DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18522658 has claims 1-19 are pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17097003, filed on November 13, 2020.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11870631 in view of Ozturk et al. (WO 2019/005928 A1; hereinafter Ozturk).
Application 18/522,658
Patent no: 11870631
1. A user equipment, UE, for a wireless communication network, the UE comprising: one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, and a signal processor, wherein the UE is configured to perform Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages using SPS, e.g., data or control messages, in the wireless communication network with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the certain SPS interval from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations, and wherein the UE is configured to randomly select the certain SPS overall time duration from the one set of SPS overall time durations.
1. A user equipment, UE, for a wireless communication network, the UE comprising: one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, and a signal processor, wherein the UE is configured to perform Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages using SPS, e.g., data or control messages, in the wireless communication network with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the certain SPS interval from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, and wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations.
4. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to - select the one set of predefined SPS overall time durations responsive to one or more first criteria, and/or - to select the certain SPS interval from the plurality of SPS intervals responsive to one or more second criteria, the first and second criteria being different or the same.
2. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to select the one set of predefined SPS overall time durations responsive to one or more first criteria, and/or to select the certain SPS interval from the plurality of SPS intervals responsive to one or more second criteria, the first and second criteria being different or the same.
5. The user equipment of claim 4, wherein the one or more criteria comprise one or more of: - one or more criteria related to safety, vehicle operations management, convenience, autonomous or remote driving, platooning, traffic efficiency and environmental friendliness, society and community, - one or more criteria related to specific situations, like a situation experienced by a vehicle, during platooning, during V2X relaying, or during autonomous or remote driving; and/or - one or more criteria related to environmental conditions, like road obstacle, person, animal or obstacle avoidance, temporary road construction, weather related conditions, accident avoidance, or traffic awareness and/or - a signaling from one or more sensors indicating a certain condition, like a pre-crash event, an accident notification, or a lane change, and/or - a signaling from an application executed by the UE, e.g., in-vehicle safety/emergency applications, or a navigation system, and/or
- the occurrence of regular, non-critical information to be periodically transmitted messages; and/or
- a signaling from a higher layer.
3. The user equipment of claim 2, wherein the one or more criteria comprise one or more of: one or more criteria related to safety, vehicle operations management, convenience, autonomous or remote driving, platooning, traffic efficiency and environmental friendliness, society and community, one or more criteria related to specific situations, like a situation experienced by a vehicle, during platooning, during V2X relaying, or during autonomous or remote driving; and/or one or more criteria related to environmental conditions, like road obstacle, person, animal or obstacle avoidance, temporary road construction, weather related conditions, accident avoidance, or traffic awareness and/or a signaling from one or more sensors indicating a certain condition, like a pre-crash event, an accident notification, or a lane change, and/or a signaling from an application executed by the UE, e.g., in-vehicle safety/emergency applications, or a navigation system, and/or the occurrence of regular, non-critical information to be periodically transmitted messages; and/or a signaling from a higher layer.
6. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, responsive to recognizing an anomaly or any untoward incident in the surrounding of the UE which does not affect the UE or does not demand attention, the UE is configured to select the first SPS interval and a SPS overall time duration from the first set.
4. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, responsive to recognizing an anomaly or any untoward incident in the surrounding of the UE which does not affect the UE or does not demand attention, the UE is configured to select the first SPS interval and a SPS overall time duration from the first set.
7. The user equipment of claim 6, wherein the UE comprises a vehicle comprising one or more sensors, wherein the vehicle may be part of a platoon of vehicles or of a group of vehicles, wherein the anomaly or the untoward incident may comprise, for example, one or more of a pedestrian behaving in an erratic manner, and/or an animal hidden from plain sight, and/or temporary signboards signaling ongoing road work up ahead, the UE is configured to broadcast the message using SPS indicative of the anomaly to one or more nearby vehicles, e.g., vehicles of the platoon or of the group, the message send using SPS being an emergency message, and the UE is configured to recognize that the anomaly does not affect the UE in case the vehicle continues to move, and to stop the broadcast of the message using SPS once the anomaly is no longer detected.
5. The user equipment of claim 4, wherein the UE comprises a vehicle comprising one or more sensors, wherein the vehicle may be part of a platoon of vehicles or of a group of vehicles, wherein the anomaly or the untoward incident may comprise, for example, one or more of a pedestrian behaving in an erratic manner, and/or an animal hidden from plain sight, and/or temporary signboards signaling ongoing road work up ahead, the UE is configured to broadcast the message using SPS indicative of the anomaly to one or more nearby vehicles, e.g., vehicles of the platoon or of the group, the message send using SPS being an emergency message, and the UE is configured to recognize that the anomaly does not affect the UE in case the vehicle continues to move, and to stop the broadcast of the message using SPS once the anomaly is no longer detected.
8. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, responsive to recognizing an anomaly or any untoward incident in the surrounding of the UE which affects the UE or demands attention, the UE is configured to select the first SPS interval and a SPS overall time duration from the second set.
6. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, responsive to recognizing an anomaly or any untoward incident in the surrounding of the UE which affects the UE or demands attention, the UE is configured to select the first SPS interval and a SPS overall time duration from the second set.
9. The user equipment of claim 8, wherein the UE comprises a vehicle comprising one or more sensors, wherein the vehicle may be part of a platoon of vehicles or of a group of vehicles, wherein the anomaly or the untoward incident may comprise, for example, one or more of a pedestrian behaving in an erratic manner, and/or an animal hidden from plain sight, and/or temporary signboards signaling ongoing road work up ahead, the UE is configured to broadcast the SPS message demanding assistance from one or more nearby vehicles, e.g., vehicles of the platoon or of the group, the SPS message being an emergency message, and the UE is configured to stop the broadcast of the message once the demanded assistance has been received.
7. The user equipment of claim 6, wherein the UE comprises a vehicle comprising one or more sensors, wherein the vehicle may be part of a platoon of vehicles or of a group of vehicles, wherein the anomaly or the untoward incident may comprise, for example, one or more of a pedestrian behaving in an erratic manner, and/or an animal hidden from plain sight, and/or temporary signboards signaling ongoing road work up ahead, the UE is configured to broadcast the SPS message demanding assistance from one or more nearby vehicles, e.g., vehicles of the platoon or of the group, the SPS message being an emergency message, and the UE is configured to stop the broadcast of the message once the demanded assistance has been received.
10. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to transmit the messages using SPS in a bursty manner by repeatedly transmitting the messages in the selected SPS intervals during an active period and stopping the transmitting of the messages during an inactive period, the active and inactive periods being both shorter than the SPS overall time duration, wherein the active and the inactive periods comprise different lengths in time or the same lengths in time.
8. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to transmit the messages using SPS in a bursty manner by repeatedly transmitting the messages in the selected SPS intervals during an active period and stopping the transmitting of the messages during an inactive period, the active and inactive periods being both shorter than the SPS overall time duration, wherein the active and the inactive periods comprise different lengths in time or the same lengths in time.
11. The user equipment of claim 10, wherein the UE is configured to increase and/or decrease a length of one or more of the active periods and/or one or more of the inactive periods.
9. The user equipment of claim 8, wherein the UE is configured to increase and/or decrease a length of one or more of the active periods and/or one or more of the inactive periods.
12. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, when transmitting messages using SPS during the selected SPS overall time using a current SPS interval, the UE is configured to increase or decrease the SPS interval, while maintaining the selected SPS overall time.
10. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, when transmitting messages using SPS during the selected SPS overall time using a current SPS interval, the UE is configured to increase or decrease the SPS interval, while maintaining the selected SPS overall time.
13. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the UE, which may be a legacy UE, is configured to - select the second SPS interval and a SPS overall time duration from the second set, - implement multiple instances of the SPS transmission using the second SPS interval and the SPS overall time duration from the second set, - transmit the multiple instances in a time deferred manner so that an offset between subsequent instances comprises a length as the first SPS interval, which may be a legacy SPS interval.
11. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the UE, which may be a legacy UE, is configured to select the second SPS interval and a SPS overall time duration from the second set, implement multiple instances of the SPS transmission using the second SPS interval and the SPS overall time duration from the second set, transmit the multiple instances in a time deferred manner so that an offset between subsequent instances comprises a length as the first SPS interval, which may be a legacy SPS interval.
14. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, in case the SPS message fulfils a specific criterion, like being a high priority message, e.g., based on the Pro-Se per Packet Priority, the UE is configured to align its SPS interval, SPS overall duration time and, if used, burst pattern with the SPS interval, SPS overall duration time and, if used, burst pattern of one or more neighboring UEs.
12. The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, in case the SPS message fulfils a specific criterion, like being a high priority message, e.g., based on the Pro-Se per Packet Priority, the UE is configured to align its SPS interval, SPS overall duration time and, if used, burst pattern with the SPS interval, SPS overall duration time and, if used, burst pattern of one or more neighboring UEs.
15. The user equipment of claim 1, comprising one or more of: - a mobile terminal, e.g., a terminal configured to operate in accordance with the V2X Mode 4 for a side link communication with one or more other UEs, or a terminal configured to operate in accordance with the V2X Mode 3 for a Uu link communication with a base station, or - stationary terminal, or - cellular IoT-UE, or - an IoT device, or - a ground based vehicle, or - an aerial vehicle, or - a drone, or - a moving base station, or - road side unit, or - a building, or - any other item or device provided with network connectivity enabling the item/device to communicate using the wireless communication network, e.g., a sensor or actuator.
13. The user equipment of claim 1, comprising one or more of: a mobile terminal, e.g., a terminal configured to operate in accordance with the V2X Mode 4 for a side link communication with one or more other UEs, or a terminal configured to operate in accordance with the V2X Mode 3 for a Uu link communication with a base station, or stationary terminal, or cellular IoT-UE, or an IoT device, or a ground based vehicle, or an aerial vehicle, or a drone, or a moving base station, or road side unit, or a building, or any other item or device provided with network connectivity enabling the item/device to communicate using the wireless communication network, e.g., a sensor or actuator.
16. A wireless communication system comprising: one or more base stations that transmit and receive messages using uplink and downlink connections with one or more user equipments (UEs); wherein each of the one or more UEs comprising: one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, and a signal processor, wherein a UE is configured to perform Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages using SPS, e.g., data or control messages, in the wireless communication network with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, and wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the certain SPS interval from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations, and wherein the UE is configured to randomly select the certain SPS overall time duration from the one set of SPS overall time durations.
14. A wireless communication system comprising: a one or more base stations that transmit and receive messages using uplink and downlink connections with one or more user equipments (UEs); wherein each of the one or more UEs comprising: one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, and a signal processor, wherein a UE is configured to perform Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages using SPS, e.g., data or control messages, in the wireless communication network with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, and wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the certain SPS interval from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, and wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations.
17. The wireless communication system of claim 16, using an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform, IFFT, based signal, wherein the IFFT based signal comprises OFDM with CP, DFT-s-OFDM with CP, IFFT-based waveforms without CP, f-OFDM, FBMC, OTFS, GFDM or UFMC.
15. The wireless communication system of claim 14, using an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform, IFFT, based signal, wherein the IFFT based signal comprises OFDM with CP, DFT-s-OFDM with CP, IFFT-based waveforms without CP, f-OFDM, FBMC, OTFS, GFDM or UFMC.
18. The wireless communication system of claim 16, wherein the one or base stations comprising one or more of: - a macro cell base station, or - a small cell base station, or - a road side unit, or - a UE, or - a remote radio head, or - an AMF, or - an SMF, or - a core network entity, or - a network slice as in the NR or 5G core context, or - any transmission/reception point enabling an item or a device to communicate using the wireless communication network, the item or device being provided with network connectivity to communicate using the wireless communication network.
16. The wireless communication system of claim 14, wherein the one or base stations comprising one or more of: a macro cell base station, or a small cell base station, or a road side unit, or a UE, or a remote radio head, or an AMF, or an SMF, or a core network entity, or a network slice as in the NR or 5G core context, or any transmission/reception point enabling an item or a device to communicate using the wireless communication network, the item or device being provided with network connectivity to communicate using the wireless communication network.
19. A method for Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions in a wireless communication network, the method comprising; performing, by a UE, Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages, e.g., data or control messages, using SPS with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, and selecting, by the UE, for the certain SPS interval the certain SPS overall time duration from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE selects the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE selects the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations, and wherein the UE randomly selects the certain SPS overall time duration from the one set of SPS overall time durations.
17. A method for Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions in a wireless communication network, the method comprising; performing, by a UE, Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages, e.g., data or control messages, using SPS with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, and selecting, by the UE, for the certain SPS interval the certain SPS overall time duration from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, wherein the UE selects the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, and wherein the UE selects the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations.
However, patent fails to disclose the UE randomly selects the certain SPS overall time duration from the one set of SPS overall time durations.
Ozturk discloses the UE is configured to randomly select the certain SPS overall time duration from the one set of SPS overall time durations. (See ¶0060, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts ); interpreted that selecting the TTI (corresponding to the duration) is dynamically (corresponding ot randomly) selected)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify SPS durations to transmit the SPS data to include UE randomly select the SPS duration for data transmission. The motivation to combine SPS configurations that utilize a periodicity enabling efficient low latency communications (See ¶0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ozturk et al. (WO 2019/005928 A1; hereinafter Ozturk).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Ozturk discloses a user equipment, UE, for a wireless communication network, the UE comprising: one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, (See ¶0054, this may facilitate use of antenna arrays within a UE 115) and a signal processor, (See ¶0097, Wireless device 605 may also include a processor) wherein the UE is configured to perform Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages using SPS, e.g., data or control messages, (WO 2019005928 A1; See ¶0005, the UE may identify the location of a set of sTTIs that are designated for SPS and that occur at a certain periodicity established by the configuration. Upon identifying the TTI locations, the UE may transmit uplink data during one or more of the identified TTIs in accordance with the configuration) in the wireless communication network with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, (See ¶0060, TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts or in selected component carriers using short TTIs); . An sTTI may be a subset of a TTI that corresponds to non-low latency services. For example, an sTTI may be defined as a duration of two orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol periods, three OFDM symbol periods, or seven OFDM symbol periods (i.e., a slot); interpreted the TTI is the duration and sTTI is the interval). wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the certain SPS interval from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0060, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts ); interpreted that selecting the TTI (corresponding to the duration) is dynamically (corresponding ot randomly) same selected) each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0075, TTI 220 may include sTTIs 225-b with a duration of two or three symbols, where there may be six sTTI 225-b locations within the TTI 220 available for SPS transmissions) wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0071, configure SPS for a set of TTIs, where the configuration may include a periodicity between sTTIs (e.g., two-symbol, three-symbol, seven-symbol TTIs, etc.) that may be used by a UE 115 for uplink transmissions; the UE 115 may then identify locations of TTIs for use in SPS transmissions) wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0060, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts ); interpreted that selecting the TTI (corresponding to the duration) is dynamically (corresponding ot randomly) same selected) and wherein the UE is configured to randomly select the certain SPS overall time duration from the one set of SPS overall time durations. (See ¶0060, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts ); interpreted that selecting the TTI (corresponding to the duration) is dynamically (corresponding ot randomly) same selected)
Regarding claim 4, Ozturk discloses the UE is configured to - select the one set of predefined SPS overall time durations responsive to one or more first criteria, (See ¶0116, SPS activation component 845 may receive an indication to activate the SPS transmissions or to deactivate the SPS transmissions and transmit a confirmation of activation of the SPS transmissions or deactivation of the SPS transmissions, where the confirmation is transmitted during a temporally first TTI of the TTIs) and/or - to select the certain SPS interval from the plurality of SPS intervals responsive to one or more second criteria, the first and second criteria being different or the same.
Regarding claim 5, Ozturk discloses the one or more criteria comprise one or more of: - one or more criteria related to safety, vehicle operations management, convenience, autonomous or remote driving, platooning, traffic efficiency and environmental friendliness, society and community, - one or more criteria related to specific situations, like a situation experienced by a vehicle, during platooning, during V2X relaying, or during autonomous or remote driving; and/or - one or more criteria related to environmental conditions, like road obstacle, person, animal or obstacle avoidance, temporary road construction, weather related conditions, accident avoidance, or traffic awareness and/or - a signaling from one or more sensors indicating a certain condition, like a pre-crash event, an accident notification, or a lane change, and/or - a signaling from an application executed by the UE, e.g., in-vehicle safety/emergency applications, or a navigation system, and/or
- the occurrence of regular, non-critical information to be periodically transmitted messages; and/or
- a signaling from a higher layer. (See ¶0076, configuration of SPS may be signaled using RRC messaging from base station 105-a to UE 115-a; the activation or deactivation of SPS may be transmitted using downlink control information (DCI))
Regarding claim 15, Ozturk discloses one or more of: - a mobile terminal, e.g., a terminal configured to operate in accordance with the V2X Mode 4 for a side link communication with one or more other UEs, or a terminal configured to operate in accordance with the V2X Mode 3 for a Uu link communication with a base station, or - stationary terminal, (See ¶0047, each UE 115 may be stationary or mobile) or - cellular IoT-UE, or - an IoT device, or - a ground based vehicle, or - an aerial vehicle, or - a drone, or - a moving base station, or - road side unit, or - a building, or - any other item or device provided with network connectivity enabling the item/device to communicate using the wireless communication network, e.g., a sensor or actuator.
Regarding claim 16, Ozturk discloses a wireless communication system comprising: one or more base stations that transmit and receive messages using uplink and downlink connections (See ¶0138, Device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications) with one or more user equipments (UEs); (See ¶0138, Device 1305 may communicate wirelessly with one or more UEs 115) wherein each of the one or more UEs comprising: one or more antennas or an antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements, (See ¶0102, Transmitter 620 may transmit signals generated by other components of the device. In some examples, the transmitter 620 may be collocated with a receiver 610 in a transceiver module. For example, the transmitter 620 may be an example of aspects of the transceiver 935 described with reference to FIG. 9. The transmitter 620 may utilize a single antenna or a set of antennas.)
and a signal processor, wherein a UE is configured to perform Semi-Persistent Scheduled, SPS, transmissions of messages using SPS, e.g., data or control messages, (WO 2019005928 A1; See ¶0005, the UE may identify the location of a set of sTTIs that are designated for SPS and that occur at a certain periodicity established by the configuration. Upon identifying the TTI locations, the UE may transmit uplink data during one or more of the identified TTIs in accordance with the configuration) in the wireless communication network with a certain SPS interval and during a certain SPS overall time duration, (See ¶0060, TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts or in selected component carriers using short TTIs); . An sTTI may be a subset of a TTI that corresponds to non-low latency services. For example, an sTTI may be defined as a duration of two orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol periods, three OFDM symbol periods, or seven OFDM symbol periods (i.e., a slot); interpreted the TTI is the duration and sTTI is the interval).
wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the certain SPS interval from one of a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0060, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts ); interpreted that selecting the TTI (corresponding to the duration) is dynamically (corresponding ot randomly) same selected)
each set comprising a plurality of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0075, TTI 220 may include sTTIs 225-b with a duration of two or three symbols, where there may be six sTTI 225-b locations within the TTI 220 available for SPS transmissions) wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS interval from a plurality of SPS intervals, each of the plurality of SPS intervals having associated therewith a plurality of sets of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0071, configure SPS for a set of TTIs, where the configuration may include a periodicity between sTTIs (e.g., two-symbol, three-symbol, seven-symbol TTIs, etc.) that may be used by a UE 115 for uplink transmissions; the UE 115 may then identify locations of TTIs for use in SPS transmissions) wherein the UE is configured to select the certain SPS overall time duration for the selected certain SPS interval from one of the associated sets of SPS overall time durations, (See ¶0060, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts ); interpreted that selecting the TTI (corresponding to the duration) is dynamically (corresponding ot randomly) same selected) and wherein the UE is configured to randomly select the certain SPS overall time duration from the one set of SPS overall time durations. (See ¶0060, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts ); interpreted that selecting the TTI (corresponding to the duration) is dynamically (corresponding ot randomly) same selected)
Regarding claim 18, Ozturk discloses the one or base stations comprising one or more of: - a macro cell base station, or - a small cell base station, (See ¶0185, may include base stations of different types (e.g., macro or small cell base stations)) or - a road side unit, or - a UE, or - a remote radio head, or - an AMF, or - an SMF, or - a core network entity, or - a network slice as in the NR or 5G core context, or - any transmission/reception point enabling an item or a device to communicate using the wireless communication network, the item or device being provided with network connectivity to communicate using the wireless communication network.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (WO 2019/005928 A1; hereinafter Ozturk) in view of Anderson et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0163532 A1; hereinafter Anderson).
Regarding claim 17, Ozturk fails to disclose an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform, IFFT, based signal, wherein the IFFT based signal comprises OFDM with CP, DFT-s-OFDM with CP, IFFT-based waveforms without CP, f-OFDM, FBMC, OTFS, GFDM or UFMC.
Anderson discloses an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform, IFFT, based signal, wherein the IFFT based signal comprises OFDM with CP, DFT-s-OFDM with CP, IFFT-based waveforms without CP, f-OFDM, FBMC, OTFS, GFDM or UFMC. (See ¶0008, the ofdma symbols are pre-pended with a cyclic prefix (CP) (an end portion of the symbol is copied and inserted at the start of the transmitted symbol); See 0389, The sub-carriers undergo OFDM modulation (comprising an IFFT operation) to form a time-domain PUSCH signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Yu in view of Mukha to include
using IFFT for transmitting a signal. The motivation to combine is increase spectral efficiency by allowing
multiple devices with small amounts of information to transmit to share a set of subcarriers (See
10012).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phuyal et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0242389 A1)-See ¶0035, The eNodeB 110 is configured to enable SPS for communication with the UE 102 using Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The RRC signaling is specific to the UE 102 and is provided in a RRC signaling message. Generally, the message specifies the interval between transmissions from the UE 102. The interval can be specified in subframes, which include legacy subframes and short subframes. The legacy subframes have a TTI of 1 ms wherein asht short subframes have a TTI of less than 1 ms. The UE 102 is configured to send transmissions on a physical data shared channel (PDSCH) at the specified interval and the eNodeB 110 is configured to use the specified downlink intervals for downlink communications. The eNodeB 110 is configured to release or disable SPS by using a RRC signaling message to disable SPS to the UE 102.
Lee et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0049084 A1)-See ¶0068, If a counter meets an expiration condition, the MAC layer may trigger SL resource reselection. A new resource counter, SL resource reselection counter (SL_RESOURCE_RESELECTION_COUNTER) may be introduced for resource reselection. If the value of the SL resource reselection counter is zero, then the MAC layer may trigger resource reselection. When the resource reselection is triggered, the UE may randomly select a value between 5 and 15 with the equal probability for the SL resource reselection counter. That is, the SL resource reselection counter may be reset if the reselection is triggered for all semi-permanently selected resources. The value of the sidelink resource reselection counter may be decreased by 1, when a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmission of each transport block (TB) of data for the V2X communication is completed. More specifically, if the value of RETX_NUMBER_SLSCH indicating the number of retransmissions of the SL-SCH is equal to the number of HARQ retransmissions, the value of the SL resource reselecting counter may be decreased by 1.
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472