Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-13 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 introduces “a process space” at line 6. It cannot be determined if this is the previously introduced “first process space” or “second process space”, or a different process space altogether.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7 and 14 (14 as understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Woo (KR 20220137596 A), which discloses:
1. A humidity control device in a process space comprising:
an injection module (10, 20, 30) arranged in a second process space (120, 140) maintained at second humidity lower than first humidity within a first process space (the room in which the apparatus is located, since the injection module injects “Clean Dry Air”) in which processing for a wafer is performed, and configured to inject a gas for forming an air curtain onto a first door (111) through which the wafer enters and exits and which is connected to the second process space (e.g., see FIG 1);
a signal generation module (70) configured to generate an injection signal for the injection module to inject the gas; and
an injection control module (71) configured to control the injection module to form the air curtain lowering an amount of humidity flowing into the second process space through a space opened by the first door by injecting the gas, when the injection signal is generated (e.g., see Abstract).
2. The humidity control device of claim 1, wherein the injection module is further configured to inject the gas for forming the air curtain to a side surface of the wafer (as the wafer exits the door).
4. The humidity control device of claim 1, wherein the injection module comprises a first injector and a second injector arranged to face each other and each configured to inject the gas onto the first door (see the embodiment of FIG 16, which contains two blowers 20 that can be considered to face one another).
7. The humidity control device of claim 1, wherein the injection control module is further configured to control a rotation of the injection module (it controls rotation of the blower) to change an injection direction of the injection module (intended effect met in that the flow changes from no flow with no direction, to downwardly-directed flow).
14. A humidity control system comprising:
a first process space (the room in which the apparatus of FIG 1 is located) in which processing for a wafer is performed and which is maintained at first humidity;
a second process space (120, 140) connected to the first process space and maintained at second humidity lower than the first humidity (the second process space is fed with “Clean Dry Air”); and
a humidity control device in a process space comprising an injection module (10, 20, 30) installed in the second process space and configured to inject a gas for forming an air curtain onto a first door (111) through which the wafer enters and exits and which is connected to the second process space,
a signal generation module (70) configured to generate an injection signal for the injection module to inject the gas, and
an injection control module (71) configured to control the injection module to inject the gas to form the air curtain lowering an amount of humidity flowing into the second process space through a space opened by the first door when the injection signal is generated.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Lin (US 2020/0234988), which discloses:
18. A humidity control method in a process space comprising:
completing a preparation for transferring a wafer located within a first process space to a second process space connected to the first process space (steps 901, 902);
determining opening of a first door connected to the second process space and generating information regarding the opening of the first door (steps 903, 904);
injecting a gas for forming an air curtain onto the first door before the first door is opened (step 903);
opening the first door (steps 903, 904); and
transferring the wafer to the second process space through a space opened by the first door (considered clearly met).
19. The humidity control method of claim 18, further comprising: closing the first door; and stopping injecting the gas onto the first door (step 905).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Lin.
Woo discloses the invention as claimed with exception to the information processing module that determines opening of the first door. However Lin teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date to use such an information processing module (e.g., see steps 903-906). To coordinate the operation of Woo’s blower with the opening of the door, it would have been obvious to use an information processing module as claimed by Applicant and as taught by Lin.
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo in view of Araki (JP 2013191689 A).
Regarding claim 5, Woo discloses the invention as claimed with exception to the third and fourth injector spaced apart from the first and second injector. This difference is seen as amounting to replicating the dual-blower assembly of FIG 16 for a second door. Araki teaches that it was known in the art to replicate a similar blower assembly for a second door (blower assembly 76a is replicated at 81a to move the substrates through both front and back doors of the chamber). To move substrates through both the front and back of Woo’s chamber, it would have been obvious to replicate Woo’s dual blower assembly and door on the other side of Woo’s chamber, thereby resulting in a third and fourth injector.
Regarding claim 8, see the obviousness analysis of claim 5. Further, the injection control module is configured to control a rotation of at least one of the first to fourth injectors (it controls a rotation speed of the fan/blower).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Araki.
Lin discloses the invention as claimed with exception to performing the steps in regard to a second door. However Araki teaches that it was known to use a processing chamber with a second door, and it would have been obvious to use Lin’s method on a processing space having a second door to allow the substrates to be moved efficiently towards a second robot on the other side of the chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12,334,363 discloses a similar purge control system with an air curtain control assembly that operates according to a displacement value of a door. US 11,735,455 discloses modifying an angular direction of air curtain flow.
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
5/28/26