interface further comprises multiple select actuators, the at least one select actuator being at least one select actuator of the multiple select actuators (Lutron, see page 1 and page 4).
As per claim 29, the rejection of claim 28 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein in the settings mode, the controller receives a selected programmable sub-setting of multiple programmable sub-settings of the selected programmable setting based on an actuation of a select actuator of the multiple select actuators, and wherein based on the selected programmable sub-setting, the controller receives the selected option of the multiple options based on the specified number of actuations of another select actuator of the multiple select actuators, or of the load control actuator (Lutron, see pages 3-4).
As per claim 30, the rejection of claim 29 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the multiple select actuators include an increase actuator and a decrease actuator (Lutron, see page 4).
As per claim 31, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the controller receives the selected option of the multiple options of the selected programmable setting based on the specified number of actuations of the increase actuator or the decrease actuator (Lutron, see page 4).
Claim(s) 3-5 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutron, in view of Ostrovsky, in view of Cooper, further in view of US20120068686 to Steiner et al. (hereinafter “Steiner”).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the controller is placed into the settings mode based on maintaining an actuation of the first actuator for a defined time interval (Lutron, see page 3 for holding the tap button to enter the main menu mode), and wherein the one or more light indicators indicate entry into the settings mode of the controller (Lutron, see page 3 for the bottom LED will begin to blink to indicate that you have entered advanced programming mode).
The combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper does not explicitly disclose entry into a mode of the controller based on a release of the first actuator. However, Steiner in an analogous art discloses entry into a mode of the controller based on a release of the first actuator (Steiner, see [0074]-[0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Steiner of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a simple lighting control system that has occupancy sensor which may be easily and optimally installed into a space (Steiner, see [0008]).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the controller saves the selected option of the selected programmable setting, and returns to the settings level of the settings mode based on a further actuation of the first actuator (Lutron, see page 4).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the controller transitions from the settings mode to the operational mode based on maintaining another actuation of the first actuator for another defined time interval, and wherein the one or more light indicators indicate entry into the operational mode of the controller based on a release of the first actuator (Lutron, see page 6 for transitions from the advance programming mode to the normal operating mode based on maintaining another actuation of the first actuator for another defined time interval, and the LED stopped blinking to indicate the transition).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses the controller is placed into the settings mode based on maintaining an actuation of the setup actuator for a defined time interval (Lutron, see page 3), and wherein the one or more light indicators indicate entry into the settings mode of the controller (Lutron, see page 3 for the bottom LED will begin to blink to indicate that you have entered advanced programming mode).
The combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper does not explicitly disclose entry into a mode of the controller based on a release of the setup actuator. However, Steiner in an analogous art discloses entry into a mode of the controller based on a release of the setup actuator (Steiner, see [0074]-[0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Steiner of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a simple lighting control system that has occupancy sensor which may be easily and optimally installed into a space (Steiner, see [0008]).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses the controller saves the selected option of the selected programmable setting, and returns to the settings level of the settings mode based on a further actuation of the setup actuator (Lutron, see page 4).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the controller transitions from the settings mode to the operational mode based on maintaining an actuation of the setup actuator for another defined time interval, and wherein the one or more light indicators indicate entry into the operational mode of the controller based on a release of the setup actuator (Lutron, see page 6 for transitions from the advance programming mode to the normal operating mode based on maintaining another actuation of the first actuator for another defined time interval, and the LED stopped blinking to indicate the transition).
Claim(s) 6-8, 18-19 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutron, in view of Ostrovsky, in view of Cooper, further in view of US 6901439 to Bonasia et al. (hereinafter “Bonasia”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the one or more light indicators signal the selected programmable setting via a first respective light signal pattern, and signal the selected option via a second respective light signal pattern (Lutron, see pages 3-4 for LED light signal indications of the selected programmable setting and the selected option).
The combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper does not explicitly disclose wherein the second respective light signal pattern is different from the first respective light signal pattern. However, Bonasia in an analogous art discloses wherein the second respective light signal pattern is different from the first respective light signal pattern (Bonasia, see col. 11 lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Bonasia of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a clear means of selecting which function they currently apply (Bonasia, see col. 19 line 63-64).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Bonasia further discloses wherein the first and second respective light signal patterns each comprise a unique light signal pattern of light colors (Bonasia, see col. 11 lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Bonasia of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a clear means of selecting which function they currently apply (Bonasia, see col. 19 line 63-64).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the one or more light indicators include one or more light-emitting diodes (Lutron, see page 3).
Bonasia further discloses multicolored LED (Bonasia, see col. 11 lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Bonasia of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a clear means of selecting which function they currently apply (Bonasia, see col. 19 line 63-64).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the one or more light indicators signal the selected programmable setting via a first respective light signal pattern, and signal the selected option via a second respective light signal pattern (Lutron, see pages 3-4 for LED light signal indications of the selected programmable setting and the selected option).
The combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper does not explicitly disclose wherein the second respective light signal pattern is different from the first respective light signal pattern. However, Bonasia in an analogous art discloses wherein the second respective light signal pattern is different from the first respective light signal pattern (Bonasia, see col. 11 lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Bonasia of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a clear means of selecting which function they currently apply (Bonasia, see col. 19 line 63-64).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated, Bonasia further discloses the first and second respective light signal patterns each comprise a unique light signal pattern of one or more light colors (Bonasia, see col. 11 lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Bonasia of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a clear means of selecting which function they currently apply (Bonasia, see col. 19 line 63-64).
As per claim 24, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated, Lutron further discloses wherein the one or more light indicators signal the selected programmable setting via a first respective light signal pattern, and signal the selected option via a second respective light signal pattern (Lutron, see pages 3-4 for LED light signal indications of the selected programmable setting and the selected option).
The combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper does not explicitly disclose wherein the second respective light signal pattern is different from the first respective light signal pattern. However, Bonasia in an analogous art discloses wherein the second respective light signal pattern is different from the first respective light signal pattern (Bonasia, see col. 11 lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Bonasia of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a clear means of selecting which function they currently apply (Bonasia, see col. 19 line 63-64).
As per claim 25, the rejection of claim 24 is incorporated, Bonasia further discloses wherein the first and second respective light signal patterns each comprise a unique light signal pattern of one or more light colors (Bonasia, see col. 11 lines 28-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Bonasia of into the above combination of Lutron, Ostrobsky and Cooper. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a clear means of selecting which function they currently apply (Bonasia, see col. 19 line 63-64).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117