Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 and 30-31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 30 are vague and indefinite. On lines 1-3, the phrase “wherein a location of the at least one or more slots on the sidewall of the first and the second spool flange does not include the at least one or more ribs protruding from the same location on the sidewall” is unclear. What structure are applicants attempting to claim with the limitation “one or more slots on the sidewall of the first and the second spool flange does not include the at least one or more ribs protruding from the same location on the sidewall”? If the slots do not include the ribs, then where are the slots located? Further, the phrase “same location of the sidewall” has no antecedent basis in the claim. What “same location” is being referred to by this limitation?
Claims 16 and 31 are vague and indefinite. On lines 1-2, the phrase “the at least one or more insert tabs” has no antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 14-25, and 29-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Couchey et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0061187), hereinafter “Couchey”.
With respect to Claim 1, Couchey, Figures 1-10, teaches an industrial reel, the industrial reel comprising:
a spool 12 comprising a cylindrical hub 18, a first spool flange 20 positioned at a first end of the cylindrical hub 18 and a second spool flange 22 positioned at a second end of the cylindrical hub 18, the first spool flange 20 and the second spool flange 22 projecting radially from the cylindrical hub 18; and
at least one first insert 14 removably affixable to the first spool flange 20, the at least one first insert comprising:
a first cylindrical barrel 50 having a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, wherein the second longitudinal end includes at least one or more castellations 64 (element 64 is the raised portion of the castellation and element 52 is the recessed portion); and
a first insert flange 34 extending from the first longitudinal end of the first cylindrical barrel 50, wherein the first insert flange 34 is removably affixable on a radially outward edge thereof to a radially outward edge of the first spool flange 20.
With respect to Claim 2, Couchey further teaches wherein the reel further comprises a second insert removably affixable to the second spool flange, the second insert comprising:
a second cylindrical barrel having a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, wherein the second longitudinal end includes at least one or more castellations; and
a second insert flange extending from the first longitudinal end of the second cylindrical barrel, wherein the second insert flange is removably affixable on a radially outward edge thereof to a radially outward edge of the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 3, Couchey further teaches wherein the first cylindrical barrel of the first insert and the second cylindrical barrel of the second insert are partial barrels.
With respect to Claim 4, Couchey further teaches wherein the radially outward edge of the first spool flange and the radially outward edge of the second spool flange each comprise a sidewall that is perpendicular to an inner surface of the first spool flange and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 5, Couchey further teaches wherein the spool further comprises at least one or more slots (space between ribs 16 and 44) positioned within the sidewall of the first spool flange and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 7, Couchey further teaches wherein the reel further comprises a locking mechanism.
With respect to Claim 8, Couchey further teaches wherein the locking mechanism includes at least one or more insert tabs 62 of the first insert flange locking into at least one or more slots 76 of the first spool flange and at least one or more insert tabs of the second insert flange locking into at least one or more slots of the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 9, Couchey further teaches wherein an exterior surface of the cylindrical hub 18 forms a barrel surface for receipt of a wire for winding thereon.
With respect to Claim 10, Couchey further teaches wherein the at least one or more castellations 64 of the first and the second insert create an alignment feature to lock the first and the second inserts into each other.
With respect to Claim 14, Couchey further teaches wherein the first and the second spool flange each further comprise at least one or more ribs 44,48 protruding from the sidewall of the first and the second spool flange and extending to the inner surface of the first and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 15, Couchey further teaches wherein a location of the at least one or more slots on the sidewall of the first and the second spool flange does not include the at least one or more ribs protruding from the same location on the sidewall.
With respect to Claim 16, Couchey further teaches wherein the at least one or more ribs prevent the at least one or more insert tabs 62 of the first and the second insert from snapping into the spool except in the at least one or more slots of the first and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 17, Couchey, Figures 1-10, teaches a locking system for an industrial reel, the locking system comprising:
a spool 12 comprising a cylindrical hub 18, a first spool flange 20 positioned at a first end of the cylindrical hub 18 and a second spool flange 22 positioned at a second end of the cylindrical hub 18, the first spool flange 20 and the second spool flange 22 projecting radially from the cylindrical hub 18; and
a first insert 14 and a second insert 16 removably affixable to the first spool flange 20 and the second spool flange 22 respectively, the first insert 14 and the second insert 16 each comprising:
a cylindrical barrel 50 having a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, wherein the second longitudinal end includes at least one or more castellations 64; and
an insert flange 14extending from the first longitudinal end of the cylindrical barrel 50, wherein the insert flange is removably affixable on a radially outward edge thereof to a radially outward edge of the first spool flange.
With respect to Claim 18, Couchey further teaches wherein the first cylindrical barrel of the first insert and the second cylindrical barrel of the second insert are partial barrels.
With respect to Claim 19, Couchey further teaches wherein the radially outward edge of the first spool flange and the radially outward edge of the second spool flange each comprise a sidewall that is perpendicular to an inner surface of the first spool flange and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 20, Couchey further teaches wherein the spool further comprises at least one or more slots (space between ribs 16 and 44) positioned within the sidewall of the first spool flange and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 21, Couchey further teaches wherein the radially outward edge of the first insert flange and the radially outward edge of the second insert flange each comprise at least one or more insert tabs 62 configured to interlock with the one or more slots.
With respect to Claim 22, Couchey further teaches wherein the reel further comprises a locking mechanism.
With respect to Claim 23, Couchey further teaches wherein the locking mechanism includes at least one or more insert tabs 62 of the first insert flange locking into at least one or more slots of the first spool flange and at least one or more insert tabs of the second insert flange locking into at least one or more slots of the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 24, Couchey further teaches wherein an exterior surface of the cylindrical hub 18 forms a barrel surface for receipt of a wire for winding thereon.
With respect to Claim 25, Couchey further teaches wherein the at least one or more castellations of the first and the second insert create an alignment feature to lock the first and the second inserts into each other.
With respect to Claim 29, Couchey further teaches wherein the first and the second spool flange each further comprise at least one or more ribs 44,48 protruding from the sidewall of the first and the second spool flange and extending to the inner surface of the first and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 30, Couchey further teaches wherein a location of the at least one or more slots on the sidewall of the first and the second spool flange does not include the at least one or more ribs protruding from the same location on the sidewall.
With respect to Claim 31, Couchey further teaches wherein the at least one or more ribs prevent the at least one or more insert tabs of the first and the second insert from snapping into the spool except in the at least one or more slots of the first and the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 32, Couchey, Figures 1-10, teaches a method for locking and unlocking an industrial reel, the method comprising:
providing a spool 12 comprising a cylindrical hub 18, a first spool flange 20 positioned at a first end of the cylindrical hub and a second spool flange 22 positioned at a second end of the cylindrical hub, the first spool flange 20 and the second spool flange 22 projecting radially from the cylindrical hub 18;
providing at least one first insert 14 removably affixable to the first spool flange, the at least one first insert comprising:
a first cylindrical barrel 50 having a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, wherein the second longitudinal end includes at least one or more castellations; and
a first insert flange 34 extending from the first longitudinal end of the first cylindrical barrel, wherein the first insert flange is removably affixable on a radially outward edge thereof to a radially outward edge of the first spool flange; and
locking at least one or more insert tabs of the first insert flange into at least one or more slots of the first spool flange.
With respect to Claim 33, Couchey further teaches wherein the reel further comprises providing a second insert removably affixable to the second spool flange, the second insert comprising:
a second cylindrical barrel having a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, wherein the second longitudinal end includes at least one or more castellations; and
a second insert flange extending from the first longitudinal end of the second cylindrical barrel, wherein the second insert flange is removably affixable on a radially outward edge thereof to a radially outward edge of the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 34, Couchey further teaches comprising locking at least one or more insert tabs of the second insert flange into at least one or more slots of the second spool flange.
With respect to Claim 35, Couchey further teaches comprising aligning the at least one or more castellations of the first and the second insert into each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couchey as applied to Claims 1-5, 7-10, 14-25, and 29-35 above, and further in view of Hafner (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0206850).
With respect to Claims 11 and 26, Couchey is advanced above.
Couchey teaches castellations. The castellations in the Couchey reference are not in the form of at least one or more castellations of the first and the second insert comprise a series of recessed castellations 19 and a series of extending castellations 18.
However, Hafner, Figures 1-5, teaches that it is known to have at least one or more castellations of the first and the second insert comprise a series of recessed castellations and a series of extending castellations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Couchey with recessed and extending castellations, as taught by Hafner, for the purpose of optimally designing the joining area of both spool bodies, in order to provide the rotational accuracy as well as to avoid edges and deformations in said joining area
With respect to Claims 12 and 27, Hafner further teaches wherein the recessed castellations of the first insert are configured to be aligned with the extending castellations of the second insert, and the recessed castellations of the second insert are configured to be aligned with the extending castellations of the first insert.
With respect to Claims 13 and 28, Hafner further teaches wherein the first and the second inserts are locked into each other and extend through an interior surface of the cylindrical hub.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 6 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the industrial reel set forth including
wherein the radially outward edge of the first insert flange and the radially outward edge of the second insert flange each comprise at least one or more insert tabs configured to interlock with the one or more slots.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest a radially outward edge of the first insert flange and the radially outward edge of the second insert flange each comprise at least one or more insert tabs configured to interlock with the one or more slots as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the industrial reel in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654